Galway Football thread

Replying To Marooned:  "Think Galway would be away to Westmeath. The Armagh/Derry game would be on a neutral ground. Open to correction though."

Marooned, the third round of games are at neutral venues. Could be The Hyde for yerselves and Westmeath. Might give Westmeath chance of the playoff if ye have maximum points, can't be caught topping the group and ye don't play yer strongest team.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 02/05/2023 18:04:47    2475217

Replying To Marooned:  "Think Galway would be away to Westmeath. The Armagh/Derry game would be on a neutral ground. Open to correction though."
Apologies, Westmeath game second for ye. Please ignore above!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 02/05/2023 18:08:21    2475219

Replying To thedreamer:  "best lose to Sligo. Problem solved"
Ah come on - you're a Sligo man! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 02/05/2023 19:34:46    2475240

You are correct.

If as expected Galway win on Sunday.

Round 1 20th/21st of May

Home to Tyrone

Round 2 3rd 4th of June

Away to Westmeath

Round 3 17th /18th June

Armagh or Derry in neutral venue

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 02/05/2023 19:56:45    2475245

Replying To Marooned:  "It was all about who drew the Ulster losers really as it's two quality sides in the final. I don't think the rest of the draw makes much difference really."
On mature reflection, I agree that this is a hard draw for the Connacht winners. Not because of the groups in the main, but much more because Groups 1 & 2 seem to be bracketed all the way to the final. That puts Kerry, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, and the Ulster runner up all competing for one final spot. Contrast that to what Dublin and the Ulster champions have to navigate in the combined groups 3&4. Pretty lopsided imo.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 02/05/2023 20:15:02    2475250

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

Marooned, the third round of games are at neutral venues. Could be The Hyde for yerselves and Westmeath. Might give Westmeath chance of the playoff if ye have maximum points, can't be caught topping the group and ye don't play yer strongest team."
1v4 is round 2 clash, not round 3 clash. Galway play Westmeath away in round2, and Derry/Armagh at a neutral venue in round 3, according to your link page.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 02/05/2023 22:55:21    2475281

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Group 4 doesn't have Dubs"
Group 3 I mean. it's all about winning Connacht and then topping the group which ensures we play a game less and we won't be able to draw the winners of the other 3 groups until a semi-final. If you finish second or third you still go through and have to play the extra game so much of a muchness.

Which group is easier to top group 2 or 3?

Group 2: Connacht winner, Ulster runner-up, Tyrone, Westmeath

Group 3: Leinster winner, Connacht runner-up, Roscommon, Kildare

It's group 2. Hypothetically speaking, if we are to beat Sligo we would be in group 2. In that scenario we'd have Tyrone, Westmeath and Armagh. It's likely that you could still top that group not winning all your games as teams might take points off each other.

If we loose to Sligo we're in group 3. Unless we beat the Dubs in Croker than we're not topping the group.

Winning Connacht is the way to go. Whatever group we end up in if we don't end up finishing first we could end up having a very difficult route to get to a final.

This new system ensures the best teams of getting through.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 02/05/2023 23:01:28    2475282

Replying To centrefield99:  "Group 3 I mean. it's all about winning Connacht and then topping the group which ensures we play a game less and we won't be able to draw the winners of the other 3 groups until a semi-final. If you finish second or third you still go through and have to play the extra game so much of a muchness.

Which group is easier to top group 2 or 3?

Group 2: Connacht winner, Ulster runner-up, Tyrone, Westmeath

Group 3: Leinster winner, Connacht runner-up, Roscommon, Kildare

It's group 2. Hypothetically speaking, if we are to beat Sligo we would be in group 2. In that scenario we'd have Tyrone, Westmeath and Armagh. It's likely that you could still top that group not winning all your games as teams might take points off each other.

If we loose to Sligo we're in group 3. Unless we beat the Dubs in Croker than we're not topping the group.

Winning Connacht is the way to go. Whatever group we end up in if we don't end up finishing first we could end up having a very difficult route to get to a final.

This new system ensures the best teams of getting through."
"If we loose to Sligo" tbf we've had a decent year but if you lose to us Sunday it will be the biggest upset that I can remember at any level. I think if we are in the game with 60mins gone it will be a resounding success. We are building but we are a long way off beating you. You are all Ireland contenders!

republican (Sligo) - Posts: 325 - 03/05/2023 14:02:57    2475419

Winning Connacht gives us a tougher group but we should have the Sligo game wrapped up with 15-20 minutes to go so we can rest a few lads. We will be favourites to beat Tyrone at home and will beat Westmeath away. Neutral against Derry or Armagh is a 50:50 game but we should be qualified by the third match. This team is an all ireland contender and they shouldn't be fearing anyone.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 672 - 03/05/2023 15:32:35    2475452

Replying To galway19:  "Winning Connacht gives us a tougher group but we should have the Sligo game wrapped up with 15-20 minutes to go so we can rest a few lads. We will be favourites to beat Tyrone at home and will beat Westmeath away. Neutral against Derry or Armagh is a 50:50 game but we should be qualified by the third match. This team is an all ireland contender and they shouldn't be fearing anyone."
Noone can take anything for granted and you've jumped a few big fences there already i.e. beating Sligo, Tyrone and Westmeath. None of those games are easy - Sligo are on a roll in senior and underage now, Tyrone were convincing AI winners 2 years ago and Westmeath are never an easy side to beat - they were one of the many "lower level" teams such as Sligo, Wexford, Tipp and Antrim that actually beat Galway in the championship i.e. in a 2006 round 4 championship qualifier. A lot of those defeats were down to complacency i.e. assuming those teams were not on Galway's level or did not have "tradition" which is always a dangerous mindset as some of the "traditional" hurling counties can attest to.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 04/05/2023 11:25:35    2475614

as one who is thoroughly confused with the playoff system how does it work' Does the four grooup winners go on to the semi finals or is there another layer of games

fishpond (Galway) - Posts: 89 - 04/05/2023 17:06:30    2475752

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "On mature reflection, I agree that this is a hard draw for the Connacht winners. Not because of the groups in the main, but much more because Groups 1 & 2 seem to be bracketed all the way to the final. That puts Kerry, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, and the Ulster runner up all competing for one final spot. Contrast that to what Dublin and the Ulster champions have to navigate in the combined groups 3&4. Pretty lopsided imo."
One should expect such malconstruct

Mayo52 (Mayo) - Posts: 44 - 04/05/2023 17:28:11    2475759

Replying To galway19:  "Winning Connacht gives us a tougher group but we should have the Sligo game wrapped up with 15-20 minutes to go so we can rest a few lads. We will be favourites to beat Tyrone at home and will beat Westmeath away. Neutral against Derry or Armagh is a 50:50 game but we should be qualified by the third match. This team is an all ireland contender and they shouldn't be fearing anyone."
Defo, hand Sam over now.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 04/05/2023 17:31:21    2475761

Replying To tommy k:  "Noone can take anything for granted and you've jumped a few big fences there already i.e. beating Sligo, Tyrone and Westmeath. None of those games are easy - Sligo are on a roll in senior and underage now, Tyrone were convincing AI winners 2 years ago and Westmeath are never an easy side to beat - they were one of the many "lower level" teams such as Sligo, Wexford, Tipp and Antrim that actually beat Galway in the championship i.e. in a 2006 round 4 championship qualifier. A lot of those defeats were down to complacency i.e. assuming those teams were not on Galway's level or did not have "tradition" which is always a dangerous mindset as some of the "traditional" hurling counties can attest to."
Would you say Down are a bit further along the the road than Sligo? Armagh dismantled Down last week so you would think Sligo will need to execute perfectly a very smart game plan to keep this tight.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 04/05/2023 18:00:12    2475767

Replying To fishpond:  "as one who is thoroughly confused with the playoff system how does it work' Does the four grooup winners go on to the semi finals or is there another layer of games"
I am open to correction but my understanding is that the four group winners go through to the quarter final. The four second and third placed teams (eight in all) play off and the four winners go through to the quarter final. The four group winners will play a second or third placed team.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 274 - 04/05/2023 18:12:43    2475770

Replying To fishpond:  "as one who is thoroughly confused with the playoff system how does it work' Does the four grooup winners go on to the semi finals or is there another layer of games"
Four group winners are into All-Ireland quarter finals.

2nd and 3rd have a play off match with the winner into quarter final and 2nd in the group will have a home game in that play off match.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 04/05/2023 19:14:07    2475780

Remember Mattie Forde, 4 .5 was it.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 404 - 04/05/2023 20:51:09    2475794

Winner of group goes straight to QF. 2nd and 3rd from the group play 2nd and 3rd from another group and fight it out for the 4 remaining QF positions as far as I'm aware.

Sligobuck21 (Sligo) - Posts: 114 - 04/05/2023 20:55:06    2475797

Ah here at this stage you're taking the ****!
If you're posting online you'd have been reading this forum or god knows how many newspaper articles, or even podcast, radio etc.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 04/05/2023 21:39:36    2475802

It's pretty straightforward.
The four group winners go straight through to the quarter finals.
The eight 2nd and 3rd place teams play off in four preliminary quarter finals.
The four winners of these games join the group winners in the quarter final.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1234 - 04/05/2023 22:12:47    2475805