Galway Football thread

Replying To Kickitout:  "It's definitely not looking good At moment for championship with not much sign of injured players coming back it's actually got worse still can't understand why Niall Daly being played at full forward it's not fair on him or Darcy either the amour of time players go into tackle is crazy and same players keep doing it every game and keep getting picked decision making on ball is junior C level shot selection cat shoot on sight John Daly no where near good enough center back just solo ball poor kicker kicks ball along ground outside of boot , defenders never look up when get ball just solo head down 2, yard hand pass to player in same or maybe worse position,, Johnny McGrath great player he actually looks to give kick pass at this stage league is done Galway need Ross to loose 2, matches otherwise we gone not hope coming near Kerry need start silke next week Jack Glynn as well"
John Daly is arguably the best kicker of the ball as a defender in the game. He was in our top 2-3 players in the last 3 games. What do you have against him? Every time we lose this is your first protocol

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 47 - 17/03/2024 15:20:04    2531681

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Rogers is no Tom Brady. Just never won enough when the chips were down, in complete contrast to TB12."
You're now trying to move the discussion. The initial discussion was about injured players and some mad observations and non founded assumptions about the Galway background team on this thread. You then piled in with the usual sarcastic comment after I made the point that even some of the richest sporting teams struggle to get their best players fit.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 721 - 17/03/2024 15:26:20    2531683

Could Sean Kelly play 11

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 17/03/2024 15:27:10    2531684

I wouldn't rule out getting a result next week. Kerry will have no interest in getting to a league final as Jack O'Connor said they are going on a training camp regardless of whether they are in the final and now down their best defender in Foley

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 17/03/2024 16:01:03    2531690

The irony is that a heavy loss next week in Kerry could be beneficial to Galway, as it would force Derry to get a result v Ros, relegating them. Our beating would need to be of the order of 20pts or so to get Kerry's point difference on a par with the Derry score difference, assuming that Derry hold on for the win in Castlebar today.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 17/03/2024 16:31:11    2531696

There is not a hope we'll beat Derry regardless if they put out their second team. I know ye are playing woeful too but ye are missing your best players. With a full panel I'd fancy ye to win Connacht handily enough and get to a semi.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 17/03/2024 16:55:16    2531704

Replying To togoutlads:  "And sure you might need reminding of this one too! Good man, Rory Cunningham! 4 shots: 1-3. Mic drop."
Better kneel down and pick up that Mic

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 334 - 17/03/2024 18:35:46    2531728

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The irony is that a heavy loss next week in Kerry could be beneficial to Galway, as it would force Derry to get a result v Ros, relegating them. Our beating would need to be of the order of 20pts or so to get Kerry's point difference on a par with the Derry score difference, assuming that Derry hold on for the win in Castlebar today."
Looking at the updated div1 table, a 16 point beating in Kerry next weekend would leave Derry requiring 'a result' v Roscommon to make a league final. On the other hand, a narrow loss in Kerry leaves Derry making the final even with a loss v Roscommon. It could be in our favour to go down in flames next weekend!!

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3422 - 17/03/2024 19:15:09    2531741

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The irony is that a heavy loss next week in Kerry could be beneficial to Galway, as it would force Derry to get a result v Ros, relegating them. Our beating would need to be of the order of 20pts or so to get Kerry's point difference on a par with the Derry score difference, assuming that Derry hold on for the win in Castlebar today."
Don't be worrying your head about permutations or any of that as we haven't a hope of beating Derry anyway! Go down to the Kingdom and enjoy the day out and get ready for the championship!

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 146 - 17/03/2024 19:16:12    2531742

Replying To GDL:  "You're now trying to move the discussion. The initial discussion was about injured players and some mad observations and non founded assumptions about the Galway background team on this thread. You then piled in with the usual sarcastic comment after I made the point that even some of the richest sporting teams struggle to get their best players fit."
You might call it 'non founded assumptions' whatever that means but let's stick to facts. There are too many injuries on the Galway squad to not ask serious questions. No one is suggesting you can prevent all injuries from happening; however the volume of injuries is the issue here. So your example of Rogers is completely irrelevant.
No one should be immune from questioning especially as they are professionals getting paid for their services. Looks like you have skin in the game with your replies.

galway2015 (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 17/03/2024 19:18:15    2531744

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Looking at the updated div1 table, a 16 point beating in Kerry next weekend would leave Derry requiring 'a result' v Roscommon to make a league final. On the other hand, a narrow loss in Kerry leaves Derry making the final even with a loss v Roscommon. It could be in our favour to go down in flames next weekend!!"
All games on at the same time. So not sure those permutations will come into it. If Harte has a few heavy hitters in the stand will be no way to reverse that decision no matter what the scores are.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 591 - 17/03/2024 19:34:10    2531750

The draw in Hyde Park on that very windy day will keep Galway up real fine margins but a boost to Joyce and co before the championship starts by avoiding the drop.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 17/03/2024 19:47:10    2531757

Derry will be all out to win in their final game at home to Roscommon. They might rest a few lads but Roscommon are poor and will be very lucky to get anything out of that game. Kerry a hard place to go and get anything.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 17/03/2024 19:53:42    2531760

Replying To Ros2013:  "There is not a hope we'll beat Derry regardless if they put out their second team. I know ye are playing woeful too but ye are missing your best players. With a full panel I'd fancy ye to win Connacht handily enough and get to a semi."
Aw shucks its very "generous" of the Roscommon lads to say they haven't a hope of beating Derry and for Galway to enjoy their day out in Kerry regardless of how much they lose by! Only problem is if Galway lose by 16 points or more (which is a realistic possibility) then Derry could be in danger!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3323 - 17/03/2024 20:16:37    2531777

Replying To JahTribe:  "Derry will be all out to win in their final game at home to Roscommon. They might rest a few lads but Roscommon are poor and will be very lucky to get anything out of that game. Kerry a hard place to go and get anything."
I don't agree. Ros will win that one against a severely weakened Derry team. Sure Derry rested Glass against Dublin when their league final place was still the melting pot. Plus Ros have all their top players bar O'Carroll available. I do agree Ros are not top 6 tbh but that point we dropped in the Hyde critical. Should have been home and hosed that day and only with half a team. Last 20 mins ww scored poorly with a gale force wind behind us. Look who we are missing. McDaid, Comer, Walsh, S. Kelly, Tierney. The first 4 on that list are probably the first 4 on the teamsheet. We could be goosed.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 17/03/2024 20:26:03    2531779

Replying To smallfrank:  "That's not correct. Any of the younger guys O'Flaherty, McGrath, Fitzgerald even O'Curraoin are in Div 1 shape.
Our conditioning was better than Monaghan and on a par with Tyrone."
I agree. Lots of cheap shots on this forum. Comical really the lengths some folk go to promote a one dimensional perspective.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 17/03/2024 20:55:51    2531792

Replying To kiloughter:  "I don't agree. Ros will win that one against a severely weakened Derry team. Sure Derry rested Glass against Dublin when their league final place was still the melting pot. Plus Ros have all their top players bar O'Carroll available. I do agree Ros are not top 6 tbh but that point we dropped in the Hyde critical. Should have been home and hosed that day and only with half a team. Last 20 mins ww scored poorly with a gale force wind behind us. Look who we are missing. McDaid, Comer, Walsh, S. Kelly, Tierney. The first 4 on that list are probably the first 4 on the teamsheet. We could be goosed."
Both didn't score high with the gale. The point earned in that match could well be the difference between staying up and going down. If the match hadn't a gale it could have been a very different contest and possible defeat, weather like that is a leveler.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 17/03/2024 22:01:15    2531813

Replying To tommy k:  "Aw shucks its very "generous" of the Roscommon lads to say they haven't a hope of beating Derry and for Galway to enjoy their day out in Kerry regardless of how much they lose by! Only problem is if Galway lose by 16 points or more (which is a realistic possibility) then Derry could be in danger!"
You continue to be a complete negative poster.. both here and on the Hurling forum..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 17/03/2024 22:03:50    2531814

Replying To Jellybaby:  "Better kneel down and pick up that Mic"
Well he got one fourteenth of our scores against ye! Talking of kneeling down, time ye Jackeens did that in front of Croke Park top brass again and get another nice few million, along with another couple of dozen full time games promotion officers. Lord knows we can't have those bleedin culchies getting your funding.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 17/03/2024 22:05:42    2531816

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Wait til mayo Derry Kerry Armagh Donegal Tyrone Dublin Monaghan Roscommon or even cork get Galway in a championship game, curtains, a team no county in the country would fear playing head down football hoping someone will do something special, a team of individuals, not a likeable team. CmcG S&C needs to go"
Based on what we saw v Dublin I would have to agree with you. Galway are not a top level team. On a given day with a full squad they can be good but their is no consistency. I think Galway are as good as Roscommon, Monaghan and Cork. They also beat Tyrone in the league.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 249 - 17/03/2024 22:53:57    2531827