Donegal GAA thread

I meant to add, 'What do you think of THAT Joe Brolly!! lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 20/04/2024 23:02:51    2539411

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Lynch is a very good footballer, but the risk is always there. Ryan O'Donoghue should have finished one into an open net yesterday, after Lynch was caught upfield. That would have levelled the game late on. He obviously got caught out by Comer in the All-Ireland semi-final of 2022 as well.
It's probably worth it if they feel he contributes enough in creating chances up the other end of the pitch, but conceding a goal like that can be a real momentum swinger."
I shouldn't quote myself, but I do want to repeat the point from a month ago. The impact of conceding a goal like that is even more than a normal goal, as it's a real sickener and feels like s gift. It's always a risk when a goalie comes out that often to pressure a kickout. Especially against a keeper with as long and accurate a kick as Patton.
Once they got caught out for the first one, it only got worse from there.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2046 - 21/04/2024 01:35:12    2539425

Well done Derry where over hyped and their main players have been playing for long time without a break.
Hopefully now managers will get their goalie to stay close to their line.
Had said it for a while some time this will backfire and it came home bite time yesterday.
Hopefully Down will take the same energy next week and topple Armagh.

Mournemagic (Down) - Posts: 3 - 21/04/2024 06:49:00    2539430

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Shows the difference having a top manager makes, you were bluffing on here for years that the players weren't good enough, biggest problem was the management, as has been clearly shown now.
Fantastic stuff, nearly died with the laughing at Lynch getting caught out so often, fly goalies my ar**,
my voice and and my heart took a battering and only a week till we go again,
I think think way the are disrespecting the provincials by running them off like a blitz is a disgrace, Ulster Championship has kicked into life bigtime, I hope Cavan give Tyrone a good rattle tomorrow.
Mickey Harte has his eyes on Sam, he's a wiley oul fox too and though he didn't expect to get hammered today he won't be too down after it, they have a month or more to get ready for All Ireland group stage now."
He continually said we hadn't the players but I doubt he will admit he has been proven wrong again. The players have been managed well in the league as well, Mc Gee and Dara held back for the big day. Of course we have to follow it up but the players will now certainly buy into the Mc Guinness Gameplan.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 290 - 21/04/2024 07:52:49    2539435

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Shows the difference having a top manager makes, you were bluffing on here for years that the players weren't good enough, biggest problem was the management, as has been clearly shown now.
Fantastic stuff, nearly died with the laughing at Lynch getting caught out so often, fly goalies my ar**,
my voice and and my heart took a battering and only a week till we go again,
I think think way the are disrespecting the provincials by running them off like a blitz is a disgrace, Ulster Championship has kicked into life bigtime, I hope Cavan give Tyrone a good rattle tomorrow.
Mickey Harte has his eyes on Sam, he's a wiley oul fox too and though he didn't expect to get hammered today he won't be too down after it, they have a month or more to get ready for All Ireland group stage now."
Cool the jets lad we all want Donegal to win. I predicted after the league final that we would win. Derry we're a sitting duck look what happened mayo last year. I was smart enough to back them at 3/1 on Thursday so thank you Jim and the lads for filling my pockets. . As for me being a bluffer time will tell rorysboys is never far wrong. Nice to see all the armchair supporters coming out of the woodwork now. Anyway I'm delighted for Jim and the lads will we win an all Ireland this year no we won't will we win Ulster we have a chance but as a few of yous said before. Winning Ulster is not the priority it's Sam we want. If I remember I think bonner win Ulster in his first year. Just saying . Anyway I'm off to spend my hard earned winnings. Il keep yous updated on any more betting coups.. have a nice day I'm tired but happy. Ps panamasam have respect for your fellow posters. I'm surprised by you as for the rest of the wafflers it's par for the course for them. .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 21/04/2024 08:39:36    2539450

Another example if any was needed that mcguinness is an excellent manager, has transformed donegal in a matter of months. I expected us to be competitive last night but wS hoping and kot expecting a win. We had immense performances all over the field, player's who were in and out of the team like OBaoill under previous managers have now become mainstays on the team. Really enjoyed the trip to celtic Park and donegal people are buzzing again about the team and the pride we have in them. A short turnaround again, condensed season socks hopefully Burns will sort this mess out.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 21/04/2024 08:50:38    2539454

Replying To greenfan:  "Derry got what they deserved today. Thought they just had to turn up, complacent, cocky, whatever you want to call it, disrespectful to Donegal. Biggest problem we will have next day is the short turnaround. Bodies will be sore , will Patton be fit? Hopefully tomorrow's game between Tyrone and Cavan is really intense also ."
I think that's unfair. Derry looked leggy and tired. Yes they may have underestimated Donegal but I don't think it was about disrespect. Just enjoy the win without being petty.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 21/04/2024 09:30:12    2539465

Huge game yesterday. I thought Lynch could be targeted but never dreamed we'd get 3 goals off it. Great gameplan and execution. Lots of similarities with Dublin in 2014. We all know what happened after that game, let's hope the same doesn't happen here.

Patton won that game for us so he will be a huge loss. But Mulreany looks decent and brings something different.

A big challenge now in getting the lads rested, grounded and re-focused all within 7 days.

A note on Brendan McCole. Just back from injury and keeps the in form forward in the country scoreless from play. Incredible. That was great defending the old fashioned way which still has its uses as another poster has said

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 21/04/2024 09:59:45    2539476

Replying To rorysboys:  "Cool the jets lad we all want Donegal to win. I predicted after the league final that we would win. Derry we're a sitting duck look what happened mayo last year. I was smart enough to back them at 3/1 on Thursday so thank you Jim and the lads for filling my pockets. . As for me being a bluffer time will tell rorysboys is never far wrong. Nice to see all the armchair supporters coming out of the woodwork now. Anyway I'm delighted for Jim and the lads will we win an all Ireland this year no we won't will we win Ulster we have a chance but as a few of yous said before. Winning Ulster is not the priority it's Sam we want. If I remember I think bonner win Ulster in his first year. Just saying . Anyway I'm off to spend my hard earned winnings. Il keep yous updated on any more betting coups.. have a nice day I'm tired but happy. Ps panamasam have respect for your fellow posters. I'm surprised by you as for the rest of the wafflers it's par for the course for them. ."
I've been supporting armchairs all my life and to some extent they have been supporting me. Do ya never sit down yerself, or are you always standing on the front line with the other 14?

Hand_Solo (Donegal) - Posts: 2 - 21/04/2024 10:10:45    2539479

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think that's unfair. Derry looked leggy and tired. Yes they may have underestimated Donegal but I don't think it was about disrespect. Just enjoy the win without being petty."
Not being petty. Giving my opinion. In my opinion Derry were complacent and didn't give Donegal enough respect and because of that they got what they deserved.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 21/04/2024 10:15:31    2539480

Jim said it in his interview on RTE . One swallow doesn't make a summer. People need to remember it's one win, and not start getting carried away talking about Sam and players being up with the best in the country. This team has a long way to go in its development and how good or bad they are will become clearer after more games against top level opposition. Supporters need to cool the expectations a bit, support the team without adding hype and more pressure. We should all enjoy the win, it was magical but lets give the team a chance to develop.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 21/04/2024 10:42:13    2539484

Jason came of age yesterday, on a personal level I am over the moon for the lad and I hope he can stay injury free and build on that performance. We've all known in the county for years how good he and Langan could be and I really thought Jason yesterday was the MOTM

One of my best days following Donegal, the atmosphere in Derry and the weather all made for a magic championship evening. And in spite of some typical sniping on this board a very good and loud turnout from Donegal supporters

Lots of sore bodies and I hope Patton is ok, it's a short turnaround I just hope Cavan-Tyrone go at it hell for leather this afternoon so that both sides will be tired next Sunday

Tír Chonaill abú

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 21/04/2024 10:53:51    2539488

Replying To Ulsterman:  "I think that's unfair. Derry looked leggy and tired. Yes they may have underestimated Donegal but I don't think it was about disrespect. Just enjoy the win without being petty."
I thought they looked a bit spooked by the first goal and it took them a while to get a handle on things, they recovered very well and to be honest at half time I felt we were in trouble only being a point up after the dominance we'd shown. But the 2nd goal was a real killer the belief drained out of them it looked to me anyway. Only for Niall's black card I don't think there'd have been 17 points scored by Derry, I think they got 4 or 5 in that period after the penalty

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 97 - 21/04/2024 10:55:58    2539490

Replying To CCFabu:  "Jason came of age yesterday, on a personal level I am over the moon for the lad and I hope he can stay injury free and build on that performance. We've all known in the county for years how good he and Langan could be and I really thought Jason yesterday was the MOTM

One of my best days following Donegal, the atmosphere in Derry and the weather all made for a magic championship evening. And in spite of some typical sniping on this board a very good and loud turnout from Donegal supporters

Lots of sore bodies and I hope Patton is ok, it's a short turnaround I just hope Cavan-Tyrone go at it hell for leather this afternoon so that both sides will be tired next Sunday

Tír Chonaill abú"
Jason was excellent. Really stood out yesterday, and many did. There's about 10 men could have deserved it, including Ethan Doherty from Derry.

Patton, Curran, Moore, McGonagle, McHugh, and McGee all 8s and 9s out of 10. I'd pay little attention to the idea it was a gameplan that beat Derry yesterday. An excellent team performance did.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 384 - 21/04/2024 12:34:05    2539510

Not going say much today here just sitting like a Cheshire cat here all morning. Is it just me but all I can see is mcgonagle is a copy of rambo in yrs gone bye.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 21/04/2024 12:55:13    2539514

Sitting back reading the posts it's the same old story. I seen too many false dawns. We need to respect every team it's Cavan or Tyrone next have we a given right to beat them no we don't we'll have to perform again. From speaking to few knowledgeable gaa men last night they were all saying the hype will be starting now look what happened Derry when they believed things that were being said about them.. as I said cool the jets it's only an Ulster quarter final.. as for the posters targeting me kop on I m as much a Donegal man as most of yous. Petty little people having a go after a great win. Next Sunday will probably be most of yous first game all year. lol.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 21/04/2024 13:04:38    2539515

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "Jason was excellent. Really stood out yesterday, and many did. There's about 10 men could have deserved it, including Ethan Doherty from Derry.

Patton, Curran, Moore, McGonagle, McHugh, and McGee all 8s and 9s out of 10. I'd pay little attention to the idea it was a gameplan that beat Derry yesterday. An excellent team performance did."
Agree 100%, excellent team performance with so many impressing. Well done Donegal on a superb win. I was very impressed with the work rate, pace and intelligence of two of your returning players Shane and Niall O Donnell, they like all their team mates have totally bought into the game plan . Niall kicked a very smart point and that side step by Shane sent the Derry defence in the opposite direction and opened a route to goal leading to the penalty and crucial third goal. A lot of discussion on tactics, fly keeper, restarts and midfield but Donegal's execution was so accurate. O'Baoill's lobs we're a thing of beauty (go hiontach) and no one was going to stop Jamie Brennan's piledriver to the roof of the net.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 21/04/2024 13:38:14    2539522

That was a great win and really enjoyed the whole thing, a lovely day with a full house in a great atmospheric ground.

Ryan mchugh emptied himself. After say the first quater he was gassed for a few minutes. He would a rolling sub at that point. Great to see daire obaoill doing so well. He's stuck with it through a few challenging years and matches. In fairness to bradley/o'rourke last year it was a good decision to move him to the half forward line. That's three times he's lobbed the keeper this year. That's something to tell the grandkids.

The tenacity and discipline in the tackle particularly in the first half was very noticeable. Since the cork game they have also stopped teams running straight down the middle and mcgonagle has really helped to shore that up.

The decrease in unforced errors really has improved from the league. I hope the players got through it all relatively unscathed and we might get to see ban back as well as mccolgan and conor o'donnell.
Mcguinness did mention decision making as an area for improvement and there was quite a bit of efforts for points that weren't on. Also the niall o'donnell black card had quite a bearing so have to be careful on the discipline.
Anyhow a great day for the team, management and supporters and one to saviour.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 697 - 21/04/2024 13:54:04    2539524

Replying To greenfan:  "Derry got what they deserved today. Thought they just had to turn up, complacent, cocky, whatever you want to call it, disrespectful to Donegal. Biggest problem we will have next day is the short turnaround. Bodies will be sore , will Patton be fit? Hopefully tomorrow's game between Tyrone and Cavan is really intense also ."
Derry weren't cocky at all. Donegal hit them with 2 sucker punches of goals which was a master plan as it worked and 3 of Derry's best players didn't turn up. Don't forget the championship hasn't started yet.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2017 - 21/04/2024 14:30:08    2539526

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sitting back reading the posts it's the same old story. I seen too many false dawns. We need to respect every team it's Cavan or Tyrone next have we a given right to beat them no we don't we'll have to perform again. From speaking to few knowledgeable gaa men last night they were all saying the hype will be starting now look what happened Derry when they believed things that were being said about them.. as I said cool the jets it's only an Ulster quarter final.. as for the posters targeting me kop on I m as much a Donegal man as most of yous. Petty little people having a go after a great win. Next Sunday will probably be most of yous first game all year. lol."
100% correct. They hype needs to be kept in check, because we all know what happens when the expectations rise . It puts too much pressure on the team and if they don't deliver titles then the abuse starts. Take it one game at a time, it's improving but it has a long long way to go. Supporters must give the team and management the time and space to do what they have to do.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 21/04/2024 14:41:25    2539527