Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Gumball:  "That tells me all I need to know about Bonner Rory. I haven't seen the article yet myself but for bonner to point the finger I would be worried.
As a manager you should be keeping your players focused on an upcoming match and nothing more.
People who post on this forum have as much a right to their opinion as anyone else. If they are finding fault with Bonners approach maybe he should ask himself why?.
As for keyboard warriors how else are people going to write on this forum. I don't think i can post my letter in to be published. Going by that logic we are all keyboard warriors!."
He's entitled to his opinion as much as anyone else. So if Chris Mc nulty asks him about it, does he tell a lie and says he doesn't know about it. Bonner like Mc entee has a family and it's too bad when he resigned from the Meath job that his daughter and son had to go on twitter to slam the so called gaa supporters. You telling me that bonner has no right to talk or answer a question sums a lot of you boys up. Is this not an amateur sport .. there's a lot of posters on this forum who are fair and honest in there posts. I know who they are and your not one of them . We got to an Ulster final this year and there was hardly a post leading up to the game but since we got beat it's been the same negative anti bonner posts since. Suit yous better to go to the game on Sunday instead of hiding behind a keypad. Don't bother most of yous responding most of yous will not be there Sunday anyway.. gaa fans don't make me laugh..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 09/06/2022 16:47:15    2423657

I think they'll be a kick in Donegal this weekend, Armagh won't be as defensive as Derry was and that should allow Donegals forwards to excel.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 09/06/2022 17:07:40    2423664

Replying To rorysboys:  "He's entitled to his opinion as much as anyone else. So if Chris Mc nulty asks him about it, does he tell a lie and says he doesn't know about it. Bonner like Mc entee has a family and it's too bad when he resigned from the Meath job that his daughter and son had to go on twitter to slam the so called gaa supporters. You telling me that bonner has no right to talk or answer a question sums a lot of you boys up. Is this not an amateur sport .. there's a lot of posters on this forum who are fair and honest in there posts. I know who they are and your not one of them . We got to an Ulster final this year and there was hardly a post leading up to the game but since we got beat it's been the same negative anti bonner posts since. Suit yous better to go to the game on Sunday instead of hiding behind a keypad. Don't bother most of yous responding most of yous will not be there Sunday anyway.. gaa fans don't make me laugh.."
Good man rory. Keep believing

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 09/06/2022 17:14:56    2423666

Replying To rorysboys:  "He's entitled to his opinion as much as anyone else. So if Chris Mc nulty asks him about it, does he tell a lie and says he doesn't know about it. Bonner like Mc entee has a family and it's too bad when he resigned from the Meath job that his daughter and son had to go on twitter to slam the so called gaa supporters. You telling me that bonner has no right to talk or answer a question sums a lot of you boys up. Is this not an amateur sport .. there's a lot of posters on this forum who are fair and honest in there posts. I know who they are and your not one of them . We got to an Ulster final this year and there was hardly a post leading up to the game but since we got beat it's been the same negative anti bonner posts since. Suit yous better to go to the game on Sunday instead of hiding behind a keypad. Don't bother most of yous responding most of yous will not be there Sunday anyway.. gaa fans don't make me laugh.."
Good man rory. Making your replys personal as usual.

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 09/06/2022 17:15:53    2423668

When Donegal lose this weekend I look forward to reading your steadfast defence of the management team.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 09/06/2022 19:06:58    2423685

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Donegal definitely did it before Rory. I can remember the Dub,in semi final in 2014 specifically when this was used as a tactic."
Yeah it was definitely a tactic throughout 2014, even prior to the Dublin game, and I remember thinking that it would be employed that day. And boy did it work. I think I posted a couple of months ago about being at the League Games that year and seeing things that would appear during the summer. Jim referred to those games in his book.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 09/06/2022 19:07:47    2423686

Just because people don't go to every game doesn't mean they aren't 'real donegal supporters'. We live in a very disadvantaged county. It's a 300 Km round trip from my house to Clones. At current fuel prices that's an expensive trip. Also, the tickets for myself, the wife and 3 kids will cost €65. I simply cannot afford that for every game, same with a lot of others in the county, so we have to pick and choose games. So please stop this nonsense saying that people who aren't sitting in the stand for every county game aren't proper supporters. Without the support of clubs there would be no county teams..
We have hundreds of club volunteers all over the county who give their time every week coaching, fundraising, selling lottos, making tea , sandwiches for games, umpiring at games etc etc, many of those people don't go to county games. From some of the chat on here, they're not real Donegal supporters either. Stick to debating the football and stop the childish no sense about who's the best supporter

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 463 - 09/06/2022 19:46:14    2423690

Was looking last night for another ticket for a friend. Plenty of tickets left for terrace hill and seated stand behind the goals.
Would love to see a good crowd from donegal to support the lads. What ever about people think about out tactical approach we should all do our best to get there and support our players. They are all doing there best. I have never left a game and said our players weren't really trying.
Hopefully the lads will play to there potential. In the end there could be a kick of a ball between the teams.
Hopefully on Sunday evening we will have left clones with a win.

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 10/06/2022 09:40:13    2423713

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Yeah it was definitely a tactic throughout 2014, even prior to the Dublin game, and I remember thinking that it would be employed that day. And boy did it work. I think I posted a couple of months ago about being at the League Games that year and seeing things that would appear during the summer. Jim referred to those games in his book."
Yeah that's right. Jim didn't really care too much about the League in truth. It was always about getting ready for the Championship - trying things out and slowly building up fitness and sharpness. I don't think you could really say we tried anything drastic during the league in 2022.

Seems to be the case that Dessie Farrell is the same. I would say Dublin are about 1/1000 to get promoted from Div 2 next year! :D

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 10/06/2022 10:05:41    2423717

Replying To greenfan:  "Just because people don't go to every game doesn't mean they aren't 'real donegal supporters'. We live in a very disadvantaged county. It's a 300 Km round trip from my house to Clones. At current fuel prices that's an expensive trip. Also, the tickets for myself, the wife and 3 kids will cost €65. I simply cannot afford that for every game, same with a lot of others in the county, so we have to pick and choose games. So please stop this nonsense saying that people who aren't sitting in the stand for every county game aren't proper supporters. Without the support of clubs there would be no county teams..
We have hundreds of club volunteers all over the county who give their time every week coaching, fundraising, selling lottos, making tea , sandwiches for games, umpiring at games etc etc, many of those people don't go to county games. From some of the chat on here, they're not real Donegal supporters either. Stick to debating the football and stop the childish no sense about who's the best supporter"
We're no more disadvantaged than the likes of mayo people. It doesn't stop them going to games. My gripe and I said it before is people on social media who dont go to game's expressing there views on how we set up in games and ridiculing players and management. If you don't go to games watch the game and leave it at that, . Every club knows who these people are.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 10/06/2022 10:11:09    2423718

Replying To greatpoint:  "When Donegal lose this weekend I look forward to reading your steadfast defence of the management team."
Are the management team going to play Sunday. Hopefully the players will turn up too. It takes players to put up scores and stop scores. See u in clones lad??

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 10/06/2022 10:13:13    2423719

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Yeah it was definitely a tactic throughout 2014, even prior to the Dublin game, and I remember thinking that it would be employed that day. And boy did it work. I think I posted a couple of months ago about being at the League Games that year and seeing things that would appear during the summer. Jim referred to those games in his book."
We still do this. Mc Gonagle spends a lot of time in FF. Nearly got a goal vs Derry, claimed a few marks close to goal also last year. We play Langan inside a lot too when he comes on the loop and swings it over from the left hand side of field.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 10/06/2022 12:13:19    2423754

Replying To greenfan:  "Just because people don't go to every game doesn't mean they aren't 'real donegal supporters'. We live in a very disadvantaged county. It's a 300 Km round trip from my house to Clones. At current fuel prices that's an expensive trip. Also, the tickets for myself, the wife and 3 kids will cost €65. I simply cannot afford that for every game, same with a lot of others in the county, so we have to pick and choose games. So please stop this nonsense saying that people who aren't sitting in the stand for every county game aren't proper supporters. Without the support of clubs there would be no county teams..
We have hundreds of club volunteers all over the county who give their time every week coaching, fundraising, selling lottos, making tea , sandwiches for games, umpiring at games etc etc, many of those people don't go to county games. From some of the chat on here, they're not real Donegal supporters either. Stick to debating the football and stop the childish no sense about who's the best supporter"
Well said. Agreed totally with everything

Gumball (Donegal) - Posts: 34 - 10/06/2022 12:41:21    2423759

I'm becoming more and more confident as we get closer to this match. I'm thinking a 3 or 4 point win. Armagh's style will suit us, they can't play all out defense so there will be space.

All the best to players and management. Give it a lash!

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 10/06/2022 14:12:04    2423777

Replying To himachechy:  "I'm becoming more and more confident as we get closer to this match. I'm thinking a 3 or 4 point win. Armagh's style will suit us, they can't play all out defense so there will be space.

All the best to players and management. Give it a lash!"
That's it give it everything and go for it, I think if we do and our fellas play to their potential we win, if we try too much of the tactical cagey stuff and Armagh get a head of steam up they'll be harder to contain.
If we have our shooting boots on we should create more chances than Armagh hopefully anyway.
Hope all the injuries and niggles have cleared up, should be a cracker.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 10/06/2022 14:50:29    2423787

Replying To rorysboys:  "We're no more disadvantaged than the likes of mayo people. It doesn't stop them going to games. My gripe and I said it before is people on social media who dont go to game's expressing there views on how we set up in games and ridiculing players and management. If you don't go to games watch the game and leave it at that, . Every club knows who these people are."
You have a gripe with people commenting on social media, that did not go to the game. Well get over it. I will continue to have my opinion and express it, as will other's. Not every idiot that goes to games played the game, you being one example. And it shows in your posts, lack of knowledge about the game and the talent we have.
Good luck to the players on sunday, hopefully they will get a day out in croke park. It will be a tight game, but one we are capable of winning.
And good luck to rorysboys in the junior cert or leaving cert.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 10/06/2022 14:57:28    2423794

Replying To The keeper:  "You have a gripe with people commenting on social media, that did not go to the game. Well get over it. I will continue to have my opinion and express it, as will other's. Not every idiot that goes to games played the game, you being one example. And it shows in your posts, lack of knowledge about the game and the talent we have.
Good luck to the players on sunday, hopefully they will get a day out in croke park. It will be a tight game, but one we are capable of winning.
And good luck to rorysboys in the junior cert or leaving cert."
Have a nice day in front of your television. You must be a legend in glenties. So it's only idiots to go to games.. spend your money lad you can't take it with you when you die. Nice of you to wish the players well on Sunday, your forgetting the management lad . That would be hard for you to do. Hope you enjoyed the Gaeltacht last weekend. A bit of Ill discipline let yous down at least yous counted the subs right this time.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 10/06/2022 15:14:04    2423798

All the best to the management and players on Sunday. Hopefully yous get the reward yous deserve. Armagh may have huge support but the real hardcore fans will be there hopefully to shout yous home. Come on Donegal.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2392 - 10/06/2022 17:06:41    2423816

Replying To TheRock2121:  "We still do this. Mc Gonagle spends a lot of time in FF. Nearly got a goal vs Derry, claimed a few marks close to goal also last year. We play Langan inside a lot too when he comes on the loop and swings it over from the left hand side of field."
But we don't play enough ball into them when we create these mismatches of height, a lot of the time we don't use them to our advantage. Cavan got midfield runners in front of our goals, tracked by Ryan McHugh on occasions, and then played ball in. We need to do this, as said earlier, to keep defences honest.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 583 - 10/06/2022 17:17:22    2423818

Hopefully good game on Sunday I'd imagine be different tactics for this and will leave murphy up near the goal.
Have tickets for the pat mcgrane stand section k anyone know whats it like dont usual go for seats tickets... wasn't sure of the view looking at seat plan?

Hopefully we do have fully fit team and bounce back with the win

Tom123 (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 10/06/2022 20:02:34    2423839