Carlow GAA thread

Replying To supersub15:  "That's fair enough, so would you remind me if the same standard practice will be used on final day in the event of a draw.??"
Ah here sure yesterday was a group game. The final is of course different. As yeller said that's completely standard. Yesterday wasn't a final or semi final although it felt like it was a semi the way the group worked out but everyone knew going into yesterday that Leix just needed a draw. We have no complaints on that score. It's why 3 points was such a dangerous lead for us.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 25/05/2025 16:41:57    2612434

Replying To burdizzo:  "1. The ball was kicked away by a Carlow player when Laois had a line ball, and time was added for that. Once the 65 was awarded, it had to be allowed to be taken.
2. Don't know if it was a Laois player that kicked it out for the 65 or not.
3. I'm not sure it was a square ball - and nor are you. Looking at it in slow motion, it's certainly not clear-cut, and I'd edge to saying it wasn't.

On the other hand, Boland took too many steps for his goal. Shouldn't have been allowed, either - esp. since the ref was basically blowing for 4 1/2 steps all day.

However, Laois didn't really deserve it. But, we'll take it - as would ye."
It was a square ball and I knew it then as I watching out for it. The ref and one linesman and two umpires were all within 5 metres of the square but not one of them was watching the square. Look back at it. All of them had eyes on the flight of the ball. Surely they knew it was being dropped into the square from the 65 and someone should have be paid attention to that rule.

BTW it was two of them definitely in the square, possibly a third but the line wasn't clear so I'll leave it at two definitely in the square. Look back at it.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 25/05/2025 16:46:20    2612436

Have no idea where the ref found the extra minute and a half, people saying the line ball was delayed, if we add on a minute and a half for every time someone is slow to give the ball back they'd still be playing, should a hooter system be brought into the hurling?

CRTW (Carlow) - Posts: 21 - 25/05/2025 17:38:04    2612460

Replying To Onion Breath:  "It was a square ball and I knew it then as I watching out for it. The ref and one linesman and two umpires were all within 5 metres of the square but not one of them was watching the square. Look back at it. All of them had eyes on the flight of the ball. Surely they knew it was being dropped into the square from the 65 and someone should have be paid attention to that rule.

BTW it was two of them definitely in the square, possibly a third but the line wasn't clear so I'll leave it at two definitely in the square. Look back at it."
And the steps for the second Carlow goal?

burdizzo (Laois) - Posts: 10 - 25/05/2025 17:48:01    2612465

Replying To burdizzo:  "And the steps for the second Carlow goal?"
Yes I'll grant you that but if you want to go back over the game then I'll also point out that Leix got a free that was never a free a couple of minutes from the end when the Carlow keeper was done for apparently throwing the ball after he had nearly been beheaded, and should definitely have had a free. That free given the wrong way brought Leix back to within three. So lots of swings and roundabouts throughout the game including the Leix player kicking the ball out but being given a 65 but the crucial facts that decided the outcome are that the ref played too much injury time and then never called the blatant square ball.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 25/05/2025 18:45:55    2612476

Few facts for the lads on here. Carlow keeper walked slowly to near corner flag to retrieve ball for puckout near end, referee justified in adding 30-40 seconds for such blatant time wasting, the umpires had sliotars but he ignored them, tv pictures conclusively show Laois player on edge of square for winning goal, three mins indicated by ref is at a minimum plus once 65 is awarded then it has to be taken.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2181 - 26/05/2025 00:03:43    2612572

Of all the decisions, I'm more outraged by awarding a 65 to Laois when it was a clear wide ball. If that was called correctly then no one would be arguing about square balls or added time.

People have to remember you can't be in the square before the ball unlike football, I was on the terrace standing in line with the square at the time and it was a clear square ball to me.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1847 - 26/05/2025 09:01:49    2612602

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Few facts for the lads on here. Carlow keeper walked slowly to near corner flag to retrieve ball for puckout near end, referee justified in adding 30-40 seconds for such blatant time wasting, the umpires had sliotars but he ignored them, tv pictures conclusively show Laois player on edge of square for winning goal, three mins indicated by ref is at a minimum plus once 65 is awarded then it has to be taken."
Well you're hardly going to say anything else are you., Westmeath ref..

Carlowtothecore1 (Carlow) - Posts: 70 - 26/05/2025 10:19:50    2612642

Replying To Carlowtothecore1:  "Well you're hardly going to say anything else are you., Westmeath ref.."
And same ref that allowed the goal for Dublin v carlow last year despite a blatant square ball, which decided that result, as confirmed by the Sunday Game

Carlowtothecore1 (Carlow) - Posts: 70 - 26/05/2025 11:39:12    2612679

Death, Taxes and Carlow supporters always blaming the ref if/when they don't win a close game.

Your golden generation couldn't beat Kildare or Laois when it mattered this year. Kildare are on the up and Laois are in transition. Darker days are ahead for Carla.

Gonzalez (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 26/05/2025 12:33:19    2612702

Replying To Gonzalez:  "Death, Taxes and Carlow supporters always blaming the ref if/when they don't win a close game.

Your golden generation couldn't beat Kildare or Laois when it mattered this year. Kildare are on the up and Laois are in transition. Darker days are ahead for Carla."
Death, taxes and Carlow GAA continuing to live rent free in Gonzales's head … 10 posts he's up to now and every single one of them has been about Carlow!!

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1592 - 26/05/2025 13:29:06    2612731

Replying To Gonzalez:  "Death, Taxes and Carlow supporters always blaming the ref if/when they don't win a close game.

Your golden generation couldn't beat Kildare or Laois when it mattered this year. Kildare are on the up and Laois are in transition. Darker days are ahead for Carla."
We did beat laois in league when it mattered, big time..........laois were left saying things were at an all time low

Bimb (Carlow) - Posts: 541 - 26/05/2025 13:52:10    2612739

Ha, Couldn't beat Carlow in League or Championship this year and we relegated ye.

Enjoy your trip to Donegal in the league next year! I think we are in Ennis the same day

Dualclub1 (Carlow) - Posts: 286 - 26/05/2025 14:01:28    2612749

Carlow beat Laois when it mattered this year-in the league. That's why we are in Division One next year, and you are in Division Two.

CARPS (Carlow) - Posts: 869 - 26/05/2025 14:15:11    2612762

As it turns out Gonzalez, for the record Laois had 2 attempts to beat Carlow this year and mustered a lucky draw at best, and lost to Kildare. Down who fielded a weakened team against Laois was the deciding factor on who plays the final, score difference prob a crazy system considering the gulf in level of teams in the McD. Same over past few years, some heavy tankings..

Carlowtothecore1 (Carlow) - Posts: 70 - 26/05/2025 15:10:11    2612783

Still disgusted over Saturday. Lose fairly to a better team no problem. To concede a last second goal like that feels like robbery. Too much added time, never a 65 & at least 3 laois men in the square. Another poster mentioned that it was the same ref who allowed the goal against Dublin last year when it was clearly a square ball & it was called out on the Sunday Game. If it is true that's unforgivable to get another square ball call wrong at such an important time in the game.
Did anyone else see the carry on of the laois team before the game??? The stewards wouldn't let them out onto the pitch coming from tunnel as it wasn't there time or carlow were meant to come out first... they abused the poor steward & when that didn't work they came out onto the terrace & tried to pull open a gate at the back of the goal, that was locked so went around to the corner of the stand side & forced open a gate there. The language & abuse coming from them was unacceptable. Did the same at half time. Forced their way down the tunnel when it was clear from their own official who was shouting to let Carlow down first. A carlow steward was sent flying with a shoulder by the big brave laois man. Terrible carry on. I'm sorry we didn't send them back over the bridge with nothing.

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 266 - 26/05/2025 15:22:05    2612790

Come back when ye can beat wickla, leix man.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 365 - 26/05/2025 15:23:19    2612791

I know and respect a lot of Laois people - many are involved in the GAA big time and some are not. They are very decent people.
A sad situation after Saturday's game is the small few purporting to be from Laois who are regrettably wallowing in the fact that Laois are in the Joe McDonagh final and Carlow are not.
Fair play to Laois.
It really is regrettable that a small few who possibly would not know 5 of the Loais players are trying to dig into Carlow. Sad people really and not sports people.
Sports people would wish their neighbour well.
Bitterness is a bad yoke to have in your head and to express it on a forum like Hogan Stand is pathetic and small minded.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1881 - 26/05/2025 15:27:42    2612793

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Come back when ye can beat wickla, leix man."
Aah here lads. Leave us out of this. We have enough problems of our own to be getting on with.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1642 - 26/05/2025 15:58:33    2612800

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Come back when ye can beat wickla, leix man."
Laois will still be in the Championship longer than Carlow in both codes when it comes down to it, as per.

1988 since you last beat the mighty O'Moore's in Championship football.

Gonzalez (Laois) - Posts: 15 - 26/05/2025 17:12:58    2612826