Well said
MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 109 - 27/07/2025 12:16:02 2628224 Link 0 |
The mgmt team is due to be ratified at tonight's meeting. It's a very Sligo based management team headed by Dessie which I think is hugely positive. Some former greats on there. All will be revealed shortly.
Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 388 - 28/07/2025 20:35:55 2628826 Link 0 |
Well the cat is out of the bag officially now and the new Chairperson put down a fair marker by getting 5 management teams sorted, senior hurlers, u20 footballers and minor hurling and football along with senior football. So that in itself is a fair statement of intent from the new man at the top. Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 574 - 29/07/2025 08:20:18 2628883 Link 0 |
Well that is some management team! First time I am excited about a Sligo management team in a long time! Credit must go to the new chairperson, he has definitely broken the piggy bank with that appointment. In this management team there is underage pedigree, club pedigree, club pedigree in other counties, Sigerson experience & inter-county experience with other counties, also an external voice/opinion in McGee. I think Sloyan & O'Hara will be a good foil for one another, O'Hara to bring the energy & intensity and Sloyan is calm & collected. One thing is for sure is that every player in Sligo will want to play for those lads, two Sligo greats in their playing days. They also both have a very deep knowledge of Sligo club football and I'm sure that no stone will be unturned in terms of casting the net for players far and wide. Eamonn may get a few of the Tourlestrane lads back in Johnny Kelly, Cathal Henry, Conan Marren etc and Dessie may convince a few of those Easky dual stars to give the big ball a try, namely Rory McHugh & Andy Kilcullen, maybe Con O'Meara can even convince Kevin Banks to commit for a year! Paul Higgins was not named in the initial announcement but I am confident that he will be added to the ticket, a highly rated coach and one of the most decent lads you could meet. Disappointed that Gerry McG withdrew but still an incredibly strong management team. Fair play to the Co Board also completed before the club championship. Speaking on a podcast last week, O'Hara was bullish about Sligo progressing over the next few years to challenge Mayo & Galway, he always has had high standards for Sligo and his wanted the job for a number of years, I think the presence of Dessie may also help improve his sideline antics. Incredibly positive for the future! Sligeach Abú laochragael (Sligo) - Posts: 7 - 29/07/2025 09:19:18 2628893 Link 0 |
I don't think anyone can pick holes in this management team for now. It's fairly exciting, loads of management and coaching experience and they know the county and players inside out. An interesting winter and league campaign awaits.
westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 29/07/2025 10:17:24 2628924 Link 0 |
Best of luck tobthem. Hopefully ye can be competitive in Connacht again. And maybe now ye could show our CB how to get a manager fairly quickly. Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 55 - 29/07/2025 11:14:17 2628945 Link 0 |
I'd agree on joint management teams. Not a fan. However, it's an exciting ticket, no doubt. Your ambitions might be questionable to a certain poster but I think if they stay in the top 3/4 as you said, they will eventually break down the door and win promotion in the next couple of years. What is much more important, is to avoid slipping back to Division 4. TIme will tell in terms of the coaching capabilities of this management team but I think it will excite and attract players. One would expect a full panel for 2026. I also like the look of the U20 management team as well. Some youth in the coaching ranks is great to see. Don't know too much about any of those involved with the minors but good luck to them also. Credit where credit is due to the top table in getting these appointments over the line so quickly.
johncreilly (Sligo) - Posts: 175 - 29/07/2025 12:22:54 2628970 Link 0 |
Foolish naming players who should commit. The reality is people have other commitments outside football. 2 players you mentioned are in their 30s now and past their best. Another lad is not even in the country. Hopefully the lads who were in the panel last year are available and some of the younger players will be brought in. Overall it's a very exciting management team. Some of the other names who have been added to the other positions make it a very strong group. Fair play to the new chairman for getting the senior and all the other mgmt teams sorted so quickly in advance of the 2026 season.
Anto (Sligo) - Posts: 388 - 29/07/2025 13:13:58 2628987 Link 0 |
Firstly well done to the Chairman for the raft of appointments last night. Like most people I am dubious about joint management teams but Tyrone managed to win an All Ireland with this type of management so it can work. Eamonñ has worked with Gerry on a joint ticket before with Tourlestrane and also with Dessie with the U.20 so he knows how it works. They will find it difficult to get to championship games in Sligo due to their club commitments so they will be glad of the games that will be live streamed. (another plus for the chairman). I would be concerned about the U.20 mgt. It's a big post. We have a lot of last year's team still eligible for next year and to compete at senior you need a steady stream of talent coming through. At the end of this 3 year term we would need to either have got promoted to Div 2 and/or win the Tailteann Cup . Connacht championship is a bit more tricky. If we win a game and reach the provential final we forego our Tailteann chance and let's be realistic we are a long way off the top teams if we were landed in the groups for Sam. eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 2197 - 29/07/2025 13:23:57 2628992 Link 0 |
We have got 3 true blue Sligo GAA guys and a man who has done it all as a player. Really excited to see how it goes but expect some shake up with existing panel and hopefully we will see everyone with the ability to represent in B&W coming in for 2026. CB have done a good job in this appointment, hopefully it pays off. MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 109 - 29/07/2025 13:24:41 2628993 Link 0 |
We have got 3 true blue Sligo GAA guys and a man who has done it all as a player. Really excited to see how it goes but expect some shake up with existing panel and hopefully we will see everyone with the ability to represent in B&W coming in for 2026. CB have done a good job in this appointment, hopefully it pays off. MrUnderhill (Sligo) - Posts: 109 - 29/07/2025 13:49:04 2629003 Link 0 |
What direction would you have gone u20? Dead right on players. Changes in personnel natural in any change of management. Bumblebee123 (Sligo) - Posts: 101 - 29/07/2025 23:41:50 2629163 Link 0 |
Dessie Sloyan and Eamon O Hara are two of Sligo greatest ever players and people. They brought us some incredible memories. They both carry a presence for me and aura which will command the dressing room and it is important to have Sligo people managing Sligo. As I said a few weeks ago O Hara has done more than enough at club level to be Sligo manager in his own right but Dessie is a good foil for O Hara in my opinion. There are concerns and whilst I would like more senior intercounty management experience I am hoping Dessie will have learned a lot from his involvement with Christie/Dempsey etc.. and O Hara has been successful everywhere he has gone. Boyle have never won a Roscommon county title but we will be keeping a close eye on that this year. Hopefully their respective teams don't go to far because I want Dessie, Eamon, Con and McGee involved solely in Sligo seniors from October. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1899 - 29/07/2025 23:55:14 2629164 Link 0 |
Solid appointments. Good luck in 2026! ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1745 - 29/07/2025 23:57:55 2629165 Link 0 |
Were competitive in Connacht against Galway last year and Mayo this year under new management Sligo will be looking for a win other than Leitrim,New York or London in Connacht.
Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 558 - 30/07/2025 02:14:00 2629175 Link 0 |
Don't be putting words in my mouth, I never said that they should commit. I simply said that they may be open to a return given how well they know and we were successful with one of the managers. I am fully aware that people have other aspects of their lives outside of football and may not be in a position given to commit. However, given that they have been some of the most outstanding footballers in club football over the past few hours, I think they should be given a phone call at least. For the record, I never said that they should walk into a starting team or even a panel for that matter, but I think all should be approached. The two lads are in their early 30s and I feel both still have something to offer Sligo football, both I feel were never given the opportunity to reproduce their club form on the inter-county stage. Also on the third Tourlestrane player, just because a player is currently abroad does that mean he can never be mentioned again about joining a county panel? I recall a certain former county player, who is currently abroad,been wrongly diagnosed with a serious injury on here and how that was going to affect Sligo's chances for 2026.
laochragael (Sligo) - Posts: 7 - 30/07/2025 13:55:27 2629262 Link 0 |
If any of ye have time its worth watching the new Sligo Management press conference on Sligo Gaa TV. Dessie, Eamon and Con effectively fielding questioning from Gavin Cawley who asked all the important questions fair play to him. I thought all 3 came across very impressively. It would dispel most of the doubts on the joint management ticket. All of them are Sligo first and clearly will challenge each other when needed but have a very healthy respect for one another. As a fan you always think of them as players but O Hara mentioned he is 50 yrs old now so timing is right. Both explained the player pathway well and alluded to giving more chances to the underage players than previous. You could tell O Hara was holding back on what he expects in terms of success. He will demand very high standards as will the whole management. I did laugh when Gavin asked Dessie about Rossa and favoritism. Dessie handled it well with the Sligo first approach but might not be a happy house lol. Under McEntee far too many average players were comfortably getting the Jersey. One thing this management team will do is make you earn it. O Hara spoke of systems but allowing players to express themselves and trust their talents in the moment. You can tell O Hara believes much more in us and rates us as footballers. There really wasn't anything I disagreed with. O Hara did mention personality and this was a major weakness of the previous management, players can know the systems, players can be committed, have a great attitude but if your limited and don't deliver across the white line and on the big day, I don't care how nice you are, how passionate you are, how you bluff your leadership off the field, actions, actions on it when it matters is what I look for. A big saying here is tilting the Ice in your favor, who stands up with their bodies not their mouths needs to be the approach. Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1899 - 30/07/2025 21:35:57 2629373 Link 0 |
There is a lof of positivity with the new management team. I would not pass much heed on the press conference. They will be judged on results I am amused that the old management team are now history and most posters on this forum has rightly moved on. There is one however who spent years castigating them and now that they are gone he is still taking swipes at them. They really lived in his head. You wouldn't expect that from a guy that practices stress management. Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 188 - 31/07/2025 09:21:38 2629405 Link 0 |
Who is the player wrongly diagnosed with an injury?
BreakingBall123 (Sligo) - Posts: 146 - 31/07/2025 09:35:13 2629410 Link 0 |
Say what we like about Mcentee he has left a decent foundation to build on, we were a poor div 4 team when he came in. We are short of players we have been short on for the last 20 years, big guys 6'3/4 who can play around the middle. They don't grow on trees around sligo. Club championships start this weekend I'd like to see some of the much vaunted u20s start to have an influence on games for their clubs and then we can talk about them in terms of Senior for Sligo.
westvoice (Sligo) - Posts: 84 - 31/07/2025 10:56:25 2629423 Link 0 |