Galway Hurling thread

Could someone post IHC & SHC KO dates please

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 04/08/2022 11:18:04    2436151

Replying To katser:  "Cappy seem to struggle against the likes of Gort who are in complete transition, Gort have alot of lads retired and nothing coming through at underage. They are sinking rapidly and certs for Intermediate in the next few years."
The amount of contradictions and nonsense in this post... lol.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 04/08/2022 11:53:49    2436168

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "I think Cappy will get out of the group but I think they've missed the boat on winning a county title. Will still be a decent senior team for the foreseeable future but think they're fallen out of that bunch of 2/3 teams outside of Thomas's. The other senior A group looks considerably stronger. I'd imagine Kilconiern will be going down to Ssenior B next year, no disrespect to them but a huge reason they're senior A is the group they had last year. Fair play to them, they took advantage and topped it but feel they'll be going down again. Wonder will there be any bolters from Senior B to go deep in championship?"
No relegation from A to B this yr

SupermanSub (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 04/08/2022 13:53:54    2436202

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yeah you're probably right. But there's always some surprise team that pops out of nowhere like Mellows did some years back."
The good news for the likes of Gort, Kilconeiron, Killimordaly and Castlegar is that there is no relegation from Senior A this year, they are all guaranteed to be in the new 16 team structure for 2023!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/08/2022 12:29:04    2436314

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "I think Cappy will get out of the group but I think they've missed the boat on winning a county title. Will still be a decent senior team for the foreseeable future but think they're fallen out of that bunch of 2/3 teams outside of Thomas's. The other senior A group looks considerably stronger. I'd imagine Kilconiern will be going down to Ssenior B next year, no disrespect to them but a huge reason they're senior A is the group they had last year. Fair play to them, they took advantage and topped it but feel they'll be going down again. Wonder will there be any bolters from Senior B to go deep in championship?"
Cappy will never win the Co.Cup your right they missed their chances when playing Mellows in them Semi Finals.
There is no relegation from Senior A this year so Kilconeiron are safe for atleast 2 years.
No bollters from Senior B this year for the Championship.....their priority is to get the 4 remaining places to make up the new 16 team Championship with the current 12 Senior A teams.
Now infairness there will be some battle among those Senior B teams for the promotion race!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/08/2022 12:41:57    2436318

Replying To katser:  "The good news for the likes of Gort, Kilconeiron, Killimordaly and Castlegar is that there is no relegation from Senior A this year, they are all guaranteed to be in the new 16 team structure for 2023!"
Gort will be fine for a few years yet. Still have some great young players, Jason O donoghue, Nathan Gill, Jack Linnane all good and I think Paddy Cummins is exceptional. Also have Grealish around for years. They are missing a lot this year due to retirements and holidays but they'll be grand going forward

Kinvara (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 05/08/2022 13:39:40    2436334

Replying To Kinvara:  "Gort will be fine for a few years yet. Still have some great young players, Jason O donoghue, Nathan Gill, Jack Linnane all good and I think Paddy Cummins is exceptional. Also have Grealish around for years. They are missing a lot this year due to retirements and holidays but they'll be grand going forward"
Maybe Gort will be one of those MIDDLE OF THE PACK kind of teams. No threat to win the county but no slouch either. I'd like to see Clarenbridge make the breakthrough again.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 06/08/2022 15:31:02    2436443

Replying To Trump2020:  "Maybe Gort will be one of those MIDDLE OF THE PACK kind of teams. No threat to win the county but no slouch either. I'd like to see Clarenbridge make the breakthrough again."
Wouldn't mind if Clarinbridge win it but I am predicting it to be Turloughmore's year! Surely they'll get it together sometime and wont go on forever being less than the sum of their parts!!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 06/08/2022 17:39:02    2436461

Replying To Trump2020:  "Maybe Gort will be one of those MIDDLE OF THE PACK kind of teams. No threat to win the county but no slouch either. I'd like to see Clarenbridge make the breakthrough again."
You can definitely sing that...no threat whatsoever to win the Co. Cup...middle of the pack team is generous!
Personally I reckon Clairnbridge will win it this year

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 06/08/2022 17:39:44    2436462

Replying To katser:  "You can definitely sing that...no threat whatsoever to win the Co. Cup...middle of the pack team is generous!
Personally I reckon Clairnbridge will win it this year"
Hard to see it, there's about 3/4 teams a nice bit under Thomas's who make up the best of the rest. Turlough, Sarsfields, loughrea, Clarinbridge. Good teams but all lacking something, for Turlough a bit more in the forwards or in Clarinbrdige a bit in defence. I'd nearly the say the teams in the level just below thoae 3/4 are closer to that group than they are to Thomas's. You'd also imagine that if any team except Thomas's gets out of Galway, they could get an awful hammering off one of the provincial winners. I know there's been some close games with Thomas's and some of them the last few years but did you ever feel like they were going to loose those games, they just do enough to keep that bit ahead. Last years county final for example, Thomas's never got out of 2nd gear really and still never looked in danger. Hope I'm wrong about all that but doesn't look likely ATM.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 06/08/2022 20:12:26    2436477

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Wouldn't mind if Clarinbridge win it but I am predicting it to be Turloughmore's year! Surely they'll get it together sometime and wont go on forever being less than the sum of their parts!!"
Turloughmore would be a fair upset. Not that they aren't talented but because they just don't seem to be able to get over the hump. They're a dark horse for sure.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 06/08/2022 20:51:27    2436481

Can someone settle an argument for me if possible.
If a club has three adult teams say Intermediate, Junior B and Junior C when it comes to the Junior clubs entering the championship I always believed that the B team would have to play before the C team would be allowed to play. The reason I ask is that it appears a certain city club this year has decided to give walkovers in all their B group games so they can have a strong C team and focus on winning that competition as I presume they felt they wouldn't get too far in the B competition.
Am I right or wrong ?

John Doe (Galway) - Posts: 230 - 09/08/2022 21:29:17    2436886

Replying To Trump2020:  "Turloughmore would be a fair upset. Not that they aren't talented but because they just don't seem to be able to get over the hump. They're a dark horse for sure."
This 'over the hump' business is just cliche. They lack firepower/forwards. That's their fundamental failing in recent seasons. It'll be surprising imo, if they've solved their offensive issues in 2022.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3421 - 11/08/2022 14:23:15    2437072

Replying To John Doe:  "Can someone settle an argument for me if possible.
If a club has three adult teams say Intermediate, Junior B and Junior C when it comes to the Junior clubs entering the championship I always believed that the B team would have to play before the C team would be allowed to play. The reason I ask is that it appears a certain city club this year has decided to give walkovers in all their B group games so they can have a strong C team and focus on winning that competition as I presume they felt they wouldn't get too far in the B competition.
Am I right or wrong ?"
Correct,that is why there are usually 2 rounds of the senior championship before the junior championship starts.As to junior b and c if they were graded as a junior b player they can't play junior c.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 11/08/2022 18:12:20    2437098

is there meant to be relegation from Inter to Junior A this year or are all teams staying put due to new format?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 12/08/2022 10:54:39    2437137

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "This 'over the hump' business is just cliche. They lack firepower/forwards. That's their fundamental failing in recent seasons. It'll be surprising imo, if they've solved their offensive issues in 2022."
Yeah I agree. I can't see anyone in the county beating St Thomas's anyway regardless of whether Turloughmore or others find some scoring.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 12/08/2022 14:10:47    2437169

Replying To Trump2020:  "Yeah I agree. I can't see anyone in the county beating St Thomas's anyway regardless of whether Turloughmore or others find some scoring."
I agree. I'd say the most balanced team besides the Tom's are Sarsfields but I don't see them beating Tom's when it really comes down to it and they could also get beaten by 3/4 other teams as well. But as a contest and an entertaining watch, Sarsfileds vs Thomas's probably lines out the best.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 258 - 13/08/2022 18:47:20    2437302

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "I agree. I'd say the most balanced team besides the Tom's are Sarsfields but I don't see them beating Tom's when it really comes down to it and they could also get beaten by 3/4 other teams as well. But as a contest and an entertaining watch, Sarsfileds vs Thomas's probably lines out the best."
What about Liam Mellowes? I suppose their ship has sailed.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 14/08/2022 12:45:38    2437335

Replying To Trump2020:  "What about Liam Mellowes? I suppose their ship has sailed."
Won't sail at all. Scuttled in the harbour! They are Senior B this year and lost their first game so retaining their senior status should be their main priority right now.

Don't know how they achieve it but every year our Senior A championship is lopsided There's one "Group of Death" and one fairly handy group. In Group A this year you have St. Thomas's, Sarsfields, Clarinbridge, Turloughmore, Castlegar, and Killimordaly. The first 4 I have named there are on paper the 4 best teams in the county imo and all 4 should be in the semi finals imo. But it wont happen since they are all in the same group. Group B is a much weaker group imo...Loughrea, Cappataggle, Tommy Larkins, Gort, Craughwell, and Kilconieron.. Cappy and maybe Loughrea would have claims for being in the top 4 but none of the others imo should even be in the conversation.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 14/08/2022 14:20:17    2437347

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Won't sail at all. Scuttled in the harbour! They are Senior B this year and lost their first game so retaining their senior status should be their main priority right now.

Don't know how they achieve it but every year our Senior A championship is lopsided There's one "Group of Death" and one fairly handy group. In Group A this year you have St. Thomas's, Sarsfields, Clarinbridge, Turloughmore, Castlegar, and Killimordaly. The first 4 I have named there are on paper the 4 best teams in the county imo and all 4 should be in the semi finals imo. But it wont happen since they are all in the same group. Group B is a much weaker group imo...Loughrea, Cappataggle, Tommy Larkins, Gort, Craughwell, and Kilconieron.. Cappy and maybe Loughrea would have claims for being in the top 4 but none of the others imo should even be in the conversation."
Ha ha. That's a tough group alright. It seems like just a few years ago Mellowes won the County and now fighting for their lives….maybe the Groups should be picked by Seeding the teams so it wouldn't be so lopsided. But that's easier said than done I suppose.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2120 - 14/08/2022 17:00:40    2437373