Kerry GAA thread

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It wasn't a great game but it was intriguing all the same, RTÉ would have been better off going for the Rahillys v Crokes game."
Mightn't have been a classic but as you know, players don't go out to entertain, win is their aim. Any match is better viewing than watching players on £500,000 a week walk around the pitch. Club football are the unsung heroes so great to see more games on TV.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 21/11/2021 12:16:41    2390152

Replying To Saynothing:  "Mightn't have been a classic but as you know, players don't go out to entertain, win is their aim. Any match is better viewing than watching players on £500,000 a week walk around the pitch. Club football are the unsung heroes so great to see more games on TV."
Absolutely Saynothing, I'd watch a fair bit of soccer but when you see what the gaa lads do for their clubs it's great.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2021 13:13:47    2390158

Kerins O'Rahillys beat Dr Crokes by 0:15 to 0:14 today in Tralee.

So we have an all Tralee final in 2 weeks, can't wait and hopefully they'll keep the game in the town and not take it to killarney.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2021 16:16:31    2390178

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It wasn't a great game but it was intriguing all the same, RTÉ would have been better off going for the Rahillys v Crokes game."
Mightn't have been a classic but as you know, players don't go out to entertain, win is their aim. Any match is better viewing than watching players on £500,000 a week walk around the pitch. Club football are the unsung heroes so great to see more games on TV.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 21/11/2021 18:20:26    2390193

Replying To Saynothing:  "Mightn't have been a classic but as you know, players don't go out to entertain, win is their aim. Any match is better viewing than watching players on £500,000 a week walk around the pitch. Club football are the unsung heroes so great to see more games on TV."
Sorry . Opened my phone and suddenly same post loaded again. Why do they let repeats through yet stop posts if you go off on one.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 21/11/2021 18:40:09    2390198

yea fair play to rahillys they pulled it off got lucky that shane murphy had to leave and had the momentum the rest of the way. It should be a good final but rahillys might pull it off it would be a shocker if they did as nobody gave them a chance. I fancied Stacks or st Brendans but I thought Brendans were very unlucky not to win it. Diarmuid oConnor was a big loss and I hope he is ok and didnt suffer a serious injury. Think strand road have a better chance against stacks than Brendans. You know crokes forwards looked great in the first half but when the going got tough Brosnan and shaw went missing. I hope Jack gives Jack Savage and maybe Cormac Coffey a call up for the county. Others who looked county standard would be Okunbor and jack barry and Diarmuid oconnor until he went off and
dylan casey and Quilter.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 21/11/2021 18:45:15    2390199

Well that's true. the game improved as it went on and it was one you wouldn't take your eye off, that big lumux that dogged us in 2014 was there to kick the final winning penalty, a difficult man to play against, he never looked to me like he fitted in on a Gaelic football pitch, basketball court suited him better but he has the medals in his pocket, effective and I suppose that's what counts in the end.
It's a pity we don't see more club games on Rte, TG4 is great but I'm sorry to say my grasp of the mother tongue isn't great, the clowns that tried to teach us in school all those years hadn't much of a clue how to teach languages, but now I'm going off on one!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 21/11/2021 19:48:52    2390219

Replying To chicago09:  "yea fair play to rahillys they pulled it off got lucky that shane murphy had to leave and had the momentum the rest of the way. It should be a good final but rahillys might pull it off it would be a shocker if they did as nobody gave them a chance. I fancied Stacks or st Brendans but I thought Brendans were very unlucky not to win it. Diarmuid oConnor was a big loss and I hope he is ok and didnt suffer a serious injury. Think strand road have a better chance against stacks than Brendans. You know crokes forwards looked great in the first half but when the going got tough Brosnan and shaw went missing. I hope Jack gives Jack Savage and maybe Cormac Coffey a call up for the county. Others who looked county standard would be Okunbor and jack barry and Diarmuid oconnor until he went off and
dylan casey and Quilter."
Ya Brendans were unlucky, quilters goal was a missed shot for a point.

A lot of people have been touting Eoin O'Brien as potential Kerry goalie but I don't think he's intercounty standard.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2021 20:32:00    2390230

Replying To Saynothing:  "Sorry . Opened my phone and suddenly same post loaded again. Why do they let repeats through yet stop posts if you go off on one."
You're grand out, it happens myself an odd time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 21/11/2021 20:32:54    2390231

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Kerins O'Rahillys beat Dr Crokes by 0:15 to 0:14 today in Tralee.

So we have an all Tralee final in 2 weeks, can't wait and hopefully they'll keep the game in the town and not take it to killarney."
Yes, hopefully it'll be kept in town. Mitchell's ground on Boherbue is well capable of hosting a county final. I'd prefer to see the cup go to Strand Road. Stacks were ultra-defensive in their win in what was a brutal semi-final. O'Rahilly's won a far better semi-final in the other game.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 24/11/2021 15:09:25    2390626

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yes, hopefully it'll be kept in town. Mitchell's ground on Boherbue is well capable of hosting a county final. I'd prefer to see the cup go to Strand Road. Stacks were ultra-defensive in their win in what was a brutal semi-final. O'Rahilly's won a far better semi-final in the other game."
Is the final going to be streamed or televised?

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 01/12/2021 20:49:34    2391353

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Is the final going to be streamed or televised?"
Iv heard talk that www.247.gaa will be streaming it but I'm not 100% sure.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/12/2021 11:40:35    2391400

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Iv heard talk that www.247.gaa will be streaming it but I'm not 100% sure."
KingdomBoy, if you hear any more, could you please post it here? GAAGo doesn't have it.

It's a game that I'd be very interested in watching. Hoping that KOR get over the line!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 02/12/2021 12:30:08    2391414

Replying To foreveryoung:  "KingdomBoy, if you hear any more, could you please post it here? GAAGo doesn't have it.

It's a game that I'd be very interested in watching. Hoping that KOR get over the line!"
I will do, ya I'd like to see the Narries win it but I don't mind the Stacks either.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/12/2021 15:09:36    2391446

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I will do, ya I'd like to see the Narries win it but I don't mind the Stacks either."
Kerry games available on pay per view on Sunday, 2021-12-04

Na Gaeil V Beaufort, 13:45
Killarney Legion V Dr. Croke, 12:00
Austin Stacks V Kerins O'Rahilly's, 15:00

https://www.247.tv/gaa/kerry

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 03/12/2021 13:02:40    2391536

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "Kerry games available on pay per view on Sunday, 2021-12-04

Na Gaeil V Beaufort, 13:45
Killarney Legion V Dr. Croke, 12:00
Austin Stacks V Kerins O'Rahilly's, 15:00

https://www.247.tv/gaa/kerry"
That's it, spot on. I believe Jack Barry could be missing for Na Gaeil along with Diarmuid O'connor.

Big loss if both are out.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/12/2021 15:19:40    2391552

Congratulations to Na Gaeil who beat Beaufort in today's intermediate final.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/12/2021 19:16:44    2391673

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to Na Gaeil who beat Beaufort in today's intermediate final."
Yes, congrats to Na Gaeil, a very well run club from what I hear. It's a great year for the town of Tralee.

Speaking of which, here's a very good read. I really enjoyed it.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40758936.html

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 05/12/2021 09:07:43    2391690

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Yes, congrats to Na Gaeil, a very well run club from what I hear. It's a great year for the town of Tralee.

Speaking of which, here's a very good read. I really enjoyed it.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40758936.html"
Very good article, it touches on a little bit of everything, Mikey is a Kerry legend and we were lucky to have him, although I wasn't gone on him as a selector, I think he towed the party line a bit too much and didn't challenge Fitzmaurice enough on the sideline.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/12/2021 12:01:14    2391709

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Very good article, it touches on a little bit of everything, Mikey is a Kerry legend and we were lucky to have him, although I wasn't gone on him as a selector, I think he towed the party line a bit too much and didn't challenge Fitzmaurice enough on the sideline."
I met him once ever, years ago; nice man. Id be inclined to agree with you. From the article, he doesn't put himself across as a rock the boat man anyway.

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1903 - 05/12/2021 12:46:50    2391717