Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Might not be easy on the eye but he would get results. Can't see him managing another Connacht team now."
Maybe mighy being easy on the eye is what Roscommon need. Mcstay seemed to have no club about defencesive structure and Cunningham wasn't much better

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 03/08/2022 21:03:40    2436106

So much of the view that Anthony Cunningham wouldn't step down. Ithink it was mostly endgame that had that opinion based on him not wanting to leave Galway as he knew that Galway team he built had All-Ireland in them. A different story with Roscommon clearly.

Some odd belittling of what Nigel Dineen achieved at U21 level with Roscommon. When if ever will Roscommon reach two All-Ireland finals in 3 years again at any level? and was unlucky to lose the 2013 Connacht title and with no Dublin in the final that could have been All-Ireland title won. Roscommon had arguably better U21 teams 2008 to 2011 and they didn't do as well or achieved as much.

I think Fergal O'Donnell who gave years of service as a player and manager deserve respect and if available should be asked to be involved in the management team of whoever is the new manager.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 03/08/2022 21:29:16    2436107

Replying To Jack L:  "Solan is #2 in Leitrim. Maybe the reason Mayo will not go for him.
Roscommon should wait until Mayo appoint a manager and see who is available then.
Andy Moran might be a good option. He has cut his teeth in intercounty management and might be interested in testing himself at a higher level."
Andy Moran wasn't even worthy of the Leitrim job so I'm not even sure how he would be a good option for Roscommon. Another poster mentioned Kevin Walsh and I think he would be the best man ye could hope to get that has the relevant management experience needed.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 03/08/2022 21:30:06    2436108

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Maybe mighy being easy on the eye is what Roscommon need. Mcstay seemed to have no club about defencesive structure and Cunningham wasn't much better"
Walsh best year with Galway was 2018. Reached the Div 1 final and a first All-Ireland semi final for 17 years. The fella over the defensive system was Tally who played a huge part in winning the All-Ireland for Kerry this year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 03/08/2022 21:35:36    2436109

Replying To Jack L:  "Solan is #2 in Leitrim. Maybe the reason Mayo will not go for him.
Roscommon should wait until Mayo appoint a manager and see who is available then.
Andy Moran might be a good option. He has cut his teeth in intercounty management and might be interested in testing himself at a higher level."
At least Andy is a Roscommon man.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 03/08/2022 21:47:39    2436111

Replying To Yondu:  "So much of the view that Anthony Cunningham wouldn't step down. Ithink it was mostly endgame that had that opinion based on him not wanting to leave Galway as he knew that Galway team he built had All-Ireland in them. A different story with Roscommon clearly.

Some odd belittling of what Nigel Dineen achieved at U21 level with Roscommon. When if ever will Roscommon reach two All-Ireland finals in 3 years again at any level? and was unlucky to lose the 2013 Connacht title and with no Dublin in the final that could have been All-Ireland title won. Roscommon had arguably better U21 teams 2008 to 2011 and they didn't do as well or achieved as much.

I think Fergal O'Donnell who gave years of service as a player and manager deserve respect and if available should be asked to be involved in the management team of whoever is the new manager."
Yondu. What do you think the last 7.5 weeks since the Clare game were about. Anthony Cunningham should have gone after the Clare defeat. As it is now, Roscommon have lost nearly 2 months in the search for a new Manager and I blame the County Board for that. I agree with the other points you make. Nigel Dineen did outstandingly well with the Roscommon U21s. 2 Connacht titles and 2 All Ireland U21 Final appearances 2012-2014 is an outstanding record and it must be remembered that we lost both of those Finals to star studded Dublin teams many of whose players went on to backbone the 6 in a row Dublin senior team. Agree we were unlucky in 2013. We lost that Connacht U21 Final in extra time to eventual All Ireland champions Galway. I also agree with your comments about Fergal O'Donnell. He brought Roscommon minors from nowhere to win the 2006 All Ireland title and he won the 2010 senior Connacht title with a Roscommon team that was at the time in the lower reaches of the League. He has much to offer but it seems that Fergal may be estranged from the Roscommon County Board since the breakup with Kevin McStay in 2016.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 04/08/2022 07:22:06    2436116

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Walsh best year with Galway was 2018. Reached the Div 1 final and a first All-Ireland semi final for 17 years. The fella over the defensive system was Tally who played a huge part in winning the All-Ireland for Kerry this year."
Dublin's Ladies manager Mick Bohan is the latest to be linked with the job.
Eamon Murray would be another candidate to consider. He has done a magnificent job with Meath winning their two in a row. He hinted on Sunday that it could be the end of an era. Apparently he has a great backroom team around him.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 04/08/2022 07:41:12    2436117

I can tell u now I have been going to Ros matches up and down the country for over 30 years and I'll not be going anywhere near a Ros team that has Andy Moran on or near its sideline.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 04/08/2022 08:01:31    2436118

Replying To The_analyser:  "Wrong. I don't like hear rumours and lads from Leitrim posting it up here. I deal with factual info from the horses mouth. Anthony Cunningham met with a county board official yesterday to let them know that he wasn't seeking extension on two year term that ended in June. The county board then left it until this morning to confirm yesterday news which by reading back you can see I replied such info to Seanfanbocht yesterday on here."
Well do you see i also deal with facts. AC spoke with some players before reaching his decision. I am very good friends with Two of those players. Those two players told me early last week of the news so I am afraid you are mistaken.

BTW there is no need to belittle people who may have a different opinion to you. Your sneering posts are a tad childish and immature and you may have noticed that a lot of posters don't engage with you as you seem to have this superior attitude about you. Sometimes people disagree on things but you can respectfully make a point without trying to cast aspersions. Everyone is entitled to their opinion and nobody has all the information or answers to everything so there is no need to get annoyed or angry when others know more than you. Thank you.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 08:25:25    2436121

What has Andy Moran done as manger. Unbelievable player and no1 can doubt that but as a manager he's done nothing at any level. Failed at club and done ok last year with Leitrim. Solans is a far better manager/coach than Moran but they definitely won't be applying for Roscommon job or Roscommon county board won't be looking for then. I think we need to go outside the county and get someone with a very different mentality who will bring winners into his backroom team. I do feel this is the last chance for some of these players so county board need to go big

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 04/08/2022 09:25:56    2436125

Looks like i hit a nerve with our regular Leitrim visitor when he got called and found out once more.

"good friends with Roscommon players who told you" the wum routine you play has run out of road with that effort I'm afraid

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3743 - 04/08/2022 10:13:56    2436129

Replying To dave1988:  "What has Andy Moran done as manger. Unbelievable player and no1 can doubt that but as a manager he's done nothing at any level. Failed at club and done ok last year with Leitrim. Solans is a far better manager/coach than Moran but they definitely won't be applying for Roscommon job or Roscommon county board won't be looking for then. I think we need to go outside the county and get someone with a very different mentality who will bring winners into his backroom team. I do feel this is the last chance for some of these players so county board need to go big"
Totally agreed. We should definitely go big. This attitude of waiting for the scraps off Mayo's managerial ticket plate is bull. We're every bit the team they are at the moment and with the right management team, we'd best them. We really should shake off this 'who'll have us' mentality. Roscommon are a decent prospect. Division 1 again. Had a bad day at the connacht final but had already bet the eventual all Ireland finalists two weeks running. We should be more confident as a people going forward. Thanks to Anthony Cunningham for his work. Looking forward to seeing what comes next.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 19 - 04/08/2022 10:21:39    2436130

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I can tell u now I have been going to Ros matches up and down the country for over 30 years and I'll not be going anywhere near a Ros team that has Andy Moran on or near its sideline."
More chance of the Pope been on the sideline for the Roscommon team next year than Andy Moran

@Endgame aren't you the chap that said Cunningham wouldn't step down. The Roscommon County board was probably expecting him to stay on and perhaps looking to do an Armagh on it by making changes to the management team than outright manager. Its done now and Roscommon are one of 4 Div 1 team seeking a new manager now.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 04/08/2022 10:25:06    2436132

Would Pat Flanagan be considered given that he would have seen first hand a lot of the talent in the county in the last few years? Has done well with Pearses too imo.

iarmhi_an_mhaith (Westmeath) - Posts: 268 - 04/08/2022 10:31:52    2436135

Replying To The_analyser:  "Looks like i hit a nerve with our regular Leitrim visitor when he got called and found out once more.

"good friends with Roscommon players who told you" the wum routine you play has run out of road with that effort I'm afraid"
Yes. I am as i was in college with them. Again you have tried to belittle me with your response. Its tiresome and I am not a wum. Just because I dont agree with you or know more than you doesn't make me a wum. Please stop trying to belittle people. As a matter of interest how have I "been found out?"

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 10:34:50    2436138

Replying To iarmhi_an_mhaith:  "Would Pat Flanagan be considered given that he would have seen first hand a lot of the talent in the county in the last few years? Has done well with Pearses too imo."
Personally I would be against his appointment. But he will surely be in the running. While we need a more defensive approach the style of football he plays with Pearses is as bad as McGuiness with Donegal

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 04/08/2022 10:41:43    2436139

Available and with Div 1 experience - Kevin Walsh, Declan Bonner, Banty Godhelpus, Peter Keane, Eamonn Fitzmaurice, Jim Gavin, James Horan.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 04/08/2022 11:02:34    2436145

Is the Leitrim wum still here? time to run along a good lad you have already taken up more of my time than you deserve.

Now moving on. The national media this morning have linked us with Mick Bohan,Pat Flanagan,Don Connellan remains to be seen how many if any of those names will even be in running to become the new Roscommon manager

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3743 - 04/08/2022 11:10:05    2436149

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Personally I would be against his appointment. But he will surely be in the running. While we need a more defensive approach the style of football he plays with Pearses is as bad as McGuiness with Donegal"
The style Donegal had in 2012 was a good balance between defence and attack. Plenty just remember the 2011 semi final which Dublin played their part in a poor quality game, Donegal adjusted after that game. Pat Flanagan style from watching Pearses in action suits club football more than county.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 04/08/2022 11:17:24    2436150

Replying To The_analyser:  "Is the Leitrim wum still here? time to run along a good lad you have already taken up more of my time than you deserve.

Now moving on. The national media this morning have linked us with Mick Bohan,Pat Flanagan,Don Connellan remains to be seen how many if any of those names will even be in running to become the new Roscommon manager"
Refusing to answer the question I see. Now I wonder who have been "found out". Please be more respectful in future. You do not have authority to dictate what goes on during these discussions despite what you may wish to tell yourself.

But I've no grudge against you whatsoever. I just wish you showed a little bit of manners and respect. To conclude I didn't take up any of your time as it was your choice to respond to me so don't try to make yourself out to be more important than you are. You, just like the rest of us here are an anonymous poster on a gaa forum so bear that in mind. Thanks very much.

howdareu (USA) - Posts: 220 - 04/08/2022 11:35:26    2436157