Louth GAA thread

Replying To Fkd12:  "No clue what's going on,some saying it's a supporter's jersey just to earn some money and put it towards training etc,others are saying it's anew change kit replacing the white kit....."
Its being called a commemorative kit, what is it commemorating?

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 06/05/2023 13:53:45    2476077

Replying To Benjani:  "What part of the grounds would most of the Louth crowd buy tickets for Leinster Final."
There's a gang of us on the top of the Hill flags and flare at ready , the more the merrier, let's have a cut off these lads!!

I hope Mickey has something up his sleeve (and I'm sure he will) to throw the dubs off a bit I would like to see him bring in McCaul a bit earlier if we're still in touching distance and test out the dubs full backs under the high ball to mix it up.
Let's get behind these lads they've been a joy to follow since the first game below in Ennis never beaten always in the game #AnLúAbú #BigWheelsKeepOnDurnin

BallinLowHai (Louth) - Posts: 19 - 08/05/2023 21:17:09    2476897

Four days away from Louths biggest match since 2010 and there is feck all Louth flags and bunting in Drawda. What's Dundalk and Ardee like with flags and bunting?

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 10/05/2023 09:37:08    2477179

Replying To Ollie2:  "Four days away from Louths biggest match since 2010 and there is feck all Louth flags and bunting in Drawda. What's Dundalk and Ardee like with flags and bunting?"
why not go and put some up then?

DCFCGAA (Derry) - Posts: 65 - 10/05/2023 09:57:34    2477202

Replying To DCFCGAA:  "why not go and put some up then?"
I have.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 10/05/2023 12:15:13    2477269

Get the flags out folks. Come on Louth

Shearer (Louth) - Posts: 828 - 10/05/2023 13:36:00    2477316

Best of luck to Micky and the Louth men.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 10/05/2023 13:41:44    2477320

Fair analysis?:
Louth have had a fairy-tale campaign, performing so strongly in league and championship, but I still think this game hinges on what attitude Dublin bring.

If they hit the peaks we know they can, they could absolutely blow Louth out of the water at the weekend. But if they go in with the same laboured, slow-attacking approach we saw against Kildare, I think Louth can give them a right good game.

kudos (Louth) - Posts: 298 - 11/05/2023 10:19:25    2477508

Replying To kudos:  "Fair analysis?:
Louth have had a fairy-tale campaign, performing so strongly in league and championship, but I still think this game hinges on what attitude Dublin bring.

If they hit the peaks we know they can, they could absolutely blow Louth out of the water at the weekend. But if they go in with the same laboured, slow-attacking approach we saw against Kildare, I think Louth can give them a right good game."
Your right Kudos, Dublin have had a poor league and a poor championship, apart from the Laois game which flattered them. They have not hit their groove, if they still have a groove. We on the other hand, had a great league after a slow start. Beating Meath was what got this team on the road. Crazy game against a good Westmeath team. Even better against an up and coming Offaly team. The Dubs are the Dubs and they are on their home patch but we have been to Croker twice already this year. It is possible, believe and we will have the bigger and better support. Really excited about the game now. UP LOUTH!!!

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 11/05/2023 21:55:07    2477748

Replying To Ollie2:  "Four days away from Louths biggest match since 2010 and there is feck all Louth flags and bunting in Drawda. What's Dundalk and Ardee like with flags and bunting?"
I seen that but that can be a good thing too not having too much hype being the big underdog, am a die hard fan and I firmly believe with the way this Louth team is playing with steel and determination are well capable of beating anyone including the jacks, best of luck to micky & the lads we deserve it. C'mon Louth

francie81 (Louth) - Posts: 195 - 12/05/2023 09:09:45    2477769

Replying To kudos:  "Fair analysis?:

If they hit the peaks we know they can, they could absolutely blow Louth out of the water at the weekend. But if they go in with the same laboured, slow-attacking approach we saw against Kildare, I think Louth can give them a right good game."
That's one thing they will not do is blow us out of the water like they done to Laois even if they hit those peaks. If we can frustrate them with that blanket defence and catch them on the break we ourselves can blow that Dublin backline out of the water, will be interesting to see how it pans out.

francie81 (Louth) - Posts: 195 - 12/05/2023 09:42:37    2477773

Leinster final Louth v the mighty Dubs?
Dublin have had a poor league and a poor championship, apart from the Laois game which flattered them. They have not hit their groove, if they still have a groove. We on the other hand, had a great league after a slow start. Beating Meath was what got this team on the road. Crazy game against a good Westmeath team. Even better against an up and coming Offaly team. The Dubs are the Dubs and they are on their home patch but we have been to Croker twice already this year. It is possible, believe and we will have the bigger and better support. Really excited about the game now. UP LOUTH!!!

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 12/05/2023 09:49:00    2477778

Good luck to Louth in the Leinster Final, no reason to fear Dublin, they've been so up and down all year. They're difficult to beat at Croke Park, but if Kildare can put it up to them, so can Louth. Clare had them in serious trouble too in the league.

I hope Louth keep it tight early on, and give themselves a shot with 20 mins to play, have seen it so often where a Kildare or Meath team go a game against Dublin full of optimism, and it's 2-7 to 0-3 after 20 minutes. I'm sure Micky Harte will have them well drilled anyway.

Dublin will probably win, probably something similar to the league final. But best of luck

hyperache (Meath) - Posts: 200 - 12/05/2023 12:42:48    2477846

36 hours from the biggest game in my 45 years following Louth. Watching a setting sun over May meadows and dreaming of utopia on Sunday night. Thinking of all the days where we wondered about it all. Days we felt robbed and days we were lost. Thinking of other great teams that we hoped would cross the line. Thinking of days where I cursed my father for inflicting me with this genetic passion for the Wee county! Reflecting on the sheer pride that these boys have brought to our place and the magnificent support they have earned from us. Thinking of Boyle, White, Behan, O'Hanlon, Keenan, Melia, Reid, Lennon et al. Immensely grateful to Mulroy, Grimes, Sharkey, Durnin et al who have caused me to dream again and caused scores of Louth kids to wear red and white and covet their houses in flags and bunting. Meeting Gaels from other counties in work, all talk about what we ate achieving. Looking forward to seeing familiar faces and new ones, roaring our mighty men onto the sacred turf. Even Biden believes! Dreaming of hugging my father and children at the end as Sam lifts Delaney Cup high into the Summet sky. Dont know about ye, but doubt I have ever felt so proud. Luabu - is feidir linn.....

LaLu (Louth) - Posts: 233 - 12/05/2023 23:02:26    2477975

Best of luck to the Wee County. Its like Christmas eve here in my house. Hopefully Santa can deliver Delaney Cup come 3.15 tomorrow. Can wee do it? Yes wee can.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 784 - 13/05/2023 15:47:03    2478076

We are going to tear into the Dubs for that Inch, cause we are winners. https://youtu.be/WO4tIrjBDkk

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 716 - 13/05/2023 20:27:45    2478139

Replying To LaLu:  "36 hours from the biggest game in my 45 years following Louth. Watching a setting sun over May meadows and dreaming of utopia on Sunday night. Thinking of all the days where we wondered about it all. Days we felt robbed and days we were lost. Thinking of other great teams that we hoped would cross the line. Thinking of days where I cursed my father for inflicting me with this genetic passion for the Wee county! Reflecting on the sheer pride that these boys have brought to our place and the magnificent support they have earned from us. Thinking of Boyle, White, Behan, O'Hanlon, Keenan, Melia, Reid, Lennon et al. Immensely grateful to Mulroy, Grimes, Sharkey, Durnin et al who have caused me to dream again and caused scores of Louth kids to wear red and white and covet their houses in flags and bunting. Meeting Gaels from other counties in work, all talk about what we ate achieving. Looking forward to seeing familiar faces and new ones, roaring our mighty men onto the sacred turf. Even Biden believes! Dreaming of hugging my father and children at the end as Sam lifts Delaney Cup high into the Summet sky. Dont know about ye, but doubt I have ever felt so proud. Luabu - is feidir linn....."
Lovely post.Good luck to Louth tomorrow

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 13/05/2023 20:37:16    2478143

Very best of luck to Louth tomorrow.

Every dog has it's day, hope Sunday is yours!

Laoisvillian (Laois) - Posts: 77 - 13/05/2023 20:45:59    2478150

Replying To LaLu:  "36 hours from the biggest game in my 45 years following Louth. Watching a setting sun over May meadows and dreaming of utopia on Sunday night. Thinking of all the days where we wondered about it all. Days we felt robbed and days we were lost. Thinking of other great teams that we hoped would cross the line. Thinking of days where I cursed my father for inflicting me with this genetic passion for the Wee county! Reflecting on the sheer pride that these boys have brought to our place and the magnificent support they have earned from us. Thinking of Boyle, White, Behan, O'Hanlon, Keenan, Melia, Reid, Lennon et al. Immensely grateful to Mulroy, Grimes, Sharkey, Durnin et al who have caused me to dream again and caused scores of Louth kids to wear red and white and covet their houses in flags and bunting. Meeting Gaels from other counties in work, all talk about what we ate achieving. Looking forward to seeing familiar faces and new ones, roaring our mighty men onto the sacred turf. Even Biden believes! Dreaming of hugging my father and children at the end as Sam lifts Delaney Cup high into the Summet sky. Dont know about ye, but doubt I have ever felt so proud. Luabu - is feidir linn....."
Brilliant post. Shows what passion you have for Louth and what the GAA is all about. Tipperary and Cavan did it against the odds a couple of years ago so you never know.
The best of luck today.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 14/05/2023 11:35:01    2478259

It will be great to see Louth in Croker today. We're all shouting for you. Best of luck to my many Louth friends especially those who never lost the faith during many dark and a few terrible days.

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1020 - 14/05/2023 12:00:40    2478266