Donegal GAA thread

Same problems remain as in Declans time. We still are two man markers short. We need another presence in the full forward line also. I think Brennan looks bulked up. I wonder is Jim thinking of him as a ball winning 14.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 26/02/2024 17:49:26    2528432

Our kickouts yesterday were different to previous games. We seemed to be trying to get them away short on most occasions. We did get them all away successfully, but on a couple of occasions the man who collected the kick out was left isolated, and could've been turned over. I just wonder if this was a ploy to see how Armagh would go after it. Overall, we done well on the Armagh kickout, and we hunted the breaks well. We probably only went very long once, but on that occasion Daire O'Baoill lost the flight of it, and with it a great chance was gone. I'd imagine if we make it to a league final that Gavin Mulreany will get a start.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 26/02/2024 18:47:01    2528450

Replying To panamasam:  "It certainly sounded like there was more watching live. I presume again there was no cash accepted either? Probably not much of a factor but something else that could be a deterrent. On the game itself I felt Donegal were probably the better side but left a couple of goals behind them granted the penalty looked soft. Caught out wide open for their goal which was disappointing but overall again happy enough considering the gap after their goal and to pull out a draw after going a point down late on. Like others I thought Ryan McHugh was excellent and he's got himself in great shape. Also Caolan McGonigle really drove on the team when it was needed and he certainly looks to have gone up a level already with Jim in charge."
There was plenty of Donegal support on the terrace where I was standing. The stand was virtually full an hour before the game and for obvious reasons it was mainly Armagh supporters.
We were the better team yesterday. Handed Armagh a soft goal and didn't take two excellent chances. For the first twenty minutes of the second half we dominated. Ryan, Caolán and Paddy are flying.
Armagh's final three scores came from cheap turnovers. We were denied an obvious mark for Thompson, in a scoring position, by poor officiating and Langan was unlucky near the end with the effort that came off the post.
All in all plenty to be positive about although midfield would still be a concern.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 130 - 26/02/2024 19:03:04    2528459

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Same problems remain as in Declans time. We still are two man markers short. We need another presence in the full forward line also. I think Brennan looks bulked up. I wonder is Jim thinking of him as a ball winning 14."
I think we will be fine in the back line when we get all our injured defenders back, Eoin Ban, Mc Colgan, Kevin Mc Gettigan and Hugh Mc Fadden ( still not 100%).
Firstly Jamie Brennan is too small for full forward and secondly he has had a poor league campaign and when we get all our injured forwards back he will have bother making the starting 15 unless he improved considerably in the last few league matches.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 26/02/2024 19:03:05    2528460

Replying To rorysboys:  "Ok but surely every county has the same problem finance etc. what you must take into account is the size of Donegal compared to a lot of the other counties. Excuses running out I'm afraid. I can tell you this I'm not a wealthy man but I go because I want to support my county. I could have sat in my local watching the caraboo cup yesterday and probably spend more money but I feel I owe it to Jim and the lads to go and support them. They put in a huge effort."
Agree 100%, you either support your County team or not. The excuses are incredibly at this stage......

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 26/02/2024 19:05:13    2528461

Replying To rorysboys:  "What do you make of the goal. Really like mc menamin was he ball watching. We can't afford giving Away bad goals in championship. Look at con o g Saturday night if we want to progress we need players who can put it up to him. Easier said than done but Shane mc guigan murnin daragh canavan are really good players . Who need to be man marked at certain times but these are the crucial times in a game."
Not like Mc Menamin to get caught out like that but its a good lesson for another day. Thats the problem with the modern day football tactics when the fuul back is pulled out the field.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 26/02/2024 19:08:08    2528462

Replying To Commodore:  "I thought Caolan McGonigle had a quiet first half, but I did notice this game that he seems to play a big role in organizing the troops for opposition kick-outs, he had a much better second half.

Collectively the team played very well, high intensity and physical, lots of sloppy mistakes too, but I think consideration that it was their first big test is definitely allowed. I think it shows we're definitely back amongst the Tier 2 sides hoping to breakthrough into the Tier 1.

Tier 1 Rankings
Dublin, Kerry, Derry

Tier 2 Rankings
Mayo, Tyrone, Galway, Armagh, Donegal"
Could be 3 tiers this year for me.

Tier 1 Rankings
Dublin

Tier 2 Rnkings
Kerry, Derry

Tier 3 Rankings
Mayo, Tyrone, Galway, Armagh, Donegal

Being realistic, I feel like we could beat Armagh as we seen at the weekend, that's not a gimme either as Armagh would be favourites. We could give Tyrone or Galway a game and on our day if everything works out on the day but they would be even heavier favourites. Mayo one step further again, I don't see us beating Mayo, Dublin Kerry or sadly even Derry this year. Maybe in 2 or 3 years we could challenge them 4 hopefully.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 225 - 26/02/2024 19:17:46    2528465

Just seen the highlights show from last night. How far was the Armagh keeper off his line for the penalty. I hate giving out about officials but what are the umpires at. I don't think you can leave the line anymore. Can anyone clarify this rule?

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 26/02/2024 20:00:02    2528479

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Just seen the highlights show from last night. How far was the Armagh keeper off his line for the penalty. I hate giving out about officials but what are the umpires at. I don't think you can leave the line anymore. Can anyone clarify this rule?"
Aye, he can't move off his line til the ball is kicked. He was miles off alright. Same umpires who waved a definite Donegal point as wide too.

WeGoAgain (Donegal) - Posts: 32 - 26/02/2024 20:40:07    2528485

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Just seen the highlights show from last night. How far was the Armagh keeper off his line for the penalty. I hate giving out about officials but what are the umpires at. I don't think you can leave the line anymore. Can anyone clarify this rule?"
Likewise just saw it, and he was a good bit off his line. Farah didnt have a wonderful game yesterday, he seemed to be carrying a couple of knocks during the game. Paddy was going very well, so he might have been a better option to hit it.

It didn't show it on the highlights, and would like to have seen it again, but I felt we had another decent penalty claim with a foot block earlier in the second half.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 26/02/2024 20:46:59    2528487

Yeah , the penalty should have been retaken.. keeper was off his line well before the ball was kicked.
The rule is.. 'The goalkeeper may move along his line but may not move forward until the ball is kicked. All other players must be outside the 20m line and the arc until the ball is kicked'

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 26/02/2024 20:48:00    2528488

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Likewise just saw it, and he was a good bit off his line. Farah didnt have a wonderful game yesterday, he seemed to be carrying a couple of knocks during the game. Paddy was going very well, so he might have been a better option to hit it.

It didn't show it on the highlights, and would like to have seen it again, but I felt we had another decent penalty claim with a foot block earlier in the second half."
Looking at the reply for the potential footblock I honestly think the Armagh fella blocked it with his backside

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 40 - 26/02/2024 21:42:40    2528499

Replying To FootballGuy:  "
Replying To Commodore:  "I thought Caolan McGonigle had a quiet first half, but I did notice this game that he seems to play a big role in organizing the troops for opposition kick-outs, he had a much better second half.

Collectively the team played very well, high intensity and physical, lots of sloppy mistakes too, but I think consideration that it was their first big test is definitely allowed. I think it shows we're definitely back amongst the Tier 2 sides hoping to breakthrough into the Tier 1.

Tier 1 Rankings
Dublin, Kerry, Derry

Tier 2 Rankings
Mayo, Tyrone, Galway, Armagh, Donegal"
Could be 3 tiers this year for me.

Tier 1 Rankings
Dublin

Tier 2 Rnkings
Kerry, Derry

Tier 3 Rankings
Mayo, Tyrone, Galway, Armagh, Donegal

Being realistic, I feel like we could beat Armagh as we seen at the weekend, that's not a gimme either as Armagh would be favourites. We could give Tyrone or Galway a game and on our day if everything works out on the day but they would be even heavier favourites. Mayo one step further again, I don't see us beating Mayo, Dublin Kerry or sadly even Derry this year. Maybe in 2 or 3 years we could challenge them 4 hopefully."
In 3 years time most of our team will be on the wrong side of 30.Now is the time or at worst next year.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 26/02/2024 22:38:30    2528513

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I think we will be fine in the back line when we get all our injured defenders back, Eoin Ban, Mc Colgan, Kevin Mc Gettigan and Hugh Mc Fadden ( still not 100%).
Firstly Jamie Brennan is too small for full forward and secondly he has had a poor league campaign and when we get all our injured forwards back he will have bother making the starting 15 unless he improved considerably in the last few league matches."
Agree he's been poor..I'm highlighting he's bulked up considerably. It's not by accident. Darragh Canavan is Tyrone's full forward. He's a ball winner. I don't understand your point about Jamie being too small for full forward. Jamie's strength is ball winning.

If we play Ban in the half back line, we have Mc Cole and still need two defenders alongside him. Ban could take one of the corner spots but if Jim sees him as a half back we still haven't found a corner back based on the 4 games so far. This has been a constant problem the last 4 years.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 26/02/2024 22:40:52    2528514

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Agree he's been poor..I'm highlighting he's bulked up considerably. It's not by accident. Darragh Canavan is Tyrone's full forward. He's a ball winner. I don't understand your point about Jamie being too small for full forward. Jamie's strength is ball winning.

If we play Ban in the half back line, we have Mc Cole and still need two defenders alongside him. Ban could take one of the corner spots but if Jim sees him as a half back we still haven't found a corner back based on the 4 games so far. This has been a constant problem the last 4 years."
It's a point of balance around the defence. With Patton and McCole, we likely need a dominant ball-winner to protect from high balls, but the reason you're playing Patton is to give better options at the restart where we need that ball-winner in the middle. Don't see Bán playing corner. Clone McGonagle and we're fine. Until then, we make do with however long McFadden can play per match, and after that you put faith in Langan, Thompson, McGee in the middle.

You might not be giving enough creedence to the fact that Curran at corner relieves pressure on the box as his marker gets forced deeper. That point also benefits our attack.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 378 - 27/02/2024 09:55:37    2528549

Based on what we have seen so far in the league - we are massively improved on last year and the previous year.

I am mindful of the opposition so far tho but any day you go watch your team and they are brilliantly coached, well organised , react accordingly during a game and players are giving maximum effort - that all you can ask for.

There is a different feel to the set up V the previous few regimes - a buzz , a presence , the country talking about us again.

Championship though is a different animal - Derry are in a fantastic place at the minute and can't wait to see how they fare against the Dubs Saturday night.

Make no mistake we have a huge task coming away to Derry in championship but I'm happy and quietly confident on how things are progressing for now….

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 27/02/2024 10:54:56    2528565

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Based on what we have seen so far in the league - we are massively improved on last year and the previous year.

I am mindful of the opposition so far tho but any day you go watch your team and they are brilliantly coached, well organised , react accordingly during a game and players are giving maximum effort - that all you can ask for.

There is a different feel to the set up V the previous few regimes - a buzz , a presence , the country talking about us again.

Championship though is a different animal - Derry are in a fantastic place at the minute and can't wait to see how they fare against the Dubs Saturday night.

Make no mistake we have a huge task coming away to Derry in championship but I'm happy and quietly confident on how things are progressing for now…."
100% agree on the massive improvement, but I think 2023 as a season needs to be written off from references, as it was gigantic mess for the most part, 2022 is probably the most accurate reference point really.

The big standout improvement from the Declan Bonner era is our improved tackling and defensive structure, Armagh are big physical and talented side, and we seriously put the dampers on them and our physicality has improved. I reckon we will be handful for anyone in the Country this summer, lots to still improve upon, but we are moving in the right direction.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 27/02/2024 13:36:51    2528621

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Agree he's been poor..I'm highlighting he's bulked up considerably. It's not by accident. Darragh Canavan is Tyrone's full forward. He's a ball winner. I don't understand your point about Jamie being too small for full forward. Jamie's strength is ball winning.

If we play Ban in the half back line, we have Mc Cole and still need two defenders alongside him. Ban could take one of the corner spots but if Jim sees him as a half back we still haven't found a corner back based on the 4 games so far. This has been a constant problem the last 4 years."
In my opinion Oisin Gallen will be our full forward, Mc Brearty will be right corner forward, left corner forward is still open.
I think the 2 corner backs will come from Mc Menamin, Kevin Gettigan and Mark Curran. Eoin Ban will be wing half back.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 275 - 27/02/2024 13:37:26    2528622

Replying To Scenicparish:  "In my opinion Oisin Gallen will be our full forward, Mc Brearty will be right corner forward, left corner forward is still open.
I think the 2 corner backs will come from Mc Menamin, Kevin Gettigan and Mark Curran. Eoin Ban will be wing half back."
Yeah I'd agree with that.

I think there is definitely an opening in one of the corner forward positions.

Jamie Brennan - he has proven he has the ability in the past. Can he recapture his old form?
Aaron Doherty - loads of ability but needs to push on and consistently prove he should be a starter

Bolter - someone like KJ Molloy makes a late claim by showing well in the u20s and in training? Perhaps unlikely and wishful thinking but wouldn't it be great to have some young lad come through and burst on to the senior scene?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 27/02/2024 14:56:37    2528648

Jamie Brennan can't buy a point at the moment which is strange since he was our leading scorer from play in those good years of 18,19 add in to 20.In my opinion he just needs to nail a couple of good points to get his confidence back.His tracking back and work rate is brilliant as well and his speed will always be an asset.I would be very loathe to drop him.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1057 - 27/02/2024 14:59:25    2528649