Louth GAA thread

Monaghan are a great example of the level that Louth should be aspiring to get to. They have been in division 1 for years and when they dropped back this year, they went straight back up. The level of physicality and ability to kick scores from all angles really showed yesterday. Overall though for Louth, we had pretty much only 9 or 10 days to prepare for the game and lost both our full back and centre half back before the throw in. Regardless of what happens against Down or Clare, what the players achieved two weeks ago makes every game bonus territory now.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1663 - 25/05/2025 07:16:53    2612271

Replying To PK57:  "Monaghan are a great example of the level that Louth should be aspiring to get to. They have been in division 1 for years and when they dropped back this year, they went straight back up. The level of physicality and ability to kick scores from all angles really showed yesterday. Overall though for Louth, we had pretty much only 9 or 10 days to prepare for the game and lost both our full back and centre half back before the throw in. Regardless of what happens against Down or Clare, what the players achieved two weeks ago makes every game bonus territory now."
Only 9 or 10 days ? Jesus wept …

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 761 - 25/05/2025 10:58:00    2612296

Replying To veterngaa:  "Only 9 or 10 days ? Jesus wept …"
Yeah as in the players were deservedly celebrating the Leinster title win until Wednesday week ago. I at no point was using it as an excuse and if you read my post you'd see I was saying Monaghan are a county that Louth should be aspiring to be like but you're clearly looking for any needle to have a go at someone so maybe stick to you're own counties thread.

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1663 - 25/05/2025 12:19:03    2612331

Replying To PK57:  "Monaghan are a great example of the level that Louth should be aspiring to get to. They have been in division 1 for years and when they dropped back this year, they went straight back up. The level of physicality and ability to kick scores from all angles really showed yesterday. Overall though for Louth, we had pretty much only 9 or 10 days to prepare for the game and lost both our full back and centre half back before the throw in. Regardless of what happens against Down or Clare, what the players achieved two weeks ago makes every game bonus territory now."
You are correct. Very difficult to reach the high of a provincial win in such a short time after ending a long drought. It happened us in 2013. It was obvious many of your lads were a step off their normal level. They good thing is, you still have a lot to play for, unlike us in 2013 under the awful old qualifier system. The most important thing is that the achievements of this year are built on in the coming years. Having said that we have to be happy with our display yesterday. Like Louth we are reaping the benefits of good under age coaching and management. Also pay no attention to nonsencical posts from clowns who get their information while sitting on highstools in north Monaghan. Can assure you, they were not in Newbridge yesterday to see all that is best in Gaelic Football.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 25/05/2025 13:08:49    2612356

Louth are well deserved leinster champions, a brilliant team building year on year, but I don't think they are ever gonna be a division 1 team, yes they might go up, but straight back down. Not even in the same conversation as monaghan, never have been and never will be.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 994 - 25/05/2025 19:17:13    2612488

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Louth are well deserved leinster champions, a brilliant team building year on year, but I don't think they are ever gonna be a division 1 team, yes they might go up, but straight back down. Not even in the same conversation as monaghan, never have been and never will be."
Did meath go up one year and back down the next

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 352 - 25/05/2025 19:26:07    2612492

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Louth are well deserved leinster champions, a brilliant team building year on year, but I don't think they are ever gonna be a division 1 team, yes they might go up, but straight back down. Not even in the same conversation as monaghan, never have been and never will be."
A sad post from a jealous Meath man. Louth have much more business going Division 1 than Meath have.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 25/05/2025 19:30:55    2612495

Never is a long time.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8025 - 25/05/2025 20:18:34    2612518

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Never is a long time."
Tis true. Back in 1957, Louth were All Ireland champions and Monaghan were nowhere to be seen.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2432 - 25/05/2025 20:46:49    2612525

Replying To veterngaa:  "Only 9 or 10 days ? Jesus wept …"
Embarrassing Monaghan people again i see.
Go back to your wee box like a good wee lad.

farneygael (Monaghan) - Posts: 302 - 25/05/2025 21:21:03    2612538

Replying To thestrapper49:  "Did meath go up one year and back down the next"
Yes, and I think louth can do the same, I just can't see then sustaining div 1 status for a long period of time like monaghan did is all. They nearly got relegated don't forget. Don't have the consistency, similar to Meath.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 994 - 26/05/2025 07:43:35    2612587

That was the wake up call that Louth needed. The only player who I thought did OK was Ryan Burns. Fair play to Monaghan. A small county with a small population. Ten years in Division 1, two Ulster's in that time, they get relegated and go back up straight away.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1058 - 26/05/2025 11:22:58    2612670

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Yes, and I think louth can do the same, I just can't see then sustaining div 1 status for a long period of time like monaghan did is all. They nearly got relegated don't forget. Don't have the consistency, similar to Meath."
This year and last year Louth had to win games on the last day of the league to stay up and won both so they can handle the pressure. Don't forget two years Louth nearly got promoted in a winner takes it all match against the Dubs in Croke Park.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1058 - 26/05/2025 11:25:34    2612673

Replying To Ollie2:  "That was the wake up call that Louth needed. The only player who I thought did OK was Ryan Burns. Fair play to Monaghan. A small county with a small population. Ten years in Division 1, two Ulster's in that time, they get relegated and go back up straight away."
I thought connal mckeever had quite a good game compare to the rest of the team. Team selection will be Interesting for Down game

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 26/05/2025 13:25:17    2612728

From a Monaghan perspective, along with Ryan Burns I thought Conor Grimes did very well for Louth- he got on a lot of ball and carried hard for most of the day. Tommy Durnin did rightly but he was clearly targeted, as was Craig Lennon.
Couldn't understand how Bevan Duffy was picking up O'Hanlon early on- total mismatch for pace and it led to a good scoring start for Monaghan. I know its risky to say it here, but to me it looked like Sam Mulroy went missing when the pressure came on. Despite the first goal, he was turned over three or four times and kicked a couple of bad wides, even removing himself from duty on frees. One of those days I suppose. Lynch and Campbell were big losses for Louth and it told later in the game.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1221 - 26/05/2025 13:58:03    2612744

Replying To Lúla571210:  "I thought connal mckeever had quite a good game compare to the rest of the team. Team selection will be Interesting for Down game"
Yeah in all fairness he always puts in a decent shift in every game. It's hard to believe that this will be our first ever Championship meeting with Down.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1058 - 26/05/2025 14:07:38    2612754

Still hard to process what happened on Saturday....Monaghan were very good....we were very average and leggy looking,I was hopeful before throw in but when the injures were confirmed I lost alot of hope....Saturday is now a massive game,hopefully afew injuries will have cleared up,we've had an awful lot this season......

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 198 - 27/05/2025 13:08:50    2613032

The very best of luck to the Louth under 20s tonight in the All Ireland final tonight. All roads lead to Armagh.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1058 - 28/05/2025 09:13:57    2613199

Replying To Ollie2:  "The very best of luck to the Louth under 20s tonight in the All Ireland final tonight. All roads lead to Armagh."
Best of luck tonight. Ye'll need it all.
Be great to see Louth win an AI.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2352 - 28/05/2025 09:26:45    2613204

Best of luck to Louth in Under 20 Final. Most of the country is behind you.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 28/05/2025 13:34:39    2613243