Replying To carlowman: "I know and respect a lot of Laois people - many are involved in the GAA big time and some are not. They are very decent people. A sad situation after Saturday's game is the small few purporting to be from Laois who are regrettably wallowing in the fact that Laois are in the Joe McDonagh final and Carlow are not. Fair play to Laois. It really is regrettable that a small few who possibly would not know 5 of the Loais players are trying to dig into Carlow. Sad people really and not sports people. Sports people would wish their neighbour well. Bitterness is a bad yoke to have in your head and to express it on a forum like Hogan Stand is pathetic and small minded." Based on what? I'm from a Hurling club in Laois?
No need to cry or get upset because someone was telling you how it is. Carlow people always have excuses when it comes to sport. At least we can admit we're no good.
Gonzalez (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 26/05/2025 17:15:20
Replying To carlo: "Still disgusted over Saturday. Lose fairly to a better team no problem. To concede a last second goal like that feels like robbery. Too much added time, never a 65 & at least 3 laois men in the square. Another poster mentioned that it was the same ref who allowed the goal against Dublin last year when it was clearly a square ball & it was called out on the Sunday Game. If it is true that's unforgivable to get another square ball call wrong at such an important time in the game. Did anyone else see the carry on of the laois team before the game??? The stewards wouldn't let them out onto the pitch coming from tunnel as it wasn't there time or carlow were meant to come out first... they abused the poor steward & when that didn't work they came out onto the terrace & tried to pull open a gate at the back of the goal, that was locked so went around to the corner of the stand side & forced open a gate there. The language & abuse coming from them was unacceptable. Did the same at half time. Forced their way down the tunnel when it was clear from their own official who was shouting to let Carlow down first. A carlow steward was sent flying with a shoulder by the big brave laois man. Terrible carry on. I'm sorry we didn't send them back over the bridge with nothing." I was wondering what happened when I saw them coming out to the pitch the way they did. I initially thought the tunnel must be flooded but then Carlow came out it. That's terrible carry on.
btw when they went back over the bridge they were still in Carlow ...
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 26/05/2025 17:56:37
Replying To Gonzalez: "Laois will still be in the Championship longer than Carlow in both codes when it comes down to it, as per.
1988 since you last beat the mighty O'Moore's in Championship football." Bookmark this.
We'll still be in the football championship when Leix are gone from both. Your footballers will be gone from the Tailteann Cup by first weekend in June and your hurlers will eaten alive by Tipp on the Great Heath of Maryborough the following Saturday.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 26/05/2025 18:04:42
Replying To hurlingguru: "Of all the decisions, I'm more outraged by awarding a 65 to Laois when it was a clear wide ball. If that was called correctly then no one would be arguing about square balls or added time.
People have to remember you can't be in the square before the ball unlike football, I was on the terrace standing in line with the square at the time and it was a clear square ball to me." Think ye may get over it year over for Carlow now just accept it.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 378 - 26/05/2025 18:30:55
Replying To Tiger1: "Think ye may get over it year over for Carlow now just accept it." Ye should right that on your own thread. Yee are still flat out typing about your own problems...maybe yee should realize your year is over too and Lee Chin wont be around forever!
Dualclub1 (Carlow) - Posts: 286 - 27/05/2025 17:00:29
On to the Tailteann tomorrow in Tullamore. Hope we get stuck in from the start and build up a decent lead. Windy conditions forecast - so it will be tough for long range kickers. Will be interesting to see the team perform again.
carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 31/05/2025 10:35:00
Replying To carlowman: "On to the Tailteann tomorrow in Tullamore. Hope we get stuck in from the start and build up a decent lead. Windy conditions forecast - so it will be tough for long range kickers. Will be interesting to see the team perform again." Yeah slippery conditions forecast for tomorrow. Hopefully the footballers and bring the momentum from the last couple of results with them into tomorrow's match.
Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 126 - 31/05/2025 12:46:00
Seeing as we're through anyway regardless of tomorrow's result I hope we go for it with the intention of getting a big win to ensure we top the group. Chances to do so don't and won't come often for us. Danger we could get caught out if we are too hung hoo but I think it's worth it. Windy conditions though won't help us though especially for kicking two pointers and in fairness we've been getting plenty of those up to now. Hopefully a good crowd will travel and won't be waiting for the next round.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 31/05/2025 14:33:15
Any team named for tomorrow?
Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 365 - 31/05/2025 16:32:49
Replying To Overthebar53: "Any team named for tomorrow?" Lee Moore in for Collie Byrne at corner back. Otherwise same team. Think Collie is injured. Lee has been playing senior league club games recently. Good that he has match practice and another indication of Joe's positive attitude I.e. let lads play football.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 31/05/2025 21:12:34
Replying To Onion Breath: "Lee Moore in for Collie Byrne at corner back. Otherwise same team. Think Collie is injured. Lee has been playing senior league club games recently. Good that he has match practice and another indication of Joe's positive attitude I.e. let lads play football." Thanks for that oniony. No info available anywhere. Not great pr for such an important game.
Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 365 - 31/05/2025 21:44:46
Replying To Overthebar53: "Thanks for that oniony. No info available anywhere. Not great pr for such an important game." As a heads up - the 'Score Beo' App often has the teams listed. Worth downloading that. Tap on the team when in
Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 537 - 01/06/2025 12:16:10
Replying To Onion Breath: "Seeing as we're through anyway regardless of tomorrow's result I hope we go for it with the intention of getting a big win to ensure we top the group. Chances to do so don't and won't come often for us. Danger we could get caught out if we are too hung hoo but I think it's worth it. Windy conditions though won't help us though especially for kicking two pointers and in fairness we've been getting plenty of those up to now. Hopefully a good crowd will travel and won't be waiting for the next round." Lads making heavy weather disposing of a poor Longford team
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3154 - 01/06/2025 14:57:16
Favourite tag never sits well with Carlow teams. We'll definitely be underdogs next week now anyway.
The swirly conditions were a great leveller today and they dragged us down into a niggly battle with the constant off the ball stuff right from the start. Too many of our players never got going today and still we missed three great goal chances and I reckon if we took any one of them we'd have won.
Away to one of Sligo, Westmeath or Offaly now. Hopefully we'll get a dry day. We'll need it to get the running game going which is only way of playing really.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 01/06/2025 17:16:00
Replying To Onion Breath: "Favourite tag never sits well with Carlow teams. We'll definitely be underdogs next week now anyway.
The swirly conditions were a great leveller today and they dragged us down into a niggly battle with the constant off the ball stuff right from the start. Too many of our players never got going today and still we missed three great goal chances and I reckon if we took any one of them we'd have won.
Away to one of Sligo, Westmeath or Offaly now. Hopefully we'll get a dry day. We'll need it to get the running game going which is only way of playing really." Same weaknesses exposed today. Kickouts, no fielders and awful around breaks. Agree we sat back too much in first half. Our backs are good going forward but poor man on man. Seven two pointers conswded in first half is awful albeit against strong wind. When we had momentun wirh five mins left we could nt push on. Tought choo choo and crowley lwd fron d front. The combination on two pointes and wind makes these games uneven
Bimb (Carlow) - Posts: 541 - 01/06/2025 17:40:24
Favourite tag never sits well with Carlow teams. We'll definitely be underdogs next week now anyway.
Away to one of Sligo, Westmeath or Offaly now. Hopefully we'll get a dry day. We'll need it to get the running game going which is only way of playing really.
Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 01/06/2025 17:54:28
Poor from start to finish. We let them kick too many 2 pointers in first half & 13 points deficit even with a wind to come was too much. We way too loose in defence. 2nd half made a decent effort to get back into it but missed at least 4 goal chances throughout the game. Number 1 drill in training this week should be one on one shooting at goal. Even if we scored one of them we would have won. So disappointing as a win would have us topping group & a week off this week. Back to drawing board & now face a decent Sligo team away next weekend. On today's performance we haven't a hope but we can play so much better. It's like the team today bought into the hype & thought it was only a matter of turning up. They hammered this team in the league under Curran & probably thought it was a formality. To see them celebrating after a dead rubber for them was hard to take. Not going into the refs performance as it will be seen as sour grapes but by God he was terrible. He picked up ever little tackle by our lads but missed the blatant off the ball tackle on Murphy...another disappointing weekend as a Carlow supporter but we well used to it now
carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 266 - 01/06/2025 20:49:04
Replying To carlo: "Poor from start to finish. We let them kick too many 2 pointers in first half & 13 points deficit even with a wind to come was too much. We way too loose in defence. 2nd half made a decent effort to get back into it but missed at least 4 goal chances throughout the game. Number 1 drill in training this week should be one on one shooting at goal. Even if we scored one of them we would have won. So disappointing as a win would have us topping group & a week off this week. Back to drawing board & now face a decent Sligo team away next weekend. On today's performance we haven't a hope but we can play so much better. It's like the team today bought into the hype & thought it was only a matter of turning up. They hammered this team in the league under Curran & probably thought it was a formality. To see them celebrating after a dead rubber for them was hard to take. Not going into the refs performance as it will be seen as sour grapes but by God he was terrible. He picked up ever little tackle by our lads but missed the blatant off the ball tackle on Murphy...another disappointing weekend as a Carlow supporter but we well used to it now" Even a draw today would have seen them top the group with the head to head rule against Fermanagh
Jack L (None) - Posts: 3154 - 01/06/2025 20:55:43
Based on today's performance, and the Wexford one… whew have we improved since cakes departure! Plenty of sound bites but hard facts please???
Carlowtothecore1 (Carlow) - Posts: 70 - 02/06/2025 00:05:29
Replying To Carlowtothecore1: "Based on today's performance, and the Wexford one… whew have we improved since cakes departure! Plenty of sound bites but hard facts please???" Yesterday was ultra dissapointing but the first two games were progression imo. I think we froze with the weight of expectatiin. Need a big performance next week. I think its unfair to judge management until they get a good run at division four...........one thing i would say is that rhe ease at which longford kicked points was worrying.
Bimb (Carlow) - Posts: 541 - 02/06/2025 11:09:46