The Fairness Of Playing Laois V Dublin In Croke Park

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "First of all I agree Dublin would play where they are asked and why wouldn't they take advantage of playing 99% of their games in croker?
Its easily worth a few points per game and there is no county going to turn that down!
That been said there isn't another sport in the world where this would happen.
Imagine Manchester United playing all their fa Cup and champions league games in Old Trafford not a chance.
Looking at the leinster championship it doesn't matter where it is played Dublin will win anyway but its the feel of croker and its surroundings that the Dublin players pick up and that is invaluable come the semis and the final.
Eg. this year when Cavan or Donegal play Dublin in the semis it will be Dublins 3rd game there in a row I know if its Donegal and the game v Dublin was in ballybofey I know who'd I'd be putting my money on.
There was no excuse for the laois game been in croke Park reverting back to the spin from the gaa that there's not enough room in parnell Park for the supporters. Covid = no supporters but still get the advantage to become even more accustomed to it before the semis . Dublin are the cash machine of the gaa and fair enough if that's the way they want it but to me it has to be a win for Dublin at all costs."
No need whatsoever for this year's semi finals to be played in Croke Park. A Donegal v Dublin/Meath could be played in Breffni for example.

TheFean (Cavan) - Posts: 28 - 17/11/2020 20:31:54    2310818

Replying To Malonemagic:  "So why not play it in Portlaoise? The pitch is smaller for a start and that does make a difference."
Do teams get to make those decisions

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 17/11/2020 20:49:25    2310832

Replying To Fionn:  "At the rate people are going, Dublin should never play in Croker, oh and taken out of Leinster, oh and split in 2 also....
It is like putting someone in a large barrel and asking them to stand in the corner - forever going around in circles..."
Fionn. No one is saying that. Of course Dublin should play in Croker but in rotation. If teams get home advantage they should be able to use it
If Dublin get home draw then it's up to them to play in Parnell or Croker. Of course finals to be played in Croker.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 17/11/2020 20:53:59    2310835

Replying To Malonemagic:  "So why not play it in Portlaoise? The pitch is smaller for a start and that does make a difference."
Why not get on to the powers that be ? Dublin will play were they are told to play.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/11/2020 21:13:21    2310847

Replying To TheFean:  "No need whatsoever for this year's semi finals to be played in Croke Park. A Donegal v Dublin/Meath could be played in Breffni for example."
Yep true , so do something about it !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 17/11/2020 21:15:25    2310850

Replying To ulsterrules:  "Talk to your county board they where at the front of the line 15 years ago when they voted to move as many dublin games as possible to coke park. It was about promoting gaa in dublin with the added benefit of making dublin gaa as strong as they are. Money apparently does not get you success . So laois should be embarrassed about thier downwards spiral ."
Laois have been in the last two Leinster u21 finals so it's not like we are not getting our house in order . If Dublin were in ulster they would beat 7 counties by 15 plus points and the the top two teams by ten .

Ben (None) - Posts: 101 - 17/11/2020 21:16:17    2310852

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Fionn. No one is saying that. Of course Dublin should play in Croker but in rotation. If teams get home advantage they should be able to use it
If Dublin get home draw then it's up to them to play in Parnell or Croker. Of course finals to be played in Croker."
I think you will find that a certain poster from kerry wants Dublin out of Leinster and not allowed to play in Croke Park even in an AI Final.... check back on older topics....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 17/11/2020 21:17:22    2310854

Replying To Fionn:  "You know the bounce etc.....
Not a lot of bounce in Winter football now is there....."
True Fionn. Could be dangerous trying to bounce on a greasy surface. Stick with the solo I think lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 17/11/2020 21:45:08    2310864

It boils down to the simple fact that a phrase exists called " home advantage " . In every draw you will hear it being used. "X will have home advantage " in this one. The phrase "away advantage" simply does not exist. Dublin are an incredible team and would beat most teams with 13 men. Its not their fault. But in the interests of making it somewhat equitable or more of a contest, I dont see the need for them never to have an away match.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 765 - 17/11/2020 22:05:55    2310881

The decision for Dublin to play Leinster Championship games in Croke Park is made by the Leinster Council made up from delegates of each county. They always vote (including the Laois delegate) to keep the Dubs in Croke Park as it generates huge income which is then distributed back to all the counties in Leinster. These funds keeps the lights in many clubs particularly outside Dublin.

Contact your county board if you think it is unfair as it is their vote and the other counties votes which decide this.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 18/11/2020 09:29:11    2310933

Replying To Malonemagic:  "It boils down to the simple fact that a phrase exists called " home advantage " . In every draw you will hear it being used. "X will have home advantage " in this one. The phrase "away advantage" simply does not exist. Dublin are an incredible team and would beat most teams with 13 men. Its not their fault. But in the interests of making it somewhat equitable or more of a contest, I dont see the need for them never to have an away match."
Yes we get it , you have made your point several times , why dont you start with your own county board and hand in a letter stating your grievances ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 18/11/2020 10:10:58    2310953

Replying To bad.monkey:  "The decision for Dublin to play Leinster Championship games in Croke Park is made by the Leinster Council made up from delegates of each county. They always vote (including the Laois delegate) to keep the Dubs in Croke Park as it generates huge income which is then distributed back to all the counties in Leinster. These funds keeps the lights in many clubs particularly outside Dublin.

Contact your county board if you think it is unfair as it is their vote and the other counties votes which decide this."
How much was generated last week vs Laois in the Leinster semi final?

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 18/11/2020 12:25:31    2311015

So you would be happy to deny your county players the opportunity to play in Croke Park? Have you or anyone in the county asked the players? After all they are usually the last to be considered. And size has nothing to do with it you could dump gallons of water on pitch, let a herd of cattle run over it and there will be still some in the GAA that will say the Dubs walk on water.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/11/2020 15:27:11    2311099

Replying To arock:  "So you would be happy to deny your county players the opportunity to play in Croke Park? Have you or anyone in the county asked the players? After all they are usually the last to be considered. And size has nothing to do with it you could dump gallons of water on pitch, let a herd of cattle run over it and there will be still some in the GAA that will say the Dubs walk on water."
This is similar to what I posted also:

I would love to play in Croker, empty or full, instead of being forced to play in a regional ground....
It is what all kids/adults aspire to - playing in Croke Park. Something you would never turn down.
Imagine going through your career and only playing in provincial grounds - you would be fairly annoyed if you had the opportunity taken from you at some stage by your County Board...
So for a young Laois player for example - how many times will they get to play in Croke Park, not many I would think if some people had their way...

Look, the only way this will not be an issue for some is if Dublin stop playing most of their games in Croker.
Otherwise the whinging will never end....!
We need our own fit for purpose stadium - simple as.
Then Leinster Semi Finals & Finals, AI Semi Finals and AI Finals with Dublin playing there will soon not be an issue...

I have advocated for a long time on here that we no longer play our League games in Croker - that would be a start imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3724 - 18/11/2020 16:16:36    2311123

Replying To arock:  "So you would be happy to deny your county players the opportunity to play in Croke Park? Have you or anyone in the county asked the players? After all they are usually the last to be considered. And size has nothing to do with it you could dump gallons of water on pitch, let a herd of cattle run over it and there will be still some in the GAA that will say the Dubs walk on water."
Playing in Croker should be earned and just handed out to Leinster first rounders every year.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 18/11/2020 17:30:57    2311147

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "How much was generated last week vs Laois in the Leinster semi final?"
Zero. But blame the Leinster counties who vote for this situation, like Laois. I would like it to be which ever county is drawn out first gets home advantage. But it is silly to suggest like another poster did that if Dublin are home they couldn't use Croke Park. It would mean at least 30k fans miss out attending the game including all opposition county supporters.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 18/11/2020 20:12:06    2311196

Replying To Fionn:  "This is similar to what I posted also:

I would love to play in Croker, empty or full, instead of being forced to play in a regional ground....
It is what all kids/adults aspire to - playing in Croke Park. Something you would never turn down.
Imagine going through your career and only playing in provincial grounds - you would be fairly annoyed if you had the opportunity taken from you at some stage by your County Board...
So for a young Laois player for example - how many times will they get to play in Croke Park, not many I would think if some people had their way...

Look, the only way this will not be an issue for some is if Dublin stop playing most of their games in Croker.
Then Leinster Semi Finals & Finals, AI Semi Finals and AI Finals with Dublin playing there will soon not be an issue...

I have advocated for a long time on here that we no longer play our League games in Croker - that would be a start imo."
They should play the Leinster final in Drogheda for the craic. That'd level the playing field fairly quick. Dubs wouldn't be used to a pitch like that and stewards etc not bowing to their every need.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 18/11/2020 20:41:56    2311205

Replying To Crinigan:  "

I have advocated for a long time on here that we no longer play our League games in Croker - that would be a start imo."
They should play the Leinster final in Drogheda for the craic. That'd level the playing field fairly quick. Dubs wouldn't be used to a pitch like that and stewards etc not bowing to their every need."
Or Navan maybe , another dive if ever there was one. Drogheda is a grand spot altogether sure.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/11/2020 21:15:40    2311225

im not sure you get it Fionn.its called sport and the essence of sport is fairness.People are only looking for fair play.Of course players want to play in croke park but if they thought they had a better chance of winning at home im sure they would prefer that.its not even croke park,When counties are given home venue v Dublin they are being told to play in neutral grounds.Now that's wrong.When counties ask for a level playing field straight away some Dublin people think its an anti Dublin thing but its not.If the shoe was on the other foot you might understand.John Costello got on his high horse with Doegal calling them"Mean spirited" but all they wanted was fair play.they drew the short straw and played two away games in reality cos the Dublin game in croker was deemed neutral.I have always believed in fairness in every walk of life.In Munster for years Cork and Kerry were seeded to meet in finals thus being totally unfair on the other 4 counties.The Gaa said it was nt about money.it was the best two teams to make a final interesting.Pure cowdung.the reason was if Kerry and Cork met in an early round the price would be low but in a provincial final the tickets could be highly priced.IT was nt Kerry or Cork s fault the same way this is nt Dublins fault but it is wrong.Sport aside would nt it be great post covi for Dulin to be playin in Portlaoise and the pubs restaurants cafes all getting a few euro out of it.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 18/11/2020 21:21:24    2311230

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Zero. But blame the Leinster counties who vote for this situation, like Laois. I would like it to be which ever county is drawn out first gets home advantage. But it is silly to suggest like another poster did that if Dublin are home they couldn't use Croke Park. It would mean at least 30k fans miss out attending the game including all opposition county supporters."
Yes Bad Monkey.Of course if Dublin have home advantage then its up to them where they want to play and the obvious is Croker.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 18/11/2020 21:49:23    2311247