Galway Football thread

Im not sure I agree that Shane Walsh was as "off" as everyone is saying. The shooting was poor for sure but he worked very very hard up and down the pitch linking play, making smart decisions on the ball. And just by being alive he occupied 2 Rossies at all times. Like if thats him off, its not too bad.

Biggest surprise for me was Ian Burke, I was one of the lads rolling my eyes when he started but jesus he made a fool out of me, showed for everything and everything stuck. Could be the missing piece yet.

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 28 - 24/04/2023 09:43:16    2473071

Got a lot of abuse on this thread about The Rassies not being able to back up big wins. I think I have been proven correct.

Galway have a lot of the ingredients to go one step further this year; still don't think they are playing near full potential yet.

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 289 - 24/04/2023 09:43:48    2473073

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Power was poor yesterday, if gleeson made the mistakes he made we d have to be listening to it today. Gleeson needs to start connacht final"
There is as much chance of me starting the Connacht final.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 24/04/2023 09:54:04    2473082

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "There is as much chance of me starting the Connacht final."
You might be as good as your clubman

Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 120 - 24/04/2023 10:07:11    2473093

Replying To jam83:  "Lot to be very happy about. Some great interplay for scores, kicking and handpassing.
Kickouts are still a huge problem. Flynn highlighted it on Sunday Game. Being there today, I could see there was nobody moving into space most of the time. Lads just static. Power waited ages for options.
Roscommon were marked at times but then a lad would ghost into space to receive a kickout. It's a chess move, we never seem to have these prepared.
Walsh obviously had some wild shots or passes but I think only a few. Not chronic though. He did link or add to an awful lot of plays.
Cooke was tightly marked but was disappointed he didn't score. Had a shot from a hard angle in the first half.
I read Shane Walsh's interview in the indo. Have to say I got worried when he said something about Cian o Neill giving out to him regularly in training for hearing but not listening, or something like that. If one of the most senior players, a leader and role model in the dressing room, is clowning around not following instructions in training, that's a bad sign. I hope the all Ireland performance plus his win with kilmacud isn't gonna **** things up for Galway by us having a bit of a mé féiner on our hands this summer."
I think if anything shane has become much more of a team player over the last year

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 840 - 24/04/2023 10:13:15    2473098

Would play the same team against sligo

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 25 - 24/04/2023 10:23:34    2473104

Power had 2 hairy moments with one dodge kickout and then running into trouble on the ball. Picked out some nice kickouts in first half and no panic with highball at end. Decent performance considering the pressure on him. Not the long term answer but an improvement on Gleeson and the best of what is available on the panel.
McGrath Kelly Glynn did defensive work well and McGrath and Kelly carried well even if Kelly should have fisted over the bar towards the end.
McHugh and Sweeney were impressive and carried well. Daly was sloppy for his standards.
Maher was immense, worked hard and took his 2 chances. Conroy gave away some silly ball and looked leggy.
Cooke worked very hard especially at the back in first half. Still needs to work on shooting but maybe was gassed. Tierney was quiet but scored 2 points when we were struggling. Heaney was impressive as usual, linked play and tracked.
Burke and Comer were excellent, nearly always did the right thing. Great to see Burke back playing well. Walsh was poor and made poor decisions on the ball.

Overall, the team reacted well to Roscommon's burst early in 2nd half. Team will largely stay the same I imagine.
Does anyone know where or how McDaid and Finnerty will step in?

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 24/04/2023 10:39:19    2473115

Replying To jam83:  "Lot to be very happy about. Some great interplay for scores, kicking and handpassing.
Kickouts are still a huge problem. Flynn highlighted it on Sunday Game. Being there today, I could see there was nobody moving into space most of the time. Lads just static. Power waited ages for options.
Roscommon were marked at times but then a lad would ghost into space to receive a kickout. It's a chess move, we never seem to have these prepared.
Walsh obviously had some wild shots or passes but I think only a few. Not chronic though. He did link or add to an awful lot of plays.
Cooke was tightly marked but was disappointed he didn't score. Had a shot from a hard angle in the first half.
I read Shane Walsh's interview in the indo. Have to say I got worried when he said something about Cian o Neill giving out to him regularly in training for hearing but not listening, or something like that. If one of the most senior players, a leader and role model in the dressing room, is clowning around not following instructions in training, that's a bad sign. I hope the all Ireland performance plus his win with kilmacud isn't gonna **** things up for Galway by us having a bit of a mé féiner on our hands this summer."
Bit of a reach there from yourself, to elevate 'hearing but not listening' into a 'clowning around' charge.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 24/04/2023 10:59:58    2473130

Replying To anotheralias:  "I think if anything shane has become much more of a team player over the last year"
I thought the same until he himself admitted that about not listening in training.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 24/04/2023 11:10:15    2473143

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "Im not sure I agree that Shane Walsh was as "off" as everyone is saying. The shooting was poor for sure but he worked very very hard up and down the pitch linking play, making smart decisions on the ball. And just by being alive he occupied 2 Rossies at all times. Like if thats him off, its not too bad.

Biggest surprise for me was Ian Burke, I was one of the lads rolling my eyes when he started but jesus he made a fool out of me, showed for everything and everything stuck. Could be the missing piece yet."
I agree on Walsh. He took on some poor shots, but apart from that I thought he did quite well. The expectations are of course far higher with him, due to his talent and what we know he can do.
He carried a huge amount of ball up the pitch for us, taking pressure off us especially at critical stages in the 2nd half. As you've said, he takes at least 2 opposition players and often 3 with him when he carries the ball, which makes space for others.
The ball he put across to Finnerty wasn't the worst. Shane was in the corner with 3 men closing in and no option to pass it back down the line. He had to get rid of it. Finnerty was 1-on-1, but just didn't contest the ball very well.
Comer was outstanding in an all-action display. He was the top-scorer from play on the day and also made some big defensive interceptions. He was clearly out on his feet at the end, but still had the drive and awareness to create and finish the insurance point.
Maher had a very big game. He's a real physical presence and chips in with scores as well. It's noticable when he has the ball in contact how he's able to break a tackle. A very strong player who can do the dog work but well able to play football too.
Conroy didn't have his best game. He gave away the ball a few times with sloppy kick passes, which he won't be happy with.
Burke showed very well for the ball and more importantly it stuck to him when kicked in. He is a different type of player to what we have and if he can maintain his type of form, he'll be very important as the year progresses.
It was great to see McDaid get some time at the end. He gives us huge drive from the middle.
Plenty to work on of course and the games will be coming thick and fast soon.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 24/04/2023 11:11:46    2473144

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I agree on Walsh. He took on some poor shots, but apart from that I thought he did quite well. The expectations are of course far higher with him, due to his talent and what we know he can do.
He carried a huge amount of ball up the pitch for us, taking pressure off us especially at critical stages in the 2nd half. As you've said, he takes at least 2 opposition players and often 3 with him when he carries the ball, which makes space for others.
The ball he put across to Finnerty wasn't the worst. Shane was in the corner with 3 men closing in and no option to pass it back down the line. He had to get rid of it. Finnerty was 1-on-1, but just didn't contest the ball very well.
Comer was outstanding in an all-action display. He was the top-scorer from play on the day and also made some big defensive interceptions. He was clearly out on his feet at the end, but still had the drive and awareness to create and finish the insurance point.
Maher had a very big game. He's a real physical presence and chips in with scores as well. It's noticable when he has the ball in contact how he's able to break a tackle. A very strong player who can do the dog work but well able to play football too.
Conroy didn't have his best game. He gave away the ball a few times with sloppy kick passes, which he won't be happy with.
Burke showed very well for the ball and more importantly it stuck to him when kicked in. He is a different type of player to what we have and if he can maintain his type of form, he'll be very important as the year progresses.
It was great to see McDaid get some time at the end. He gives us huge drive from the middle.
Plenty to work on of course and the games will be coming thick and fast soon."
I agree with all that.

One point on Ian Burke. He'd be twice the player if he recovered his scoring boots, that he had in 2013 as an u21 title winner. When he's sharp like yesterday, and getting on ball, he should be able to score a percentage of his possessions, instead of passing 100% of the time. Defenders lay off him at times, expecting his inevitable possession transfer. He should score more himself, when he's in the form he was in yesterday.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 24/04/2023 11:47:39    2473170

Replying To Dunmore10:  "Power was poor yesterday, if gleeson made the mistakes he made we d have to be listening to it today. Gleeson needs to start connacht final"
I thought the criticism of Gleeson was OTT however I also thought Power should have got a chance in the league. Not much between them.

I agree Power was not great yesterday but not sure I would go as far as saying he was poor. That is also a bit OTT. And I definitely would not drop him. We can't be chopping and changing every game.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 24/04/2023 12:26:30    2473205

more positives than negatives= walsh cooke and conroy dalyseem to be under fire but walsh worked hard and other than silly cross ball at end was not a disaster like made out=cooke worked hard just not clicking for him yet=conroy had three four assists although we don't normally see him give ball away= sloppy from daly for roscommon goal but he will be back to normal versus sligo. not all doom and gloom ladies and gentlemen=

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 182 - 24/04/2023 12:31:34    2473209

Thought we were excellent in the first half. Controlled the game really well. Got the first score of the second half and then tried a few crazy things. I think it was Conroy that tried a couple of "eye of a needle" passes that were intercepted. this gave the Rossies belief and turned the game on its head for a time until we settled it down. Conroy should no better at his age!

Criticism of Walsh is a bit over the top. He carried a lot of ball yesterday and put in a good shift. He didn't trouble the scoreboard from play but i think that will come.

I thought Cooke got on a lot of ball and IMO seemed more direct yesterday than I have seen him in a long time. From reading comments here, maybe I am on my own with that opinion.

I think if McDaid is fully fit he starts with Maher. I would keep Conroy for last 20. His lack of pace gets found out early in games but I think he would be a real ace coming off the bench.

Was Finnerty injured or just dropped for Burke. Burke was excellent but Finnerty hits serious numbers. Good problem to have.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 24/04/2023 12:36:28    2473211

Replying To brisbane:  "Don't think I've seen Walsh as poor hopefully he can get back into a team mindset. What was keegan at with the motm award? Pretty poor form not letting Comer have his day in the sun"
Its a Mayo thing with Keegan and its a bit late afterwards to apologise on twitter and state it should have been Comer all along! RTE really have let their standards drop since Lyster, Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke were on TSG Live. Galway played well overall but the build-up play is still a bit laborious and more incisive quicker balls as well as better placement of balls (so many turnovers from inaccurate kicks in particular!) need to be made to really open up tight defences like Roscommon's yesterday. Saying all that Roscommon are one of the better teams out there and they are nearly always underrated which can lead to complacency hence that seemed to seep into the Galway mindset early on in the second half conceding 1-3 without reply. The poorish form of Walsh and Cooke continues to be a worry going into the Sligo game but Comer had his best game for Galway in many years IMO. Burke showed glimpses of his 2018 form and McHugh as always continued to drive forward and lay off astute passes along with his defensive duties - definitely the most underrated of the Galway players. The cornerbacks McGrath and Glynn were very good yesterday also as was Sweeney at halfback and Maher at midfield which is a good sign of the younger players going forward. BTW what is it about The Hyde and McHale Park that Galway footballers much prefer playing in those grounds than in Tuam going by results over the last decade or so?!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 24/04/2023 12:45:27    2473220

Replying To Mayonman:  "Thought we were excellent in the first half. Controlled the game really well. Got the first score of the second half and then tried a few crazy things. I think it was Conroy that tried a couple of "eye of a needle" passes that were intercepted. this gave the Rossies belief and turned the game on its head for a time until we settled it down. Conroy should no better at his age!

Criticism of Walsh is a bit over the top. He carried a lot of ball yesterday and put in a good shift. He didn't trouble the scoreboard from play but i think that will come.

I thought Cooke got on a lot of ball and IMO seemed more direct yesterday than I have seen him in a long time. From reading comments here, maybe I am on my own with that opinion.

I think if McDaid is fully fit he starts with Maher. I would keep Conroy for last 20. His lack of pace gets found out early in games but I think he would be a real ace coming off the bench.

Was Finnerty injured or just dropped for Burke. Burke was excellent but Finnerty hits serious numbers. Good problem to have."
I know that subs are nearly as important as starting players these days but IMO Burke and Finnerty should be starting along with Comer up front with Walsh, Tierney and Cooke / Heaney in the half forward line. If Cooke could improve on his finishing and up his workrate / pace driving forward to take scores I think I would pick him over Heaney as he appears to have more potential but is not currently fulfilling it. Finnerty would add another proven scorer to the forwards as Burke is now mainly an "assist" man although he did take a nice fisted point yesterday and was unlucky with a kicked effort that just drifted wide so he is not as much a "one trick pony" as some people think. I would agree that Conroy probably needs to be on the bench the next day and brought on as an impact sub with McDaid and Maher starting in midfield which would add more pace to the team overall.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 24/04/2023 13:12:41    2473235

Replying To tommy k:  "Its a Mayo thing with Keegan and its a bit late afterwards to apologise on twitter and state it should have been Comer all along! RTE really have let their standards drop since Lyster, Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke were on TSG Live. Galway played well overall but the build-up play is still a bit laborious and more incisive quicker balls as well as better placement of balls (so many turnovers from inaccurate kicks in particular!) need to be made to really open up tight defences like Roscommon's yesterday. Saying all that Roscommon are one of the better teams out there and they are nearly always underrated which can lead to complacency hence that seemed to seep into the Galway mindset early on in the second half conceding 1-3 without reply. The poorish form of Walsh and Cooke continues to be a worry going into the Sligo game but Comer had his best game for Galway in many years IMO. Burke showed glimpses of his 2018 form and McHugh as always continued to drive forward and lay off astute passes along with his defensive duties - definitely the most underrated of the Galway players. The cornerbacks McGrath and Glynn were very good yesterday also as was Sweeney at halfback and Maher at midfield which is a good sign of the younger players going forward. BTW what is it about The Hyde and McHale Park that Galway footballers much prefer playing in those grounds than in Tuam going by results over the last decade or so?!"
The Hyde and McHale park are wide open fast pitches that drain really well, usually reasonably hard, really suits our kicking & running style.

Tuam on the other hand is often heavy, even when the ground hardens up in summer can still find a few soft patches. Tends towards a slower game, so wins there need physicality which we were lacking a bit for a few years the last decade.

To be fair our record in Tuam might be better than in Pearse.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 69 - 24/04/2023 13:40:28    2473248

The final is the 7th but where will it be on it is due to be in markievicz park?? On the game we did enough a few really good performances 2 corner backs were excellent and Dylan mchugh and Ian burke of course comer a few more did ok the rest were under par which means loads of room for improvement we don't need to by flying on all cylinders at this stage, i do worry that Peter Cooke has been poor now for awhile and i don't see the hype about him at all, I do agree if Gleason made the same mistakes power did yesterday we would be all over him!!!

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 102 - 24/04/2023 13:59:25    2473263

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "The final is the 7th but where will it be on it is due to be in markievicz park?? On the game we did enough a few really good performances 2 corner backs were excellent and Dylan mchugh and Ian burke of course comer a few more did ok the rest were under par which means loads of room for improvement we don't need to by flying on all cylinders at this stage, i do worry that Peter Cooke has been poor now for awhile and i don't see the hype about him at all, I do agree if Gleason made the same mistakes power did yesterday we would be all over him!!!"
Power is not perfect but he is definitely better than Gleeson. I don't think I saw too many claiming that he is the solution to every issue - just better than the other option.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 24/04/2023 14:18:45    2473271

Congratulations to the Galway panel, PJ and management on a very gritty performance yesterday which underlined the strength and character of the team. The criticism of Shane Walsh is so unwarranted as he had quite a good game. He's a class player. He carried a lot of ball. It was obvious he was playing mainly out on the wing to leave more room for Comer inside. The strategy worked very well with Comer scoring 1- 4. On another day Walsh could have put over 5 or 6 points from his long range attempts. Posters to this forum should quit the negative stuff. The criticism of great Galway servant Paul Conroy is way over the top. As the saying goes: eaten bread is soon forgotten. Conroy will continue to give the team great service but will probably move to a target man role in front of goal as time goes on. Those calling for the replacement of another great servant and hard worker, Johnny Heaney, frankly don't know what they're talking about. Gaillimh Abú.

FatLadySinging (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 24/04/2023 14:21:46    2473274