Galway Football thread

Replying To tommy k:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "Tuam is the only town for a Galway v Mayo championship game Togout. Can't beat the buzz in the town and the short stroll to the pitch. Probably being too nostalgic but hopefully someday the seniors will clash again in Jarlath's Park.

If both teams play close to their potential tomorrow ye'll beat us by a point or two. Neither team out of first gear yet this year, ye have more scoring options than us. We're over-reliant on Ryan to score, create something or win a free. Have been so far anyway. I live in hope rather than expectation that we'll get more balance in attack and more confidence in front of goal. May the best team win.

Maigh Eo Abú!

link"
Ah come on - Galway are still missing McDaid, Tierney and Culhane. They are much better footballers than many of those in the subs bench for tomorrow."
They are but I think yer forwards combined tomorrow are better than ours if they hit form. I know that posters here think that's it a big if, based a lot on the Sligo game and hope it doesn't happen. It's not like Mayo forwards, bar O'Donoghue, have great form going to Salthill. Both sets of forwards can do better they've shown yet this year. Joyce or McStay could have a few tricks up their sleeves to stop either set playing to potential., We'll know tomorrow.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 04/05/2024 13:39:51    2542808

Terrible start for the U20's. 4 points down after 6 minutes.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 04/05/2024 17:29:08    2542851

They shout themselves in the foot with how open they were at the back.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 04/05/2024 18:26:08    2542885

Galway got ahead by 2 at HT but Roscommon with 2 goals in the 2nd half. Galway backs seem very slow.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 04/05/2024 18:27:43    2542886

Roscommon win but was it not a blatant pull back on the Galway player which led to Roscommon's third and decisive goal.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 92 - 04/05/2024 18:41:04    2542893

Roscommon had a plan without the ball to block the channels and defend the D.
We left our full back line 1v1 all day.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 04/05/2024 18:53:13    2542900

No underage title since 2020, not good.

Roscommon set up better and worked harder, put us under all sorts of pressure. Well done to them.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1581 - 04/05/2024 18:53:24    2542901

hard luck to the u-20's theyll come again..
mistakes cost them but theyll learn..

but can someone please explain too me what in the name of god was jerome henry referring that match for??
are the galway county board officials totally stupid/not a clue..
we all no what he thinks of galway at this stage...
he should never be let ref a game game again never mind a connacht final..

once again its proven that we have no one with the proper cop to stop this from happening..
its laughable and its not good enough..
i feel sorry for the players as there the ones who put in all that hard work..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 252 - 04/05/2024 18:54:36    2542902

Replying To JahTribe:  "Roscommon win but was it not a blatant pull back on the Galway player which led to Roscommon's third and decisive goal."
Looked a foul alright. Ref ignored a good few blatant fouls I thought during the game. Galway got plenty points but never really threatened a goal. Roscommon got 3 by running straight through the middle.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 04/05/2024 18:54:42    2542903

Replying To smallfrank:  "Roscommon had a plan without the ball to block the channels and defend the D.
We left our full back line 1v1 all day."
That pretty much sums it up.
We got caught on the break numerous times today.
Think we should get 3 or 4 of this team through to the seniors though.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 04/05/2024 19:17:33    2542917

Replying To ahsure.:  "No underage title since 2020, not good.

Roscommon set up better and worked harder, put us under all sorts of pressure. Well done to them."
Signs at underage are quite worrying. The minor team this year are poor. The U20 win in 2020 and the minor win in 22 have glossed over some very poor years around them. We'll could be in trouble in a few years time at senior.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 04/05/2024 19:17:35    2542918

Replying To gbay:  "hard luck to the u-20's theyll come again..

but can someone please explain too me what in the name of god was jerome henry referring that match for??

once again its proven that we have no one with the proper cop to stop this from happening..
i feel sorry for the players as there the ones who put in all that hard work.."
Just to note .. Jerome Henry wasn't refereeing that game today...

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 04/05/2024 19:51:31    2542928

Replying To Marooned:  "Signs at underage are quite worrying. The minor team this year are poor. The U20 win in 2020 and the minor win in 22 have glossed over some very poor years around them. We'll could be in trouble in a few years time at senior."
Today was Roscommon's day and we're delighted with it but there are plenty of good footballers on that Galway team ( accurate shooters in particular) so Galway shouldn't be too downbeat. The goals won the game for Ros and the Galway defence was opened up down the middle a number of times.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 04/05/2024 20:05:24    2542934

Replying To Belclare7:  "Just to note .. Jerome Henry wasn't refereeing that game today..."
Liam Devenney of Mayo was today's referee.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2187 - 04/05/2024 20:20:49    2542945

Replying To endgame:  "Today was Roscommon's day and we're delighted with it but there are plenty of good footballers on that Galway team ( accurate shooters in particular) so Galway shouldn't be too downbeat. The goals won the game for Ros and the Galway defence was opened up down the middle a number of times."
Galway corner backs looked vulnerable too. McGinley looks a talent.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3498 - 04/05/2024 20:38:29    2542956

Replying To endgame:  "Today was Roscommon's day and we're delighted with it but there are plenty of good footballers on that Galway team ( accurate shooters in particular) so Galway shouldn't be too downbeat. The goals won the game for Ros and the Galway defence was opened up down the middle a number of times."
Fair play endgame and good luck against Tyrone.
I think they are the strongest of the other provincial champions.
Our system of play left us exposed at the back to an opposition that moved the ball quickly which Roscommon did on a number of occasions and opened us up.
There are some very good players in that team as there was on last years team that will play senior.
McGlinchey, Coen, Thompson and Costello in particular.
O Curraoin, O Neill and O Conghaile from last year are already in there, as is O Flaherty who wasn't allowed play u20 so some good lads coming through despite the lack of a Connacht title.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 04/05/2024 21:15:54    2542962

Replying To endgame:  "Liam Devenney of Mayo was today's referee."
I think at this stage for a final the referee should come from outside the province for all provinces and it removes any bias real or just perceived.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 228 - 04/05/2024 21:20:38    2542964

Replying To smallfrank:  "Roscommon had a plan without the ball to block the channels and defend the D.
We left our full back line 1v1 all day."
Ye should be leaving your full backs 1v1 underage

Anything else is bad for their development.

Hate to see underage teams dropping men back to "block up the channels". You end up breeding bad corner backs

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 04/05/2024 21:32:21    2542967

Replying To gbay:  "hard luck to the u-20's theyll come again..

i feel sorry for the players as there the ones who put in all that hard work.."
If you think the ref was the difference you surely watched the wrong game, which was evident as you though Jerome Henry refereed it.
Galway had alot of lads who looked liked they had never played in the positions they were selected in. I'd be looking closer to home to solve your problems.

Jonnycee (Longford) - Posts: 186 - 04/05/2024 21:39:12    2542972

Very poor today and under 17 also i have said it a few times why mangers or how they get these jobs, savo a great footballer but has never really done it as a manager, also how Mchugh got the minor job the mind baffles both of them look clueless and no real strategy or structure, surely them are some really good young club managers out there that would do a way better job, hopefully tomorrow will go better,

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 04/05/2024 22:20:53    2542980