Longford GAA thread

Replying To #Putitup:  "County players playing club games Friday?? Nobody seems to know what's going on in Longford"
There's no 'county player' rule for the ACFL anymore (Revised rules for 2024/2025 are published here). So it's between the player, their club and their county manager as to whether they play club or not during breaks in inter-county. Seems logical that the 26 from yesterday would be rested between now and the Meath game, but there is no rule anymore saying they can't play club and some county panelists who haven't had many or any games yet will likely have their hands up to play ACFL this weekend, which is fine IMO.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 25/03/2024 16:33:10    2533652

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "Players are not used to 3 hour bus journeys either. You could complain no matter what was done there, I see no issue.
How do you know they were out late, were you there watching them? This is the type of dinosaur attitudes that turns lads off playing football. I have no doubt it had no bearing"
If there was a wedding Friday night it should have made no difference, they are not children with bedtimes and they definitely should not have been drinking if they cared about promotion. I was fair certain we would get a win yesterday but you would do us over in Wexford, I was way off the mark. Credit to Wexford's hunger regardless of the result in Carrick, they are right to feel hard done by

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 25/03/2024 16:40:40    2533658

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "There's no 'county player' rule for the ACFL anymore (Revised rules for 2024/2025 are published here). So it's between the player, their club and their county manager as to whether they play club or not during breaks in inter-county. Seems logical that the 26 from yesterday would be rested between now and the Meath game, but there is no rule anymore saying they can't play club and some county panelists who haven't had many or any games yet will likely have their hands up to play ACFL this weekend, which is fine IMO."
So with that being the rule players are not illegal to play, they can tog out and play if they want too? Very grey area if things not positive with county management, only teams really affected are Killoe (7) Dromard (2) Colmcille (2) Connollys (2) Granard (1) and M'aghta (1) from starting 15 , subs not used or only got 10mins yesterday would want to play I'm sure. Maybe all will play if county arent training, a game might be no harm after loss suffered at weekend
Presume u20s are unavailable also with game tomorrow and next Tuesday?

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 25/03/2024 17:06:26    2533668

Replying To #Putitup:  "
Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "There's no 'county player' rule for the ACFL anymore (Revised rules for 2024/2025 are published here). So it's between the player, their club and their county manager as to whether they play club or not during breaks in inter-county. Seems logical that the 26 from yesterday would be rested between now and the Meath game, but there is no rule anymore saying they can't play club and some county panelists who haven't had many or any games yet will likely have their hands up to play ACFL this weekend, which is fine IMO."
So with that being the rule players are not illegal to play, they can tog out and play if they want too? Very grey area if things not positive with county management, only teams really affected are Killoe (7) Dromard (2) Colmcille (2) Connollys (2) Granard (1) and M'aghta (1) from starting 15 , subs not used or only got 10mins yesterday would want to play I'm sure. Maybe all will play if county arent training, a game might be no harm after loss suffered at weekend
Presume u20s are unavailable also with game tomorrow and next Tuesday?"
Good few lads have played 10 full games in 12 weeks between O'Byrne Cup and League, so it would be sensible to rest everyone who played yesterday. I don't think any club will be complaining about that, even though some will be significantly impacted while others will enjoy no impact at all. But shur what can you do about that. Lads who got little or no game time so far with the county will probably play, which is sensible too. So it is back to how it was for decades before the recent county player rule, which is now thankfully gone.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 25/03/2024 17:55:39    2533691

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "
Replying To #Putitup:  "[quote=LongfordgaaAbú:  "There's no 'county player' rule for the ACFL anymore (Revised rules for 2024/2025 are published here). So it's between the player, their club and their county manager as to whether they play club or not during breaks in inter-county. Seems logical that the 26 from yesterday would be rested between now and the Meath game, but there is no rule anymore saying they can't play club and some county panelists who haven't had many or any games yet will likely have their hands up to play ACFL this weekend, which is fine IMO."
Presume u20s are unavailable also with game tomorrow and next Tuesday?"
Good few lads have played 10 full games in 12 weeks between O'Byrne Cup and League, so it would be sensible to rest everyone who played yesterday. I don't think any club will be complaining about that, even though some will be significantly impacted while others will enjoy no impact at all. But shur what can you do about that. Lads who got little or no game time so far with the county will probably play, which is sensible too. So it is back to how it was for decades before the recent county player rule, which is now thankfully gone."]I'm surprised you as a Killoe supporter are thankful that it's gone. Teams have been left wondering who they are going to have for these games. It is never a good thing to have player availability at the whim of the county manager. Teams like Killoe could get badly done with the luck of the draw, unlikely given their incredible strength in depth. I thought it made alot of sense having defined rounds with and without county players with less points for games without county players. Looks like I'm the only one!

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 25/03/2024 19:20:56    2533712

Any feedback from club games, killoe had a few players from county panel, granard too both with good wins. Dromard must be going well if beating mullinaghta only minus fox. Rathcline v carrickedmond must have been a dogfight and clonguish minus u20s were obviously shook...

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 30/03/2024 01:38:10    2534551

Replying To #Putitup:  "Any feedback from club games, killoe had a few players from county panel, granard too both with good wins. Dromard must be going well if beating mullinaghta only minus fox. Rathcline v carrickedmond must have been a dogfight and clonguish minus u20s were obviously shook..."
We only had 3 of the 17 players who took the field in the Senior final last year. Joe O'Brien, Josh Sorohan and Chris Gordon were the only lads playing last night. We had 4 more of this year's minors making their league debuts at senior level. Kevin Baskett at corner back, Daniel Carey wing back, Jamie Dorr at midfield and Cormac Flynn at corner forward. Johnny Burke was the only under 20 county player that played.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 30/03/2024 08:19:19    2534565

Replying To Frank74:  "We only had 3 of the 17 players who took the field in the Senior final last year. Joe O'Brien, Josh Sorohan and Chris Gordon were the only lads playing last night. We had 4 more of this year's minors making their league debuts at senior level. Kevin Baskett at corner back, Daniel Carey wing back, Jamie Dorr at midfield and Cormac Flynn at corner forward. Johnny Burke was the only under 20 county player that played."
I'm sure Abbey were probably far from full strength as well. How strong of a team had Slashers out? Killoe had the 2 Hughes and Paddy Kiernan out. We were very poor last night. Hopefully though its a sign of playing badly but still being able to win. Were Mullinalaghta only missing Fox. I thought I seen on the transfer portal that they lost 3 lads to Australia?

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 30/03/2024 11:44:59    2534585

Replying To Spinx:  "I'm sure Abbey were probably far from full strength as well. How strong of a team had Slashers out? Killoe had the 2 Hughes and Paddy Kiernan out. We were very poor last night. Hopefully though its a sign of playing badly but still being able to win. Were Mullinalaghta only missing Fox. I thought I seen on the transfer portal that they lost 3 lads to Australia?"
What was youre team last night?

slasher9 (Longford) - Posts: 233 - 30/03/2024 15:18:26    2534617

Replying To #Putitup:  "Any feedback from club games, killoe had a few players from county panel, granard too both with good wins. Dromard must be going well if beating mullinaghta only minus fox. Rathcline v carrickedmond must have been a dogfight and clonguish minus u20s were obviously shook..."
Mullinaghta were defo missing brady as well not only fox not sure about Mc Givneys.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 214 - 30/03/2024 15:56:31    2534624

From what I heard, Mullinalaghta were missing a few as were Slashers. Carrickedmond had a full compliment, Rathcline down one or two. Killoe missing half a team, Clonguish missing a full team. Abbey as close to full strength as were Granard I think. Dromard had strong enough team out but I wasn't given any names on who were playing with Dromard...... Was Aaron Farrell playing for them anyone know?

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 31/03/2024 10:29:09    2534761

Yea think Mullinaghta were missing 3r4 that may not be back... Slashers were down 3 and OBrien who may not be back, killoe down 10r11 and not allowing minors to play up, Dromard down 4r5 big mix of old and new, clonguish 6 u20s and somebody said David barden and a couple not back yet, didn't hear anything from carrickedmond and Rathcline, Mostrim short 7r8 and granard only missing Gally and Jamie Brady Hynes.. Colmcille in div 2 were missing 4r5 too.
If u20s lose tomorrow, would they all be playing at weekend?

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 18 - 01/04/2024 12:59:16    2534972

Replying To #Putitup:  "Yea think Mullinaghta were missing 3r4 that may not be back... Slashers were down 3 and OBrien who may not be back, killoe down 10r11 and not allowing minors to play up, Dromard down 4r5 big mix of old and new, clonguish 6 u20s and somebody said David barden and a couple not back yet, didn't hear anything from carrickedmond and Rathcline, Mostrim short 7r8 and granard only missing Gally and Jamie Brady Hynes.. Colmcille in div 2 were missing 4r5 too.
If u20s lose tomorrow, would they all be playing at weekend?"
Of the 7 Killoe lads on the county panel, three were playing the other night (Mark Hughes, Micheal Hughes and Paddy Kiernan) and four weren't (Liam Hughes, Mickey Quinn, Ryan Moffett and Daniel Mimnagh). Wouldn't be many minors on the Killoe starting 15, so not sure where you got that we were down 10 or 11. Ten of those who started the other night made an appearance in last years county final. With expected changes from last year, i'd say we were down around 6/7 from where we would be with everyone available.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 01/04/2024 20:30:17    2535063

Replying To slasher9:  "What was youre team last night?"
Jaysus slasher9....I didn't think anyone would be interested in what team we had out the other night!!
Are you on a scouting job for some of the other Division 2 teams?

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 03/04/2024 15:57:22    2535401

Replying To Spinx:  "Jaysus slasher9....I didn't think anyone would be interested in what team we had out the other night!!
Are you on a scouting job for some of the other Division 2 teams?"
I'm assuming slasher9 is a Longford Slashers man so I doubt he would need to be doing any scouting on the Windies to be honest!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 04/04/2024 13:19:47    2535597

Fantastic win for your minors last night lads well done

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 240 - 04/04/2024 15:09:30    2535626

Replying To Frank74:  "I'm assuming slasher9 is a Longford Slashers man so I doubt he would need to be doing any scouting on the Windies to be honest!"
Well if he's not scouting.......it's a little bit odd from slasher9!! Should he not be more concerned with the teams they will be playing this year?!! But sure look it, I'll give Slasher9 what he wants because I know what he's up to......I shouldn't but I'm feeling generous after having a nice few days away during Easter!!

Team that started v Grattans
P Collum, P McGee, Farley, T McGee, Nertney, Cosgrave, K Gill, Breslin, S Whelan, D Collum, Keenan, Hughes, M Cassidy, K Whelan, C Cassidy.

Now Slasher9.....I hope that satisfies you today lol

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 05/04/2024 08:12:51    2535745

Well done to the Minors on a great win the other night. In with a great shout this year. Keep it going lads.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 05/04/2024 11:23:07    2535788

Replying To Spinx:  "Well if he's not scouting.......it's a little bit odd from slasher9!! Should he not be more concerned with the teams they will be playing this year?!! But sure look it, I'll give Slasher9 what he wants because I know what he's up to......I shouldn't but I'm feeling generous after having a nice few days away during Easter!!

Team that started v Grattans
P Collum, P McGee, Farley, T McGee, Nertney, Cosgrave, K Gill, Breslin, S Whelan, D Collum, Keenan, Hughes, M Cassidy, K Whelan, C Cassidy.

Now Slasher9.....I hope that satisfies you today lol"
U finally got round to reading the leader so. lol

Great win for longford minors!! First time since 2002 beating the dubs i read hopefully the same result at the end of the year

slasher9 (Longford) - Posts: 233 - 05/04/2024 11:57:41    2535795

Great win on Wednesday is right.
It looks to be a strong minor team that we have this year.
Disappointing result for the under 20's....but I think this is a very young under 20 team and Louth also had a few senior panellists on their team.
Although not mathematically out yet, they need Louth to beat Kildare and also for us to hammer Offaly.....I can't see both of these things happening.
I wonder will the under 20 players be let play with their clubs this weekend because of this very outside chance of qualifying?

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 112 - 05/04/2024 11:59:45    2535797