Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "There in the dome, what's that hold.
What's parking like for large crowds.
What are the roads like for traffic arriving all at roughly same time?"
2000 capacity. Road is good. It's rarely busy unless it's August.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 27/10/2022 17:13:37    2445711

As a Kildare man I would like to wish Davy every success (once it's not at out expense) I think it's a great move by Roscommon to appoint such a dynamic and charismatic young manager. I know in Kildare we will be watching with great interest how he fares managing a team at Division 1 level and in championship against the likes of Mayo and Galway. Best of luck Davy!

LilywhiteGael (Kildare) - Posts: 93 - 27/10/2022 17:28:47    2445714

It is great we finally have a manager, while I would have major doubts about him I really hope he proves me wrong. I think like most people were hoping that he would bring in an experienced or if not experienced at least someone with a good knowledge of roscommon football as coach but unfortunately this is not the case which is a concern. Similarly given the drawnout process to get a manager at least the selectors should be in place at this stage.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 27/10/2022 20:03:54    2445723

Replying To crafty:  "Wonderful news for Galway, Mayo, Sligo and Leitrim. Can't believe Burke got the job. Was nobody else interested?"
Very ignorant comment. Knock the man and he hasn't even seen the panel yet. Best of luck to Davy and his staff.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 27/10/2022 21:06:22    2445729

Replying To mintyfresh:  "Very ignorant comment. He is a highly respected coach and manager and his record for such a young man is very impressive. This could turn out to be a very shrewd appointment by Roscommon."
Could you inform me about Burke's impressive record. An U20 All Ireland with Kildare and what else?

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 27/10/2022 21:09:22    2445730

Replying To crafty:  "Could you inform me about Burke's impressive record. An U20 All Ireland with Kildare and what else?"
What had Pj done before getting the Galway job. And until this year he had a poor record with Galway.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 28/10/2022 10:11:28    2445748

Replying To crafty:  "Could you inform me about Burke's impressive record. An U20 All Ireland with Kildare and what else?"
Crafty. The state of you and your comments.

SpanishRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 20 - 28/10/2022 10:14:56    2445749

Best of luck to the new management team. Finally tine to get in with it now. The backroom team will be crucial. What management team lack in experience you hope their youth and enthusiasm will bring energy to it.

Mark McHugh will be able to relate to a current inter County player which will be a good thing. As a half forward in the modern game his role will be crucial as it is an area we have struggled in for a number of years. Defensively we need to address the huge gaps that appear all over the pitch and teams running through us. Defensively is not just about defenders it is across the board amd midfield/forwards are equally as culpable as anyone for not defending and that needs addressing if we are to progress.

Be interesting to see who the local men involved are. Names being bandied about are Eddie Lohan, Gareth Carroll, John Rogers, Cian Smith, Billy Donnellan. Is there nobody in South of county ?

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 28/10/2022 10:56:47    2445760

The concern from across the Suck is touching and is not reciprocated.
Kildare won 2 All Irelands since 1928.
Davy was manager for one of them.
Ye're man Joyce had won what as a manager before he got the Senior job?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 28/10/2022 10:59:01    2445761

Talking to a Kildare man yesterday…Burke highly rated. A good appointment he reckons. I was at the final when Burke's Kildare beat Mayo in the u20 final although questions were asked as to why Solan had no plan for Hyland who ran riot.

Anyway good luck with it but obviously not at our expense.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 28/10/2022 11:33:51    2445768

A bit of background on Burke courtesy of The42:
He suffered two devastating knee injuries, including a torn ACL, MCL and shattered kneecap, at 15 that finished his playing career and left him with a plastic kneecap. A move into coaching was always likely to follow.
His late father Kieran taught at St David's in Artane, where he trained a young Stephen Cluxton. Kieran, who passed away in 2003 at just 38, was a highly respected coach, particularly in the women's game.
He managed the Kildare ladies footballers and was involved with the men's side for a period. Kieran and his wife June both served as chairpeople of Kildare ladies football board.
As a result of their dedication, Burke spent much of his childhood on GAA sidelines.
He got involved with Féile teams in his native Confey before taking over the ladies football job at 18-years-old and guiding them to successive senior titles. He spent two years with the Kildare minor ladies and then moved onto Dublin where he assisted Greg McGonagle with the senior women's side.
That tandem won a pair of All-Ireland U21 finals and lost two senior deciders against a dominant Cork outfit. He went on to have spells with Sigerson Cup sides in Maynooth and Trinity College, and the Trinity senior ladies.
Then Burke returned to home club Confey where he guided the men's team to the Division 1 crown and Kildare SFC semi-finals, both for the first time in their history
He took over the Kildare U20s in 2018. It was a talented team but they weren't considered All-Ireland contenders. Led by star forward Jimmy Hyland, they defeated a highly-rated Dublin side in the Leinster final and went on to claim a 1-18 to 1-16 win over Mayo in the All-Ireland decider.
Burke's next role brought him to Sarsfields in 2019. The Sash are Kildare's most successful club and despite having a strong team they hadn't managed to get past the quarter-finals since their last success in 2016.
The club's chairperson, Shirley Mulpeter, held no worries over appointing Burke despite the fact he was younger than some of his players. "It wasn't about age it was about what he'd bring," she told The42. "We saw the success he had with the U20s in Kildare and when we sat down with Davy he has a great way about him.
"From my point of view he was very easy to deal with and he always knew what he wanted and was always prepared.
"He just brings a different thing with him. I just keep bringing it back to his professionalism and how prepared he is, that's exactly what he does."
The Kildare championship is a minefield, yet they dramatically beat Moorefield after a replay in the final to land the 25th title in the club's history.
It was Burke's organisation and planning that most impressed Mulpeter, in addition to his infectious energy.
"His training sessions are so well structured, the lads obviously knew what they were doing. They responded extremely well to him. He has a very good team around him.
"I know he has now, he also had it in Sarsfields he brings some of his own with him and he had two really good selectors in Sarsfields as well. That brought another level to it as well.
"The team responded very well to him and one thing he did was he wasn't afraid to bring in youth.
"We had a fantastic season all round. We won the senior, senior B, the ladies won the championship. We had a fantastic year and the whole club was on a high and a buzz. He was a big factor in that.
"He brought in a strong, professional well-prepared ethos with him. And that's not to say it wasn't there with previous managers, but Davy himself everything is so well prepared, even down to the training on the night.
2 years in Wicklow - got them promoted out of division 4 in year 1 and then kept them there in year 2.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1130 - 28/10/2022 12:46:29    2445778

You have a great manager there lads.

Give him whatever he wants.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 28/10/2022 13:11:25    2445783

Replying To BigSur:  "A bit of background on Burke courtesy of The42:
He suffered two devastating knee injuries, including a torn ACL, MCL and shattered kneecap, at 15 that finished his playing career and left him with a plastic kneecap. A move into coaching was always likely to follow.
His late father Kieran taught at St David's in Artane, where he trained a young Stephen Cluxton. Kieran, who passed away in 2003 at just 38, was a highly respected coach, particularly in the women's game.
He managed the Kildare ladies footballers and was involved with the men's side for a period. Kieran and his wife June both served as chairpeople of Kildare ladies football board.
As a result of their dedication, Burke spent much of his childhood on GAA sidelines.
He got involved with Féile teams in his native Confey before taking over the ladies football job at 18-years-old and guiding them to successive senior titles. He spent two years with the Kildare minor ladies and then moved onto Dublin where he assisted Greg McGonagle with the senior women's side.
That tandem won a pair of All-Ireland U21 finals and lost two senior deciders against a dominant Cork outfit. He went on to have spells with Sigerson Cup sides in Maynooth and Trinity College, and the Trinity senior ladies.
Then Burke returned to home club Confey where he guided the men's team to the Division 1 crown and Kildare SFC semi-finals, both for the first time in their history
He took over the Kildare U20s in 2018. It was a talented team but they weren't considered All-Ireland contenders. Led by star forward Jimmy Hyland, they defeated a highly-rated Dublin side in the Leinster final and went on to claim a 1-18 to 1-16 win over Mayo in the All-Ireland decider.
Burke's next role brought him to Sarsfields in 2019. The Sash are Kildare's most successful club and despite having a strong team they hadn't managed to get past the quarter-finals since their last success in 2016.
The club's chairperson, Shirley Mulpeter, held no worries over appointing Burke despite the fact he was younger than some of his players. "It wasn't about age it was about what he'd bring," she told The42. "We saw the success he had with the U20s in Kildare and when we sat down with Davy he has a great way about him.
"From my point of view he was very easy to deal with and he always knew what he wanted and was always prepared.
"He just brings a different thing with him. I just keep bringing it back to his professionalism and how prepared he is, that's exactly what he does."
The Kildare championship is a minefield, yet they dramatically beat Moorefield after a replay in the final to land the 25th title in the club's history.
It was Burke's organisation and planning that most impressed Mulpeter, in addition to his infectious energy.
"His training sessions are so well structured, the lads obviously knew what they were doing. They responded extremely well to him. He has a very good team around him.
"I know he has now, he also had it in Sarsfields he brings some of his own with him and he had two really good selectors in Sarsfields as well. That brought another level to it as well.
"The team responded very well to him and one thing he did was he wasn't afraid to bring in youth.
"We had a fantastic season all round. We won the senior, senior B, the ladies won the championship. We had a fantastic year and the whole club was on a high and a buzz. He was a big factor in that.
"He brought in a strong, professional well-prepared ethos with him. And that's not to say it wasn't there with previous managers, but Davy himself everything is so well prepared, even down to the training on the night.
2 years in Wicklow - got them promoted out of division 4 in year 1 and then kept them there in year 2."
Sounds promising, hopefully it goes well

Ros13 (Roscommon) - Posts: 109 - 28/10/2022 13:31:59    2445791

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Best of luck to the new management team. Finally tine to get in with it now. The backroom team will be crucial. What management team lack in experience you hope their youth and enthusiasm will bring energy to it.

Mark McHugh will be able to relate to a current inter County player which will be a good thing. As a half forward in the modern game his role will be crucial as it is an area we have struggled in for a number of years. Defensively we need to address the huge gaps that appear all over the pitch and teams running through us. Defensively is not just about defenders it is across the board amd midfield/forwards are equally as culpable as anyone for not defending and that needs addressing if we are to progress.

Be interesting to see who the local men involved are. Names being bandied about are Eddie Lohan, Gareth Carroll, John Rogers, Cian Smith, Billy Donnellan. Is there nobody in South of county ?"
Durney?, Nugent?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1417 - 28/10/2022 13:45:12    2445794

Replying To BigSur:  "A bit of background on Burke courtesy of The42:
2 years in Wicklow - got them promoted out of division 4 in year 1 and then kept them there in year 2."
Thanks for that information BigSur. Given the very difficult circumstances the selection committee found themselves in, I think that they have made a very good selection in appointing David Burke. Given his young age that is a very impressive CV. Roscommon have some good young players coming through and it is good to hear that he wasn't afraid to bring in youth in Sarfields when they won the Kildare County championship. The difficult part is saying to a very experienced player is that they are no longer in the team or the panel. Hopefully he will be able to blend in youth and experience and pick the team based on form.

I like some of the comments that are mentioned in the article such as "he has a great way about him", (presume this means emotional intelligence) "he knew what he wanted and was always well prepared", his infectious energy allied to his organisation and planning skills. Hopefully we will hear soon who he brings in as his background team / selectors.

The Roscommon supporters know that it will be very difficult for him this year in division 1 and also with the draw in the Connacht championship. (Mayo and Galway are in the top four for the All Ireland). However have read about David Burke's background and having talked to a couple of people, I am beginning to detect a buzz around the Roscommon supporters, which is great after a very difficult few weeks of speculation.

The best of luck David with the Rossies!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 28/10/2022 14:05:11    2445796

How do we see the two finals going this weekend in Dr Hyde Park?

Junior A final first up tomorrow, a first final for a few decades for Ronan's and only as recent as 2015 their club chairman said they were on the verge of extinction. While no disrespect to Pearses i hope Ronans can pull off the win here and go into the Connacht championship campaign as champions.

What i think will happen is Pearses winning, they have a number of lads that are the verge of their senior panel, some (their Div 1 U20 champions) will be featuring soon enough.

Sunday Dominics tipped by all to win this intermediate title and are 1 win off that now and are up against Éire Óg whom few would have predicted them reaching the final. Another big occasion for the underdog having not reached a final for many years.

Last championships meetings was two Dominics wins in different ways. A trimming via a goals blitz and narrow win in a high scoring encounter. I'd say more in between this time with Dominics winning again.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 28/10/2022 15:43:17    2445813

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Thanks for that information BigSur. Given the very difficult circumstances the selection committee found themselves in, I think that they have made a very good selection in appointing David Burke. Given his young age that is a very impressive CV. Roscommon have some good young players coming through and it is good to hear that he wasn't afraid to bring in youth in Sarfields when they won the Kildare County championship. The difficult part is saying to a very experienced player is that they are no longer in the team or the panel. Hopefully he will be able to blend in youth and experience and pick the team based on form.

I like some of the comments that are mentioned in the article such as "he has a great way about him", (presume this means emotional intelligence) "he knew what he wanted and was always well prepared", his infectious energy allied to his organisation and planning skills. Hopefully we will hear soon who he brings in as his background team / selectors.

The Roscommon supporters know that it will be very difficult for him this year in division 1 and also with the draw in the Connacht championship. (Mayo and Galway are in the top four for the All Ireland). However have read about David Burke's background and having talked to a couple of people, I am beginning to detect a buzz around the Roscommon supporters, which is great after a very difficult few weeks of speculation.

The best of luck David with the Rossies!"
I'm not putting any pressure on Davy Burke. A Connacht title and an All Ireland semi final appearance in 2023 will do me.! Look forward to seeing the full back room team. Roscommon have plenty of good footballers and we've been underachieving these last few years. Best of luck to the new Management and to the players for next year.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 29/10/2022 09:18:33    2445832

One of the most enjoyable Junior finals I've attended. Looked like Ronans had in won in normal time only to concede a goal in injury time but managed to get a point and grab extra time.

Half time in extra time Ronans 4 in front and well on top. Then Pearses come fighting back with 2 goals but again Ronans grab what was a deserved draw and replay.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 29/10/2022 17:23:21    2445890

Replying To The_analyser:  "One of the most enjoyable Junior finals I've attended. Looked like Ronans had in won in normal time only to concede a goal in injury time but managed to get a point and grab extra time.

Half time in extra time Ronans 4 in front and well on top. Then Pearses come fighting back with 2 goals but again Ronans grab what was a deserved draw and replay."
Fair play to you The Analyser. You go to some amount of matches in Roscommon and keep those of us who do not live in the county very up-to-date and well informed.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 29/10/2022 21:52:34    2445920

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Fair play to you The Analyser. You go to some amount of matches in Roscommon and keep those of us who do not live in the county very up-to-date and well informed."
Yes I don't always agree with The Analyser but he is a great Roscommon gaa man without a doubt.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 30/10/2022 08:43:30    2445923