Quinns

I've a certain amount of nostalgia for Quinns from my college days, and several nights out we had there.

Having said that, there's no doubt it was a kip, and I'd say I only actually went there on a match day maybe 2 or 3 times. Probably haven't been in the door since I was around 22 tbh.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 22/02/2021 10:06:09    2332396

An absolute dive. Pints watered down, manky toilets, too many sweaty wall to wall people squashed in on big match days. Loved it! :)

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/02/2021 10:46:09    2332406

Never drank in Quinn's, only in there as a kid, so I won't miss it and even when I was a child I always remember it being a kid.

Fagan's for the carvery is always our go to for food before a game in croker and a good pint and quality pub in general. Been to The Big Tree a few times. Good craic (you'll get that in any pub though) but a kip, so don't really miss it. Hogan Stand and Croke Park Hotel are good spots and you can't really go wrong with any of the pubs in Phibsboro tbh.

Regardless of where we go post match, it end ups being a pub crawl and many stops in the city center.

GerBo (Roscommon) - Posts: 79 - 22/02/2021 14:19:33    2332442

Never went to quinns(by the sound of it some experience).we drank in cusacks at opposite side of croke park..always found it to be a lively spot with a great pint,always a few dubs to greet people..after a match was better as it was some bit quieter and easier get a drink..very handy to as Luas could be got 10 mins away..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2228 - 22/02/2021 16:53:22    2332464

Always an iconic Pub before Matches id say it would take in €50K + on all Ireland Final day pity to hear its going for Apartments but I spose Demand ibn Capital is savage for Houses

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 891 - 22/02/2021 17:19:37    2332466

A divisive place as we're seeing with the opinions here, but like The Big Tree you can't deny that it was an institution! Being from Cavan I never had too many occasions to drink there on a match day, but I went to a few county colours nights when I was in DCU. Unfortunately with '06-'10 being a bit of low point for Cavan football, I was only able to garner the odd pity shift while wearing the Breffni jersey (or at least that's what I blamed it on at the time)!

TheBlackDeath (Cavan) - Posts: 73 - 22/02/2021 18:58:36    2332474

I recall reading that the big tree took in its biggest takings in one day ever the all ireland final 2018 Galway v Limerick. Just under 200 K. Not bad for one last hurrah before closing down.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 22/02/2021 20:49:08    2332479

I remember Quinns as McGoverns in my college days. It wasn't a place you'd take your mother. I much preferred Kennedy's and to a lesser extent McGraths. I don't think I ever set foot in Quinn's. For many years there has been only one pub for me on match days . That's Cleary's on Amiens Street. It's a wonderful pub.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 22/02/2021 21:51:11    2332486

Replying To Greengrass:  "I remember Quinns as McGoverns in my college days. It wasn't a place you'd take your mother. I much preferred Kennedy's and to a lesser extent McGraths. I don't think I ever set foot in Quinn's. For many years there has been only one pub for me on match days . That's Cleary's on Amiens Street. It's a wonderful pub."
I remember being served a pint there by the great David Beggy, I think he owned it at the time, early 90s.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/02/2021 22:24:39    2332492

Replying To realdub:  "I remember being served a pint there by the great David Beggy, I think he owned it at the time, early 90s."
In fact I think he was due to race a greyhound around that time, can't remember who won though, can you enlighten me Royaldunne? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 23/02/2021 00:35:12    2332498

saw the topic heading and was about to offer my congrats. But its quinns. not quins

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1060 - 23/02/2021 09:03:20    2332502

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I recall reading that the big tree took in its biggest takings in one day ever the all ireland final 2018 Galway v Limerick. Just under 200 K. Not bad for one last hurrah before closing down."
I used to call into the Big Tree for an odd pint during the week when I lived nearby. Used to play pool with the bar manager to while away a few hours. He once told me something similar. I can't recall which game it was that was played the previous weekend but it was a full house at Croke Park anyway. He that the day's takings would have you well on the way to building decent sized house!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/02/2021 10:00:46    2332505

Jaysus lads all this talk about the watering holes around Croker.

When will we see them beautiful match days again.

The matchday fry in the morning. The taxi into the Bridge Tavern. Few pints,.... then down to the Clonliffe for a quick fire pint before making your way over to Croker.

The Match!!!!!.....

Then accross to the Handball Alley afterwards..... few pints, a detailed debate about the match and an owl sing song!! Then back to the Clonliffe, few pints.... down to Bridge, few more.... Then finish the night off in the Celt!!!!

Ahhh god i miss those days

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 23/02/2021 10:47:59    2332513

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Jaysus lads all this talk about the watering holes around Croker.

The matchday fry in the morning. The taxi into the Bridge Tavern. Few pints,.... then down to the Clonliffe for a quick fire pint before making your way over to Croker.

The Match!!!!!.....

Then accross to the Handball Alley afterwards..... few pints, a detailed debate about the match and an owl sing song!! Then back to the Clonliffe, few pints.... down to Bridge, few more.... Then finish the night off in the Celt!!!!

Ahhh god i miss those days"
You're right lad.

It will be a great day the day we can enjoy a normal big day out in Croke Park again.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/02/2021 11:29:47    2332520

Replying To Lockjaw:  "You're right lad.

It will be a great day the day we can enjoy a normal big day out in Croke Park again."
As a Meath fan I've been saying that for 10 years Lockjaw!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/02/2021 12:10:37    2332525

Replying To Htaem:  "As a Meath fan I've been saying that for 10 years Lockjaw!"
Ha in fairness we haven't had too many big days there of late either. A couple of super 8 games, but I wouldn't have considered them proper Championship knock out games, although our draw with Kerry was a great aul battle.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/02/2021 12:22:30    2332526

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Ha in fairness we haven't had too many big days there of late either. A couple of super 8 games, but I wouldn't have considered them proper Championship knock out games, although our draw with Kerry was a great aul battle."
That was a quality game in fairness, there is still a bit of quality and steel about that Donegal team though, so big days out mightn't be too far away for yous.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/02/2021 12:47:19    2332530

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Jaysus lads all this talk about the watering holes around Croker.

The Match!!!!!.....

Ahhh god i miss those days"
Oh you have me dreaming Connolly. How we took it for granted. Looking forward to it from night before. Yeah a good breakfast and a few pints before the game mixing with crowds of supporters. Then into Croker the butterflies start appearing. Then the fame the after match breakdown of the game over another few pints. Oh how I miss it.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3678 - 23/02/2021 12:50:27    2332532

Replying To Htaem:  "That was a quality game in fairness, there is still a bit of quality and steel about that Donegal team though, so big days out mightn't be too far away for yous."
Need to figure out a way to win matches when things aren't going our way. We look great when we're on top and things are going to plan. But when teams throw a spanner in the works like Cavan did last year the heads went.

I'm expecting a bit more steel this year. Hopefully Stephen McMenamin will be fully fit and Odhrán McFadden-Ferry will be back from army duty. Fingers crossed Kieran Gillespie can finally get an injury free run as well. We have a lot of attacking options, especially now that MacNíallais is back as well, but just need a few pigs in the 15 and we might not be far away.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 23/02/2021 13:21:00    2332537

Replying To MesAmis:  "Quinns would be empty if it weren't for match days or country students during the week. Gets almost no local custom. That should tell you what you need to know. It was an expensive kip of the highest order.

I haven't been in Meaghers in years to be honest. There are hundreds of pubs within walking distance of Croker. Some great, some terrible but all of them cleaner than that kip."
McGoverns later named Quinns was a great pub in the 70's, 80's and the 90's - great pint, one of the best in Dublin and some great country folk frequented it on match day. McGrath's was also a good pub. Would have been in neither in the last 20 years. Hideout was also good and great craic in all those pubs in that era- Most of the Dubs stayed at home in that era!!
MesAmis you were probably in nappies and would not have been left in!. Owen Maguires on the top if Dorest St was another great pub-in fact some of the best pubs in that era were in the same street.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 23/02/2021 16:02:36    2332546