Leitrim GAA thread

Hard luck but the bigger picture is is looking very good. Connacht football is top of the pops. Only 2 or 3 years ago Sligo went the entire league with zero points. Now they are promoted most likely as champions. Leitrim are coming too big time. McNulty is class and ye have a chance to get one over them in a months time. Andy on RTE radio is just looking for that little bit extra fitness to keep it going for 80 Minutes.

Keephimthere (Roscommon) - Posts: 97 - 26/03/2023 16:37:25    2466745

Hard luck to today you showed great bravery and courage to get back into the game when it was slipping away. After today and over the whole league this is my team to Face Ny

1. N O'Donnell
2 C Renoylds
3. M Diffley
4. P Maguire
5. D Casey
6. S Quinn
7. A Flynn
8. P Dolan
9. D Wrynn
10. D Rooney
11. J Heslin
12. M Plunkett
13. B McNulty
14. K Berine
15. T Prior

Maybe a few positional changes but I think that is our best 15 for NY. You know to put pace in a team when the ground is Astro turf and with Rooney, Heslin and prior you have lots of pace while also having options for kick outs and Marks with plunkett McNulty and Beirne.

Paul Keaney is off the pace in the games I seen him and so is Donal Flynn. Obviously Ryan O'Rourke is fit I'd be putting him in off the bench. I'd love to get another crack at Sligo in the Connacht semi final but NY will be a huge test first

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 26/03/2023 17:10:52    2466775

Great response from the lads today to come back from 8 points down , Tom prior excellent when he came on and in my opinion should be starting in the corner for New York . Sligo are that bit more conditioned than us and probably deserved the win . Andy wasn't happen for the full time whistle to be blown early , but I couldn't see us working a goal at that late stage . I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say this , but in my opinion Keith Beirne let us down today . It's plain to be seen that when he's really needed he'll shy away . In the last two county finals and today , when the team really needed him to step up and supply the scores , he wasn't there . All well and good kicking points for fun when it doesn't matter , big time players will step up and kick them in the vital moments of the game….

leitrimman1994 (Leitrim) - Posts: 25 - 26/03/2023 20:41:26    2466904

Congrats to Sligo and good luck in division 3. We just weren't good enough, extremely close but just short. Yes the referee had a shocker and some of his decisions were nonsense. Surely we should have had a second half penalty and every crazy decision that should have gone our way was punished by Sligo with a score like the sideline ball that Shane Quinn left and it was awarded to Sligo, Sligo got a score from it, Keith blatantly tripped up, sligo got a score from it and so on … but in all honesty and as bad as the ref was Sligo still had more than us they were fitter, stronger, faster and more intelligent on the ball. Some of their quick passing and ability to always have an option when inside our 45 was top class.

Agree with previous poster about Paul Keaney and Donal Flynn. Keaney is obviously talented and his attitude and determination to win is excellent but he hasn't done anything when I've seen him in the green and gold to warrant a starting place. Was Donal Flynn playing today?? He was missing so much I'm expecting him to be on the side of a milk carton when I go shopping next!!

Casey was a massive loss for us and was Ryan throughout the league. Is it true Ryan has walked in solidarity with Riordan??? Hopefully this is just a rumour.

Leaving Keaney midfield with Dolan and Wrynn at full forward was madness. I know Andy switched it but it was too late. When Wrynn came out we took over.

Barry McNulty looks the real deal, for an 18th year old at this level he looks sensational and Tom Prior had a stormer when he came on. Surely these two have to start in New York.

The age profile of the squad looks good for the future and the younger players in that squad will surely be a step up again next year, hopefully we can push on in 2024 and go up. No one in the division next year is better than us if we stay together. The heart they showed today to never give up and almost nick it is commendable and I hope the team are not too despondent.

What would concern me is that with Ross, mayo and Galway pushing on in Division 1, Sligo were always the team we could compete with lately but they have had our number the last few games we played. Now I know we pushed them all the way today but if they push on to division 2 we could be left completely behind in Connacht. Remember Sligo won the minor 2021 championship and was runner up in 2020. We haven't been in a final since 2002, 21 years ago. They are also the current under 20 champs. We always get the few God given talents and McNulty seems to be the next of them for us but we need some good learned and coached players coming through, if we don't start producing the goods soon underage then Connacht competitiveness is going further and further away.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 26/03/2023 21:25:36    2466923

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "Great response from the lads today to come back from 8 points down , Tom prior excellent when he came on and in my opinion should be starting in the corner for New York . Sligo are that bit more conditioned than us and probably deserved the win . Andy wasn't happen for the full time whistle to be blown early , but I couldn't see us working a goal at that late stage . I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say this , but in my opinion Keith Beirne let us down today . It's plain to be seen that when he's really needed he'll shy away . In the last two county finals and today , when the team really needed him to step up and supply the scores , he wasn't there . All well and good kicking points for fun when it doesn't matter , big time players will step up and kick them in the vital moments of the game…."
As a Sligo person I can't let that attack on Keith Beirne go without a comment. By far the most influential player across all the teams in Div 4 and you, supposed to be a Leitrim man knife him. Without Beirne you would probably be on 4 points coming in to the game. His scoring rate up to yesterday was off the charts. Thankfully he didn't have a good game yesterday or we may not have won. He destroyed us last summer in the Tailteann cup. With the public slating from an anonymous poster, why do people wonder that sometimes young fellas won't commit to the cause .

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1656 - 27/03/2023 08:39:05    2466965

We were confirmed today as the highest scoring team across all the divisions. It really shows that defense is our weak link. I believe that the lads are good defenders I don't think it's down to the players that we've shipped so many scores. Maybe tactically it's something Andy and the lads can look at before the championship maybe set up a bit more defensive against tougher opposition. I think Andy in the past few games has got his team selection wrong. Jack heslin has been one of our best players in this campaign besides Keith beirne. Even coming on in the past two games he's had a big influence. Ino he had two wides yesterday but when he settled into the game he set up loads of chances and the goal. Can't understand why he's been dropped the past two games and speaking to members of the panel they don't know why either.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 27/03/2023 12:44:56    2467044

A ridiculous comment about Keith Beirne. Wish we had a lot more like him.

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 27/03/2023 13:01:32    2467051

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "We were confirmed today as the highest scoring team across all the divisions. It really shows that defense is our weak link. I believe that the lads are good defenders I don't think it's down to the players that we've shipped so many scores. Maybe tactically it's something Andy and the lads can look at before the championship maybe set up a bit more defensive against tougher opposition. I think Andy in the past few games has got his team selection wrong. Jack heslin has been one of our best players in this campaign besides Keith beirne. Even coming on in the past two games he's had a big influence. Ino he had two wides yesterday but when he settled into the game he set up loads of chances and the goal. Can't understand why he's been dropped the past two games and speaking to members of the panel they don't know why either."
You weren't speaking to any panelest or else they are telling you lies because he was in fact injured and didn't have a full game in him. As for Keith Berine not performing on big days he scored 1-7 against Laois last week and made some unbelievable catches when the chips were down out around the middle. While he didn't have his best of days he's still kicked a savage point from play and made a few great catches. Very unlucky not to score a couple of goals and he's unselfish runs and play means he creates space for others inside which is why Ryan O Rourke is such a loss because he would thrive in the space Berine leaves by dragging defenders out of the way.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 27/03/2023 13:37:39    2467070

Replying To leitrimman1994:  "Great response from the lads today to come back from 8 points down , Tom prior excellent when he came on and in my opinion should be starting in the corner for New York . Sligo are that bit more conditioned than us and probably deserved the win . Andy wasn't happen for the full time whistle to be blown early , but I couldn't see us working a goal at that late stage . I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say this , but in my opinion Keith Beirne let us down today . It's plain to be seen that when he's really needed he'll shy away . In the last two county finals and today , when the team really needed him to step up and supply the scores , he wasn't there . All well and good kicking points for fun when it doesn't matter , big time players will step up and kick them in the vital moments of the game…."
You should apologise for saying Keith Beirne let us down yesterday.

By his own high standard he wasn't at his best.Never the less he made a huge contribution not just with scores but also with assists.

Without Keith Beirne we would never have got as close to Division 3 as we did.

He is a fantastic player, a great role model for our youth and I think I speak for 99.9 % of Leitim supporters when I say we are proud of him.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 27/03/2023 13:53:30    2467076

Ridiculous comment!! To slate a man that is the top scorer across all divisions by a mile, is downright wrong!! Keith was well marshalled yesterday and is always targeted by defences. Sligo had their homework done on him yesterday and it was a chance for others to stand up and make the difference, but unfortunately they didn't. Perhaps you should concentrate on criticising the number of younger players that have either left the panel or didn't join up with the panel this year. Once they are dropped or don't get game time, they throw the dummies out of the pram and leave. And unfortunately they are encouraged to do so by their parents! #millennials

TaytoFoley (Leitrim) - Posts: 83 - 27/03/2023 14:33:15    2467090

Great response to a scurrilous remark with no foundation about Keith Beirne. Yesterday was the his best day with his accuracy but I saw a player that left everything on the field. He caught some great ball and harried defenders all day, some leading to turnovers. The 2 County Finals remark is from someone who wasn't there to appreciate how bloody good he was and kept Mohill in the hunt when others went missing. He was double marked yesterday like most days which leads to the question why no snide remarks against the free player, who really should be shining when Keith is being held by 2 players. Also a common trait amongst Leitrim supporters is to celebrate the flash player who never committed and bemoan the players who give it their all. Maybe that's the reason we continue to fall short. Time to appreciate these great players who give so much to give us great afternoons like yesterday. That resurgence in the second half sends us to NY with a lot more hope than we had 20 mins in to the 2nd half. That takes the culmination of spirit and belief as well as physical endeavours and skill. Our lads have it. Keep it up. The results will come.

bananapublican (Leitrim) - Posts: 878 - 27/03/2023 15:02:49    2467101

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "We were confirmed today as the highest scoring team across all the divisions. It really shows that defense is our weak link. I believe that the lads are good defenders I don't think it's down to the players that we've shipped so many scores. Maybe tactically it's something Andy and the lads can look at before the championship maybe set up a bit more defensive against tougher opposition. I think Andy in the past few games has got his team selection wrong. Jack heslin has been one of our best players in this campaign besides Keith beirne. Even coming on in the past two games he's had a big influence. Ino he had two wides yesterday but when he settled into the game he set up loads of chances and the goal. Can't understand why he's been dropped the past two games and speaking to members of the panel they don't know why either."
While it is factual to say that Leitrim are indeed to top scorers in all divisions of the league, and that Leitrim came within a score or two of promotion, it is no less a fact that the county remains in the bottom half of Division 4 along with London, Carlow and Waterford. I am sure the 24 teams outside of division 4 would have chalked up fancy scores v the 4 teams at the foot of div 4, if they had the opportunity! Hopefully players, mentors and supporters will have a great few days in the big apple and rack up another impressive score against a team that have never won an intercounty game, a team who haven't played an intercounty game in over a year, and give it everything then to get over Sligo. While my own county have 2 very tough assignments if we are to reach the final I hope we can do it. It would be such a carnival atmosphere meeting Leitrim or Sligo in the final, rather than the nailbiters of the past decade. The pundits, and indeed some of our supporters, will be hand wringing about the mismatch and the need for seedings etc, but in all truth, there nothing more satisfying than heading to a final, with the only question to be decided, yes, will they hold the deficit to 20 points?

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 499 - 27/03/2023 17:50:10    2467151

HS or twitter is no place to say snide remarks about any player. I really loved the reaction to this comment, hard luck yesterday, I would've preferred if Sligo and Leitrim got promoted and I hope in 2 years time we will both be in Div3. Best of luck in NYC, I've heard some stories about NY Gaa this year so I wouldnt go there with any complacency at all.

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 326 - 27/03/2023 19:40:35    2467174

Childish comment calling out Keith because he didn't score 20points for us on the day.

I was gutted after yesterday but all in all it would have been harsh on Sligo if they would have lost. Easily a top division 3 side from what I've seen over the last few years. They've built a nice looking team.

As for leitrim yes it's another year in division 4 but I think we are a good year if not 2 off with S&C before we can complete competitively in division 3. 2 exciting players in Tom Prior and Barry McNulty coming through which is nice. All eyes to New York which is not going to be an easy game at all.. Any word on tickets yet, some people saying you have to get them out there.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 27/03/2023 21:00:22    2467190

Replying To martinjoe:  "While it is factual to say that Leitrim are indeed to top scorers in all divisions of the league, and that Leitrim came within a score or two of promotion, it is no less a fact that the county remains in the bottom half of Division 4 along with London, Carlow and Waterford. I am sure the 24 teams outside of division 4 would have chalked up fancy scores v the 4 teams at the foot of div 4, if they had the opportunity! Hopefully players, mentors and supporters will have a great few days in the big apple and rack up another impressive score against a team that have never won an intercounty game, a team who haven't played an intercounty game in over a year, and give it everything then to get over Sligo. While my own county have 2 very tough assignments if we are to reach the final I hope we can do it. It would be such a carnival atmosphere meeting Leitrim or Sligo in the final, rather than the nailbiters of the past decade. The pundits, and indeed some of our supporters, will be hand wringing about the mismatch and the need for seedings etc, but in all truth, there nothing more satisfying than heading to a final, with the only question to be decided, yes, will they hold the deficit to 20 points?"
And then people wonder why other Connacht counties find it hard to support Mayo and laugh at their inevitable tears each year when once again they fail miserably on the big stage

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 28/03/2023 09:42:11    2467227

Replying To martinjoe:  "While it is factual to say that Leitrim are indeed to top scorers in all divisions of the league, and that Leitrim came within a score or two of promotion, it is no less a fact that the county remains in the bottom half of Division 4 along with London, Carlow and Waterford. I am sure the 24 teams outside of division 4 would have chalked up fancy scores v the 4 teams at the foot of div 4, if they had the opportunity! Hopefully players, mentors and supporters will have a great few days in the big apple and rack up another impressive score against a team that have never won an intercounty game, a team who haven't played an intercounty game in over a year, and give it everything then to get over Sligo. While my own county have 2 very tough assignments if we are to reach the final I hope we can do it. It would be such a carnival atmosphere meeting Leitrim or Sligo in the final, rather than the nailbiters of the past decade. The pundits, and indeed some of our supporters, will be hand wringing about the mismatch and the need for seedings etc, but in all truth, there nothing more satisfying than heading to a final, with the only question to be decided, yes, will they hold the deficit to 20 points?"
Like happened ye several times also sometimes on the biggest stage of all- do you not remember the all ireland finals against Kerry when ye were beaten after ten minutes, not to mention the league final last year and indeed the championship meeting last year when ye were embarrassing and Kerry won pulling up considerably.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 28/03/2023 10:40:39    2467243

Two days on and still hugely disappointed, I can only imagine how the players feel so near but yet so far. No doubt Sligo were much the better team for a good 50 minutes but we had an excellent 15 minutes in the last quarter to put ourselves in front and our inability to see it out will haunt us over the winter months.
Firstly despite the defeat there are positives despite been outplayed for so long against a more athletic and arguably better footballing team we never threw in the towel kept fighting and with some fresh legs from the bench that injected pace into the team , got a foothold in the game and got into a winning position with their best forward been well held scoring wise although he still had a good game in my opinion very unlucky with goal chance. Tom Prior and young Mc Nulty were outstanding off the bench and Jack Heslin and his running punched holes in the Sligo back line. Donal Wrynn stormed into it when moved into midfield and Nevin o Donnell made some outstanding saves. The atmosphere was electric late on, the Leitrim following really got behind the team and the roar when Tom Prior put us was deafening I really thought this was going to be a defining victory for this team sadly it wasn't to be.
Unfortunately we continue to come out the wrong side of most of the tight games we play, laois game the only one we managed a win in this campaign and win 4 wins and three losses we can't complain about missing out. In order to win promotion you need to be winning those tight games like last Sunday and in wexford and wicklow and we unfortunately just wasn't good enough despite our best efforts and that hurts. Defensively we're too loose Sligo ran through us far too easily at times and our lack of pace around the middle third was exposed by Sligo s hard running until our substitutions turned the tide. Sligo are a decent team with good footballers and plenty of pace and I think they will do fine in Division 3 and good luck to them and Wicklow. Keith was double marked and just couldn't get space that happens everyone he'll come back stronger no doubt, we wouldn't have been near promotion without him but Ryan O Rourke was sorely missed Sunday doubt Sligo could have handled both but that's academic now.
It's going to be hard but all we can do is go again and get ready for New York the league is gone unfortunately, we have to be ready for a huge battle on Easter Saturday and get the win . Anything else is unthinkable.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 28/03/2023 19:51:49    2467464

It's taken a few days for that performance and result to sink in.

The result itself is so so disappointing. With 5 minutes left ourselves and Laois were being promoted but the reality of it is when the game finished we were in 5th place in division four. A bottom half team in the weakest division. The players have set to high of a standard in the last few years to hide from that fact. If that was any other management team there would be serious questions being asked.

The performance itself was so blunt and really poor. If we are being honest Sligo were at least a 6 point better team then us. It would have been a lovely daylight robbery if they won. We were so deep and invited Sligo onto us and went out of the game after the first 10 minutes. We rallied really well when it looked as if there was nothing to play for but in reality their was no plan as to what we were doing. It was all guts at hearts from the lads and a fantastic performance from Tom Prior that got us back into the game.

I see a poster is getting abuse for saying Keith doesn't perform when it matters. If we just take this game in isolation he was roasted.
Have a watch of this video https://twitter.com/NoPlanBGAA/status/1640379215982874628.
I would say Keith won't mind admitting that himself. It can happen to any player on any day. The problem is we have had no strategy whatsoever all year apart from hoping that Beirne kicks 10 points a game. You might get away with that against poor teams but against half decent opposition it just won't happen.

Paul Keaney isn't ready or conditioned enough to play at midfield on a county team just yet. I thought he should have been on the 40. But taking him and Plunkett off with 15 minutes left was lunacy and made me question Morans decision making once again. We had no shooters left on the field when it mattered and it meant Sligo could crowd Beirne out. We all know Plunkett and Keaney have the ability to kick long range scores and draw the opposition out. Which would have created space for our inside forwards.

Starting Domhnail Flynn in our half back was a nightmare waiting to happen and it's exactly what occurred. Trying to copy what Mayo are doing with Conor Loftus was a lazy strategy.

Fair play to Nevin O'Donnell for keeping us in the game with the two superb saves he made but his kickouts along with Beirne being out of the game were the main reason we lost the game. It was like watching Leitrim in the 90s where every kickout would be ballooned upon the great Mickey Quinn. Pearce Dolan (and Plunkett in the first half) were having to jump against two men every time and was completely gassed by the end of the game. I'm not sure if we went short once?

Paddy Maguire was exceptional again but I do think we got it wrong and he should have been our man marker closest to our goals. Diffley was roasted and doesn't have the power to compete yet. He was brushed aside at times.

The referee was a disgrace I thought at significant moments as well which was the most frustrating thing.

From what I know there has been no falling our with Ryan O'Rourke but after NYC he will not be a part of the panel along with a few other squad players. Its completely understandable. He can't get his body right to play and with the management Fenagh have in place there is now real pressure to win the club championship.

New York have Quinlivan from Tipp and Gavin O'Brien from Kerry and it was interesting to see some of their management team in the Pairc at the weekend.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 29/03/2023 10:40:04    2467510

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "It's taken a few days for that performance and result to sink in.

The result itself is so so disappointing. With 5 minutes left ourselves and Laois were being promoted but the reality of it is when the game finished we were in 5th place in division four. A bottom half team in the weakest division. The players have set to high of a standard in the last few years to hide from that fact. If that was any other management team there would be serious questions being asked.

The performance itself was so blunt and really poor. If we are being honest Sligo were at least a 6 point better team then us. It would have been a lovely daylight robbery if they won. We were so deep and invited Sligo onto us and went out of the game after the first 10 minutes. We rallied really well when it looked as if there was nothing to play for but in reality their was no plan as to what we were doing. It was all guts at hearts from the lads and a fantastic performance from Tom Prior that got us back into the game.

I see a poster is getting abuse for saying Keith doesn't perform when it matters. If we just take this game in isolation he was roasted.
Have a watch of this video https://twitter.com/NoPlanBGAA/status/1640379215982874628.
I would say Keith won't mind admitting that himself. It can happen to any player on any day. The problem is we have had no strategy whatsoever all year apart from hoping that Beirne kicks 10 points a game. You might get away with that against poor teams but against half decent opposition it just won't happen.

Paul Keaney isn't ready or conditioned enough to play at midfield on a county team just yet. I thought he should have been on the 40. But taking him and Plunkett off with 15 minutes left was lunacy and made me question Morans decision making once again. We had no shooters left on the field when it mattered and it meant Sligo could crowd Beirne out. We all know Plunkett and Keaney have the ability to kick long range scores and draw the opposition out. Which would have created space for our inside forwards.

Starting Domhnail Flynn in our half back was a nightmare waiting to happen and it's exactly what occurred. Trying to copy what Mayo are doing with Conor Loftus was a lazy strategy.

Fair play to Nevin O'Donnell for keeping us in the game with the two superb saves he made but his kickouts along with Beirne being out of the game were the main reason we lost the game. It was like watching Leitrim in the 90s where every kickout would be ballooned upon the great Mickey Quinn. Pearce Dolan (and Plunkett in the first half) were having to jump against two men every time and was completely gassed by the end of the game. I'm not sure if we went short once?

Paddy Maguire was exceptional again but I do think we got it wrong and he should have been our man marker closest to our goals. Diffley was roasted and doesn't have the power to compete yet. He was brushed aside at times.

The referee was a disgrace I thought at significant moments as well which was the most frustrating thing.

From what I know there has been no falling our with Ryan O'Rourke but after NYC he will not be a part of the panel along with a few other squad players. Its completely understandable. He can't get his body right to play and with the management Fenagh have in place there is now real pressure to win the club championship.

New York have Quinlivan from Tipp and Gavin O'Brien from Kerry and it was interesting to see some of their management team in the Pairc at the weekend."
is Quinlivan in NY now too? We could be in bother Saturday week lads... NY now know that if they can hold KB they have the beating of us

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 458 - 29/03/2023 11:40:14    2467532

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "It's taken a few days for that performance and result to sink in.

New York have Quinlivan from Tipp and Gavin O'Brien from Kerry and it was interesting to see some of their management team in the Pairc at the weekend."
Very interesting analysis.... and hard to disagree with a lot of it. The fact we went one point up with minutes to go shows what we are capable of as a team but it masks all the other issues going on. And then the take away at the end of the game from the Media was about Moran giving out about scheduling.... a funny thing to come out with at the end of the game as I haven't heard him mention it all season... this is what he said...

"I would say is that the scheduling is an absolute joke. It actually helps us that we didn't win, in terms of scheduling for New York. We really wanted to win because we were prioritising the league, maybe a bit more so than the New York trip."

With all these issues going on I fear for us in New York. I really do.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 29/03/2023 12:13:50    2467542