Time for a fresh voice I think. We have played the same way for the past two years - slow, lethargic attack, get to 45 and turn back with a refusal to kick it into the full forward line. No reason to think that will change next year under new management. Some overrated players too lets be honest. The Walsh/Comer fitness drama ever-present . Comer did well when he came on, and I feel for him - but is he as well call it a day? Changing goalkeepers this time of year also is a joke form management. Get the sponsors on board and get Jim Gavin in! hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 446 - 30/06/2025 08:26:14 2622466 Link 1 |
With Donegal now down to play Meath can I remind everyone that this is a Galway football forum and we are out now. Based on the past few weeks most of the Donegal and Meath posters have relocated here. Lads, well done, it's time ye moved out smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 542 - 30/06/2025 08:29:46 2622467 Link 1 |
You don't know that there isn't a better option within the county. For one, are you ignoring a Galway manager who won an U20 with a lot of the current senior group, and managed a huge number of them at minor as well? Joyce didn't have as much experience or success coaching underage when he got the job. I'm not calling for anyone's head, but to say there's no one else in Galway who do the job is pretty ignorant. Joyce put his heart and soul into it for 6 years as did the players. I'll never slate anyone who puts in a massive commitment for Galway football. We'll all have our opinions and of course we're entitled to question decisions and performances. The current group will make their decision when the time is right. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2413 - 30/06/2025 08:52:20 2622476 Link 0 |
Comer firing too he played 20 mins of champo football and what 20 mins in 2 games in league. Cooke a welcome addition and question him being repalced Thompson the find of the year and what a player he looks like being for us. Tomo did not play any mins bar a 5 min cameo against Down. Likes of COC LOC O Neill have not been trusted otr kicked on. Is it end for Conroy a great servant but 37 next year.
Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 30/06/2025 09:11:29 2622484 Link 0 |
Not to beat a man when they are down - but Galway had that coming. Serious lack of respect shown to the Meath team, was there any research done on in the lead up or was it a case of showing up? We have destroyed teams in midfield since the second half fiasco of the Leinster Final. Once Galway couldn't get primary ball they went short - fell into the trap and got turned over. Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 800 - 30/06/2025 09:20:32 2622487 Link 5 |
It's also a public forum and called free speech ! You can't blame Meath after you lot belittled them . Ye bottled it again after bottling it last year to only yourselves to blame after celebrating like you won the all Ireland in Connacht enjoy the long summer & winter !
S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 259 - 30/06/2025 09:33:06 2622491 Link 0 |
Not a big name but a great manager who won underage and managed most of them now as well as the current development squad who has provide a ton of quality over teh past few years - Dónal o Flatharta
The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 808 - 30/06/2025 09:35:53 2622492 Link 1 |
Another year of people saying "if only we could get Walsh and Comer fit and on the field together".... well beaten on the day. We were woeful and have been for the most part all year. McHugh and Silke have been desperate all year. Lot of reflection needed. MinorChamp_09 (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 30/06/2025 09:44:17 2622496 Link 0 |
Firstly a heartfelt congratulations to meath. Better team. Really showed how to defend in the new rules I advise a lot of clubs to watch closely. Have conceded a disgustingly low amount of shots. systematic (Galway) - Posts: 225 - 30/06/2025 09:55:08 2622500 Link 1 |
Not coming on here to stick the knife in but I was gobsmacked ye lost. We should have beaten them Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 544 - 30/06/2025 09:55:19 2622501 Link 1 |
They have maybe but yesterday was Silke's best game all year and really I find it hard to fault a manager for trying to get the best out of 2 all star defenders! Dylan should have gotten a goal early doors and Liam got the second so I really can't see why you're saying that
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 225 - 30/06/2025 09:57:17 2622502 Link 0 |
Duckie needs everyone to forget about his last year with the u20s before he's given a shot at senior the last year had a load of talent but let down by management.
systematic (Galway) - Posts: 225 - 30/06/2025 09:59:13 2622504 Link 0 |
Walsh has only played one standout game in Croker the final v Kerry in 22. And imagine to think we held him in the same regard as the GOAT Clifford. Echo comments about last few years if only had Comer & Walsh fit as seen over last number of years we cant trust Comer to stay fit. Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 358 - 30/06/2025 10:05:20 2622511 Link 0 |
There was no lack of respect from the team and management, we simply weren't good enough. There's plenty on here who would have said we were living dangerously all year and never put in a what we would consider a really solid performance. We've played in spurts all year and yesterday was similar. You're highlighting issues that have been mentioned countless times in this forum by Galway supporters. It's not news to us that the slow build-up and lateral style has been ineffective for most of the year. Even more so with the new rules. We've been at our best when playing more direct, but that has really only happened out of necessity when we've found ourselves well behind in games, like in Derry, against Armagh and yesterday. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2413 - 30/06/2025 10:12:25 2622516 Link 1 |
I will enjoy the next few months. I reckon Oranmore Maree are under pressure to win the intermediate. Very hard to pick a winner, what do you reckon yourself
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 542 - 30/06/2025 10:20:51 2622520 Link 0 |
Commiserations lads - I am sure you're raw today. Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 368 - 30/06/2025 10:25:41 2622521 Link 2 |
I just think that the message got stale . Joyce is finished. He was poor on the sideline against Down and again yesterday. His ego has got the better of him. Kicking the ball over the bar before the game. Very disappointed with Morris but as I said before (in this forum) he reputation got bigger the less he did. As for the other Graham we got from Leitrim, sorry Mickey but please take the Mayo Job. These players did not suddenly this year become bad players just the message became STALE. Also, wtf was Joyce playing lads in the league when the needed to be rested. The problem with Galway is that several players know there are going to get games no matter what or how the play. Joyce seems to listen to media too much. I hate to single out players, but Hernon again was poor as a starter, Kelly looks tired and the injuries have caught up with him. Speed is gone, McHugh was very poor again, Silke was better but looking tired (But he is a doctor and works bloody hard) and so did McGrath (played every game this year). You need speed in half back line driving forward. Everyone but Galway have that. I watched club football a lot and here is my team for league. Flaherty, McGrath(start him or Mchugh every second game), Fitzy, Glynn (needs confidence back), O Flaherty(Speed), Silke (Consistent), Kilcommins(Speed), Maher, Darcy/Cooke (We don't get enough out of cooke, seems to slow the game now, a league with new rules could help), Sweeney(Speed), Thompson, McDaid(Speed), Finnerty, Tierney, Mannion. 10 12 5 and 7 can be interchangeable. Close to starting C. Costello (needs more conditions), Liam O Conghaile, Tomo, Even Hernon who needs a lot of football but not a half back probably full back. Subs to be used intermittently during the league Walshe, Comer, McHugh, Kelly (not all the fecking time). Only a few new players but it would freshen things up. Again, we are not Bad players just they need someone looking over the shoulder for their positions and PJ did not have that and probably does not want it because it makes his decisions harder. . Thanks for your service, PJ but goodbye now. Also, who knows who we will see in the club championship but Joyce needs to go and a new Manager in to have a look. Also, finally the new manager needs to leave under 20 to under 20. No under 20 is physically strong enough for county senior now. Bringing in Costello and McGlinchey was wrong in all counts this year. Someone mentioned Joe Canney from Corofin. All we need in another Corofin man from a club who "invented the back pass".
LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 102 - 30/06/2025 10:26:40 2622522 Link 1 |
Pathetic
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 368 - 30/06/2025 10:26:48 2622523 Link 2 |
100% correct. Loads of managerial and coaching talent in Galway and if there's one thing I take from PJs tenure is that you are better off with a Galway man in charge. Of more importance at the moment is who gets the Minor and U20 gigs. Talks of Kevin Johnson which would be super for the U20s, to be fair the likes of Stephen Joyce and Donal O'Flatharta brought through a lot of the current panel so it's hugely important. I do believe there are a couple more Matthew Thompsons around. Will be good to see what Colm Costello, Patrick Egan, Sam O'Neill and maybe Shay McGlinchey can do in the next 12 months. Ross Coen another great prospect but let's see if he can get in the Corofin team first.
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 542 - 30/06/2025 10:27:53 2622524 Link 0 |
I have no doubt we have the footballers there capable of winning Sam. But in crucial moments we lack something, like in the last few minutes of last year's final when we needed composure. Against Dublin and Derry this year we conceded from the last play on their kickout. Yesterday incredibly we made the same mistake again by allowing Meath a short kickout on last play with a minute left when we had to surely go all out press. Game was over once they got that kick away. Look how Meath pressed high to force the turnover for their second goal. That said, the pass to McGrath was desperate and put him on the back foot. At 2 points up that kickout must go long even if we lose it. conordee (Galway) - Posts: 455 - 30/06/2025 10:38:51 2622526 Link 3 |