Lesser Names We Neutrals Forget - Yet They Are Winners

Brian Kelly -Kerry keeper in 2014 retired this week, I had to scratch my head to think who he was, Brian Kelly is goals for Kerry?????..then I looked him up, yeah got him now...some years ago someone asked who remembers Kevin Nolan playing for Dublin...and he did...no disrespect to anyone just showing the turn over of players in all counties how some good player retire relatively unnoticed outside their own county...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/01/2021 00:21:13    2326233

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Brian Kelly -Kerry keeper in 2014 retired this week, I had to scratch my head to think who he was, Brian Kelly is goals for Kerry?????..then I looked him up, yeah got him now...some years ago someone asked who remembers Kevin Nolan playing for Dublin...and he did...no disrespect to anyone just showing the turn over of players in all counties how some good player retire relatively unnoticed outside their own county..."
Nolan was man of the match in the 2011 final and scored a brilliant point at a vital time.
Illness ended his career with Dublin which was a real shame as he had a good few years ahead of him still.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/01/2021 09:40:29    2326242

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Brian Kelly -Kerry keeper in 2014 retired this week, I had to scratch my head to think who he was, Brian Kelly is goals for Kerry?????..then I looked him up, yeah got him now...some years ago someone asked who remembers Kevin Nolan playing for Dublin...and he did...no disrespect to anyone just showing the turn over of players in all counties how some good player retire relatively unnoticed outside their own county..."
honestly the vast majority of players just slip away,unnoticed.
i hate the big spiel announcing retirement to be honest.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/01/2021 10:34:33    2326248

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Nolan was man of the match in the 2011 final and scored a brilliant point at a vital time.
Illness ended his career with Dublin which was a real shame as he had a good few years ahead of him still."
thanks for that..any more Dublin players you can think of over the years who done a year or two and then left for someother reason....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/01/2021 10:42:19    2326250

Graham Reilly Meath

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 06/01/2021 11:06:56    2326253

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "thanks for that..any more Dublin players you can think of over the years who done a year or two and then left for someother reason...."
Couple of No.2 goalkeepers have come and gone during Cluxtons time too.
Stephen O Shaughnessy was a guy who was involved for a few years just before Pat Gilroys time but had a lot of injury problems too which I think were a big part of the reason he was not involved afterward.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/01/2021 11:53:54    2326270

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "thanks for that..any more Dublin players you can think of over the years who done a year or two and then left for someother reason...."
Kevin O'Brien is one. He captained the Dublin u21's to AI victory in 2012 and was a starter for the seniors all the way up to the final in 2013. He sustained an ACL injury in early 2014 and never really recovered from that.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/01/2021 12:06:46    2326272

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Couple of No.2 goalkeepers have come and gone during Cluxtons time too.
Stephen O Shaughnessy was a guy who was involved for a few years just before Pat Gilroys time but had a lot of injury problems too which I think were a big part of the reason he was not involved afterward."
Actually that's a good question, how many keepers over the years have been on the panel as Cluxton's back up? I assume there are a few that never kicked a ball and have an all Ireland, I know in Kerry I think in 2000 there are two lads that never kicked a ball that year and another two NK lads that were on the panel in 2009 that have medals.

I know that they put in the same work and sacrifice.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 06/01/2021 12:21:28    2326277

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Kevin O'Brien is one. He captained the Dublin u21's to AI victory in 2012 and was a starter for the seniors all the way up to the final in 2013. He sustained an ACL injury in early 2014 and never really recovered from that."
Jaysus, that's a good shout as I can't remember him at all!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 06/01/2021 14:20:27    2326294

Replying To Breffni40:  "Jaysus, that's a good shout as I can't remember him at all!"
If I mentioned "bitegate" it might jar your memory.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/01/2021 14:51:40    2326299

In terms of Dublin, is there a danger of Colm Basquel ending up in that category?

Hasn't exactly slipped through the cracks but would have 3 or 4 full championship campaigns under his belt if he was with any other county.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 06/01/2021 15:15:41    2326304

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Actually that's a good question, how many keepers over the years have been on the panel as Cluxton's back up? I assume there are a few that never kicked a ball and have an all Ireland, I know in Kerry I think in 2000 there are two lads that never kicked a ball that year and another two NK lads that were on the panel in 2009 that have medals.

I know that they put in the same work and sacrifice."
Some names that spring to mind:

Bryan Murphy
Paul Copeland
Jason Leonard
Seán Currie
Shane Supple
Michael Savage
Lorcan Molloy
Evan Comerford

I thought Molloy looked a great prospect underage and thought he'd be Cluxton's biggest challenger. Alas, he seems to have dropped off the scene. I suppose St. Anne's haven't been very competitive in the upper echelons of Dublin football for a while which probably didn't help.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/01/2021 15:37:07    2326310

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Nolan was man of the match in the 2011 final and scored a brilliant point at a vital time.
Illness ended his career with Dublin which was a real shame as he had a good few years ahead of him still."
Yes Dubh linn. Hé h ad diabetes and moved to Monaghan a few years ago. He made himself available to Monaghan a few years ago but nothing came of it. A very solid player for Dublin.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 06/01/2021 15:37:37    2326311

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Kevin O'Brien is one. He captained the Dublin u21's to AI victory in 2012 and was a starter for the seniors all the way up to the final in 2013. He sustained an ACL injury in early 2014 and never really recovered from that."
I'm fairly certain that Ó Brien s career was ended by Gavin and not himself. At least that's what I was told by a Ballymun man but maybe he was wrong.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 06/01/2021 15:40:35    2326312

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Actually that's a good question, how many keepers over the years have been on the panel as Cluxton's back up? I assume there are a few that never kicked a ball and have an all Ireland, I know in Kerry I think in 2000 there are two lads that never kicked a ball that year and another two NK lads that were on the panel in 2009 that have medals.

Not sure how many keepers were number 2 to Cluxton but funny enough before Comerford the last Goalie to play championship in goals for Dublin was a Kerryman. I think he was Murphy in 02vor 03 when Cluxton was suspended I think.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 06/01/2021 15:43:23    2326313

Craig Dias. I think he was back on the Dublin panel before they lockdown last March. An All Ireland medal in 2011

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 06/01/2021 15:50:50    2326315

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I'm fairly certain that Ó Brien s career was ended by Gavin and not himself. At least that's what I was told by a Ballymun man but maybe he was wrong."
Well he played most of 2013 matches, missed pretty much all of 2014 with injury but was back in the panel in 2015 and 2016 without playing. I just think he wasn't the same player after injury and wasn't on the panel in 2017 so I suppose it was Gavin that ended his Dublin career, though he appeared to give KOB ample opportunity to prove himself. We can only speculate as to how long he would have lasted if he didn't sustain the injury but he'd certainly made a very promising start to his career.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 06/01/2021 16:14:48    2326320

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Well he played most of 2013 matches, missed pretty much all of 2014 with injury but was back in the panel in 2015 and 2016 without playing. I just think he wasn't the same player after injury and wasn't on the panel in 2017 so I suppose it was Gavin that ended his Dublin career, though he appeared to give KOB ample opportunity to prove himself. We can only speculate as to how long he would have lasted if he didn't sustain the injury but he'd certainly made a very promising start to his career."
any other counties out there want to throw in their own players...thanks all so far..interesting stuff...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/01/2021 16:36:52    2326325

He's seen a few understudies come and go alright. You can't blame them moving on I suppose and it might be different if he had been any less of a mainstay over the years.
Yes, the graft is the same for the guys that don't get game time alright but it must be a bitter sweet one for them.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/01/2021 16:38:54    2326326

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Dubh linn. Hé h ad diabetes and moved to Monaghan a few years ago. He made himself available to Monaghan a few years ago but nothing came of it. A very solid player for Dublin."
That's it CiarraiMick , he was super that day and the Diabetes really knocked him back. Terrible that he never really got back to those heights but at least he got to taste the thrill of the day and winning an All Ireland.
Some great players never do.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/01/2021 16:52:50    2326330