Donegal GAA thread

Replying To monaghanmad:  "CCCC Bite back, maybe Jimmy should have kept quiet"
That's a load of dung.

Jim is dead right to call things like this out. If he, as Donegal team manager isn't, then who else will? Jim is a smart man who knows that he has a high profile within the GAA. These fixtures committees on the other hand, must not exactly be the brain trust of the GAA.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9829 - 23/06/2025 15:27:20    2620360

You just knew they never would have Dublin game and Kerry v Armagh on Saturday for the fairer 7 day turnaround so it was going to be Donegal or Galway that got screwed over.

I guess it was us. Use this as rocket fuel.
I don't care if we win by a single point in a drab game, by hook or by crook, we just have to manage the legs and get through it.

Donegal have played 8 games to reach this stage and get a 6 day turnaround. Monaghan have played four matches and a two week break.

Would be a travesty if Monaghan made a semi final.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 372 - 23/06/2025 15:29:15    2620362

If anything they've just proven his point. What's the justification behind giving Kerry 8 days and Donegal 6?

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 450 - 23/06/2025 15:29:54    2620363

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Our county board need to start stepping up here.

That's twice in a number of weeks we've been shafted."
In hindsight Donegal were shafted by Tyrone in McCumhaill park!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 956 - 23/06/2025 15:31:12    2620364

Replying To sligo joe:  "In hindsight Donegal were shafted by Tyrone in McCumhaill park!"
GAA give donegal 2 fingers yet again

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1081 - 23/06/2025 15:33:45    2620365

Galway Travelled to Newry last week, a massive journey, Donegal had a home game that is probably the thought process behind it.

monaghanmad (Monaghan) - Posts: 415 - 23/06/2025 15:36:14    2620366

Replying To sligo joe:  "In hindsight Donegal were shafted by Tyrone in McCumhaill park!"
Nothing whatsoever to do with the issues of recent weeks. Pointless comment.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1465 - 23/06/2025 15:38:28    2620368

I can't remember when Sligo were shafted...

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 613 - 23/06/2025 15:45:59    2620369

Replying To shaggykev:  "You just knew they never would have Dublin game and Kerry v Armagh on Saturday for the fairer 7 day turnaround so it was going to be Donegal or Galway that got screwed over.

I guess it was us. Use this as rocket fuel.
I don't care if we win by a single point in a drab game, by hook or by crook, we just have to manage the legs and get through it.

Donegal have played 8 games to reach this stage and get a 6 day turnaround. Monaghan have played four matches and a two week break.

Would be a travesty if Monaghan made a semi final."
Some crowd to whinge. Non stop moaning

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2218 - 23/06/2025 15:52:37    2620373

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Some crowd to whinge. Non stop moaning"
The Westmeath brains is back again.

I thought you'd still be mortified having been beaten by not one but TWO Division 4 teams in a matter of weeks.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1246 - 23/06/2025 15:55:44    2620375

3 games in 3 weeks, last game this wend and first game next wend!!!! Their ametaur footballers, thats very unfair on donegal, now saying that i am completely biased, but at least they could have had them on for the late throw in. Maybe jimmys got a point after all, did the gaa pick croker for the match? there must be a game on in timbucktoo that evening as well. Why always us!! Thanks for the ammunition though, or should we thank Jarlath!!

gaeltacht81 (Donegal) - Posts: 22 - 23/06/2025 15:57:23    2620376

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Some crowd to whinge. Non stop moaning"
If u don't like the moaning stay off the Donegal forum

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 691 - 23/06/2025 16:01:30    2620377

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Galway Travelled to Newry last week, a massive journey, Donegal had a home game that is probably the thought process behind it."
sin é I knew they weren't going to give both Galway and Donegal 7 days with the way the fixtures landed, so it was always going to be one of us losing out and with us having the home game yesterday, I always expected us to be on the Saturday, wasn't sure where the noise was coming from that we were fixed for Sunday it never seemed likely to me

it is what it is, Jim didn't seem as annoyed in his post-match stuff yesterday at the prospect of the 6 days as he was about travelling to the Hyde in fairness. he has general annoyances with the schedule which I think would be shared with practically every manager and county in the land.

but it suits some people to snipe at Donegal and Jim because he spoke up advocating for Donegal. Joyce did the same for Galway highlighting the three long journeys they had (Derry, Breffni, Newry) and he was right to do so as well.

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 221 - 23/06/2025 16:06:15    2620380

Replying To monaghanmad:  "Galway Travelled to Newry last week, a massive journey, Donegal had a home game that is probably the thought process behind it."
Galway travelled because they finished third in their group instead of second.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 450 - 23/06/2025 16:08:02    2620382

Lads honest to God can we have a day off with the misery. Either us or Galway were realistically going to be put in this slot, and they had to trek half way across the country yesterday. We are not hard done by. And more to the point, if less than 24 hours of a scheduling issue is going to be the difference between whether or not we beat Monaghan, then maybe we're not as good as we thought we were.

While on the topic, I think Jim has done the wrong thing with this "siege mentality" approach. Spirits were so high amongst supporters when we were coming out of Clones. Compare that to now and all the talk among supporters is scheduling scheduling scheduling. This year has potential to be one of the best in our countys history and we are spending half of it whinging. The atmosphere in the first half yesterday was awful flat considering we had 15,000 at it.

The last point id make and I can feel sympathy for the players, but I do think it was poor form for them to race off the pitch at full time. That's the last home game of the year and the last chance those weeins will have to get pictures and autographs with their idols. The players would be happy enough to stay out, there's only one man behind that directive.

Bring on Monaghan, it'll be a great game and I hope to God we can put distractions out of our head and make sure our best foot is put forward.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 75 - 23/06/2025 16:09:00    2620383

Replying To peiledoir20:  "The Westmeath brains is back again.

I thought you'd still be mortified having been beaten by not one but TWO Division 4 teams in a matter of weeks."
Paranoia seeping down from the hills around ye. CCC out to get ye again.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2218 - 23/06/2025 16:13:37    2620386

Replying To greenfan:  "If u don't like the moaning stay off the Donegal forum"
You the person in charge of the forum? Stop bleating and whinging. Play the matches.

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2218 - 23/06/2025 16:14:35    2620388

God all the whinging and s***housing in this years championship has really instilled a deep hatred in me for Donegal and Donegal people in general. Anyway best of luck at the weekend, hope yis win by double scores

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 23/06/2025 16:20:38    2620391

Replying To totalrecall:  "GAA give donegal 2 fingers yet again"
Donegal should do what Tyrone done a few years ago and refuse to play on Saturday. Worked in Tyrone's favour. They went on and won an All ireland that year.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3161 - 23/06/2025 16:27:22    2620396

Replying To papa_pump:  "Lads honest to God can we have a day off with the misery. Either us or Galway were realistically going to be put in this slot, and they had to trek half way across the country yesterday. We are not hard done by. And more to the point, if less than 24 hours of a scheduling issue is going to be the difference between whether or not we beat Monaghan, then maybe we're not as good as we thought we were.

While on the topic, I think Jim has done the wrong thing with this "siege mentality" approach. Spirits were so high amongst supporters when we were coming out of Clones. Compare that to now and all the talk among supporters is scheduling scheduling scheduling. This year has potential to be one of the best in our countys history and we are spending half of it whinging. The atmosphere in the first half yesterday was awful flat considering we had 15,000 at it.

The last point id make and I can feel sympathy for the players, but I do think it was poor form for them to race off the pitch at full time. That's the last home game of the year and the last chance those weeins will have to get pictures and autographs with their idols. The players would be happy enough to stay out, there's only one man behind that directive.

Bring on Monaghan, it'll be a great game and I hope to God we can put distractions out of our head and make sure our best foot is put forward."
can have discussions all day about the rights and wrongs of a "siege mentality" or whatever else but I think it's absolutely wrong to have any gripes about the players getting off the pitch yesterday no matter where it was coming from. They give absolutely everything to Donegal and they are so good with their time and so much patience when kids are pawing and grabbing at them, they are heroes to those kids that's for sure but some parents could do a better job of teaching some basic respect in my opinion

regardless of that the players are an absolute credit with crazy patience I couldn't deal with it myself, and maybe if that "directive" is only coming from Jim then to be honest I don't blame him - his job is to protect them as well as he can and prepare them as well as he can for the next day out

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 221 - 23/06/2025 16:29:46    2620398