Galway Football thread

Replying To Jellybaby:  "Trials should start at u14 level and let's say 40 players are selected for the Academy. They should get the best coaching and specific athletic development available to help them improve and develop, that group is brought through to u15 to u16 and then u17.

The onus then is on the school's or clubs to contact Galway GAA each year to say look there is a player here I think you need to look at, give their reasons why and if Galway GAA feel they are worth inviting in, get that player/players into the academy.

I understand players and kids develop and improve as they grow as do some players not improve and don't follow up on their potential.

Trials been held each year is madness, clubs are sending in lads who are not good enough and as you stated some clubs are sending in 5+ to these trials. That is taking up valuable time and resources on the group to commence the season.

The elephant in the room as always then is finance and resources to run the academies but if you want to see the benefits at adult level you need to invest at underage."
Well you see, as has always been the case and is worse now with whatsapp etc.
The club coach is only trying to not rock the boat.
The sons of club chairman's, local principal, ex County star, local millionaire sponsor, county board, TD etc etc etc are going to be sent in. Before anyone says ghose days ard long gone and it doesnt happen we all know it does. Then you have the bias against lads who commit to other sports and indeed on some areas where they commit to hurling.
I would love to see the stats on U14 dev squads and how many go on to play adult football with their club. That should be the No.1 priority.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 29/04/2024 10:00:10    2541385

Replying To Megane:  "The fact that neither made an appearance against Sligo would suggest that they won't start against Mayo. Hopefully they'll be ready for a 20 minute stint at the end of the game."
Re Sweeney and Maher, both have plenty of football played recently. It is not like they have been out long term like a few of the others, so if the injuries cleared up they could probably be brought back in quick enough.

Haven't heard anything about new injuries so hopefully things are continuing to improve. Anyone heard anything, anyone else likely to be involved?

Comer is huge for us. not just for what he does but for the way the opposition have to mind him. They wont be rampaging forward and leaving him one on one ........ or one on two for that matter.

Can't wait for Sunday. Outside of Galway in an All Ireland final, this is the game that gets me going.

Hugely important game no matter what anyone says. Potentially 3 Connacht titles in a row, top seeding and a huge morale boost for squad. And morale and confidence at the top level is huge. We all no the talent this group has but at times we play with very little confidence .....beat Mayo and all that changes.....the team will grow.

Gaillmh abú

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1841 - 29/04/2024 14:47:32    2541523

Replying To Mayonman:  "Re Sweeney and Maher, both have plenty of football played recently. It is not like they have been out long term like a few of the others, so if the injuries cleared up they could probably be brought back in quick enough.

Haven't heard anything about new injuries so hopefully things are continuing to improve. Anyone heard anything, anyone else likely to be involved?

Comer is huge for us. not just for what he does but for the way the opposition have to mind him. They wont be rampaging forward and leaving him one on one ........ or one on two for that matter.

Can't wait for Sunday. Outside of Galway in an All Ireland final, this is the game that gets me going.

Hugely important game no matter what anyone says. Potentially 3 Connacht titles in a row, top seeding and a huge morale boost for squad. And morale and confidence at the top level is huge. We all no the talent this group has but at times we play with very little confidence .....beat Mayo and all that changes.....the team will grow.

Gaillmh abú"
Right... I'm back..

Couldn't stay away on a week like this...
Time For PJ and the lads to bate these lads heavily..
The last few meetings have been tough going..
The Rossies made big Aidan look like a superstar.. We got to front up big time..

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 29/04/2024 17:51:32    2541587

History has shown us that regardless of recent form Galway/Mayo championship matches can take on a life of their own. From a Galway point of view this has to be their only hope. While Mayo are no great shakes and have seemingly declined since the NFL win last year, the Galway decline is far more profound. Before I go on, let me state that I do not expect Mayo to even make the quarter finals. What Galway supporters seem to forget, apart from the undoubted injury crises they have been in all year, is that they now have an ageing team. Conroy, Comer, Walsh, Silke and Heaney are or will all be the wrong side of 30 this year. These are Key players for the team. Their most recent form has been shocking. Only superior cardio fitness got them over the live against div 3 Sligo. The time on the ball and space Sligo were afforded in the semi was jaw dropping. While I do not expect a repeat of the 2013 first round, this is likely to be a comprehensive win for the Green and Red.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 501 - 30/04/2024 11:40:02    2541738

Draw is made.

If Galway win the Connacht final they will be in a group with the losers of Donegal v Armagh, Derry and Westmeath.

If Galway lose the Connacht final they will be in a group with Dublin, Roscommon and Cavan.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2225 - 30/04/2024 15:18:55    2541841

Don't see the big reward in winning Connacht after that draw.....

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 602 - 30/04/2024 15:18:57    2541842

Farcical scenario now that the Connacht Final loser has the softer group draw. And it's not close. You win, you get Derry. You lose, you get Ros. You couldn't make it up. A farce imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3493 - 30/04/2024 15:23:13    2541849

ALL-IRELAND SFC DRAW
Group 1: Connacht SFC Winner, Ulster SFC Runner-Up, Derry, Westmeath
Group 2: Leinster SFC Winner, Connacht SFC Runner-Up, Roscommon, Cavan
Group 3: Ulster SFC Winner, Munster SFC Runner-Up, Tyrone, Cork
Group 4: Munster SFC Winner, Leinster SFC Runner-Up, Monaghan, Meath

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1228 - 30/04/2024 15:26:53    2541859

No advantage to winning Connacht with that draw.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 696 - 30/04/2024 15:28:41    2541865

Toughest group out of the 4 awaits the winners of Connacht, typical. Runners up not guaranteed a soft path to a QF either with the dubs in that group. Bizarre that they've done the draw in advance of any provincial finals being played

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 13 - 30/04/2024 15:33:06    2541870

Ye are probably better off losing at the weekend lads, shows whats wrong with the whole system really!

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 140 - 30/04/2024 15:42:30    2541886

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Ye are probably better off losing at the weekend lads, shows whats wrong with the whole system really!"
I was thinking that, but the other option isn't great either. A very soft draw for the Munster winners (I wonder who that will be). Meath will get a better draw having been hammered in a Leinster semi-final, than the Connacht winners.
Either way, if we don't improve significantly, all this talk of good or bad draws is academic.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2065 - 30/04/2024 16:22:44    2541947

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Ye are probably better off losing at the weekend lads, shows whats wrong with the whole system really!"
Draw after full time, draw after extra time and 15 penalties missed by both teams. It may have to go to a toss of a coin to declare a winner

MeAlone (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 30/04/2024 16:23:16    2541950

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I was thinking that, but the other option isn't great either. A very soft draw for the Munster winners (I wonder who that will be). Meath will get a better draw having been hammered in a Leinster semi-final, than the Connacht winners.
Either way, if we don't improve significantly, all this talk of good or bad draws is academic."
Similar to us so far this year sadly.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 140 - 30/04/2024 16:39:38    2541962

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I was thinking that, but the other option isn't great either. A very soft draw for the Munster winners (I wonder who that will be). Meath will get a better draw having been hammered in a Leinster semi-final, than the Connacht winners.
Either way, if we don't improve significantly, all this talk of good or bad draws is academic."
Agree with that. The way we are playing this year - I wouldn't fancy us to get a result against either Roscommon or Cavan in that group.
Last year didn't end brilliantly but we were playing decent football at stages unlike this year where we have not got going at all all season.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1248 - 30/04/2024 17:07:14    2541988

Pretty much everyone gets through the next group stage anyways so it's much of a muchness.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1749 - 30/04/2024 19:27:22    2542055

Replying To Galway9801:  "Pretty much everyone gets through the next group stage anyways so it's much of a muchness."
Better reaching the last eight without the need of play off round a week before.

As for Sunday two big rivals head to head and both will want that Connacht title, momentum that would come from that match will be big and have players and supporter fired up to take on Derry at home two weeks later.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3362 - 01/05/2024 00:00:13    2542120

Replying To MeAlone:  "Draw after full time, draw after extra time and 15 penalties missed by both teams. It may have to go to a toss of a coin to declare a winner"
Will be 0-01 to 0-00
Someone will kick the first score in the first minute without thinking about it.

If I was the Mayo manager, I'd give the game a good rattle for 45-50 mins - try out a few tactical things

Then use two many subs and lose on a technicality

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1140 - 01/05/2024 04:12:20    2542130

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Farcical scenario now that the Connacht Final loser has the softer group draw. And it's not close. You win, you get Derry. You lose, you get Ros. You couldn't make it up. A farce imo."
I dont think its that clear cut.
Ros versus Derry, agreed.
But Dublin versus Armagh/Donegal loser
And
Cavan versus Westmeath
balance out.

I would agree that they are the 2 toughest groups but if Galway have any aspirations they should come out of either . And if we are to top group and get straight to QF we would have to beat Dublin in CP in one scenario Or beat Derry in Sathill in the other. Derry are a quality side but I think the latter would be the less difficult task

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 846 - 01/05/2024 08:29:17    2542140

Don't see either team holding back. As mentioned above you can't beat momentum and a bit of silverware. I actually think the Connacht winners will fancy their chances v Derry at home.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 01/05/2024 09:39:58    2542159