Roscommon GAA thread

Good win last night, although couldn't read much into it as game was over after the goal went in. As has been mentioned already, I felt the ref done his best in second half to keep Sligo in it. From Ros point of view it was great to see Cathal Heneghan back and looking sharp, even after he got taken out with a tackle Bundee Aki would be proud of!! Of the new lads, I was most impressed with Declan Kenny. He looked lively and not afraid to carry ball, although he ran into trouble a few times and got turned over but he will learn as he gets more games at this level. Our adventurous keeper would want to cut that out if he hopes to get many more outings!! Enda looks like he needs a bit of time to get back up to the level he needs but he's entitled to take his time. Kickouts and midfield still under pressure but Duggan was a good option from time to time. Overall a decent workout but tougher games lie ahead

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 204 - 06/01/2024 15:05:22    2518634

Very hard luck to Castlerea who IMO was 3 or 4 points the better team in that match this afternoon but will know the two poor goals conceded was mainly why they lost by one but towards the end they still could easily have brought that game to extra time and looking at the fitness of the two teams I believe Castlerea would have won in extra time.

All-Ireland final opportunity narrowly missed out but serious progress they have made under Dara Bruen and their objective this year should be to retain senior status.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 06/01/2024 16:55:04    2518656

Replying To The_analyser:  "Very hard luck to Castlerea who IMO was 3 or 4 points the better team in that match this afternoon but will know the two poor goals conceded was mainly why they lost by one but towards the end they still could easily have brought that game to extra time and looking at the fitness of the two teams I believe Castlerea would have won in extra time.

All-Ireland final opportunity narrowly missed out but serious progress they have made under Dara Bruen and their objective this year should be to retain senior status."
Yep very hard luck to Castlerea St.Kevins. I felt they bet themselves. Reminded me a little of Boyle in the county final when they went for goals instead of points with plenty of time left. One particular shot on goal resulted in an easy save for the keeper and Cill na Martra went straight up the other end and scored a point. If Castlerea had just taken their point then they'd probably be in an All Ireland final now. But thems the breaks and they can be very proud of their efforts and achievements this year.

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 120 - 06/01/2024 19:18:37    2518684

Handy win last night versus a poor side they were missing a few of there stars and we were missing brigids lads harney, o rourke, Adam mc dermott, conor daly, Doyle and a few more, still a wins a win u can only beat what's in front of u.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1767 - 06/01/2024 21:57:01    2518716

Well done to Brigids for reaching the All Ireland. They were at their best 1st half and set the platform for the win 4 ahead but were 6 or 7 points the better team in that half. Bit a little bit of complacency creep in for the 2nd half? Either way Castlehaven had their best spell and who knows how they game would have panned out if Rory Maguires effort hit the net instead of the crossbar. Brigids settled themselves after that as their subs made the needed impact. Ben O'Carroll popped the penalty over the bar to make sure of the win.

Elsewhere and remarkably London beat Mayo in today's FBD quarter final. So they play us next Saturday in the dome.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 07/01/2024 15:25:11    2518815

Not a bad weekend for Rossie supporters. Great energy from roscommon in the first half v sligo, showed we were like a div 1 team. Great result by brigids when they could have easily lost in it 2nd half, crucial score from j cunnigham to settle it.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 102 - 07/01/2024 20:00:11    2518893

Replying To hontherossie:  "Not a bad weekend for Rossie supporters. Great energy from roscommon in the first half v sligo, showed we were like a div 1 team. Great result by brigids when they could have easily lost in it 2nd half, crucial score from j cunnigham to settle it."
Yes and Mayo beaten by London.!

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2265 - 07/01/2024 20:24:11    2518898

Replying To The_analyser:  "Well done to Brigids for reaching the All Ireland. They were at their best 1st half and set the platform for the win 4 ahead but were 6 or 7 points the better team in that half. Bit a little bit of complacency creep in for the 2nd half? Either way Castlehaven had their best spell and who knows how they game would have panned out if Rory Maguires effort hit the net instead of the crossbar. Brigids settled themselves after that as their subs made the needed impact. Ben O'Carroll popped the penalty over the bar to make sure of the win.

Elsewhere and remarkably London beat Mayo in today's FBD quarter final. So they play us next Saturday in the dome."
Hardly remarkably we had an extremely experimental team out.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 07/01/2024 20:45:48    2518908

Replying To S1234:  "Hardly remarkably we had an extremely experimental team out."
Aye that new lad Cillian O'Connor ye tried out - he might be worth another try.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 07/01/2024 21:05:55    2518911

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Aye that new lad Cillian O'Connor ye tried out - he might be worth another try."
We had only a few of our first team starting other then that it was an extremely experimental side.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 07/01/2024 21:14:01    2518915

Replying To S1234:  "Hardly remarkably we had an extremely experimental team out."
Disagree. Mayo have a panel of 50 players a professional like set up working away since early November regardless of what team Mayo lined out with should not be losing and only scoring 1-8 against London.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 08/01/2024 17:26:24    2519085

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Disagree. Mayo have a panel of 50 players a professional like set up working away since early November regardless of what team Mayo lined out with should not be losing and only scoring 1-8 against London."
Disagree all you like it's just facts it was hardly a shock we played 11 guys who made their debuts and who barely played together as a team and yet still only lost by a point but fair play to London but it was definetly not a shock for mayo and we won't be worried about an FBD match in January.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 08/01/2024 17:55:49    2519092

I see that RTE have announced that they are going to show six Allianz football division 1 league games, live this year. Dublin 3, Mayo 3, Derry 2, Kerry 2, Galway 1, Tyrone 1. Monaghan 0, Roscommon 0.
Obviously RTE like the bookies, fancy both ourselves and Monaghan to go down this year, but we will show them!
Hopefully this will result in Roscommon having more support for their league games, including our first game in Omagh, in three weeks time.
Not sure if TG4 will be showing any live league games?

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 591 - 08/01/2024 18:23:39    2519100

Replying To S1234:  "Disagree all you like it's just facts it was hardly a shock we played 11 guys who made their debuts and who barely played together as a team and yet still only lost by a point but fair play to London but it was definetly not a shock for mayo and we won't be worried about an FBD match in January."
Opinion not facts. I believe 12 of that same Mayo team lined out against the club selection a week earlier. A club team including a handful of Mayo senior starters and scored 7:20. Fine that you aren't worried but to say it wasn't a shock result when 12/1 to win and it was the manner of defeat scoring just 1-8 inside an environment that should be high scoring especially against a division 4 team that wouldn't be challenging for promotion and were missing players themselves and gave debuts to a number of players.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 08/01/2024 19:36:25    2519119

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Opinion not facts. I believe 12 of that same Mayo team lined out against the club selection a week earlier. A club team including a handful of Mayo senior starters and scored 7:20. Fine that you aren't worried but to say it wasn't a shock result when 12/1 to win and it was the manner of defeat scoring just 1-8 inside an environment that should be high scoring especially against a division 4 team that wouldn't be challenging for promotion and were missing players themselves and gave debuts to a number of players."
We are trying new players we were trying to players in the charity match to.. It's facts.

It wasn't a shock that we lost only 2 of the guys that started against Dublin in the quarters played yesterday says it all was not our first team by any standards a lot of the guys who played yesterday sadly for them probably won't make the squad for the year.

We get slagged for blitzing teams this time last year and slagged for loosing by a point with a Very experimental team can't win ha.

As I said fair play to London they deserve the credit by far the better team.

But we aren't worried it's Fbd a game that a lot of players wanted to get rid of for crying out loud.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 08/01/2024 19:59:25    2519121

Well done to St Brigids. Glen will want a tight, hard battling, defensive game and won't want a pacy multi-pronged attacking game from Brigids. Hope Brigids stick to their attacking brand of football that can beat the Maghera boys (you'd swear Glen was a pub and post office village in the middle of nowhere, the way they go on, it's in Maghera - a town of 5,000 people, 75% of the gaa persuasion!)

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 08/01/2024 20:31:30    2519127

S1234 (Mayo) It was a shock certainly however it won't be a shock to plenty of players that played yesterday if they get cut from the Mayo panel for the NFL.

Well done to St Brigids yesterday but will need more of that 1st half performance and less of 2nd half performance against Glen in the final. I thought Castlerea was unlucky not to progress to the AI final many of those player currently on the Roscommon panel.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 08/01/2024 23:33:33    2519144

Replying To togoutlads:  "Well done to St Brigids. Glen will want a tight, hard battling, defensive game and won't want a pacy multi-pronged attacking game from Brigids. Hope Brigids stick to their attacking brand of football that can beat the Maghera boys (you'd swear Glen was a pub and post office village in the middle of nowhere, the way they go on, it's in Maghera - a town of 5,000 people, 75% of the gaa persuasion!)"
A great result for Brigid's. They started brilliantly and played some lovely football. Most importantly, they took those early chances.
Castlehaven started to get a grip around the middle late in 1st half and that continued for a lot of the 2nd half. The two efforts off the crossbar, especially the 2nd chance could have changed the result. However, I thought Brigid's were fully deserving winners.
I'm not sure about your assessment of Glen though. They're well able to go toe-to-toe in an open game of football and have played some brilliant stuff in a lot of their big games. The Ulster final against Scotstown was a brilliant open and direct game, with more kick passing than I've seen in a long time. Some of the scores kicked were exceptional. They also showed some very nice stuff in their All-Ireland semi and final last year. They have some very classy footballers, including McFaul at centre-back who orchestrates a lot of that they do.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 09/01/2024 10:39:01    2519195

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "S1234 (Mayo) It was a shock certainly however it won't be a shock to plenty of players that played yesterday if they get cut from the Mayo panel for the NFL.

Well done to St Brigids yesterday but will need more of that 1st half performance and less of 2nd half performance against Glen in the final. I thought Castlerea was unlucky not to progress to the AI final many of those player currently on the Roscommon panel."
It wasn't a shock. As. Mcstay said himself fair play to London but we got a good run out and wanted to see 11 guys make their debut and see how they go in a game like that. They are hardly used to playing with each other unlike London who know each other well and play together all the time.

Not a shock and in a few months time mayo will probably just laugh about it.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 91 - 09/01/2024 12:28:07    2519221

Replying To S1234:  "It wasn't a shock. As. Mcstay said himself fair play to London but we got a good run out and wanted to see 11 guys make their debut and see how they go in a game like that. They are hardly used to playing with each other unlike London who know each other well and play together all the time.

Not a shock and in a few months time mayo will probably just laugh about it."
It was a certainly a shock. Move on from it McStay already has as he'll know shocks are better to get in pre-season than in the NFL or championship

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 09/01/2024 15:00:15    2519260