Roscommon GAA thread

Did well to to find ourselves just one point behind at half time and in hindsight burnt up a lot of energy in that 1st half doing that

Flat in the 2nd half and so error prone gifting Mayo at least 0-5 who weren't overly great but did the basics right and had intensity for the full 70 minutes

Will be a big surprise if we avoid the drop now only positives is getting minutes into the lads returning from injury and hopefully all will be up to speed come championship time.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 02/03/2024 21:55:25    2529312

4 second half implosions now. I'd include the Galway game in that in the sense we were three points up against a very depleted Galway team. Part of me, not sure if it's straw clutching, wonders is there something of a greater plan by management going on. But whatever about starting the league bad, surely you want to be coming good in the second half. I'm at a loss.... Some very strange management decisions.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 02/03/2024 22:08:01    2529316

No wonder they looked flat after 65 or 75 training sessions

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 02/03/2024 22:10:34    2529317

Very bad day at the office tonight for both management and the players. Reasonable first half performance and apart from Diarmuid Murtagh in the first half and Conor Carroll, the team just did not perform. It was not only the newcomers who did not do themselves justice, many of our top players weren't at the races; picking balls off the ground, poor solo technique etc etc. Hopefully it is just a once off.
Davy Burke did not kick a ball tonight so it is not all his fault that the players could not execute some basic skills in bad conditions. However management has to take some of the blame when things don't go to plan.
Well done Mayo. You deserved your win and probably should have won by more than 6 points. Hopefully the scoring difference might save us if we pick up another couple of points, but it is unlikely based on tonight's performance.
Up to the players now to put in up to Kerry in the Hyde. The loyal supporters demand it!!!.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 02/03/2024 22:18:09    2529319

Replying To The_analyser:  "Did well to to find ourselves just one point behind at half time and in hindsight burnt up a lot of energy in that 1st half doing that

Flat in the 2nd half and so error prone gifting Mayo at least 0-5 who weren't overly great but did the basics right and had intensity for the full 70 minutes

Will be a big surprise if we avoid the drop now only positives is getting minutes into the lads returning from injury and hopefully all will be up to speed come championship time."
I could understand it better if we faded in the 4th quarter. But considering how we finished the first half I thought we'd have brought that into the first ten minutes of the second half at least. The lack of scores in the second half was worrying. We didn't even look like creating much.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 02/03/2024 22:41:01    2529327

The worst performance under Davy. In reality, it could have been 12 point defeat and we couldn't argue. So disappointed with that 2nd half, hard to know where it went so wrong. Two poor misses when Mayo were on top after half time seemed to drain it completely. Division 2 looks inevitable now barring a miracle. Good to see Ultan and Ronan back, and Tadgh getting more minutes. Hopefully that will stand to them going forward. A lot of criticism of Davy lately but in my opinion I think he needs more experienced people beside him. McHugh was as big a loss as any player this year. Our defence is way to easy to breakdown. 2 games to save our league but it's hard to see us getting anything unless Derry ring the changes for last game and maybe Kerry win tomorrow but don't fancy a league final, they might take the foot off the gas!! And Monaghan and Galway draw tomorrow!! Clutching at straws but that's all we've got right now!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 146 - 02/03/2024 23:48:23    2529336

Replying To mayo_123:  "No wonder they looked flat after 65 or 75 training sessions"
The thing is we will probably beat ye in April.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 03/03/2024 00:09:09    2529340

Just watched highlights. You know it's going to a bad day when one of there forwards scored and hadn't scored so far in the league. The same issues again regarding defensive structure our forwards chasing their man as the last line defence. The majority of our scores were taken from long range as we are not pushed up in the ff line. Hopefully we have some thing hidden come championship time.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 03/03/2024 08:12:10    2529352

Replying To dave1988:  "The thing is we will probably beat ye in April."
That maybe but we will still be longer in championship

mayo_123 (Mayo) - Posts: 240 - 03/03/2024 09:19:19    2529363

Replying To mayo_123:  "That maybe but we will still be longer in championship"
And we will both have the same to show at the end of it all

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 146 - 03/03/2024 09:53:49    2529369

Replying To hontherossie:  "Just watched highlights. You know it's going to a bad day when one of there forwards scored and hadn't scored so far in the league. The same issues again regarding defensive structure our forwards chasing their man as the last line defence. The majority of our scores were taken from long range as we are not pushed up in the ff line. Hopefully we have some thing hidden come championship time."
Your last line is what I'm hoping for as well. The thing that worries me though is can you just expect to turn it on for championship without some bit of progression in the league? Or are they training exceptionally hard, getting gassed in these games but will be fit as fiddles for championship? Which is only 7 weeks away.
There were no surprises either in how Mayo approached that game last night. Started with purpose which you'd expect in McHale and after last weeks defeat, plenty of intensity and direct running. Aside from ROD its not like they have amazing firepower either.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/03/2024 10:01:32    2529371

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Your last line is what I'm hoping for as well. The thing that worries me though is can you just expect to turn it on for championship without some bit of progression in the league? Or are they training exceptionally hard, getting gassed in these games but will be fit as fiddles for championship? Which is only 7 weeks away.
There were no surprises either in how Mayo approached that game last night. Started with purpose which you'd expect in McHale and after last weeks defeat, plenty of intensity and direct running. Aside from ROD its not like they have amazing firepower either."
It's the league Machaire. Very hard to read how championship will go. We beat ye in the Hyde last year and Burke showed he learned and improved for the Connacht game. He looks like the man in charge of Roscommon. McStay has a big backroom staff. Neither team at full strength last night. I hope ye stay in Division One and the return game in The Hyde will be a cracker.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7346 - 03/03/2024 11:54:13    2529394

Replying To GreenandRed:  "It's the league Machaire. Very hard to read how championship will go. We beat ye in the Hyde last year and Burke showed he learned and improved for the Connacht game. He looks like the man in charge of Roscommon. McStay has a big backroom staff. Neither team at full strength last night. I hope ye stay in Division One and the return game in The Hyde will be a cracker."
True. Maybe management are looking ahead to championship and putting everything in the home games basket when it comes to the league. Kerry now safe and in the Hyde next. If we can perform against a Kerry that know they're already safe who knows what can happen. Big improvements needed though.

Mayo could have turned the screw more in that last quarter last night but there was probably an element of not over egging things before the championship game.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/03/2024 14:58:35    2529426

That was pretty poor lastnight its gonna take some effort to turn this around now.
I few thing I felt were off throughout the league so far.
1. Can anyone tell me what style of football we play. It too easy to say counterattack. we don't seem to have any shape to what we ate doing with ball in hand going forward.
2. I don't understand why we settle to allow other team to dominate the possession. If you have this mentality before the game you are going to be flat because you are going to wait for the opposition to make a mistake. Why can we not go out to make a battle of the possession stakes why can't we be the team who wants to dominate the ball. Last night was a great chance to do this against an average mayo team. We all agree that we have talented footballers, so we should be trying to give them the chance to play with the ball.
3. Whatever our defensive system is we seem to lose runners, that a cutting through our centre. This really needs to be looked at. We give up to many easy shooting chances.
4. We are carrying players in certain positions and what would be regarded as our better players are injured or not fit, and with the quick turnaround into championship this does not bode well. Possibly another below average season looms.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 185 - 03/03/2024 17:08:01    2529465

Replying To Jonnycee:  "That was pretty poor lastnight its gonna take some effort to turn this around now.
1. Can anyone tell me what style of football we play. It too easy to say counterattack. we don't seem to have any shape to what we ate doing with ball in hand going forward.
2. I don't understand why we settle to allow other team to dominate the possession. If you have this mentality before the game you are going to be flat because you are going to wait for the opposition to make a mistake. Why can we not go out to make a battle of the possession stakes why can't we be the team who wants to dominate the ball. Last night was a great chance to do this against an average mayo team. We all agree that we have talented footballers, so we should be trying to give them the chance to play with the ball.
3. Whatever our defensive system is we seem to lose runners, that a cutting through our centre. This really needs to be looked at. We give up to many easy shooting chances.
4. We are carrying players in certain positions and what would be regarded as our better players are injured or not fit, and with the quick turnaround into championship this does not bode well. Possibly another below average season looms."
Good post, I have gone to all the league games this year and I don't what's going on regarding our structure. I am hoping mc hugh wasn't involved in all things regarding our defensive play last year because this year it's a joke.A primary example was E smith's goal chance where he caught it and we had no one to run off him to create the goal. I don't see other d1 teams with our style of play. Teams should now be starting to peak now with a view to championship and we are going backwards after conceding 7 points on the trot in the second half. I am hoping Davy knows what he is doing.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 03/03/2024 18:12:04    2529496

Replying To hontherossie:  "Good post, I have gone to all the league games this year and I don't what's going on regarding our structure. I am hoping mc hugh wasn't involved in all things regarding our defensive play last year because this year it's a joke.A primary example was E smith's goal chance where he caught it and we had no one to run off him to create the goal. I don't see other d1 teams with our style of play. Teams should now be starting to peak now with a view to championship and we are going backwards after conceding 7 points on the trot in the second half. I am hoping Davy knows what he is doing."
Whilst yesterday was very disappointing anyone in cork last year for our exit out of the championship knows we were opened up defensively several times by cork who now seem to be about a mid table division 2 team so I'm not sure that the loss of mchugh is really as big a loss as people are calling out - not even going to mention the Kildare match
So I still remain hopeful that we're building for championship who knows maybe we'll get two points in remaining two matches not likely but I'd take relegation and a good championship run with a win in croker being a must - and that should be what Davy is judged on

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 03/03/2024 18:38:11    2529508

Replying To Jonnycee:  "That was pretty poor lastnight its gonna take some effort to turn this around now.
4. We are carrying players in certain positions and what would be regarded as our better players are injured or not fit, and with the quick turnaround into championship this does not bode well. Possibly another below average season looms."
"We all agree that we have talented footballers"

"against an average mayo team"

Don't think both of these can be true.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 03/03/2024 18:51:18    2529513

Replying To rossy15:  "Whilst yesterday was very disappointing anyone in cork last year for our exit out of the championship knows we were opened up defensively several times by cork who now seem to be about a mid table division 2 team so I'm not sure that the loss of mchugh is really as big a loss as people are calling out - not even going to mention the Kildare match
So I still remain hopeful that we're building for championship who knows maybe we'll get two points in remaining two matches not likely but I'd take relegation and a good championship run with a win in croker being a must - and that should be what Davy is judged on"
Agree that Davy Burke should be judged on the championship. Roscommon were awful last night though and we've been awful all League bar against an even worse Monaghan team. The table doesn't lie. There seems to be no structure or pattern to our play whatsoever. Hopefully we can turn it around for Kerry, Derry and the championship but it won't be easy. On a positive note, Conor Carroll is developing in to a top class goalkeeper. Niall Higgins has also impressed with his pace out of defence. We're continuing to struggle at midfield. Hopefully Ultan Harney can be fit and injury free for the championship. Via a vis other posts here since last night, I doubt either Mayo or Roscommon will have a long run in the championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 03/03/2024 21:35:28    2529581

Point 1 is something that is a bit concerning. And last night, whatever our initial strategy was, the plan b was hoof the ball in but even that was terribly executed.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 03/03/2024 22:01:01    2529587

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Point 1 is something that is a bit concerning. And last night, whatever our initial strategy was, the plan b was hoof the ball in but even that was terribly executed."
Hard to have any positive feelings about the years ahead.

And even harder for the years after that.
Tailteann beckons...

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 03/03/2024 22:09:29    2529590