Louth GAA thread

Replying To Past hurler:  "Any date or venue set yet for the under 20 All Ireland final between Louth v Tyrone?"
I heard Wednesday week in Armagh. They should play it on the bank holiday Sunday.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1057 - 19/05/2025 12:37:49    2610929

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "What a hard reach this is, louth fans like you crying for 15 years about 2010, no meath people talked about it whatsoever. Before 2010 yee cried about our last gasp winner in navan in 2002. Even now after winning leinster for the first time in 68 years you're still crying about Meath! The whinging wee county we should call yee.

Well done to louth players and proper fans on here, class team and good times ahead by the looks of your underage teams."
Don't think your right about thos one. If no meath supporter talked about it why would ye have flags in the hill with joes sherdian scoring a try. Ye also had masks. So I think you'll find meath people did talk about.

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 19/05/2025 15:58:30    2611031

Best of luck to the minor team today and complete the historic treble. 1953 to 2025 is a very long time without provincial success in minor. I think they should be good enough to win.
Is the 20s confirmed for Wednesday week?

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 19/05/2025 16:00:19    2611032

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "What a hard reach this is, louth fans like you crying for 15 years about 2010, no meath people talked about it whatsoever. Before 2010 yee cried about our last gasp winner in navan in 2002. Even now after winning leinster for the first time in 68 years you're still crying about Meath! The whinging wee county we should call yee.

Well done to louth players and proper fans on here, class team and good times ahead by the looks of your underage teams."
2010, the ref and umpires messed up. The call shoul have been a penalty to Meath, so possibly Meath would have still won. Great to see Louth win and hooefully they complete the hat trick tonite.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 555 - 19/05/2025 16:04:01    2611036

Replying To ORIELMAN85:  "2010, the ref and umpires messed up. The call shoul have been a penalty to Meath, so possibly Meath would have still won. Great to see Louth win and hooefully they complete the hat trick tonite."
And don't forget the Louth Ladies.....

Leinster Ladies JFC final
Carlow 1-7 v Louth 2-8

Hopefully their Minors do it this evening. It would be a remarkable achievement.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4267 - 19/05/2025 16:20:27    2611042

When was the last time a county won the treble (Minor, U20(or U21) and Senior ) of provincial titles in the same year.
Internet is saying it was Kerry in 1975. That's a long time ago.
It will be some achievement if Louth do it later tonight.

Monaghan won Senior and Minor ulster titles in both Mens and Ladies football in 2013, I don't think that was ever done before or since either.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 163 - 19/05/2025 16:33:30    2611053

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "When was the last time a county won the treble (Minor, U20(or U21) and Senior ) of provincial titles in the same year.

Monaghan won Senior and Minor ulster titles in both Mens and Ladies football in 2013, I don't think that was ever done before or since either."
I think dublin did it in 2019 but either way it would be some achievement

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 19/05/2025 16:42:54    2611057

fair play to offaly they are a great little county for hurling and football for there size and pick they are the best dual county in ireland. thats 5 leinsters in the last 5 years 2 all irelands also in both codes.

oneshot (Tyrone) - Posts: 15 - 19/05/2025 22:50:49    2611193

Replying To oneshot:  "fair play to offaly they are a great little county for hurling and football for there size and pick they are the best dual county in ireland. thats 5 leinsters in the last 5 years 2 all irelands also in both codes."
Some achievement by Offaly - 5 Leinster title in last 5 years.

On the game last night, I thought Louth had it won with their penalty but Offlay finished so strong and these new 2 pointers got them over the line.

Louth will definitely rue the wides and missed goal chance in the 2nd half but many congrats to Offlay.
Great to see Seamus Darby in attendance at the game last night.

Hard luck Louth, but it has been a wonderful year so far for you, and the season is not over yet.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4267 - 20/05/2025 09:32:18    2611230

Replying To Lúla571210:  "I think dublin did it in 2019 but either way it would be some achievement"
Don't think Dublin done it in 2019 but did do it in 2012 2014 and 2017 I think

thestrapper49 (Louth) - Posts: 352 - 20/05/2025 09:39:25    2611233

Replying To SouthMonMan:  "When was the last time a county won the treble (Minor, U20(or U21) and Senior ) of provincial titles in the same year.

Monaghan won Senior and Minor ulster titles in both Mens and Ladies football in 2013, I don't think that was ever done before or since either."
That 1975 stat isn't right anyway. Kerry would have done it fairly regularly in Munster. They won all 3 in 2023 and 2024 and look very likely to do the clean sweep again this year.
What 1975 is referring to is winning the All-Ireland in all 3 competitions in the same year, which Kerry did do. That is the last time it was done.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2335 - 20/05/2025 09:47:10    2611238

Right, have we all sobered up, come slightly back down to earth since the Leinster final win ?

What are the thoughts for Saturday V Monaghan ?

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 307 - 21/05/2025 13:28:04    2611545

Replying To WanPintWin:  "That 1975 stat isn't right anyway. Kerry would have done it fairly regularly in Munster. They won all 3 in 2023 and 2024 and look very likely to do the clean sweep again this year.
What 1975 is referring to is winning the All-Ireland in all 3 competitions in the same year, which Kerry did do. That is the last time it was done."
Few of those Kerry lads did OK afterwards.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 361 - 21/05/2025 14:17:20    2611559

Replying To louthman57:  "Right, have we all sobered up, come slightly back down to earth since the Leinster final win ?

What are the thoughts for Saturday V Monaghan ?"
Clearly the hardest game in the group. I think it depends how we start If we start well I don't see why not. Hopefully the team are back and had a few good training sessions. If we lose ill be slightly worried about Down they'll be eyeing the opportunity to have us at home in Newry. We definitely should be good enough for Clare. A win against monaghan and it sets us up nicely to get back to another quarter final. Kiki obviously had a great game when he came on but unless there's injuries I don't see Ger changing the team from the Meath game. introduces kiki at half time maybe as he brings great energy and pace. Hopefully we can get a big crowd down to Newbridge.
LÚ ABÚ

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 21/05/2025 15:53:11    2611584

Niall McDonnell

Donal McKenny Dermot Campbell Daire Nally
Andrew Woods Micheal Bannigan Jack McCarron

Craig Lennon Peter Lynch Conal McKeever
Ryan McAnespie Dessie Ward Stephen O'Hanlon

Tommy Durnin Bevan Duffy
Gavin McPhilips Gary Mohan

Andy McDonnell Sam Mulroy Conor Grimes
Conor McCarthy Kieran Duffy Ryan O'Toole

Ryan Burns Kieran Downey Ciaran Keenan
Ryan Wylie Killian Lavelle Dylan Byrne

Rory Beggan

Best guess at starting lineups, assuming one for Louth and that Killian Lavelle makes it after extended injury.
Both sets of supporters will be fancying their chances on this basis, as you can make the argument either way for who has the advantage across the different lines. Louth are essentially settled in to a starting lineup. Monaghan have big calls to make at midfield, full forward, centre back. They have options but nobody has convincingly nailed down those slots. Lavelle is pivotal, the defence hinges on his presence and quality. My hunch is Monaghan have to really go after the game, a slow start will suit Louth who will grow into the contest you would think. Word from Darver is the Delaney cup is well and truly locked away for now - It makes for a great contest.

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1220 - 21/05/2025 18:01:31    2611613

Replying To louthman57:  "Right, have we all sobered up, come slightly back down to earth since the Leinster final win ?

What are the thoughts for Saturday V Monaghan ?"
Just about Louthman 57. The last ten days have been some rollercoaster with the Seniors winning Leinster for the first time in 68 years and the Under 20s reaching the All Ireland for the very first time. It's a pity the Minors lost as that was a game they had won. But their season is far from over and they are playing Roscommon in two weeks time. As Meatloaf would sing two out of three ain't bad.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1057 - 22/05/2025 09:33:09    2611688

Just a quick word on the U20 semi-final from last week. It was a great game of football to watch. Both teams going hammer and tongs for the whole match on a beautiful evening.
There were mistakes of course, but they will happen when a game is played at that intensity. Plenty direct football and lads trying to be positive all the time. Players taking on the shot when they got a chance and very little lateral safety-first football.
There were plenty quality footballers on the pitch, but I was seriously impressed with Grimes-Murphy. What a talent he looks. He's lightning quick and has the skills to go with it.
He can't be far away from playing senior intercounty based on what I saw.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2335 - 22/05/2025 11:16:49    2611706

Louth team out what are your thoughts?

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 122 - 22/05/2025 21:23:10    2611810

Replying To Ollie2:  "Just about Louthman 57. The last ten days have been some rollercoaster with the Seniors winning Leinster for the first time in 68 years and the Under 20s reaching the All Ireland for the very first time. It's a pity the Minors lost as that was a game they had won. But their season is far from over and they are playing Roscommon in two weeks time. As Meatloaf would sing two out of three ain't bad."
Team no surprise, same as Leinster final starting 15. We will have good bench impact if and probably will be needed.

Southlouther (Louth) - Posts: 25 - 22/05/2025 23:00:57    2611815

Replying To Southlouther:  "Team no surprise, same as Leinster final starting 15. We will have good bench impact if and probably will be needed."
Monaghan are the favourites with the bookies which suit Louth. I don't like when Louth are the favourites in a match. This will be only the fourth championship meeting between the teams. Louth won the first meeting in Clones back in 2002, Monaghan won the second meeting in Cavan in 2005 and last year ended for in a draw in which wee left it behind in Clones. It will be the first Championship meeting outside of Ulster.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 1057 - 23/05/2025 11:06:15    2611851