Galway Football thread

A very well deserved win for Brigid's. Corofin never got going and were never let either. Brigid's looked the much more intense team and controlled the game very well. The best of luck to them in the semi-final. They're no strangers to big days as a club.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2105 - 03/12/2023 17:05:49    2515358

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "I asked on here few weeks ago was Corofin good enough to win the senior title and was greeted with silence.

The answer was yes and did so it appears by coming under the radar which is rare for any Corofin team playing in a final. The ein like most county winners built on solid defence, conceded on average 9 points per game and were on course to holding the defending Connacht champions to probably 0-9 but for the added time goal."
Some additional perspective on 'the silence' perhaps, after today's show of capacity from Corofin.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 03/12/2023 17:10:31    2515359

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Very poor performance from corofin, pj won't be calling many of them"
Not very surprising as they had a great first 10 mins v Ballina and even stephen there after.They were hanging on bit at the end against a depleted Moycullen in county final also it was to their advantage that the referee that day was very engaged with steps rule unlike today when their defence looked to be open up only called back for tight steps calls.
To win tight games at this level you need more of these type of interpretations to be in your favour, some referees make calls on the amount of ground covered so long striding players are more likely to get whistled.Corofin can hold their heads high continued to play football all the way to the very end.Changes enforced to any team at this stage of year are very difficult to overcome.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 03/12/2023 17:33:38    2515362

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Four points up in injury time, zero pressure on him, nice chip flick aside it was hardly Matt Connor in his prime"
Ah yeah sure he had nothing to do when he got the ball at all sure. Picked up a handy pass on the opposition 14 meter line and tapped it unmarked into an empty net. Simples.
Anyone could do it sure.
Some of the posters on here I swear to God…

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1264 - 03/12/2023 18:22:29    2515372

In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/12/2023 19:29:23    2515381

Replying To S1234:  "Haha mayo must be living in Galway heads only 4 mayo guys in panel you say...yet 2 of them pretty big names and who guaranteed the sigrrson Cup final ha"
Yes it is always good for Mayo players to be part of a Galway team as they at least have some hope of winning an AI which they never will with Mayo! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 03/12/2023 19:35:41    2515383

Was at the county final and personally thought corofin looked brilliant,, the two point margin really flattering moycullen imo. Surprised at what happened today.

Well done to Brigids.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1873 - 03/12/2023 20:25:54    2515387

Replying To tommy k:  "In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far."
Watched the match live with benefit of replays and was no soft frees (whatever that means) They were poor fouls by Corofin players. Corofin good in the county final and they simply weren't allowed to play near that level today. Well done to Brigids who was good value for their 5 point win.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 03/12/2023 21:58:41    2515396

Many Congrats to St brigids and best of luck in AI series. Brigids were well deserving winners. In terms of corofin we all need to take perspective before we slate them. They were would beaters in some peoples opinion after ballina game and half their team should be starting for galway, now some people are saying that they have no inter county players. The real truth is half way between these statements. Corofin won a poor enough ( although evenly balanced) Galway championship and, correspondingly, many people ( including Joe brolly) had an inflated opinion on their potential. In terms of county players , Dylan mchugh and Liam Silke are still critical players. Kieran molloy and bernie power definitely in top 24. Patrick Egan, Gavin Burke should also get game time in league with a view to assessing ability to progress to next level. Jack McCabe may also be one for the future but the jury is out as to how well his brilliant skills will translate to Senior IC

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 04/12/2023 00:08:17    2515408

Replying To tommy k:  "Matt Connor was an out an out forward and a very good forward but he didn't have the raw pace to get past defenders and get up and down the pitch like Shane Walsh does outside of the outrageous skill he has. When he is in that type of form he is the best player in the country no doubt so less of the begrudgery and sour grapes."
Matt Connor has the Celtic medal that counts and stayed loyal to Walsh Island, hopefully Glen or Brigid's put manners on the biggest club in the country and their recruitment policy

Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 1664 - 04/12/2023 02:04:00    2515412

Replying To Marooned:  "Actually only 4 Mayo lads on the panel although two of them are big names in Conroy and O'Donoghue.

Galway lads who started last night are Colin Murray, Cian Monaghan, Diarmuid Kilcommins, Paul Kelly, Liam O'Conghaile, Ryan Monaghan and Cathal Sweeney.

James McLaughlin and Cillian O'Curraoin also played last night. Not sure did Daniel O'Flaherty play but he's involved anyway. Few other Galway lads on the panel."
I watch the match on streaming (or whatever they call it). I thought Ryan o Donoghue was best forward on show. Thought Lyons the full back (a sligo man) was outstanding as well. Liam O Conghaile is a great prospect and a great heart. Himself and Sweeney seem to drop back deep in the second half after Kilcommins went off injured to cover for his absence and this allowed Mcloughlin to sit forward and his point taking was super. Don't think McLoughlin has the workrate for 8, 9, 10 or 12 position but maybe an option at 11. Great to see Monaghans doing well, I like them as footballers. Is Culhane still in college? I can see county players having to make do with a position as impact subs.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 62 - 04/12/2023 09:36:02    2515421

Replying To tommy k:  "In fairness even though Corofin didn't play anywhere near the standard they can play, I thought the referee gave at least 6 or 7 extremely soft "frees" to Brigid's and there was at least 1 point for Corofin that was waved wide in the second half that was clearly shown to be between the posts. I don't think Brigid's will be allowed those handy "frees" in the semifinal or final if they make it that far."
Absolutely no soft frees were given to Brigids, they were head and shoulders the better team. He reffed the game very well I thought, was very tough on steps but consistent for both teams.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 04/12/2023 10:11:32    2515425

St Brigids tactics were brilliant, tracking the Corofin runners off the shoulder of the ball winner really disrupted Corofin and forced them into a plan B. Ian Burke was missed today big time

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 04/12/2023 10:21:14    2515428

Replying To Claretandblue:  "Matt Connor has the Celtic medal that counts and stayed loyal to Walsh Island, hopefully Glen or Brigid's put manners on the biggest club in the country and their recruitment policy"
Shane Walsh is the most skillful / stylish gaelic footballer out there and you know it! He has a club AI now and I think it will take a very good team not for him not to win a second one (Paul Mannion needs to improve alright I will give you that) plus he has an AI U21 medal and 4 Connacht titles so nothing there to be sniffed at. Remember he also scored another 3 brilliant goals in the Dublin / Leinster championship but you have pretended not to see those obviously! The bad-mind is boggling from you but great craic all the same! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/12/2023 10:43:32    2515437

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Absolutely no soft frees were given to Brigids, they were head and shoulders the better team. He reffed the game very well I thought, was very tough on steps but consistent for both teams."
Ah come on you must be blind - the GBFM commentators mentioned about 7 or 8 very soft "frees" were given with very good legal tackles by the Corofin players and all I'm saying is they will not have a biased referee in the next game or games if that is the case.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 04/12/2023 11:21:58    2515444

Replying To tommy k:  "Ah come on you must be blind - the GBFM commentators mentioned about 7 or 8 very soft "frees" were given with very good legal tackles by the Corofin players and all I'm saying is they will not have a biased referee in the next game or games if that is the case."
I watched it on telly and did nt see to many soft frees, I seen alot of bad tackling from corofin in second half. Power was a joke in goal,young burke the goalie should have started.

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 04/12/2023 12:13:11    2515451

Replying To anotheralias:  "Many Congrats to St brigids and best of luck in AI series. Brigids were well deserving winners. In terms of corofin we all need to take perspective before we slate them. They were would beaters in some peoples opinion after ballina game and half their team should be starting for galway, now some people are saying that they have no inter county players. The real truth is half way between these statements. Corofin won a poor enough ( although evenly balanced) Galway championship and, correspondingly, many people ( including Joe brolly) had an inflated opinion on their potential. In terms of county players , Dylan mchugh and Liam Silke are still critical players. Kieran molloy and bernie power definitely in top 24. Patrick Egan, Gavin Burke should also get game time in league with a view to assessing ability to progress to next level. Jack McCabe may also be one for the future but the jury is out as to how well his brilliant skills will translate to Senior IC"
Agreed Brigids were by far the better team and had an edge yesterday and deserved to be champions. I thought the referee did fine overall, he didn't miss the chances or frees that Corofin had and they will regret the missed chances after half time. The issue for the rest of us is Corofin will learn a lot from this and will adapt and their transition will continue.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 751 - 04/12/2023 12:20:08    2515452

Replying To tommy k:  "Ah come on you must be blind - the GBFM commentators mentioned about 7 or 8 very soft "frees" were given with very good legal tackles by the Corofin players and all I'm saying is they will not have a biased referee in the next game or games if that is the case."
That was poor commentary imo. The frees weren't soft. The refereeing wasn't notably biased. Corofin conceded a horrendous 1-1 early on, letting a miskick hop over the bar, and then Power didn't look good on the penalty, getting himself into the worst possible position on the throughball to concede a penalty to 'a diver'. Still, they recovered to near parity after their second goal, and were still comprehensively beaten down the stretch, so no complaints really.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 04/12/2023 13:11:07    2515459

The softest call all day you could argue was when he blew Eddie Nolan for steps when he was through for a point - Corofin got a goal from the resulting free out.

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 04/12/2023 13:24:00    2515463

Did you watch the game?

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 492 - 04/12/2023 13:41:29    2515466