Quinns

im in stock, and to be honest a bit upset over it, manys the great day was had in there, waiting for it to open at 12.30 and leaving it at closing time at 10pm, the crowds in i!!!!!!!!!!!! i remember being told what their turnover was on a match day in the 90s it was staggering

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 20/02/2021 19:20:01    2332172

Awful, truly awful establisment.

Google 'Quinns Drumcondra Health risk' and you'll be glad you'll never darken its door again.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 20/02/2021 20:16:17    2332190

Replying To MesAmis:  "Awful, truly awful establisment.

Google 'Quinns Drumcondra Health risk' and you'll be glad you'll never darken its door again."
I wish I didn't, sounds horrific!!

Has Meaghers taken over as the main matchday spot now,? Just from Wexford's big games in 2019 alot seemed to go there. I was in the stadium early for the minor games

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 20/02/2021 20:52:01    2332200

Replying To MesAmis:  "Awful, truly awful establisment.

Google 'Quinns Drumcondra Health risk' and you'll be glad you'll never darken its door again."
us culchies loved it, we were used to health risks when we went to dublin

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 20/02/2021 21:02:38    2332204

Replying To wexico15:  "I wish I didn't, sounds horrific!!

Has Meaghers taken over as the main matchday spot now,? Just from Wexford's big games in 2019 alot seemed to go there. I was in the stadium early for the minor games"
Quinns would be empty if it weren't for match days or country students during the week. Gets almost no local custom. That should tell you what you need to know. It was an expensive kip of the highest order.

I haven't been in Meaghers in years to be honest. There are hundreds of pubs within walking distance of Croker. Some great, some terrible but all of them cleaner than that kip.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 20/02/2021 23:53:58    2332230

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "us culchies loved it, we were used to health risks when we went to dublin"
Yous deserved better than what yous got there though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 20/02/2021 23:55:25    2332232

I could never understand the fascination with Quinns when I lived in Drumcondra and saw it packed out every matchday. A horrible pub with woeful pints.

McGraths was so superior to Quinns in every way.

Meaghers is a grand pub. Used to live down Richmond Road for a spell and it became our local. A decent feed in there too with the carvery lunches.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 21/02/2021 10:03:26    2332249

Had some great days in there before games years ago (rarely went back in after games though) but the pints were atrocious, stopped going to it around 9-10 years ago.

So basically feck the loss!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/02/2021 11:37:16    2332257

Replying To Htaem:  "Had some great days in there before games years ago (rarely went back in after games though) but the pints were atrocious, stopped going to it around 9-10 years ago.

So basically feck the loss!"
Went into it once. Never again. Could never understand the fascination with it.
Now ok there was another very run down establishment that I loved (the pints were good) and only about 6 Meath people (mostly us ) vs hundreds of dubs. It was called the hideout (think it's long since demolished) always told if u go in there u will get killed never had a bit of trouble in in it apart from once when 4 young lads thought they'd have a go at us , before we even could respond to them 6 hefty dubs supporters who we had been arguing with over football back and forward (in good spirits) stood up grabbed them by the scruff of the neck and literally carrying them out the door. Soundest people you could meet ,ahh ffs they use to shout to lad behind bar did yis not bar these culchies ,every time we walked in on match day, the barman would respond they spend more in here in one afternoon than you wud spend in a month u gbag. And so it went on.
I remember I brought herself there after years of not been in it, she nearly died and told me if I ever went there again she'd divorce me. It was a kip. But it was our kip in a way

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/02/2021 12:00:48    2332265

Replying To royaldunne:  "Went into it once. Never again. Could never understand the fascination with it.
Now ok there was another very run down establishment that I loved (the pints were good) and only about 6 Meath people (mostly us ) vs hundreds of dubs. It was called the hideout (think it's long since demolished) always told if u go in there u will get killed never had a bit of trouble in in it apart from once when 4 young lads thought they'd have a go at us , before we even could respond to them 6 hefty dubs supporters who we had been arguing with over football back and forward (in good spirits) stood up grabbed them by the scruff of the neck and literally carrying them out the door. Soundest people you could meet ,ahh ffs they use to shout to lad behind bar did yis not bar these culchies ,every time we walked in on match day, the barman would respond they spend more in here in one afternoon than you wud spend in a month u gbag. And so it went on.
I remember I brought herself there after years of not been in it, she nearly died and told me if I ever went there again she'd divorce me. It was a kip. But it was our kip in a way"
The Hideout reopened in 2017 iirc.

Not sure what the story will be post Covid obviously.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 21/02/2021 13:47:45    2332279

Replying To royaldunne:  "Went into it once. Never again. Could never understand the fascination with it.
I remember I brought herself there after years of not been in it, she nearly died and told me if I ever went there again she'd divorce me. It was a kip. But it was our kip in a way"
Great story lad! Tbh I never drank around Croker I always seem to be the driver!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11734 - 21/02/2021 13:49:56    2332280

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "im in stock, and to be honest a bit upset over it, manys the great day was had in there, waiting for it to open at 12.30 and leaving it at closing time at 10pm, the crowds in i!!!!!!!!!!!! i remember being told what their turnover was on a match day in the 90s it was staggering"
You're upset over this!!!! Lord jeez what was there to like about it other than being a handy location. An absolutely filthy kip. Honestly I'd prefer to go knacker drinking on the canal and take me chances with the winos than go into that hole.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1412 - 21/02/2021 14:52:13    2332288

Quinns was a kip and a dive, as a local I wouldn't be seen dead in it. On the few occasions I had the misfortune to be in there it was grim, certainly not for a Dub. My abiding memory is of middle aged lonely country builders on the prowl for a bit of gratification, be it drink or something else either way thank god its gone.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 21/02/2021 16:20:30    2332298

It served its purpose to a reasonable degree. You would need a boat to get into the toilets when it was packed. Decent aul country dinners in the upstairs part too. If ya wanted good booze in that area you'd head next door to McGraths or up the road to Hedigans, then waddle down to McGowans for a bit of jiving. The decline of Dorset St is a sight to behold.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 21/02/2021 16:41:25    2332303

Haha good man royaldunne, must have a few pints with you some day before a game and start an aul riot, nothing serious now, just a few stools across he bar and stuff.

I was never in the Hideout, but I've heard if it, some of my mates used to go into it. I don't really mind where I drink before a game any more to be honeat, I've been in The Red Parrott, McGraths, Hogan Stand Bar (probably my favourite 3 pubs), Sunset House (looks rough but was alright inside), Big Tree (nearly as big of a kip as Quinns in my opinion) and Croke Park hotel etc

Never been in Gills for some strange reason though.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 21/02/2021 16:43:40    2332304

Hard to get into Quinn's on big match days,not the best pints either. McGrath's a much better pub - Red Parrot was not great either on match days and the Big Tree was rough enough too. Sunset House had great pints and my favourite. Not far from Croker. Pints in Croker are not too bad.
Quinn's was full of country lads during the week... Of course if you go back a bit it was called McGoverns and it was a long walk to the back! Still was a wild place on big match days in 70's and 80's.
A hard place to get into and a harder place to leave!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1820 - 21/02/2021 17:43:35    2332310

Never darkened its door. Looked like a right hole and I'd imagine you'd be getting all sorts of slop served up.
The Big Tree is another spot that I wouldn't have much time for and no harm it's gone. These types of bigger loud kips wouldn't be what I'd be after in a pup in fairness so match days you'd be hard pressed to find a spot where you could enjoy a few quite pints without some gobsh1te bawling within earshot or some cackling oul yoke making a racket with a few vodkas in her.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 21/02/2021 17:52:26    2332311

When I came to Dublin first Quinns was a trendy enough spot in a Thursday night a bit like McGowan of phibsboro but went downhill rapid. Have nt had a drink in it in over 25 years.It was an iconic building though so it's a little sad to see it go for those reasons. Big tree another very trendy bar at first but became another Kip. Gills owned by the gaa now and only opens for matches and concerts. Good drink there. I enjoy The parrot for a drink or two before Croker but the pints in Croker very good too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 21/02/2021 22:44:34    2332372

Gutted to hear about this. Many the great Wednesday and Thursday night was had in there. Some stories to tell. Obviously not everyones cup of tea from the posts here but had some laugh there and some great memories and stories.
A sad day to hear this news.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 22/02/2021 04:21:17    2332383

Never darkened the door of quinns and never understood it

McGraths, easily the best pub around croker on match day. Been going there since god was a boy. And not for turning on it.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 22/02/2021 09:53:37    2332395