Galway Football thread

Could be wrong but did Galway GAA not own a % of GBFM at one stage. They definitely provided funding when it was starting up. Still doesn't excuse how bad some of the coverage is. There seemed to be no in between with Turner, either completely over hype a team or go to town on players if things not going well.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 16/03/2023 09:45:33    2464132

Replying To GDL:  "I've a headache just thinking about the rubbish Neil Francis and co will be spouting on Sunday, he never recovered from that puck to the head Tony Copsey from Wales gave him in the early 1990's. Anyways, I'll be collecting Tommy K from the Rustic vaults in the Red Cortina on Saturday around 11 with a quick stop in Ballygar for a pint before hitting Roscommon, Longford and a getting drop of Red in Armagh for the spin home. It'll be a long day without a Snack box till we get back to Longford with 8 points on the board."
Are you travelling on the N17 GDL because if you are you might as well give a lift to the Joyce Country Céilí Band and Madge also if she is on her own?!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 16/03/2023 09:49:30    2464133

Replying To GDL:  "It won't affect me or most people on here, we'll all be in Armagh. Maybe if it was an Irish team but half "The Guys" are from New Zealand and Australia, it is joke."
You are right there. A lot of Antipodean players.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 16/03/2023 10:02:19    2464140

Replying To smallfrank:  "Could be wrong but did Galway GAA not own a % of GBFM at one stage. They definitely provided funding when it was starting up. Still doesn't excuse how bad some of the coverage is. There seemed to be no in between with Turner, either completely over hype a team or go to town on players if things not going well."
I think it was very telling that KW went out of his way to to thank Kevin o dwyer in his exit statement. Nothing wrong with players being criticised or management but Ollie always has a pitchfork behind his back ready to attack some of them. Some of the stuff he says about players you'd expect from a drunk lad in a pub with a grudge against the lad . Not from a local broadcaster that has 1000s listening to him. He'd want to cop on at his big age

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 16/03/2023 14:30:21    2464214

Replying To kazoochka:  "Parts of what people might consider as "Knocknacarra" falls into Bearna-Furbo territory. There is no viable Greenfield site in Salthill Knocknacarra for sporting purposes. Even if there was, the cost of it would be phenomenal and the politics of it would be crazy in a time where we are crying out for housing in the city.

Some sort of municipal playing fields solution where the local clubs all get a fair use of it should be doable but some of the boycott and bans talk around this is bananas. City clubs like Salthill Michaels James and Griffins are at a massive disadvantage facilities wise to other clubs because they can't just build a modern facility on a Greenfield site like Bearna or Oranmore or Moycullen can for obviously reasons.

Now either everyone can be adults about it and build a facility for the betterment of all parties and most importantly the kids of the city, or we blindly tell Salthill to go and jump because we have to follow lines drawn on a map when the city population was a fraction of what it is now and continue to expect every child in the city to train at the Prairie and westside pitch on a Saturday morning."
but sure rahoon have a very capable facility (literally around the corner) to for kids in the area and have just built a new pitch, ball alley etc to cope with the numbers in area, they can easily just go there. this is about salthill just wanting to swallow up those two parishes.

asmondo (Galway) - Posts: 3 - 17/03/2023 20:11:31    2464395

Another big game 2 day team looks weak enough no rob Finnerty or Jack Glynn or Mcdaid I'd imagine John Maher go 2 midfield and Paul kelly wing forward , think Galway prob score around 1-09 don't think it be enough 2 day

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 18/03/2023 12:31:05    2464452

No subs named. Wonder will we see Mclaughlin or Mullkerrin on the bench. Would be a great boost to see them get a run.

Good to see some changes. No harm, keep building depth. One of my peeves last year was seeing lads coming off the bench in AI final that got hardly any game time all year.

Lots of games ahead ..... panel strength is crucial

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 18/03/2023 13:38:58    2464467

No subs named. Wonder will we see Mclaughlin or Mullkerrin on the bench. Would be a great boost to see them get a run.

Good to see some changes. No harm, keep building depth. One of my peeves last year was seeing lads coming off the bench in AI final that got hardly any game time all year.

Lots of games ahead ..... panel strength is crucial

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 18/03/2023 16:15:07    2464493

Great win for Galway this evening though if going to win big prize think keeper situation is going to cost.

Whether he was fouled or not needs to be stronger and its not first time cost crucial scores
- penalty against Donegal in league this year
- armagh in quarter final last year
- last game of league v monaghan in clones gave ball away which got galway relegated

macca999 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1097 - 18/03/2023 19:15:22    2464535

Replying To Kickitout:  "Another big game 2 day team looks weak enough no rob Finnerty or Jack Glynn or Mcdaid I'd imagine John Maher go 2 midfield and Paul kelly wing forward , think Galway prob score around 1-09 don't think it be enough 2 day"
You were very close, but 1-08 turned out to be enough. A real dogged performance from the lads at a tough venue. I think a win like that can be very beneficial in building confidence and belief.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 18/03/2023 19:19:57    2464537

Great win.
Culhane showed his class. Forward depth still worrying other than him. Patrick Kelly taken off early again.
Gleeson pulled off a great late save after we gave the ball away again. It saved us.
Great performance in second half by the whole team. Gleeson too hit a few spot on kickouts though a few went out over the sideline.
Overall it was a brilliant turnaround from being 5 down. Great heart and some brilliant scoring and defending.
Hopefully John Daly isn't too bad.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 18/03/2023 19:23:16    2464538

Great result for Galway....pure hard fought win!
I predicted in the fourm thing 3pt win for Galway but I'll take a win no matter!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 18/03/2023 19:32:02    2464544

Two massive points, the Ref gave us nothing today our big players stood up, Sean K, Daly, McHugh, Tierney drove us and Conroy is a machine. We've a bit of steel and never say die attitude installed, missing 5 or 6 players but we are building depth and getting over the line. Winning ugly is important and we did that today.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 720 - 18/03/2023 19:33:15    2464545

Great win. Gleeson mixed good and bad. He was fouled, no question.... but he needs to dominate irrespective.

We are moving well. Roll on next weekend

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 18/03/2023 19:56:17    2464550

Replying To katser:  "Great result for Galway....pure hard fought win!
I predicted in the fourm thing 3pt win for Galway but I'll take a win no matter!!"
Hey I'll take any wins we can get especially with lads missing. TBH I watched the Rugby. Go Ireland. Galway Abu. ☘️

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 18/03/2023 20:04:09    2464552

He wasn't fouled. He fell backwards.

We can all see how bad he is. His team mates can too. It's not fair to the man to keep picking him.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 18/03/2023 20:11:07    2464557

Great win for Galway. Doing the county proud!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 18/03/2023 20:15:12    2464559

Replying To Mayonman:  "Great win. Gleeson mixed good and bad. He was fouled, no question.... but he needs to dominate irrespective.

We are moving well. Roll on next weekend"
I don't know about that, I've just seen clips on the phone, Fitzgerald did a good job shielding Murnin, Maher was with the Armagh 5, Gleeson just never jumped, he should have cleared everyone, man, ball and all, he has an issue with high ball coming in close to the bar, it is basic keeping and again there were a number of kickouts out over the sideline. The save at the end is one that is routine for all keepers, Daly did unbelievable stuff to put pressure on the kicker and Johnny McGrath getting contact on the ball afterwards was crucial.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 720 - 18/03/2023 20:19:16    2464562

Replying To Mayonman:  "Great win. Gleeson mixed good and bad. He was fouled, no question.... but he needs to dominate irrespective.

We are moving well. Roll on next weekend"
Keepers don't get enough protection in the small square, late in second half your keeper caught the ball and two Armagh men started swinging arms at him in the small square. I thought you couldn't touch keeper in the square. Armagh keeper didn't cover himself in glory with his effort under the high ball either.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 18/03/2023 20:32:10    2464566

In fairness I though ref was fair enough,, coukd have given foot block on John Daly near end ( I know it wasn't ) but would have being easy up there ,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 832 - 18/03/2023 20:41:52    2464574