Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "I think Curran a shoe in with mc Cole definite for full back. Mc menamin if he keeps fit will be the other corner man. As I said this while we are lacking good tight corner backs. I might sound like a record player but im worried come championship if anything happens any of these three.. if we want to have a good year we'll have to play in croker then I think the troubles could start. Maybe I'm wrong hopefully"
I think Ciaran Moore could be a player that would make a good corner back. Obviously has the engine to go up and down the field, as is required in the modern game. Has a bit of height & phyicality. Good work rate, speed and can put pressure on a player.
I always think about Barry McGowan, never played corner back until he got his chance for the county back in 1992. Away before his time in terms of an attacking corner back. He would have done well in the modern game.

The_viewer (Donegal) - Posts: 6 - 28/02/2024 00:30:54    2528752

Replying To The_viewer:  "I think Ciaran Moore could be a player that would make a good corner back. Obviously has the engine to go up and down the field, as is required in the modern game. Has a bit of height & phyicality. Good work rate, speed and can put pressure on a player.
I always think about Barry McGowan, never played corner back until he got his chance for the county back in 1992. Away before his time in terms of an attacking corner back. He would have done well in the modern game."
100% Moore is a baller and will be a consistent in Jim's starting 15 and like you say could be in the full back line.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 28/02/2024 23:50:28    2528865

Replying To The_viewer:  "I think Ciaran Moore could be a player that would make a good corner back. Obviously has the engine to go up and down the field, as is required in the modern game. Has a bit of height & phyicality. Good work rate, speed and can put pressure on a player.
I always think about Barry McGowan, never played corner back until he got his chance for the county back in 1992. Away before his time in terms of an attacking corner back. He would have done well in the modern game."
Barry McGowan was a brilliant footballer. He could play in any number of positions and look the part.
Lads like him, Damien Diver and Brian Roper would have been serious operators in the modern game I reckon.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 29/02/2024 09:32:37    2528889

Good news on the injury front according to the messiah the only one who is a good few weeks off is Eoin Ban but hoping he will be around for end of the league.

Adding Jason Mc Gee , Conor and Niall o Donnell , Caolan Ward etc to the squad very soon again is brilliant and we will have a really strong core of options of around 22/23 players with the rest making up the numbers.

Things are building nicely and I am really looking forward to the rest of the year and into next year also.

The most impressive thing for me outside of getting a strong fit and hungry squad back together again properly has been our ability to adapt and react to in game scenarios. The mgr and coaching team are absolutely miles ahead of the previous regimes in reading a game properly which is critical.

Well done Jimmy Mc - great to have you back on board.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 29/02/2024 11:55:50    2528923

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Good news on the injury front according to the messiah the only one who is a good few weeks off is Eoin Ban but hoping he will be around for end of the league.

Adding Jason Mc Gee , Conor and Niall o Donnell , Caolan Ward etc to the squad very soon again is brilliant and we will have a really strong core of options of around 22/23 players with the rest making up the numbers.

Things are building nicely and I am really looking forward to the rest of the year and into next year also.

The most impressive thing for me outside of getting a strong fit and hungry squad back together again properly has been our ability to adapt and react to in game scenarios. The mgr and coaching team are absolutely miles ahead of the previous regimes in reading a game properly which is critical.

Well done Jimmy Mc - great to have you back on board."
You don't seem to know much about your own club not alone any other club. A wee :I was wrong' would be nice. Another thing don't believe everything you read in the paper..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 29/02/2024 14:57:19    2528943

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Good news on the injury front according to the messiah the only one who is a good few weeks off is Eoin Ban but hoping he will be around for end of the league.

Well done Jimmy Mc - great to have you back on board."
Keeping Jason McGee fit will be the challenge, if he remains fit he will be a massive player for us, but I don't recall him getting a run without injuries for one full season yet. Its a shame.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 29/02/2024 15:09:23    2528944

Replying To Commodore:  "Keeping Jason McGee fit will be the challenge, if he remains fit he will be a massive player for us, but I don't recall him getting a run without injuries for one full season yet. Its a shame."
I would agree with your comment, keeping Jason fit will be crutial. Himself and Ciaran would form a great midfield and be able to leave Caolan at number 6 where he has been excellent so far.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 29/02/2024 16:41:45    2528956

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I would agree with your comment, keeping Jason fit will be crutial. Himself and Ciaran would form a great midfield and be able to leave Caolan at number 6 where he has been excellent so far."
Not sure Thommo is a county midfielder - lords it at club level but doesn't dominate at the main level.

Better in wing half forward for me.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 29/02/2024 21:21:41    2528983

Fantastic engine and an exciting talent.

Hopefully glenties/fintown won't try claim he's theirs too…..

Not sure if he b a corner back- his best qualities are in the attacking half of the field.

It's interesting watching the messiah trying to find his best role - he's tried him at half forward , midfield and half back.

He clearly rates him and wants him in the team - just trying to find out where to get the maximum return

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 29/02/2024 21:24:58    2528985

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Not sure Thommo is a county midfielder - lords it at club level but doesn't dominate at the main level.

Better in wing half forward for me."
Nah He is central or nowhere

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 29/02/2024 21:35:57    2528988

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Barry McGowan was a brilliant footballer. He could play in any number of positions and look the part.
Lads like him, Damien Diver and Brian Roper would have been serious operators in the modern game I reckon."
Don't forget our other corner back was also really a half back viz Noel Hegarty.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 29/02/2024 21:40:20    2528990

Replying To gunman:  "Don't forget our other corner back was also really a half back viz Noel Hegarty."
Noel was some player, I remember vividly standing behind the goals in Newbridge in 2001 at our first ever "back door" match watching Noel come off the bench and score a great point in what was (I think) his final game for the county.

BeardedBorderGael (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 29/02/2024 22:50:03    2528996

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Fantastic engine and an exciting talent.

Not sure if he b a corner back- his best qualities are in the attacking half of the field.

It's interesting watching the messiah trying to find his best role - he's tried him at half forward , midfield and half back.

He clearly rates him and wants him in the team - just trying to find out where to get the maximum return"
Milford might have a claim, seeing as he lives in their parish.....

ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 205 - 29/02/2024 23:44:09    2529002

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I would agree with your comment, keeping Jason fit will be crutial. Himself and Ciaran would form a great midfield and be able to leave Caolan at number 6 where he has been excellent so far."
If Jason McGee remains fit, alongside Caolan McGonigle, Michael Langan, Ciaran Thompson, Hugh McFadden, Oisin Gallen etc, Shaun Patton would have a lot of high fielders outfield to target his kickouts towards, nightmare for opposition teams.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 01/03/2024 08:03:53    2529009

Replying To BeardedBorderGael:  "Noel was some player, I remember vividly standing behind the goals in Newbridge in 2001 at our first ever "back door" match watching Noel come off the bench and score a great point in what was (I think) his final game for the county."
Yeah Noel and his brother Paddy were great footballers. Without going all nostalgic on it that was a great era back in the late 80s early 90s when you had themselves and Killybegs going at it hammer and tongs. Some serious footballers on both sides...JJ Doherty, the Hegartys, the Carrs, Razda, Manus Boyle, Barry Cunningham, Barry McGowan etc

Declan Boyle is another man from that era who I think could have been a fantastic county player.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 01/03/2024 08:42:55    2529011

Replying To ballboy101:  "Milford might have a claim, seeing as he lives in their parish....."
Don't annoy him or he'll disappear as usual. If hd's challenged he'll change the subject. By the way eunans forever admit you're wrong about Patton . Just waiting on your apology. lol. Rorysboys is seldom wrong. Own up big lad

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 01/03/2024 09:22:23    2529016

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Fantastic engine and an exciting talent.

He clearly rates him and wants him in the team - just trying to find out where to get the maximum return"
The club is Naomh Conaill, please have some respect. They are our county champions and they've set the bench mark for us all currently.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 01/03/2024 09:49:49    2529023

Replying To rorysboys:  "Don't annoy him or he'll disappear as usual. If hd's challenged he'll change the subject. By the way eunans forever admit you're wrong about Patton . Just waiting on your apology. lol. Rorysboys is seldom wrong. Own up big lad"
I don't think anyone disappears... they probably just have a life outside of Hogan stand and aren't on here daily posting messages in an anonymous forum

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 01/03/2024 10:46:23    2529031

Replying To greenfan:  "I don't think anyone disappears... they probably just have a life outside of Hogan stand and aren't on here daily posting messages in an anonymous forum"
Can eunans forever not speak for himself. Great to have a spokesperson on an anonymous forum. . All I'm saying is too bad he doesn't know when his own club man played for eunans. Hope to see yous all in ballyshannon this week hopefully it'll not be too cold.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 01/03/2024 11:01:59    2529033

Replying To rorysboys:  "Can eunans forever not speak for himself. Great to have a spokesperson on an anonymous forum. . All I'm saying is too bad he doesn't know when his own club man played for eunans. Hope to see yous all in ballyshannon this week hopefully it'll not be too cold."
You go to every game, everyone gets it, no need to keep on about it. Go to the game and watch the game, forget about how many other people are there. The constant criticism of people who don't go to every game is tiresome.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 01/03/2024 12:01:59    2529047