Galway Hurling thread

Taking ages over a sideline cut ,killing momentum...and it very much a 50/50 play is a low percentage play. The most successfull team at the moment don't do it even though O Donovan and Hegarty are decent at it

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 29/10/2021 10:21:47    2387793

Replying To Waveitwide:  "There you go again.Look at your reply to sixtieskid.And if you think our best players are on the county panel already we are in serious trouble.We are getting hammered by Dublin in the championship,and you think we are playing our best players.You are like a car going round the roundabout with his indicator stuck."
Well, that's not what I said, but we have established that reading comprehension is not one of your strong points.

If you could point out where I said that 'the best players are on the county panel already' and where I said that I 'think we are playing our best players' that would be nice.

Once again, it's hardly a shock that most of the best players in the county are already on the county panel. Or have been. Or will be based on their age (young). Conor Cooney, Jason Flynn, Seán Loftus, Thomas Monaghan, Ger Farragher spring immediately to mind from this year and thats just off the top of my head. I'm sure there are plenty more.

Now that certainly doesn't mean that we couldn't do with the panel being refreshed and other options being brought in but it is a fact that when you look at the list of the most impressive players in the club championship they are, or have been, IC players anyway. The younger players who have impressed will get their chance in time.

It's extraordinarily difficult to make the cut for a county panel based on club form alone anyway, history bears that out, but you were never one to let facts get in the way, of course.

Throw up a few new names who are immediately ready and we can discuss that

Stool Pigeon (Galway) - Posts: 829 - 29/10/2021 11:31:48    2387801

Replying To bloodyban:  "Taking ages over a sideline cut ,killing momentum...and it very much a 50/50 play is a low percentage play. The most successfull team at the moment don't do it even though O Donovan and Hegarty are decent at it"
Which is faster, a 60 yard sideline cut over the bar from Joe Canning or 5 throw passes from the Limerick lads? ;)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 29/10/2021 11:37:24    2387804

Replying To bloodyban:  "Taking ages over a sideline cut ,killing momentum...and it very much a 50/50 play is a low percentage play. The most successfull team at the moment don't do it even though O Donovan and Hegarty are decent at it"
Low percentage play maybe, but if it's one of the only games in town, then the percentage probably rises. Canning's 'sideline contribution' at the 2020 semi was a key factor in Galway being level with 'the most successfull team at the moment', well into injury time on that particular day.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3410 - 29/10/2021 11:45:11    2387806

I heard the county board got James Skehill to apologise to them after his ranting on off the ball. He hasn't been on it since.

Thought Paul Bellew gave a good interview himself.

Peggy11 (Galway) - Posts: 84 - 29/10/2021 12:13:40    2387812

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Well, that's not what I said, but we have established that reading comprehension is not one of your strong points.

If you could point out where I said that 'the best players are on the county panel already' and where I said that I 'think we are playing our best players' that would be nice.

Once again, it's hardly a shock that most of the best players in the county are already on the county panel. Or have been. Or will be based on their age (young). Conor Cooney, Jason Flynn, Seán Loftus, Thomas Monaghan, Ger Farragher spring immediately to mind from this year and thats just off the top of my head. I'm sure there are plenty more.

Now that certainly doesn't mean that we couldn't do with the panel being refreshed and other options being brought in but it is a fact that when you look at the list of the most impressive players in the club championship they are, or have been, IC players anyway. The younger players who have impressed will get their chance in time.

It's extraordinarily difficult to make the cut for a county panel based on club form alone anyway, history bears that out, but you were never one to let facts get in the way, of course.

Throw up a few new names who are immediately ready and we can discuss that"
It's hardly shock news to you that the best players in the county are already on the county panel, you're words not mine.Read what you post before giving us a lesson in reading and writing.The players you have mentioned,Conor Cooney tried everywhere in the back, even compensated an all star full back to play him,Sean Loftus has played everywhere except goalkeeper,Jason Flynn an exceptional hurler but you are lucky to get 15 minutes out of him in a county match for some unknown reason.Thomas Monaghan dropped off the panel but gave an exhibition at midfield with his brother last Sunday scored 12 points between them, if he was from certain clubs he wouldn't be dropped.May I remind you this is 2021 where in the name of god did Ger Farragher come out of I thought we were looking to the future?Those players you have mentioned have been discussed on this forum by numerous people saying they are not good enough.I am not going to select a Galway panel that is up to the management to get out there and pick the best squad, if you are not picked on you're club form how the hell do you expect to get picked for a county panel?Youre words not mine.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 29/10/2021 15:08:40    2387831

Replying To Peggy11:  "I heard the county board got James Skehill to apologise to them after his ranting on off the ball. He hasn't been on it since.

Thought Paul Bellew gave a good interview himself."
Don't thing James said much wrong. Paul gave a good interview too. James just explained what happened during his time with galway and expressed his opinion . I do find it hard to believe that Galway are the second best resourced hurling team in Ireland. How can he be 100 % sure. But the structures in place that he talks about seems very good and he came across well.

ecad123 (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 29/10/2021 15:57:06    2387842

Replying To baire:  "Which is faster, a 60 yard sideline cut over the bar from Joe Canning or 5 throw passes from the Limerick lads? ;)"
Think you'll need to find a new Joe for next year....

Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 372 - 29/10/2021 16:28:53    2387845

Replying To tommy k:  "Re the JC sideline cuts I think he may be referring to the 2020 AI semifinal where he got 4 from 4 so he possibly thought it was 5."
I stand corrected. I rightfully believed that Galway put 5 linebaires over the bar, but erroneously believed that Joe did all of them. So, Joe-4; Burke-1!

4 is still a fab thing to do. Fair play to Joe, one of the finest that I've ever seen swing the stick!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 29/10/2021 17:03:52    2387849

It's a low percentage play for the teams who don't have a player with a high conversion rate. It makes far more sense for them to play it short.
For a team who can score 5 from 5 though, it's a high percentage play and makes much more sense for them to go for it.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 29/10/2021 18:44:30    2387853

Replying To baire:  "Which is faster, a 60 yard sideline cut over the bar from Joe Canning or 5 throw passes from the Limerick lads? ;)"
Either way Galway still lose.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 30/10/2021 08:25:43    2387862

Replying To WanPintWin:  "It's a low percentage play for the teams who don't have a player with a high conversion rate. It makes far more sense for them to play it short.
For a team who can score 5 from 5 though, it's a high percentage play and makes much more sense for them to go for it."
There's no team that can score 5 from 5 day in and day out. Galway did it in that semi in 2020 and it was a wonderfull day. Austin Gleeson is brilliant at it and I'd say he ll overtake Joe's record eventually. I just don't see the benefit if its anything less than a 70% chance...much better to recycle

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 30/10/2021 08:31:39    2387863

Replying To Stool Pigeon:  "Well, that's not what I said, but we have established that reading comprehension is not one of your strong points.

Throw up a few new names who are immediately ready and we can discuss that"
Big enough to correct myself, Conor and Shane Cooney mixed up.Same with Conor scored a bullet of a goal against kilconieron last Sunday but not performing for Galway.

Waveitwide (Galway) - Posts: 137 - 30/10/2021 10:29:37    2387872

Replying To bloodyban:  "Either way Galway still lose."
If they had left the experimental rule of some years ago where the great skill of regular sideline cut scoring for which JC was unrivalled (although Austin Gleeson is not bad at them in fairness) was worth 2 points then Galway would have won! ;-)

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3314 - 30/10/2021 11:45:15    2387876

Replying To bloodyban:  "Either way Galway still lose."
Ah sure Limerick are great or should I say Limerick do grate!
I notice you didn't answer the question!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 30/10/2021 13:03:10    2387886

Replying To ecad123:  "Don't thing James said much wrong. Paul gave a good interview too. James just explained what happened during his time with galway and expressed his opinion . I do find it hard to believe that Galway are the second best resourced hurling team in Ireland. How can he be 100 % sure. But the structures in place that he talks about seems very good and he came across well."
Thought the interview came across ok, one bit I found strange was Paul saying basically Henry was second choice.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1569 - 30/10/2021 14:12:22    2387894

Replying To ahsure.:  "Thought the interview came across ok, one bit I found strange was Paul saying basically Henry was second choice."
So who was first choice? And why did he turn it down?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2447 - 30/10/2021 19:44:32    2387910

Replying To ahsure.:  "Thought the interview came across ok, one bit I found strange was Paul saying basically Henry was second choice."
Your interpretation of what he said I would think. To me it sounded more like an evolving situation. From the start the feeling within the county was that it would be an internal appointment which put MD as the frontrunner but then when he turned it down /withdrew his name the net was cast out wider to look at possible candidates from outside the county. Thankfully they didnt just go with the obvious (Davy) and pulled off something of a coup in getting Shefflin. On paper I would think he would be the top choice for any county that needed to look beyond its own borders for a manager. Whether it works out of course is an entirely different matter. We will have to wait and see. A lot may depend on what locals he adds as selectors to his management team as they are the ones best placed to advise him on what players to consider for the senior panel.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 30/10/2021 21:19:12    2387921

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "So who was first choice? And why did he turn it down?"
Donoghue it seems. He couldn't give the time required at the moment, according to Bellew.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2037 - 31/10/2021 09:53:30    2387936

Replying To Shocs07:  "Think you'll need to find a new Joe for next year...."
Full marks for observation!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 31/10/2021 09:59:35    2387938