Galway Football thread

Replying To Kickitout:  "4 away games agsin this year, Galway played , cork , Derry , down and Ross away last year ,, tough away matches this year, I'd take 6th spot right now if it was on offer ,,"
I'm expecting Galway to be in the push for a final place than settling for 6th.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 02/11/2022 18:33:31    2446271

How far off a return is James McG? Seems to be out a long time (just after league final i think). Any setback or is it just running its course? Would love to see him get a good few league games under his belt.

Going on PJ's last interview Sean Mulkerrin might take a little longer. Hopefully he will get the second half of the league.

A good start to the league is important. Gives you a bit of freedom with selection. Mayo will be gunning for us. Likely that we will play them in the FBD and again a short time after in the league. You know what they say about familiarity ..... expect fireworks.

There are a couple of players potentially that could step up so really looking forward to unearthing a gem or two.

I think Finnerty will turn into a superstar for us. Each year he seems to get better. I was a bit doubtful about him initially but I think he can be special.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 03/11/2022 10:54:19    2446307

Replying To Mayonman:  "How far off a return is James McG? Seems to be out a long time (just after league final i think). Any setback or is it just running its course? Would love to see him get a good few league games under his belt.

Going on PJ's last interview Sean Mulkerrin might take a little longer. Hopefully he will get the second half of the league.

A good start to the league is important. Gives you a bit of freedom with selection. Mayo will be gunning for us. Likely that we will play them in the FBD and again a short time after in the league. You know what they say about familiarity ..... expect fireworks.

There are a couple of players potentially that could step up so really looking forward to unearthing a gem or two.

I think Finnerty will turn into a superstar for us. Each year he seems to get better. I was a bit doubtful about him initially but I think he can be special."
Who is James McG? I can find no reference of any Galway panelist with a name like that, or is it a secret code among a few.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 03/11/2022 11:29:46    2446317

Replying To backtooldwall:  "Who is James McG? I can find no reference of any Galway panelist with a name like that, or is it a secret code among a few."
It's the Mayoman and his inability to spell

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/11/2022 11:48:25    2446322

Replying To Belclare:  "It's the Mayoman and his inability to spell"
Most likely a typo than a spelling mistake, the player in question is James McLaughlin from Moycullen.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 716 - 03/11/2022 13:32:31    2446342

One thing that strikes me is the lack of players from intermediate or junior clubs on Galway panel , of the team that started all Ireland 2 from intermediate clubs Gleason and Shane Walsh (he now plays senior ) and goalie will next year with Dunmore,, I know the teams in senior relegation have a player each bar carraoe,, so it does seem if u play for intermediate club or junior u prob need transfer to senior club otherwise not a hope of getting chance ( I don't agree with it but looks like it only option unless they run a Kerry type championship))

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 831 - 03/11/2022 16:22:33    2446364

Replying To GDL:  "Most likely a typo than a spelling mistake, the player in question is James McLaughlin from Moycullen."
Eh really? I would have never guessed..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 03/11/2022 17:21:44    2446382

St James and Carraroe look to be heading to intermediate.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/11/2022 15:01:02    2446559

Replying To galwayfball:  "St James and Carraroe look to be heading to intermediate."
Dead rubber for carraroe, will put oughterard on 5 so will be safe. A shoot out between james and abbey, james worst team I've seen all year taught Duane coming back would tighten them up but odds against them, how carraroe let monivea back will haunt them for years, good luck winning an intermediate any time soon, Duane and Concannon to leave with conroy to retire in 2 yrs

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 212 - 05/11/2022 16:30:01    2446561

St. James' should be flying it. Spent too much focusing on Senior Team and ignored the Junior Teams that should be bringing players through. Long term the Senior Championship will be better with less teams.

ref (Galway) - Posts: 246 - 05/11/2022 17:26:41    2446566

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Dead rubber for carraroe, will put oughterard on 5 so will be safe. A shoot out between james and abbey, james worst team I've seen all year taught Duane coming back would tighten them up but odds against them, how carraroe let monivea back will haunt them for years, good luck winning an intermediate any time soon, Duane and Concannon to leave with conroy to retire in 2 yrs"
Was at the oughterard James's match so the only update I got was on that app. Nice lead until the 52nd minute and then they must've seriously taken the foot pff the pedal to allow monivea 1-4 without reply

Conroy still plays intercounty (and he has plenty more to offer at that level in my opinion) so he's not going to retire from his club anytime soon. He wouldn't know what to do with himself without any football at all. Not having county commitments will free up plenty of time when he does decide to hang up his boots

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/11/2022 18:00:57    2446572

Disappointed in County Board not sorting our the Craughwell issue. Clatinbridge and Athenry have tried to do the same with Clarinbridge being successful. If footballing club like Annaghdown Moycullen or spiddal etc banded Hurling I am sure that the county board would be all over them.

LottoPlus (Kilkenny) - Posts: 54 - 06/11/2022 14:16:17    2446624

Gabriel's and Williamstown survive... Well done to them..

Belclare (Galway) - Posts: 904 - 06/11/2022 15:54:28    2446633

An Cheathrú Rua down to intermediate after a very long time at senior. Tough on them but might give them time to reorganise as they've been drifting for a few years now.

Shoot out between Monivea Abbey and The Jimmies for the other relegation spot.

Headford and Moycullen B down to junior. Headford came close to saving themselves but came up just short.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2206 - 06/11/2022 19:03:13    2446665

Replying To LottoPlus:  "Disappointed in County Board not sorting our the Craughwell issue. Clatinbridge and Athenry have tried to do the same with Clarinbridge being successful. If footballing club like Annaghdown Moycullen or spiddal etc banded Hurling I am sure that the county board would be all over them."
Problem is in clubs like that, it's still a club ran by families and people there for generations and hurling is all they care about, football is as foreign a sport as cricket to them. A lot of the interest is brought into the parish by families moving in from football areas. We're not a dual county at all, must have one of the lowest number of dual players of any county, especially at senior level. Even Moycullen, the only club at senior level with both is nearly like two different clubs, very little to no crossover and they even use two different crests and jerseys. We take our club games very serious in galway and see the other sport coming in as a distraction and hindrance to other. Even when football was starting to get to a good level in Athenry with them getting to intermediate final and the hurlers struggling in senior, a lot of blame was (unfairly) put on football coming into the club and put a lot of obstacles in the way to develop it more in the club. Now their back down Junior and less of a distraction to the hurling. South Galway and East Galway are areas we're football just won't take off, not for a few generations anyway. Even when they tried to set up a South Galway football team, they couldn't field a team for a finish even with 5/6 clubs joined together. Probably not great to hear but it's reality. Also it's expensive run just one code at a good level in these spots. Even driving through Ardrahan, Peterswell, Beagh, Gort, Craughwell, Killimor, Killimordaly, Portumna etc with galway in a senior all Ireland football final, you wouldn't guess it to look with not much flags or support, they'll watch it or maybe go but they wouldn't really care. I don't think it would be as bad the other way round, I found the football fans from North and West galway would get behind the hurlers a bit more (maybe that was down to galway football disappearing from big days for so long) A lot of hurling only people also just don't really like football too.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 07/11/2022 09:45:17    2446698

Replying To Belclare:  "It's the Mayoman and his inability to spell"
absolutely!!

I think i may start calling him big James from now on!!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1825 - 07/11/2022 11:19:16    2446719

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Problem is in clubs like that, it's still a club ran by families and people there for generations and hurling is all they care about, football is as foreign a sport as cricket to them. A lot of the interest is brought into the parish by families moving in from football areas. We're not a dual county at all, must have one of the lowest number of dual players of any county, especially at senior level. Even Moycullen, the only club at senior level with both is nearly like two different clubs, very little to no crossover and they even use two different crests and jerseys. We take our club games very serious in galway and see the other sport coming in as a distraction and hindrance to other. Even when football was starting to get to a good level in Athenry with them getting to intermediate final and the hurlers struggling in senior, a lot of blame was (unfairly) put on football coming into the club and put a lot of obstacles in the way to develop it more in the club. Now their back down Junior and less of a distraction to the hurling. South Galway and East Galway are areas we're football just won't take off, not for a few generations anyway. Even when they tried to set up a South Galway football team, they couldn't field a team for a finish even with 5/6 clubs joined together. Probably not great to hear but it's reality. Also it's expensive run just one code at a good level in these spots. Even driving through Ardrahan, Peterswell, Beagh, Gort, Craughwell, Killimor, Killimordaly, Portumna etc with galway in a senior all Ireland football final, you wouldn't guess it to look with not much flags or support, they'll watch it or maybe go but they wouldn't really care. I don't think it would be as bad the other way round, I found the football fans from North and West galway would get behind the hurlers a bit more (maybe that was down to galway football disappearing from big days for so long) A lot of hurling only people also just don't really like football too."
At this present time Athenry playing in North Galway area
They are doing very well at underage
There has been a big increase in population
A big factor too is Pres College a huge Scxhool
They are competing very well in Schools Football too

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 07/11/2022 11:47:41    2446724

Replying To Sportsfanatic90:  "Dead rubber for carraroe, will put oughterard on 5 so will be safe. A shoot out between james and abbey, james worst team I've seen all year taught Duane coming back would tighten them up but odds against them, how carraroe let monivea back will haunt them for years, good luck winning an intermediate any time soon, Duane and Concannon to leave with conroy to retire in 2 yrs"
What a ridiculous post.
Are the Ceathru Rua lads going to leave now.
Both of those lads you named have had serious injury issues, have represented Galway at every level and played Intermediate with James' before.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 361 - 07/11/2022 12:00:15    2446727

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Problem is in clubs like that, it's still a club ran by families and people there for generations and hurling is all they care about, football is as foreign a sport as cricket to them. A lot of the interest is brought into the parish by families moving in from football areas. We're not a dual county at all, must have one of the lowest number of dual players of any county, especially at senior level. Even Moycullen, the only club at senior level with both is nearly like two different clubs, very little to no crossover and they even use two different crests and jerseys. We take our club games very serious in galway and see the other sport coming in as a distraction and hindrance to other. Even when football was starting to get to a good level in Athenry with them getting to intermediate final and the hurlers struggling in senior, a lot of blame was (unfairly) put on football coming into the club and put a lot of obstacles in the way to develop it more in the club. Now their back down Junior and less of a distraction to the hurling. South Galway and East Galway are areas we're football just won't take off, not for a few generations anyway. Even when they tried to set up a South Galway football team, they couldn't field a team for a finish even with 5/6 clubs joined together. Probably not great to hear but it's reality. Also it's expensive run just one code at a good level in these spots. Even driving through Ardrahan, Peterswell, Beagh, Gort, Craughwell, Killimor, Killimordaly, Portumna etc with galway in a senior all Ireland football final, you wouldn't guess it to look with not much flags or support, they'll watch it or maybe go but they wouldn't really care. I don't think it would be as bad the other way round, I found the football fans from North and West galway would get behind the hurlers a bit more (maybe that was down to galway football disappearing from big days for so long) A lot of hurling only people also just don't really like football too."
But maybe that is a good thing. In Adare in West Limerick, a club that won five Senior Hurling Championships in the oughties and is the club of Declan Hannon, it is now almost gone over entirely to Football. We had a three in a w row U 21 All winning winning Hurling team but a number of them were on the only Limerick U21 Football Team that got to an All Ireland Final. This proved to be a disaster as a good number of them got it in to their heads that they could both codes at Senior Inter county Level. This proved to a total failure and feck all was won in either code.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 07/11/2022 12:12:58    2446732

Anyone care to do a senior and intermediate team of the championship?

98galway (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 07/11/2022 12:22:00    2446734