Leitrim GAA thread

I very rarely miss a Leitrim game FBD, league, championship. Leitrim have 100% improved. Another winter of proper S&C will continue to help. The improvement in players, look at Pearce Dolan, Keith berine, etc they are different players now than the last few years no question about it. Hopefully Moran stays on for at least 2-3 years more and I genuinely believe we could be pushing for Div 2 football by then.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 05/06/2022 21:50:21    2422613

Replying To Champotime18:  "I very rarely miss a Leitrim game FBD, league, championship. Leitrim have 100% improved. Another winter of proper S&C will continue to help. The improvement in players, look at Pearce Dolan, Keith berine, etc they are different players now than the last few years no question about it. Hopefully Moran stays on for at least 2-3 years more and I genuinely believe we could be pushing for Div 2 football by then."
Good luck to Leitrim going forward. Was very impressed with them when you defeated Antrim.

AntrimJim (Antrim) - Posts: 39 - 06/06/2022 07:46:17    2422623

Replying To Champotime18:  "I very rarely miss a Leitrim game FBD, league, championship. Leitrim have 100% improved. Another winter of proper S&C will continue to help. The improvement in players, look at Pearce Dolan, Keith berine, etc they are different players now than the last few years no question about it. Hopefully Moran stays on for at least 2-3 years more and I genuinely believe we could be pushing for Div 2 football by then."
You'd wonder do some of these lads even attend any matches.The match was lost in the first half yesterday we were very poor up front.We showed huge guts to get those last 4 points in normal time to draw it and if that goal had stood we would have won as you could see the Sligo lads we're done at that stage.Coach Moran is building a nice squad there so it's one to next year and the push for promotion.Hopefully we get 4 home games for a change.

masseyferguson (Leitrim) - Posts: 96 - 06/06/2022 09:30:08    2422663

Leitrim deserve great credit for their battling spirit yesterday. Let's look on positives rather than being constantly negative and belittling their efforts. They have it their all and it wasn't good enough.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 06/06/2022 11:15:02    2422706

Tough loss ...especially after a barn storming finish and battling through extra time...they can exit with their heads held high and regroup for next year...Cavan look very strong so a bad loss in Croker was not something we would have wanted

Liathdroim_abu (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 07/06/2022 13:16:36    2423003

It was a great game and we were fortunate to leave with the victory. A perfectly good goal for you was disallowed by an umpire. If that stood we were dead and buried. Must compliment you all for no sour grapes. That game should be a huge help in the development of football in both counties. To see the excitement of all the youngsters running from one goal to the other for the penalty shoot out was brilliant to see . Leaving after a thrilling finale should whet their appetite for more Gaelic Football..
Not having been to Pairc Sean in a long time I was surprised at how run down the grounds are. Sound system and toilets are on par with Markievicz Park (dreadful). Dangerous terrace with wire running through it and a steep fall at the back.
It's like most grounds in the county, in need of a lot of money to be spent but then how often do you get the crowd of 6/7 thousand at a game.?

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 09/06/2022 11:08:03    2423541

Replying To eoinog:  "It was a great game and we were fortunate to leave with the victory. A perfectly good goal for you was disallowed by an umpire. If that stood we were dead and buried. Must compliment you all for no sour grapes. That game should be a huge help in the development of football in both counties. To see the excitement of all the youngsters running from one goal to the other for the penalty shoot out was brilliant to see . Leaving after a thrilling finale should whet their appetite for more Gaelic Football..
Not having been to Pairc Sean in a long time I was surprised at how run down the grounds are. Sound system and toilets are on par with Markievicz Park (dreadful). Dangerous terrace with wire running through it and a steep fall at the back.
It's like most grounds in the county, in need of a lot of money to be spent but then how often do you get the crowd of 6/7 thousand at a game.?"
"Sound system and toilets are on par with Markievicz Park (dreadful)."

However the covered stand & toilet facilities therein, player dressing rooms, ample parking, and general ease of access are streets upon streets ahead of Markievicz. The tannoy in Páirc Seán malfunctioned prior to the Antrim game, clearly not fully fixed but is generally 100%.

Of all the phrases you could use to describe Páirc Seán, run down isn't one of them.

It's actually exceptionally well maintained for a county of our size and standing, certainly wouldn't need to spend a fortune to make some small modifications to improve the place.

No matter what figure you are to choose, it would go a lot further in Páirc Seán than it would in Markievicz.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 10/06/2022 21:04:50    2423844

Still bitterly disappointed we didn't get over the line on Sunday, it would have been great to have a game in Croke Park on Sunday week to look forward too alas it wasn't to be and fair play to Sligo they took some brilliant penalties and good luck to them against Cavan. We got off to a great start but as soon as Sligo settled they were the dominant team right up until injury time when we showed great spirit to pull a draw out of the fire. We struggled badly around the middle third where apart from Pearce Dolan who had his best day in a Leitrim Jersey in my opinion we were cleaned out in the air and on breaks . This gave sligo a platform to feed there danger men of Patrick O Connor and Reilly and our defence struggled to contain them. I was worried about our back line in the lead up and unfortunately we were far too open and Sligo got scores far too easily, for their goal the wing back threw one dummy in midfield and found himself through on goal they could have had at least 2 more goals and kicked 16 wides too . This has been a problem all year and will have to be addressed if we are going to harbour any promotion hopes next year. If we can't find any new defenders we need to come up with a system defensively that will leave us tighter we've been conceding too many scores and scoring chances all year . And remember Sligo were missing Niall Murphy arguably there best forward who has caused us a lot of trouble over the years. We have a lot to do to challenge for promotion I feel we certainly improved from last year but not as much as people think. In the biggest games of the year (apart from London championship) we've come up fairly short and most of this panel is around a good few years and not getting any younger so I think we are soon going to have to make a breakthrough or this panel will break up. Sunday was a great chance to get a run out in Croke Park against a team at our level at home with a huge crowd backing us but we still came up short. Brilliant support Sunday hopefully they stick with us next year it will depend if the team can step up and start getting results when the pressure is on. Next year is make or break for this panel and management.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 10/06/2022 21:30:58    2423848

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Still bitterly disappointed we didn't get over the line on Sunday, it would have been great to have a game in Croke Park on Sunday week to look forward too alas it wasn't to be and fair play to Sligo they took some brilliant penalties and good luck to them against Cavan. We got off to a great start but as soon as Sligo settled they were the dominant team right up until injury time when we showed great spirit to pull a draw out of the fire. We struggled badly around the middle third where apart from Pearce Dolan who had his best day in a Leitrim Jersey in my opinion we were cleaned out in the air and on breaks . This gave sligo a platform to feed there danger men of Patrick O Connor and Reilly and our defence struggled to contain them. I was worried about our back line in the lead up and unfortunately we were far too open and Sligo got scores far too easily, for their goal the wing back threw one dummy in midfield and found himself through on goal they could have had at least 2 more goals and kicked 16 wides too . This has been a problem all year and will have to be addressed if we are going to harbour any promotion hopes next year. If we can't find any new defenders we need to come up with a system defensively that will leave us tighter we've been conceding too many scores and scoring chances all year . And remember Sligo were missing Niall Murphy arguably there best forward who has caused us a lot of trouble over the years. We have a lot to do to challenge for promotion I feel we certainly improved from last year but not as much as people think. In the biggest games of the year (apart from London championship) we've come up fairly short and most of this panel is around a good few years and not getting any younger so I think we are soon going to have to make a breakthrough or this panel will break up. Sunday was a great chance to get a run out in Croke Park against a team at our level at home with a huge crowd backing us but we still came up short. Brilliant support Sunday hopefully they stick with us next year it will depend if the team can step up and start getting results when the pressure is on. Next year is make or break for this panel and management."
Is it really make or break

Surely next year is a great opportunity to keep developing - a minimum of 4 championship games and a good prospect of 6 if the draw is kind

Surely 6 summer games would ensure this team and management get better

A county like Leitrim can't throw the baby out with the bath water every two years.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1105 - 11/06/2022 07:51:31    2423857

Replying To tirawleybaron:  "Is it really make or break

Surely next year is a great opportunity to keep developing - a minimum of 4 championship games and a good prospect of 6 if the draw is kind

Surely 6 summer games would ensure this team and management get better

A county like Leitrim can't throw the baby out with the bath water every two years."
Get what you are saying completely, what I mean is this panel is together for a good few years now and there comes a time when you need to make a breakthrough or lads won't keep committing. And success for us will be promotion in the league or a run in tailteann Cup. Of course Andy deserves more time but time waits for no team or person. Hopefully will a few additions and a more solid defensive structure we can gain promotion

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 12/06/2022 11:18:48    2424153

Replying To JimmyNail:  "Get what you are saying completely, what I mean is this panel is together for a good few years now and there comes a time when you need to make a breakthrough or lads won't keep committing. And success for us will be promotion in the league or a run in tailteann Cup. Of course Andy deserves more time but time waits for no team or person. Hopefully will a few additions and a more solid defensive structure we can gain promotion"
He deserves more time simply because it would be utter madness to dispense with his services one year in. It doesn't excuse the fact that he was inexperienced to start with and had no credentials worth talking about to be in the shake up for a county management job. I completely agree that it's make or break for Leitrim next year. We are going nowhere as a county if we can't move out of Division 4 and our complete focus has to be placed on that. The Tailteann cup is an added bonus, we're not going to be winning it in the near future but if we got a day out in Croke Park out of it, it surely would help improve the mood in the county and get young lads wanting to play for Leitrim. In fairness, that's what it's always about, the next generation. We all want our county to do the best possible, but have to get bang for buck with the resources we have... the jury is out on that as far as I'm concerned.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 12/06/2022 13:43:37    2424191

Manor took an awful hammering from Carrick at. The weekend. Were they missing many?

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 395 - 13/06/2022 13:38:12    2424638

Replying To SeanMacDiarmada:  "Manor took an awful hammering from Carrick at. The weekend. Were they missing many?"
Yea I saw that alright- they hardly have regressed that much

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 13/06/2022 13:54:30    2424653

Replying To Dodgy_Pass:  ""Sound system and toilets are on par with Markievicz Park (dreadful)."

However the covered stand & toilet facilities therein, player dressing rooms, ample parking, and general ease of access are streets upon streets ahead of Markievicz. The tannoy in Páirc Seán malfunctioned prior to the Antrim game, clearly not fully fixed but is generally 100%.

Of all the phrases you could use to describe Páirc Seán, run down isn't one of them.

It's actually exceptionally well maintained for a county of our size and standing, certainly wouldn't need to spend a fortune to make some small modifications to improve the place.

No matter what figure you are to choose, it would go a lot further in Páirc Seán than it would in Markievicz."
They need to fix the seats. Nearly every game so far this year in Pairc Sean the seat I've chosen to sit in and a number along the same row have been cracked. I spent most of the Sligo game focusing on balancing my weight so the whole seat wouldn't give way. I way 12.5 stone average enough for a 6ft 1 man but even with all my balancing the seat gave way mid way through extra time. Couldn't give a ***** about sound systems or toilets but make sure the public can sit and enjoy the game comfortably. Next year I wont make the same mistake and will head towards the shed.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 13/06/2022 14:53:35    2424700

Looking at results even early on mohill Mary's ballinamore fenagh willies.
Manor and Melvin relegation final or gortletteragh melvin

Bogger100 (Leitrim) - Posts: 99 - 15/06/2022 10:19:25    2425080

Replying To Bogger100:  "Looking at results even early on mohill Mary's ballinamore fenagh willies.
Manor and Melvin relegation final or gortletteragh melvin"
Very early to be giving out predictions most clubs more senior older players haven't returned yet. As well as this Manor and Gortletteragh are blooding a crop of seriously talented players from last years minors so is no indication yet on how they'll fare out come championship. I'd wait until the latter rounds of the league before I'd start making predictions. Most clubs have only had county players hurling and football back a week so its hard to predict just yet. Fenagh and Leirim gaels I feel will have a real say on this years championship.

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 110 - 15/06/2022 12:11:57    2425129

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "Very early to be giving out predictions most clubs more senior older players haven't returned yet. As well as this Manor and Gortletteragh are blooding a crop of seriously talented players from last years minors so is no indication yet on how they'll fare out come championship. I'd wait until the latter rounds of the league before I'd start making predictions. Most clubs have only had county players hurling and football back a week so its hard to predict just yet. Fenagh and Leirim gaels I feel will have a real say on this years championship."
What seriously talented players are they blooding??

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 15/06/2022 16:00:44    2425196

Replying To howdareu:  "What seriously talented players are they blooding??"
Melvin gaels Manor gortletteragh will all seriously struggle this year. Gortletteragh fighting spirit may keep them up.
Fenagh have an OK 15 but nothing after that Manor are tired looking team. Melvin by all accounts are loosing players left right and centre at senior level. Maybe I'm totally off but mohill are miles ahead. Mary's Sean ó heslins below. Leitrim gaels fenagh. The rest also rans.

Bogger100 (Leitrim) - Posts: 99 - 16/06/2022 10:22:20    2425292

Just wondering what is the story regarding management for county teams next year at underage level?? Have we tied the managers down to new deals or what is the story? We would not want to lose their experience etc and I hope the deal has been done to secure the futures of Guckian, Dockery et. al.

On a side note would anyone think it would be a good idea to set up a fund raising idea along these lines- have a draw/raffle/competition and the winner gets a training session for their club with either Guckian or Dockery? Could raise few bob for underage development and do forth.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 16/06/2022 14:15:00    2425399

Replying To howdareu:  "Just wondering what is the story regarding management for county teams next year at underage level?? Have we tied the managers down to new deals or what is the story? We would not want to lose their experience etc and I hope the deal has been done to secure the futures of Guckian, Dockery et. al.

On a side note would anyone think it would be a good idea to set up a fund raising idea along these lines- have a draw/raffle/competition and the winner gets a training session for their club with either Guckian or Dockery? Could raise few bob for underage development and do forth."
Dockery stepping down I hear.
Ye'll still have one Roscommon man as a manager though!

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 16/06/2022 16:33:03    2425468