Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To somewouldargue:  "Sligo has a bigger population than Roscommon remember and they only now have the same amount of titles as we have at this level in the near 50 years of the comp."
You've the right username anyway. Sligo and Roscommon both have a pop 70k in last census a quick google tells me. As has been pointed out our county town of 25k is mainly a soccer loving down and we've a total of 24 clubs in the county.

While we have the same number of titles as ye in u20, how long ago is it since Leitrim had a serious chance of winning one, or indeed any Connacht final in any age?. Sligos recent success is down to putting in competent coaches that stick with teams as well as building upon the good work in our two largest secondary schools. Ros had a similar platform in recent years and are still reaping the rewards

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 356 - 20/04/2023 19:02:16    2472032

What new excuse are we going to come up with Sunday morning after Sligo beat NY by at least 8 pts.We are not in a good place re our senior team, get behind our minors, they are the future!

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 20/04/2023 23:11:36    2472065

Someone please explain what the Reserve League and the Spring League are. I'm guessing the Reserve League is for second teams. What's the other one?

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1029 - 21/04/2023 13:32:07    2472179

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Someone please explain what the Reserve League and the Spring League are. I'm guessing the Reserve League is for second teams. What's the other one?"
Yes reserve league is for second and third teams only. This was brought in a few years ago so now div 1,2,3 is for all clubs first teams. And reserve league for clubs 2nd and 3rd teams. I fully agree with this system.

Spring league is for clubs to get game time but inter county players cannot play- is my understanding. (Open to correction on that) A completely pointless exercise. Most if not all counties are playing their proper club league football now. From the NY defeat to the next taillteann cup game our inter county players have no competitive games? It's a gap of about 6 weeks. Is that right?

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 21/04/2023 13:44:45    2472182

Replying To FearBeag:  "The NY result should not be a surprise to anyone and whilst disappointing for Leitrim supporters there have been any number of close calls over the years. I go to a lot of Div 1 and Div 4 games (Live in Mayo, not from Mayo) and the difference in standards is simply enormous, most Div 4 teams would be well capable of losing in NY. There needs to be a complete separation of the Tailteann Cup from the All Ireland, sooner the better. DIv 1&2 in AI, 3&4 in Tailteann. Tailteann Cup would become (already is becoming) an attractive competition to win, top 2 in Div 3 plus Tailteann Cup winners into Div 2 with 2 or 3 going the other way. Sligo as things transpired were the best team in Div 4 and seem to be getting their act together with their younger teams, fair play to them."
Who says it is an attractive competition to win? It is a mickey mouse competition. Mind you it is one Mayo could justabout win if they were in it so maybe it is worth thinking about for yourselves.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 21/04/2023 14:06:58    2472206

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "You've the right username anyway. Sligo and Roscommon both have a pop 70k in last census a quick google tells me. As has been pointed out our county town of 25k is mainly a soccer loving down and we've a total of 24 clubs in the county.

While we have the same number of titles as ye in u20, how long ago is it since Leitrim had a serious chance of winning one, or indeed any Connacht final in any age?. Sligos recent success is down to putting in competent coaches that stick with teams as well as building upon the good work in our two largest secondary schools. Ros had a similar platform in recent years and are still reaping the rewards"
Thank you about my username.

There are no GAA clubs in Sligo town or outskirts?

It isn't that long ago we had a team capable of doing well in the competition, I would say maybe 5 or 6 years ago.

It is possible that in 50 years time Sligo might still only have 2 U20 wins. Who knows.

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 21/04/2023 14:10:17    2472209

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Yes reserve league is for second and third teams only. This was brought in a few years ago so now div 1,2,3 is for all clubs first teams. And reserve league for clubs 2nd and 3rd teams. I fully agree with this system.

Spring league is for clubs to get game time but inter county players cannot play- is my understanding. (Open to correction on that) A completely pointless exercise. Most if not all counties are playing their proper club league football now. From the NY defeat to the next taillteann cup game our inter county players have no competitive games? It's a gap of about 6 weeks. Is that right?"
And let's be honest here the Tintin cup is meaningless so they were as well whack away and play proper leagues now with the county players

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 21/04/2023 14:15:03    2472212

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Yes reserve league is for second and third teams only. This was brought in a few years ago so now div 1,2,3 is for all clubs first teams. And reserve league for clubs 2nd and 3rd teams. I fully agree with this system.

Spring league is for clubs to get game time but inter county players cannot play- is my understanding. (Open to correction on that) A completely pointless exercise. Most if not all counties are playing their proper club league football now. From the NY defeat to the next taillteann cup game our inter county players have no competitive games? It's a gap of about 6 weeks. Is that right?"
ah yeah it is a bit of a pointless competition, glorified challenge games, but it is probably necessary seeing as clubs are reluctant to play all the proper league without their county stars. The alternative is club players scratch themselves til June. Most clubs are back since January so why bother if only 6/7 games to get warmed up before championship

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 457 - 21/04/2023 14:50:57    2472226

Replying To somewouldargue:  "Who says it is an attractive competition to win? It is a mickey mouse competition. Mind you it is one Mayo could justabout win if they were in it so maybe it is worth thinking about for yourselves."
Think last years winner might disagree with you

FearBeag (Mayo) - Posts: 74 - 21/04/2023 15:28:02    2472244

Replying To gaelsboy:  "ah yeah it is a bit of a pointless competition, glorified challenge games, but it is probably necessary seeing as clubs are reluctant to play all the proper league without their county stars. The alternative is club players scratch themselves til June. Most clubs are back since January so why bother if only 6/7 games to get warmed up before championship"
Do ye not play league games in Leitrim without county players?
That used to be the case in Galway but thankfully it was changed in recent years.
The system we have now is there are 8 teams per league division. You play each team once then there are promotion and relegation semi finals and finals.
Starts in March and you have a game every second weekend (Galway alternate football & hurling weekends to suit dual clubs) right up until about three weeks before the first round of the championship.
Works very well . The alternative is club players twiddling their thumbs while the county season is ongoing.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 21/04/2023 20:47:48    2472283

A nice performance from the Minor team possibly a bit unlucky not to get the win. Some really nice players hopefully now they can be competitive in the remainder of the games and we start getting a few more into the county senior team.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 21/04/2023 21:50:40    2472294

Replying To Champotime18:  "A nice performance from the Minor team possibly a bit unlucky not to get the win. Some really nice players hopefully now they can be competitive in the remainder of the games and we start getting a few more into the county senior team."
Agreed, huge potential in that group, very disappointed with the outlay of match programme, no clubs affiliated beside players name, At times you would wonder why we can't even get the simple things right!

lecture250 (Leitrim) - Posts: 119 - 22/04/2023 09:05:34    2472322

I see our senior team posting pictures on Facebook of their visit to the Johnstown Estate. What is going on at all? After coming back from new york they feel they have to go there?? For what?? Whatever they need to do surely can he done in centre of excellence!! Seems like a horrid waste of hard gathered money.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 22/04/2023 09:09:30    2472323

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "I see our senior team posting pictures on Facebook of their visit to the Johnstown Estate. What is going on at all? After coming back from new york they feel they have to go there?? For what?? Whatever they need to do surely can he done in centre of excellence!! Seems like a horrid waste of hard gathered money."
As always the club will have to foot the bill. If they had to raise the money themselves they might not be a quick to waste it

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 255 - 22/04/2023 11:40:58    2472352

Replying To Thejampot:  "As always the club will have to foot the bill. If they had to raise the money themselves they might not be a quick to waste it"
My verified information is that this regular midweek training session was facilitated by, and all associated costs sponsored by the Management of the venue you have alluded to. This was to ease the travel burden on away based players for once. You should get your facts in order before posting your inferences.

halfwayline (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 22/04/2023 13:39:41    2472379

Replying To halfwayline:  "My verified information is that this regular midweek training session was facilitated by, and all associated costs sponsored by the Management of the venue you have alluded to. This was to ease the travel burden on away based players for once. You should get your facts in order before posting your inferences."
Well done halfway line for confirming this, which is what I thought.

We should be thanking Ciaran Reidy for facilitating this ,at no costs to Leitrim.

We should also be thankful that that our players continue to put in the commitment they have been doing all year.

Why is it that this site continues to attract such ill informed negative comments, which are very destructive.

On another note I am pleased to read that Leitrim minors performed well against Sligo last night.

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 22/04/2023 14:08:40    2472386

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "I see our senior team posting pictures on Facebook of their visit to the Johnstown Estate. What is going on at all? After coming back from new york they feel they have to go there?? For what?? Whatever they need to do surely can he done in centre of excellence!! Seems like a horrid waste of hard gathered money."
My verified information is that this regular midweek training session was facilitated by, and all associated costs sponsored by the Management of the venue you have alluded to. This was to ease the travel burden on away based players for once. You should get your facts in order before posting your inferences.

halfwayline (Leitrim) - Posts: 65 - 22/04/2023 14:08:40    2472387

Replying To lecture250:  "Agreed, huge potential in that group, very disappointed with the outlay of match programme, no clubs affiliated beside players name, At times you would wonder why we can't even get the simple things right!"
It is fairly amateur hour alright. An ah sure it'll do job

somewouldargue (Leitrim) - Posts: 52 - 22/04/2023 14:32:06    2472396

Replying To lecture250:  "Agreed, huge potential in that group, very disappointed with the outlay of match programme, no clubs affiliated beside players name, At times you would wonder why we can't even get the simple things right!"
I thought the very same. It was shown up when the other 3 counties had players clubs and management named. Always standards are at the bottom in the county. That team and management deserve more.

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 22/04/2023 14:45:41    2472401

Replying To Champotime18:  "I thought the very same. It was shown up when the other 3 counties had players clubs and management named. Always standards are at the bottom in the county. That team and management deserve more."
Didn't look great given that we were hosting the game. It wouldn't have been too hard to include the club name even if the Irish name wasn't available. Anyhow minor stuff... the result on the pitch is more important in fairness. On a related note I see Sligo are beating NY well, makes you wonder what was going on in the lead up to the game.... Be some craic if we met NY in the Tailteann.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 22/04/2023 15:45:17    2472418