Galway Football thread

Going nowhere this year on the evidence of the league and today. Even allowing for all the injuries they look a squad completely out of sorts with themselves

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 20/04/2024 17:35:24    2539250

Replying To galway19:  "Somebody fix John Maher's hamstring for the final. We were cut open time and time again down the middle. His work rate was badly missed there today. Comer and O'Flaherty made the difference off the bench.

For once Joyce was actually ruthless with the subs and took off Walsh, Daly and Conroy.

Tierney and McDaid were out kicking ball before the game so I'd expect they will be pretty close to making the 26 for the Connacht final."
you have changed your mind on maher then

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 285 - 20/04/2024 17:41:06    2539252

Congrats to PJ and the lads.
We put ourselves under mad pressure with
the preoccupation of scoring goals in the first quarter and the wides throughout the game.
Sligo were decent, fair play to them.
The game will help us prepare for May 5.
Again, too many sour and miserable Galway posters on here.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 20/04/2024 17:48:41    2539253

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Congrats to PJ and the lads.
We put ourselves under mad pressure with
the preoccupation of scoring goals in the first quarter and the wides throughout the game.
Sligo were decent, fair play to them.
The game will help us prepare for May 5.
Again, too many sour and miserable Galway posters on here."
Well done Galway. To be fair the TC will suit us better this year as we continue to build. This is a decent Sligo crew and hopefully if we can win TC this year and get out if D3 next year.. the result today will be seen as part of the progress. Galway won't win AI in April so peaking at right time is your task this year

SligoScot (Sligo) - Posts: 24 - 20/04/2024 18:00:35    2539256

Replying To SligoScot:  "Well done Galway. To be fair the TC will suit us better this year as we continue to build. This is a decent Sligo crew and hopefully if we can win TC this year and get out if D3 next year.. the result today will be seen as part of the progress. Galway won't win AI in April so peaking at right time is your task this year"
Fair play to Sligo. Lot of good work going on there obviously. Think they'll be up in division 2 before long.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2218 - 20/04/2024 18:12:27    2539259

As relieved as I am that Galway won, I feel incredibly sorry for Sligo. They deserved the win especially with a goal being scored in injury time.
Galway are on a downward spiral. Walsh's best days are behind him. Only for comer it'd be curtains.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 135 - 20/04/2024 18:23:07    2539262

I'm a glass half full person but even I struggled there today. My wind did wander to who would be in charge in January, Kevin O'Brien, Horan.
There are one of 2 things happening. We are on the slide and other teams have completely sussed us out or this is part of some grand plan to peak later in the year.
Hoping it's the latter. Sligo should give the Tailteann a good rattle. Would be good to see

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 369 - 20/04/2024 18:46:32    2539269

Just home after the match, we really dug ourselves into a hole with our abject shooting in the first half. Full credit to Sligo they took some beautiful scores and for most of the match were the better team. Hard to understand how we could have regressed so much compared to the Connacht final a year ago, can't just be chalked up to injuries.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 20/04/2024 19:40:46    2539303

That was as poor a championship performance as I've seen from a Galway team in many years. Aside from undeservedly poxing the win, the body language and generally pedestrian nature of the players was very worrying. It appears to me that the players no longer believe in this management, if they ever did. We are in year 5 of Joyce's tenure and we do not have a semblance of a kickout strategy which is unforgivable at this level. This nonsense of Gleeson kicking over the opposition press is just a smokescreen, it's quite clear he has no idea where he's going to kick it and neither do the outfield players. We are nowhere near the top table, the sooner this season is over and this clueless management team move on the better. Hard luck to Sligo and best of luck to them in the TC.

johnjoe21 (Galway) - Posts: 126 - 20/04/2024 19:56:38    2539311

Replying To jam83:  "As relieved as I am that Galway won, I feel incredibly sorry for Sligo. They deserved the win especially with a goal being scored in injury time.
Galway are on a downward spiral. Walsh's best days are behind him. Only for comer it'd be curtains."
Walsh's best days behind him on the basis of his first proper day back after a long injury?? He made the club team of the year this year.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 20/04/2024 19:56:58    2539312

The Galway substitutions were strange. Pulling Walsh and Daly before Conroy was quite astonishing imo, I thought. Galway got on the front foot a bit with Flaherty arriving and Conroy departing, and it would have been interesting to have seen Walsh on the field for that spell. The only reason you'd fancy Galway in the final is that you wouldn't fancy them at all.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3454 - 20/04/2024 20:07:21    2539321

Fortunate to get out of that with a win. We'll take it and will be massive underdogs in the Connacht final. No point analysing it. Hopefully the players and management know they have to improve.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 722 - 20/04/2024 20:12:32    2539324

I was behind the Sligo goal in first half. Galway cut them open so often. Some excellent, direct moves and then..... Wide.

Couldn't tell from behind the goal if Sligo's scores were down to poor defending or excellent shooting.

Darcy did a lot of good stuff but had some poor finishes.

Heaney missed a sitter.

Finishing killed us. Would have been completely different game if we had taken any of our goal chances. Obviously it is something they have been instructed to go for because we created none in the league.

Comer had some impact.

Walsh needed that run out. He seemed to struggle with pace of game. This will bring him on big time.

Another game into Kelly

Good to see no new injuries

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1835 - 20/04/2024 20:17:38    2539325

The winner of Mayo vs Roscommon will be favourites after our battle with Sligo. Mayo have 1 forward capable of putting up a score, god help them if Ryan O Donoghue gets injured. Hard to know what to expect from Roscommon to be honest, hope they beat Mayo though.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 20/04/2024 20:24:11    2539329

Replying To Mayonman:  "I was behind the Sligo goal in first half. Galway cut them open so often. Some excellent, direct moves and then..... Wide.

Couldn't tell from behind the goal if Sligo's scores were down to poor defending or excellent shooting.

Darcy did a lot of good stuff but had some poor finishes.

Heaney missed a sitter.

Finishing killed us. Would have been completely different game if we had taken any of our goal chances. Obviously it is something they have been instructed to go for because we created none in the league.

Comer had some impact.

Walsh needed that run out. He seemed to struggle with pace of game. This will bring him on big time.

Another game into Kelly

Good to see no new injuries"
Yes, hit 4 wides. 3 goal and 1 point attempt from inside 13M line. Silke has not looked interested so far in the few games he played.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1225 - 20/04/2024 20:49:54    2539335

Replying To galway19:  "Somebody fix John Maher's hamstring for the final. We were cut open time and time again down the middle. His work rate was badly missed there today. Comer and O'Flaherty made the difference off the bench.

For once Joyce was actually ruthless with the subs and took off Walsh, Daly and Conroy.

Tierney and McDaid were out kicking ball before the game so I'd expect they will be pretty close to making the 26 for the Connacht final."
Conroy has been a fantastic player for Galway, but leaving him on today for as long as they did, I wouldn't call it ruthless. Clueless perhaps.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3454 - 20/04/2024 21:13:53    2539362

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The Galway substitutions were strange. Pulling Walsh and Daly before Conroy was quite astonishing imo, I thought. Galway got on the front foot a bit with Flaherty arriving and Conroy departing, and it would have been interesting to have seen Walsh on the field for that spell. The only reason you'd fancy Galway in the final is that you wouldn't fancy them at all."
Well McCabe and O Conghaile should have been whipped at half time if not before.
They'll be decent players in time hopefully but they aren't at this level yet.
It's amazing that our kickout "strategy" five years into Pjs reign is literally still boot it as far as possible and hope for the best.
Our transition game when we win a turnover is still to crab sideways and backwards and "be patient" - hence giving the opposition all the time in the world to get their defence organised again.
It's chronically slow - no runners bombing ahead of the ball to take advantage of the opposition being out of shape.
These are all things that we have been guilty of for the past number of seasons and are still guilty of now.
We're simply not learning or evolving our game

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1242 - 20/04/2024 21:43:30    2539388

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Conroy has been a fantastic player for Galway, but leaving him on today for as long as they did, I wouldn't call it ruthless. Clueless perhaps."
twice now you have said this

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 185 - 20/04/2024 21:53:04    2539394

Fair play to Sligo, they put it up to us and really controlled that game. They will go far in the TC.

Very poor from ourselves today, agree with poster above though it was encouraging we created a few goal scoring chances, less encouraging was the conversion rate. Any of those go in and it's a different game.

Walsh was always going to be pulled start of the second, I assume they are managing his game time but he looked off the pace (naturally).

Main worries for me, pedestrian nature of our play, our conversion rate (particularly 3 unforgivable wides in a row in the final stretch and the game in the melting pot) and the midfield battle, we were found wanting there again today.

Positive… getting game time into Comer, Shane and the introduction of O'Flaherty and Molloy was encouraging. I guess the win is a positive too!!!!

Overall we got out of jail there, a lot of improvement needed for two weeks time. Galway v Mayo/Roscommon games tend to take a life of their own, form goes out the window… hopefully we can use that to our advantage.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 20/04/2024 23:08:40    2539412

Doesn't get mentioned too often by Galway supporters on here but Mathew Tierney proved a big loss. 2-7 he scored in the Connacht final and without him in that match Galway struggled.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3353 - 21/04/2024 03:23:37    2539428