The Fairness Of Playing Laois V Dublin In Croke Park

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To Fionn:  "This is similar to what I posted also:

I would love to play in Croker, empty or full, instead of being forced to play in a regional ground....
It is what all kids/adults aspire to - playing in Croke Park. Something you would never turn down.
Imagine going through your career and only playing in provincial grounds - you would be fairly annoyed if you had the opportunity taken from you at some stage by your County Board...
So for a young Laois player for example - how many times will they get to play in Croke Park, not many I would think if some people had their way...

Look, the only way this will not be an issue for some is if Dublin stop playing most of their games in Croker.
Otherwise the whinging will never end....!
We need our own fit for purpose stadium - simple as.
Then Leinster Semi Finals & Finals, AI Semi Finals and AI Finals with Dublin playing there will soon not be an issue...

I have advocated for a long time on here that we no longer play our League games in Croker - that would be a start imo."
im not sure you get it Fionn.its called sport and the essence of sport is fairness.People are only looking for fair play.Of course players want to play in croke park but if they thought they had a better chance of winning at home im sure they would prefer that.its not even croke park,When counties are given home venue v Dublin they are being told to play in neutral grounds.Now that's wrong.When counties ask for a level playing field straight away some Dublin people think its an anti Dublin thing but its not.If the shoe was on the other foot you might understand.John Costello got on his high horse with Doegal calling them"Mean spirited" but all they wanted was fair play.they drew the short straw and played two away games in reality cos the Dublin game in croker was deemed neutral.I have always believed in fairness in every walk of life.In Munster for years Cork and Kerry were seeded to meet in finals thus being totally unfair on the other 4 counties.The Gaa said it was nt about money.it was the best two teams to make a final interesting.Pure cowdung.the reason was if Kerry and Cork met in an early round the price would be low but in a provincial final the tickets could be highly priced.IT was nt Kerry or Cork s fault the same way this is nt Dublins fault but it is wrong.Sport aside would nt it be great post covi for Dulin to be playin in Portlaoise and the pubs restaurants cafes all getting a few euro out of it."
Oh I get you alright.... You would swear we made the rules ffs....

Leinster counties voted on it - take it up with them.

Never heard you or any other kerry person complain about Dublin when we were winning sfa and still playing in Croker.

So I am not sure you get it - it is called not being happy because you are not winning....

Like I said - going around in circles....

Let the GAA change the rules - it wont make any difference to us, but giving out about it and still voting for it... well that says it all now doesnt it...

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 18/11/2020 21:51:10    2311248

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Yes Bad Monkey.Of course if Dublin have home advantage then its up to them where they want to play and the obvious is Croker."
You are a gas man Mick - relatively new on here but the vast majority of your posts are about Dublin....

Did you get that stick to beat us with for your birthday or something..... lol

Or maybe it is a baton you kerry lads pass around and take turns using... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 18/11/2020 22:02:33    2311256

Replying To catch22:  "
Replying To Crinigan:  "[quote=Fionn:  "This is similar to what I posted also:

I would love to play in Croker, empty or full, instead of being forced to play in a regional ground....
It is what all kids/adults aspire to - playing in Croke Park. Something you would never turn down.
Imagine going through your career and only playing in provincial grounds - you would be fairly annoyed if you had the opportunity taken from you at some stage by your County Board...
So for a young Laois player for example - how many times will they get to play in Croke Park, not many I would think if some people had their way...

Look, the only way this will not be an issue for some is if Dublin stop playing most of their games in Croker.
Then Leinster Semi Finals & Finals, AI Semi Finals and AI Finals with Dublin playing there will soon not be an issue...

I have advocated for a long time on here that we no longer play our League games in Croker - that would be a start imo."
They should play the Leinster final in Drogheda for the craic. That'd level the playing field fairly quick. Dubs wouldn't be used to a pitch like that and stewards etc not bowing to their every need."
Or Navan maybe , another dive if ever there was one. Drogheda is a grand spot altogether sure."]Navan not a great stadium and I hate the dressing rooms.

Probably best pitch in the country though.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 18/11/2020 22:22:24    2311266

Replying To Fionn:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Fionn:  "This is similar to what I posted also:

im not sure you get it Fionn.its called sport and the essence of sport is fairness.People are only looking for fair play.Of course players want to play in croke park but if they thought they had a better chance of winning at home im sure they would prefer that.its not even croke park,When counties are given home venue v Dublin they are being told to play in neutral grounds.Now that's wrong.When counties ask for a level playing field straight away some Dublin people think its an anti Dublin thing but its not.If the shoe was on the other foot you might understand.John Costello got on his high horse with Doegal calling them"Mean spirited" but all they wanted was fair play.they drew the short straw and played two away games in reality cos the Dublin game in croker was deemed neutral.I have always believed in fairness in every walk of life.In Munster for years Cork and Kerry were seeded to meet in finals thus being totally unfair on the other 4 counties.The Gaa said it was nt about money.it was the best two teams to make a final interesting.Pure cowdung.the reason was if Kerry and Cork met in an early round the price would be low but in a provincial final the tickets could be highly priced.IT was nt Kerry or Cork s fault the same way this is nt Dublins fault but it is wrong.Sport aside would nt it be great post covi for Dulin to be playin in Portlaoise and the pubs restaurants cafes all getting a few euro out of it."
Oh I get you alright.... You would swear we made the rules ffs....

Leinster counties voted on it - take it up with them.

Never heard you or any other kerry person complain about Dublin when we were winning sfa and still playing in Croker.

So I am not sure you get it - it is called not being happy because you are not winning....

Like I said - going around in circles....

Let the GAA change the rules - it wont make any difference to us, but giving out about it and still voting for it... well that says it all now doesnt it..."]To be honest Fionn it does nt cost me any sleep.i have no problem with Dublin playing in croker personally,Actually it suits mea bit but you re taking it personal.as ive said before its not a rant against Dublin.its about fairness and yes county boards are to blame also.i know for a fact a few years ago county boards were given sweeteners by the gaa to vote for the croker issue when Donegal complained and I also know my own county Kerry voted I for Dublin to play in croke park.Cork complained in 83 and got their replay moved to Cork although that did nt end too well for them.of course people don't complain when winning.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 18/11/2020 22:33:40    2311271

Replying To Fionn:  "You are a gas man Mick - relatively new on here but the vast majority of your posts are about Dublin....

Or maybe it is a baton you kerry lads pass around and take turns using... ;o)"
Glad you think im funny Fionn but I think you might be a bit paranoid.i have the utmost respect for Dublin.i think they are a fantastic team with fantastic individual players too,i love watching them play (albeit not against Kerry)and I have total admiration for them,I actually don't like when people say they only win cos of money croker etc.that sort of rubbish is called excuses.Ijust believe in fair play and if that means that a team getshome advantage thatmakes me happy.its the same with Kerry.i spoke out about Kerry Mayo inLimerick in 14as it was unfair on Mayo.So Fionn for the last time its not against Dublin (or Kerry either).Just because I dont agree with a topic does nt mean anything really.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 18/11/2020 23:14:21    2311280

Replying To Fionn:  "You are a gas man Mick - relatively new on here but the vast majority of your posts are about Dublin....

Or maybe it is a baton you kerry lads pass around and take turns using... ;o)"
I think you might need a timeout little fionn you seem a bit over excited..

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2020 07:49:52    2311296

Replying To Malonemagic:  "Not that it would make any difference to the outcome, but can anyone explain the fairness of playing Laois v Dublin in Croke Park today ?"
I'd imagine it was played there for logistical reasons. Why have two venues for games when they can both be held in the same venue. It makes so much more sense from an organisational point of view, there's only one tv crew required so resources don't have to be split, same as ground staff etc. Then, if there's only going to be one venue used, Croke Park is the obvious choice due to facilities for multiple teams, facilities for tv, logistics for the teams, staff, tv to get there etc. It does appear that Laois drew the short straw from this scenario but, from a purely logical perspective, it's hard to argue with the setup that was chosen.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 21/11/2020 17:04:55    2312071