Lesser Names We Neutrals Forget - Yet They Are Winners

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "From Kerry two players come to mind.A guy called Billy O Sullivan from Laune rangers won an all Ireland under 21 with Kerry beating Tyrone in the final in the early 90 s.He scored 4 goals and a point but never made it with the seniors.Also a fella called Paddy Curran from Waterville .He played minor for Kerry for 2 or 3 years and was full forward in 2006 all Ireland minor final v Roscommon.He was a class act and was touted as the next great Kerry forward.however he had 2 0r 3 cruciates and a string of injuries and had had to retire at a very young age."
I marked Paddy in one of his come back games, I was full back and he was full forward, you could see he was minding himself but he was class, I recall he knocking in an outrageous point off his right from a mad angle but he didn't want to engage in anything physical the same evening,

I remember in the pub after, this was in a time when the traveling team went to the pub and received sandwiches, tea/coffee in the host local pub, anyway I has a good chat with him after and I recall wishing him well in his recovery, unfort heard he buckled the knee the next weekend and another year was gone.

He was on the same minor team as David Moran and Tommy Walsh, a serious talent but injuries just flowed him.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/01/2021 22:02:38    2326725

Replying To Horsebox77:  "I marked Paddy in one of his come back games, I was full back and he was full forward, you could see he was minding himself but he was class, I recall he knocking in an outrageous point off his right from a mad angle but he didn't want to engage in anything physical the same evening,

I remember in the pub after, this was in a time when the traveling team went to the pub and received sandwiches, tea/coffee in the host local pub, anyway I has a good chat with him after and I recall wishing him well in his recovery, unfort heard he buckled the knee the next weekend and another year was gone.

He was on the same minor team as David Moran and Tommy Walsh, a serious talent but injuries just flowed him."
I hope it was nt you that buckled his knee Horsebox lol.Seriously you are correct.he was a gem of a player but so so unlucky with injuries.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 08/01/2021 22:17:41    2326732

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Did you ever see Dan Doona from Beaufort play mick? He was some operator but Jack O'Connor treated him very harshly.

And Jack ferriter from my own club was fantastic as well."
Jack had serious should we issues though and never really made the breakthrough bar a few national league displays

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/01/2021 22:21:13    2326735

Of course again from Kerry we had Barry John Walsh (tommy s younger brother).he was a brilliant minor and won a senior all Ireland as a sub in 2009 at 19years old.However he wanted to travel the world and off he went.He played very little club football afterwards.A much faster version of Tommy and a better scorer.A big loss to Kerry.I remember the last line in Darragh O se s book.He states that as he left the pitch after being substituted for the last few minutes in the 2009 fall Ireland final v Cork he sat beside Barry John Walsh and said im finished (he knew he was retiring) Im the past and Barry John is the future.Alas it was nt to be.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 08/01/2021 22:31:06    2326738

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I remember the names you mention above, Brian Farrell in particular was one whom had everything, he reminded me of Kerry player Brian Sheehan in ways...natural skill and ability, strong and well well able to score...Cian Ward made a bit of comeback one time but it never really amounted to anything..Meath had a great midfielder there for many years, I think he ended up full back at the end..cannot think of his name...he was a guaranteed starter every match and was a great player...it was hardly Keoghan..Ime thinking Liam someone...and its not Hayes I know when he played etc..tried googling around 2002/3 but nothing came up..."
Only one I can think who went from midfield to full back was Anthony Moyles.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 09/01/2021 00:42:33    2326753

Lot of lads from Kilkenny team of the 2000s would fall into this.

Cha had 4/5 All Irelands when he retired was only around 26 or so.

Willie O Dwyer. Played in the 2007 final against Limerick. Was gone soon enough after only to come back playing with Kerry for a few years.

John Mulhall was another. Think he played with Kildare at some point?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 09/01/2021 12:15:31    2326774

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I remember the names you mention above, Brian Farrell in particular was one whom had everything, he reminded me of Kerry player Brian Sheehan in ways...natural skill and ability, strong and well well able to score...Cian Ward made a bit of comeback one time but it never really amounted to anything..Meath had a great midfielder there for many years, I think he ended up full back at the end..cannot think of his name...he was a guaranteed starter every match and was a great player...it was hardly Keoghan..Ime thinking Liam someone...and its not Hayes I know when he played etc..tried googling around 2002/3 but nothing came up..."
Kevin Reilly?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12115 - 09/01/2021 12:58:49    2326777

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Did you ever see Dan Doona from Beaufort play mick? He was some operator but Jack O'Connor treated him very harshly.

And Jack ferriter from my own club was fantastic as well."
Yes I remember Dan Doona. He was a fine footballer. He was on the verge of the Kerry team in the mid noughties but got his jaw broken which set him back. He then went to US where he played for New York a few times before slipping away from football. Yea Jack Ferriter another excellent underage star that did nt make the senior scene.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 09/01/2021 14:38:01    2326788

Replying To Breffni40:  "Kevin Reilly?"
Well Breffni imo Kevin Reilly really did make it albeit retired too young. An outstanding full back. As good as I've seen.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 09/01/2021 14:40:38    2326789

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes I remember Dan Doona. He was a fine footballer. He was on the verge of the Kerry team in the mid noughties but got his jaw broken which set him back. He then went to US where he played for New York a few times before slipping away from football. Yea Jack Ferriter another excellent underage star that did nt make the senior scene."
I remember Jack Ferriter, he was some talent but was always a sub, then just dissapeared, I had forgotten about him to be honest, what year are we talking about with him playing??

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 15/01/2021 22:37:16    2327657

Replying To Breffni40:  "Kevin Reilly?"
Anthony Moyles is the man I am thinking of, how long was he playing with Meath, seems like a life time with Meath, on their worst day he would be to the fore of battle for them...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 15/01/2021 22:38:59    2327658

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I remember Jack Ferriter, he was some talent but was always a sub, then just dissapeared, I had forgotten about him to be honest, what year are we talking about with him playing??"
Hi Fair play. Jack captained Kerry minors to all ireland in 94 and has 1 or 2 u21 medals also. He played league for Kerry but never made championship team.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 15/01/2021 22:58:15    2327663

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Of course again from Kerry we had Barry John Walsh (tommy s younger brother).he was a brilliant minor and won a senior all Ireland as a sub in 2009 at 19years old.However he wanted to travel the world and off he went.He played very little club football afterwards.A much faster version of Tommy and a better scorer.A big loss to Kerry.I remember the last line in Darragh O se s book.He states that as he left the pitch after being substituted for the last few minutes in the 2009 fall Ireland final v Cork he sat beside Barry John Walsh and said im finished (he knew he was retiring) Im the past and Barry John is the future.Alas it was nt to be."
Good shout. I was very friendly with Barry John in Melbourne around 2010/2011 the man had the biggest calf muscles I ever seen. Through him and a few more tralee lads I often met Tommy who was with St Kilda at the time and an absolute gentleman man. Couldn't speak higher of the fella. Think BJ settled in San Fran after his Australia trip and is still there. Was highly rated and played soccer for Ireland underage aswel.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1142 - 16/01/2021 00:12:44    2327673

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Good shout. I was very friendly with Barry John in Melbourne around 2010/2011 the man had the biggest calf muscles I ever seen. Through him and a few more tralee lads I often met Tommy who was with St Kilda at the time and an absolute gentleman man. Couldn't speak higher of the fella. Think BJ settled in San Fran after his Australia trip and is still there. Was highly rated and played soccer for Ireland underage aswel."
Thanks Sourmilk. Very kind words indeed. Never met either Tommy or Barry John but heard they were two sound lads. Their Dad Sean had massive thighs and calf muscles too.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 16/01/2021 13:21:56    2327696

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Good shout. I was very friendly with Barry John in Melbourne around 2010/2011 the man had the biggest calf muscles I ever seen. Through him and a few more tralee lads I often met Tommy who was with St Kilda at the time and an absolute gentleman man. Couldn't speak higher of the fella. Think BJ settled in San Fran after his Australia trip and is still there. Was highly rated and played soccer for Ireland underage aswel."
Good story. I get the feeling talking to friends that the past year and year to come has shown them life is short and dedicating your entire 20s and 30s to club football which has become almost 24/7 is ridiculous.

I think lads are beginning to see there is more to life. Some will want to love abroad for a year or two...others will want to travel on holidays during the summer months and not be tied to the club.

The split season will hopefully make the GAA season for club players much shorter because the way it went the last few years was crazy.

Club football should be a pastime and fun. Yes we all want to win but at what cost?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 16/01/2021 23:00:18    2327770

Replying To yew_tree:  "Good story. I get the feeling talking to friends that the past year and year to come has shown them life is short and dedicating your entire 20s and 30s to club football which has become almost 24/7 is ridiculous.

I think lads are beginning to see there is more to life. Some will want to love abroad for a year or two...others will want to travel on holidays during the summer months and not be tied to the club.

The split season will hopefully make the GAA season for club players much shorter because the way it went the last few years was crazy.

Club football should be a pastime and fun. Yes we all want to win but at what cost?"
Alot of truth in what you say Yewtree but if lads do travel at the expense of their sport. I hope they ve no regrets later in life.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 17/01/2021 10:58:52    2327794

Replying To yew_tree:  "Good story. I get the feeling talking to friends that the past year and year to come has shown them life is short and dedicating your entire 20s and 30s to club football which has become almost 24/7 is ridiculous.

Club football should be a pastime and fun. Yes we all want to win but at what cost?"
Absolutely. Gaelic games are a national treasure here and I hugely admire our players their dedication,, they make sacrifices I don't think any other sportspeople would,, unless they're being remunerated,, and I appreciate it so much but at the same time there is more to life and this craic of fellas giving up jobs to focus on county,, or young lads togging out for 7/8 different teams is too much at this stage and players should collectively get together and say stop.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1696 - 17/01/2021 14:16:37    2327808

Replying To Galway9801:  "Absolutely. Gaelic games are a national treasure here and I hugely admire our players their dedication,, they make sacrifices I don't think any other sportspeople would,, unless they're being remunerated,, and I appreciate it so much but at the same time there is more to life and this craic of fellas giving up jobs to focus on county,, or young lads togging out for 7/8 different teams is too much at this stage and players should collectively get together and say stop."
I think it's easier if your a high profile county player. You do ok in terms of getting a "nice" job, sponsorship, endowments, free stuff and maybe even a sponsored car from the local car dealer.

However this is the top 1% of players. Club players have become disillusioned with the game. On the flip side it's great to part of a team and club. I found it very important to be part of something last year when there was basically nothing else to do.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 17/01/2021 15:43:27    2327815

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think it's easier if your a high profile county player. You do ok in terms of getting a "nice" job, sponsorship, endowments, free stuff and maybe even a sponsored car from the local car dealer.

However this is the top 1% of players. Club players have become disillusioned with the game. On the flip side it's great to part of a team and club. I found it very important to be part of something last year when there was basically nothing else to do."
Definitely perks to it alright too ,, I guess the problem is that if everyone decides to take a step back and maybe focus more on mixing dedication to the club with a healthy outside life there's always gonna be one team who goes at it 100% and if success comes to them then everyone wise will follow.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1696 - 17/01/2021 16:07:26    2327818

Replying To Galway9801:  "Definitely perks to it alright too ,, I guess the problem is that if everyone decides to take a step back and maybe focus more on mixing dedication to the club with a healthy outside life there's always gonna be one team who goes at it 100% and if success comes to them then everyone wise will follow."
I don't blame or begrudge elite players getting perks. But in the interest of it being a "team" sport I love the story I heard from Kilkenny a few years ago...not sure if it's true maybe someone here can confirm.

A Kilkenny player was offered a new car and the dealer rang Cody to see if it was ok after the player said he would need to check with the boss. Cody said no problem but only in one condition....every player in the panel has to get a car ;)....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 18/01/2021 10:17:24    2327881