Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Breffni40:  "God all the whinging and s***housing in this years championship has really instilled a deep hatred in me for Donegal and Donegal people in general. Anyway best of luck at the weekend, hope yis win by double scores"
Ha Ha! The lesser of two evils. At least ye dont have to moan about venues and times.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 648 - 23/06/2025 18:02:17    2620458

More conspiracy theories on here than a Donald Trump campaign rally. The players won't care. Their training from last winter onwards will have been engineered for this. We're in our finest place since probably 2014. Monaghan will not fear us, but we know them well. We'll need to improve our performance from our provincial meet. Good to be headed for Jones's Rd again.

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 148 - 23/06/2025 18:04:54    2620460

Replying To CCFabu:  "can have discussions all day about the rights and wrongs of a "siege mentality" or whatever else but I think it's absolutely wrong to have any gripes about the players getting off the pitch yesterday no matter where it was coming from. They give absolutely everything to Donegal and they are so good with their time and so much patience when kids are pawing and grabbing at them, they are heroes to those kids that's for sure but some parents could do a better job of teaching some basic respect in my opinion

regardless of that the players are an absolute credit with crazy patience I couldn't deal with it myself, and maybe if that "directive" is only coming from Jim then to be honest I don't blame him - his job is to protect them as well as he can and prepare them as well as he can for the next day out"
It looked awful. Thankfully I have never saw a Monaghan team do it.

ORIELMAN85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 648 - 23/06/2025 18:05:38    2620461

Replying To greenfan:  "Jim will sleep perfectly well all week. He's been there and done it before."
Never have I heard such whinging from him. Beaten docket. Yous have done well to get this far, Ulster champs and reaching the last 8 will be a creditable year but yous aren't top 4 top 2 contenders (under him)

farneygael3 (Monaghan) - Posts: 254 - 23/06/2025 18:11:33    2620465

Replying To sligo joe:  "Sorry but very relevant to the current issue, if Donegal had beaten or drawn with Tyrone, there would be no Donegal issue regarding 6,7 or 8 day turn around."
Not relevant at all. The question here is why Kerry get 8 days, Galway get 7 days as do Dublin. We get the short end of the straw again with 6 days, similar to The Hyde Park situation for the Mayo game. It's predictable and very frustrating. That's what people are frustrated about.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1466 - 23/06/2025 18:14:26    2620466

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Ah stop. Every pitch Jim mentioned was not available."
That's not correct, the CCCC said Omagh, Clones and Cavan weren't available as Tyrone, Cavan and Monaghan were playing and there would be issues with stewards etc. Yet they then fixed Limerick Hurlers at Croke Park at 4pm on Saturday afternoon and then played Galway v Tipp at the Gaelic Grounds at 6.15pm on the sane Saturday evening. How did they sort them logistics? Jim was right.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 150 - 23/06/2025 18:16:45    2620468

Replying To joeteor:  "not so sure about that, they had no issue with Kerry and Meath playing in Tullamore while Offaly were playing in Kildare on the Saturday."
Where would you have made donegal play?

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 23/06/2025 18:22:42    2620471

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yesterday we ran the bench, footballers would much rather play a game than train, it's the long journeys and overnight stays that takes a toll I think, Dublin always had the advantage of sleeping in their own beds before big games and they had their routine of playing at home in Croker,
the six day turnaround in this case isn't so bad imo, we had a comfortable home victory and got Jason back and Oisin hitting form, hopefully McGonagle is nearing fitness also, things ae going well, just have to be ready cause Monaghan are going to be hard to beat."
according to Jim, McGonagle is close. it was a bone bruise he picked up against Tyrone apparently so it's a sore one that can be hard to heal up fully

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 228 - 23/06/2025 18:27:06    2620473

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Ah stop. Every pitch Jim mentioned was not available."
All them pitches were free and available at the time of the donegal game

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 356 - 23/06/2025 18:29:26    2620474

Replying To gaeltacht81:  "I find it very strange that people from other counties come on to other counties forums to have a go at them. And ya wonder what must have happened....."
It's called free speech & a public forum ..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 236 - 23/06/2025 18:44:03    2620480

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "He went over the top with his rant. It was pretty embarrassing. We don't always get a raw deal the way he was going on"
Don't think your a Donegal supporter? If you are God help us

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 625 - 23/06/2025 19:01:48    2620488

Replying To farneygael3:  "Roll on Saturday. Jimmy will have sleepless nights now, the 6 day turn around will occupy his head more than us. He can put the feet up for the winter after Saturday and the fans can start setting aside their €2 for next years travel"
Although he probably rates Monaghan higher I think it will suit Jim a lot better to play Monaghan.

We know what we are getting with Monaghan whereas Meath are a bit of a conundrum in terms of which one you're going to get.
We have already played you and beaten you so he knows what worked
He would have analysed what didn't work too including the way we allowed back into game at the end of the second half. So you won't the only team who learned from it.
We are also only one player away from having a full deck to choose from (and Caolan McGonagle is close too)

So really, the tactical approach work is already a lot more advanced that it would have been against Meath.

What will occupy his mind is more the team's performance levels.

Our scoring efficiency levels have dropped since the start of the championship and it almost came to a head against Louth in that first half.

But then the dam burst

Gallen played really well. Thompson got a goal. Hugh McFadden showed his worth to the team. Daire O'Baoill hit some great scores. McBrearty got some confidence back playing provider.

Jim will just want that type of performance from the start. And if we click, he'll be sleeping very well come Saturday night.

Al_Maguire (Donegal) - Posts: 284 - 23/06/2025 19:19:21    2620490

I see gaa plus have a Tyrone and cavan crests and players in the upcoming section of their website...... Just throw us out and be done with it

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 881 - 23/06/2025 21:25:22    2620505

I've just seen the statement thats been released tonight.

I've no problem with them making the request and think it is unfair, but releasing the statement is the wrong move. Its just not helpful. Maybe the idea is to have a team against the world scenario but Im not a fan of it.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1433 - 23/06/2025 22:37:46    2620514

Lads, tá sé soléir go bhfuil triúr nó ceathrar amadáin cruthaithe ag postáil anseo.

Rise above it!

#JWM

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9834 - 23/06/2025 22:56:06    2620516

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Yesterday we ran the bench, footballers would much rather play a game than train, it's the long journeys and overnight stays that takes a toll I think, Dublin always had the advantage of sleeping in their own beds before big games and they had their routine of playing at home in Croker,
the six day turnaround in this case isn't so bad imo, we had a comfortable home victory and got Jason back and Oisin hitting form, hopefully McGonagle is nearing fitness also, things ae going well, just have to be ready cause Monaghan are going to be hard to beat."
Dublin...

Change the record. Dublin don't fix the times of matches. Croke Park is in Dublin. Donegal is far away.

He's afraid of Monaghan. That's the issue. And rightly so because they are going to spank their green asses.

Oh yes...

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3656 - 23/06/2025 23:26:35    2620519

County Board and Jim are making us a laughing stock. Jesus let it go !

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 178 - 24/06/2025 03:02:05    2620521

Did no one tell Jimmy if he wanted a weeks rest he should have win all the games in the group! Some whinging and embarrassing statement released

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 784 - 24/06/2025 08:00:28    2620528

Replying To TheFlaker:  "If it was played on Malin Head with Margo reffing Jim wouldn't be happy."
Who did mayo get in the draw?

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1089 - 24/06/2025 08:19:27    2620530

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Some crowd to whinge. Non stop moaning"
This is big boys football, go back to getting bate by some mickey mouse team in the tailteann cup

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1089 - 24/06/2025 08:21:33    2620531