2022 Wexford Intercounty Hurling

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "I won't fault our supporters one bit, we sold well over 7000 tickets I was told yesterday ironic seeing fellas criticizing Wexford fans who don't even hail from here and didnt even go to the game themselves.
tearintom,
I will have you know tearintom I was actually there. I got fully behind the team even though you correctly point out that I "don't even hail from here". I was shouting my head off for Wexford.
I will also have you know I coach hurling and football in our local club and always help out with fundraising, selling Model County tickets and things.
I did more yesterday than all but the most loyal Wexford supporter and do more in my club than many Wexford people who "do even hail from here".
Wexford people wouldn't drive to Portlaoise if they wouldn't drive to Thurles. You are kidding yourself if you think Thurles was a problem, Wexford don't play in that many quarter finals FFS."
Me too EIW. Don't think he was talking about us though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 19/06/2022 20:51:44    2426195

Replying To Viking66:  "And probably some of us that were there would've struggled to get tickets the next time......"
Spot on viking.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 218 - 20/06/2022 07:07:00    2426217

I'm not too disappointed though. I think I'd rather be in our position going forward to next year than Tipps, Waterfords, Galways, Corks, Dublins or Kilkennys.
We play in Leinster so don't have Limerick and Clare in our group next year . We will have good starting players back from injury or travelling. We won't have any significant retirees hopefully. We had a great u20 team as good as any in the country this year and blooded 4 or 5 of them already at Senior in the League this year. We have a progressive young management team who even though inexperienced already improved us this year and will hopefully be better for this year's experience next year.
Yes 4 of our core players, Chin, Liam og, Dee, and MOH will be around 30 but they are fit lads and will have a couple more years in them. Lads like Ryan, the 2 Recks, ROC, Dunbar, Dwyer, the 3 Foleys, Flood, Devitt, Donohue, Jacko, Mac are only in their mid 20s or younger. The future is brighter for Wexford hurling than at any time I can remember since the early 90s.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/06/2022 07:25:10    2426221

I hear Egan is keeping the u20s on over the summer to work with them. No harm as our injuries really exposed the lack of dept all through this campaign. We really struggled with key men injured this year and its not just one or two of em we really had a few struggling this year. From memory we had:

Chin
O'Keefe
Ryan (up til KK game)
K. Foley (up to mid way through RR)
Murphy
Bailey
S.Reck
Morris

all dealing with protracted issues, then we'd the usual knocks or bangs like ROC, Dunbar, Dwyer, Devitt(finger) and I'm sure to forgetting someone. Other counties would have the same issues too as they play so many games bu for a small squad like ours we really were found out.

Like other counties we have lads that could be in the panel but aren't. I'm thinking of Breen, Nolan and Joe O Connor (where is he does anyone know)

Anyway lets hope some of the u20s come through next year to compliment what is already an excellent first 18 or 19 players.

Up Wexford!

WEXILE_AGAIN (Wexford) - Posts: 14 - 20/06/2022 08:03:53    2426226

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "Anyone going to call out the great tony Kelly for pulling on reck across the nuts. That's what led him to going off. Bet that won't be seen cos he's the golden child"
Was this seen on TV or live? Was it intentional?

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 20/06/2022 08:12:11    2426229

Interesting analysis on The Sunday Game last night . Sheesh reckoned we weren't near ruthless enough in the first half taking the easy option twice rather than pass to Devitt who was free in front of goal. Mac's miss was important too that would have put us 2 goals to no score up. Rory's loss was huge it took us a while to get over that too. Hopefully the injury isn't too serious. One decision I couldn't understand was taking off Dee O Keeffe . Unless he was injured? He was providing great cover for our defence and is a real leader for us .

Afinestick (Wexford) - Posts: 999 - 20/06/2022 09:14:42    2426250

Replying To Viking66:  "I'm not too disappointed though. I think I'd rather be in our position going forward to next year than Tipps, Waterfords, Galways, Corks, Dublins or Kilkennys.
We play in Leinster so don't have Limerick and Clare in our group next year . We will have good starting players back from injury or travelling. We won't have any significant retirees hopefully. We had a great u20 team as good as any in the country this year and blooded 4 or 5 of them already at Senior in the League this year. We have a progressive young management team who even though inexperienced already improved us this year and will hopefully be better for this year's experience next year.
Yes 4 of our core players, Chin, Liam og, Dee, and MOH will be around 30 but they are fit lads and will have a couple more years in them. Lads like Ryan, the 2 Recks, ROC, Dunbar, Dwyer, the 3 Foleys, Flood, Devitt, Donohue, Jacko, Mac are only in their mid 20s or younger. The future is brighter for Wexford hurling than at any time I can remember since the early 90s."
Well said. Confident of a Leinster title next year

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 20/06/2022 09:36:13    2426256

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Was this seen on TV or live? Was it intentional?"
Just rewatched it to see, doesn't seem it was shown in TV. Only the aftermath, which was Shane on the ground with an ice pack on his private parts. Saw a Cork lad call it out on Twitter too so presumably he saw it happen and felt it was intentional. Cowardly by TK,

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 220 - 20/06/2022 09:50:21    2426262

Time to move onto the club scene, do we have a thred for that? When do we now expect to start, two weeks? RoC and Chin could be doubtful for the Start

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1800 - 20/06/2022 09:57:35    2426265

Replying To WEXILE_AGAIN:  "I hear Egan is keeping the u20s on over the summer to work with them. No harm as our injuries really exposed the lack of dept all through this campaign. We really struggled with key men injured this year and its not just one or two of em we really had a few struggling this year. From memory we had:

Chin
O'Keefe
Ryan (up til KK game)
Murphy
Bailey
S.Reck
Morris

all dealing with protracted issues, then we'd the usual knocks or bangs like ROC, Dunbar, Dwyer, Devitt(finger) and I'm sure to forgetting someone. Other counties would have the same issues too as they play so many games bu for a small squad like ours we really were found out.

Like other counties we have lads that could be in the panel but aren't. I'm thinking of Breen, Nolan and Joe O Connor (where is he does anyone know)

Anyway lets hope some of the u20s come through next year to compliment what is already an excellent first 18 or 19 players.

Up Wexford!"
If this is true - fair play to him

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 547 - 20/06/2022 10:10:39    2426271

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Was this seen on TV or live? Was it intentional?"
I saw it live and was intentional. The reason I saw it I was looking for tk as ye were on a break and I was looking to see where he was. He tried to pick him up and Shane was obviously in a lot off pain.

Wexfordgaa (Wexford) - Posts: 256 - 20/06/2022 10:18:56    2426273

Replying To Wexfordgaa:  "I saw it live and was intentional. The reason I saw it I was looking for tk as ye were on a break and I was looking to see where he was. He tried to pick him up and Shane was obviously in a lot off pain."
Out of character if it is true and I would be disappointed with TK.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 20/06/2022 10:25:13    2426277

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Just rewatched it to see, doesn't seem it was shown in TV. Only the aftermath, which was Shane on the ground with an ice pack on his private parts. Saw a Cork lad call it out on Twitter too so presumably he saw it happen and felt it was intentional. Cowardly by TK,"
You cant say you didnt see it and call TK a coward.

I also saw a comment from a Wexford fan yesterday saying he saw it and it was unintentional so before Tony gets lynched the facts would have to be established.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 20/06/2022 10:31:47    2426281

Replying To WEXILE_AGAIN:  "I hear Egan is keeping the u20s on over the summer to work with them. No harm as our injuries really exposed the lack of dept all through this campaign. We really struggled with key men injured this year and its not just one or two of em we really had a few struggling this year. From memory we had:

Chin
O'Keefe
Ryan (up til KK game)
Murphy
Bailey
S.Reck
Morris

Up Wexford!"
Great to see Darragh is planning for next season already! Breen would be around 33 now he won't be back. Joe O Connor went travelling for the year as did Aidan Nolan. Not sure where they went I don't know the lads but even if I did I wouldn't be posting their whereabouts on a forum!!!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/06/2022 10:37:28    2426284

I saw it. I was front row in the old stand right across from it. Shane looked in agony. Don't think it was intentional though.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/06/2022 10:38:33    2426285

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Just rewatched it to see, doesn't seem it was shown in TV. Only the aftermath, which was Shane on the ground with an ice pack on his private parts. Saw a Cork lad call it out on Twitter too so presumably he saw it happen and felt it was intentional. Cowardly by TK,"
Didn't look intentional. Both were running full tilt. Shane just behind Tony chasing him.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/06/2022 10:40:05    2426286

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "You cant say you didnt see it and call TK a coward.

I also saw a comment from a Wexford fan yesterday saying he saw it and it was unintentional so before Tony gets lynched the facts would have to be established."
That was me. When you are running with a hurl it goes back and forward with your arm. There didn't seem to be a pronounced swing backwards. Wex98 knows Shane personally. I'd say only Shane and Tony know the real truth.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 20/06/2022 10:42:27    2426288

Replying To Viking66:  "That was me. When you are running with a hurl it goes back and forward with your arm. There didn't seem to be a pronounced swing backwards. Wex98 knows Shane personally. I'd say only Shane and Tony know the real truth."
Cheers Viking. Glad to get some perspective from someone who actually saw it.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2474 - 20/06/2022 10:48:28    2426293

Would it be fair to say, Wexford are more than capable of winning a Leinster title, but probably not good enough to win an All Ireland.
Within Leinster everyone in the top four is as good as each other on any given day. You could miss out on qualification in the top three as easily as win the Leinster championship.
Next year we will be home to Kilkenny, Westmeath and Antrim (would need to check this) and away to Dublin and Galway.
Certain wins against Westmeath and Antrim, pick up at least one win on the road and beat Kilkenny on our home patch.
Be interesting to see who is Dublin manager by the time next year begins. Hard to see them sticking with Mattie Kenny for another year.
What are Wexford lacking to be genuine serious All Ireland contenders?
Consistency ?
Solid Free taker ?

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 20/06/2022 11:52:19    2426334

Replying To zinny:  "Time to move onto the club scene, do we have a thred for that? When do we now expect to start, two weeks? RoC and Chin could be doubtful for the Start"
4th of July I heard, with an extra week for the teams with players on county team I hear zinny. First week of July anyway.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1122 - 20/06/2022 11:52:48    2426335