Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan

Replying To arock:  "Bizarre to think we have the same semi final lineup as 100 years ago"
Hopefully the same winners too!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2746 - 22/11/2020 21:42:06    2313496

Replying To Fionn:  ""Best team in Ulster"

That will be music to all Cavan fans tonight.
Fair play to them."
Credit where credits due.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 22/11/2020 21:57:02    2313512

Replying To Fionn:  ""Best team in Ulster"

That will be music to all Cavan fans tonight.
Fair play to them."
Credit where credits due.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2012 - 22/11/2020 21:58:20    2313516

Replying To Breffni40:  "Hello from the artist formerly known as Breffni39

#cavan4sam Legends of men!"
Good man Breff.

Delighted for yous!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 22/11/2020 22:02:11    2313519

Replying To Breffni40:  "Ask the admin nicely :)"
Congrats Breff, hope you have a great night and a couple of weeks, be some occasion if we were all let into Croker. Maybe we might swing a pint down the local, if we're good.

Loved the Cavan performence today, warriors.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 22/11/2020 23:01:21    2313563

Replying To arock:  "Bizarre to think we have the same semi final lineup as 100 years ago"
it is bizzarre and i would think those are the only 2 years that those 4 have contested the semis. i may be wrong but I maybe right.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 22/11/2020 23:21:48    2313573

Replying To MesAmis:  "Good man Breff.

Delighted for yous!"
Stay on your own forum if you don't mind. Or at least have the EQ to leave it a few days after a County has exited.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 22/11/2020 23:28:46    2313579

Wonderful day of football, felt like the old FA 3rd round with giants being slayed against the odds. Well done cavan and tipp. Great to the people out on the streets despite the times were living in fair play to them.

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 22/11/2020 23:57:30    2313592

Have to say the BBC coverage of the match was top class
Now thats the way to do it

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 23/11/2020 02:27:06    2313615

Not sure what it was like 100 years ago but if fans were allowed back there would be an almighty scramble for tickts this year.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 649 - 23/11/2020 09:05:06    2313634

Replying To cavanman47:  "Raised my eyebrow, I can tell you.

We'll be 3rd favourites next year before the draw is made.

But tonight did feel very like some of our under 21 wins. The way the game went, the tactics we employed, etc.

Maybe we're here to stay."
Sean Cavanagh said last night on TSG that before the draw was made Cavan would have been ranked 7 in Ulster. Only above Fermanagh and Antrim. Now I am not sure exactly when the draw was made but I'm pretty sure we would have also been ranked above Down and Derry and possibly even Armagh. I used to like Sean Cavanagh but some of his recenr comments have left a bad taste in the mouth. He completely disrespected us last week too by talking about the Donegal v Dublin semi-final . The BBC team are streets ahead of the RTE team. Also I dont even know why Cork were favourites v Tipp as recent matches between the 2 would indicate otherwise and also that Tipp had most of their best players available for a change.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 23/11/2020 09:35:55    2313650

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "From reading your posts in other treads you seem to be a big admirer of the current Dublin setup and there is nothing wrong with that. I would also be a big admirer of it if it was an even playing field. People are eventually getting tired of it and how the Monster of Dublin was created so I cannot see the harm in opinions been voiced and to be honest I think the opinions should be voiced more and more until the gaa says right let's do something! Wouldn't happen in any other sport in the world! Just my opinion the same as you have yours but they are very different!
Donegal were caught on the hop today the same way as kerry were caught vs Cork the game was in Armagh but minds were in croker. These things happen ..."
Hi letterkennyGuy, you're right I am a big admirer of Dublin but I get annoyd at the idea that our games are dead because we are seeing the greatest of all time. It implies that the joy of gaelic football is all about the dominance of one team, in one code, at one level. It's a nonsense idea to me. Looking at other threads on these pages, some posters are saying that nobody has come close to this Dublin side since 2014. That is plainly a lie. There is utter nonsense being spouted about them and the state of our game.

If you followed my posts down the years you'd also know I think the onus is on the GAA to get as many kids playing our games as possible and to retain a love of the games up to adulthood, and they need to do a hell of a lot more to help counties without the structures of Dublin to get the structures and supports in place. They need to think critically about central funding and coaching setups, long term plans for counties etc. Every team in Ireland should take the field believing they can do something special on any given day.

The Dubs are always expected to dominate. They have always had, and always will have, advantages because of how our sport is structured. You expect to see Dublin at the business end of championship, that's always been the case. It's not easy being in the same province as the greatest team of all time and the challenges for those counties is immense, and they deserve support. But I'm sick of the negativity in all honesty.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/11/2020 09:47:45    2313654

Replying To s goldrick:  "Sean Cavanagh said last night on TSG that before the draw was made Cavan would have been ranked 7 in Ulster. Only above Fermanagh and Antrim. Now I am not sure exactly when the draw was made but I'm pretty sure we would have also been ranked above Down and Derry and possibly even Armagh. I used to like Sean Cavanagh but some of his recenr comments have left a bad taste in the mouth. He completely disrespected us last week too by talking about the Donegal v Dublin semi-final . The BBC team are streets ahead of the RTE team. Also I dont even know why Cork were favourites v Tipp as recent matches between the 2 would indicate otherwise and also that Tipp had most of their best players available for a change."
Couldn't believe that either. 7th? Like seriously, you could absolutely put Donegal and Tyrone out front at the start of the year, but the other 6 (bar Antrim, sorry) are all close and Cavan are definitely not at the bottom of that grouping having been at a higher level than most of them last few years, reaching an ulster final last year etc. Really really disappointed in Cavanaghs comments last few weeks. Last weeks punditry was an absolute disgrace in targeting things Cavan 'got away with' but not showing things that went against them too. RTE need to buck up as the are now very far behind Sky and BBC in their analysis

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2382 - 23/11/2020 10:06:41    2313678

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Stay on your own forum if you don't mind. Or at least have the EQ to leave it a few days after a County has exited."
Sincere apologies MesAmis, my mistake. Too many screens open.

DonegalAtlantic (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 23/11/2020 10:07:37    2313681

Replying To s goldrick:  "Sean Cavanagh said last night on TSG that before the draw was made Cavan would have been ranked 7 in Ulster. Only above Fermanagh and Antrim. Now I am not sure exactly when the draw was made but I'm pretty sure we would have also been ranked above Down and Derry and possibly even Armagh. I used to like Sean Cavanagh but some of his recenr comments have left a bad taste in the mouth. He completely disrespected us last week too by talking about the Donegal v Dublin semi-final . The BBC team are streets ahead of the RTE team. Also I dont even know why Cork were favourites v Tipp as recent matches between the 2 would indicate otherwise and also that Tipp had most of their best players available for a change."
I agree I would have had Cavan ahead of Antrim Down Fermanagh and maybe Armagh but in fairness its the bookies the make the odds and most of the time they are right. On Tipp yes themselves and Cork have been so close for years now you d wonder why Cork were so favoured. Anyway Goldrick congrats again and hope you celebrated in style.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 23/11/2020 10:08:12    2313682

By league standards, Cavan are no 5 in Ireland.
Armagh, Monaghan, Tyrone and Donegal finished stronger in the league.
I think that it means little or nothing in an ulster final though.
Monaghan were division 3 in 2013 and won the ulster final well.

I think that Cavan have a great chance now of establishing themselves as a serious contender every year with that batch of u21 winners. There is no reason why not, certainly, there is no reason to listen to Sean Kavanagh.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/11/2020 10:08:41    2313683

Agree sgoldrick that is a crazy comment from Cavanagh, I would say Cavan probably 4th favourites after ourselves, Monaghan and Tyrone in 2020. Did he have Armagh Down and Derry ahead of you? That's crazy stuff.

BBC coverage has been excellent, I really enjoy McConville's insights. They had a lovely piece yesterday on the Armagh winning captain of 1950 before the game.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/11/2020 10:10:22    2313684

Replying To Breffni40:  "Ask the admin nicely :)"
Breff

Congratulations on the much deserved Ulster title

The last ditch victory V Monaghan in extra time

The courageous never say die come back V Down

The much deserved hard fought win V a very good Donegal side where you had a numerical disadvantage at the most critical part of the game

For me Cavan are by far and away the team of the 2020 Championship

Also considering the amount of games Cavan have had to play under very difficult circumstances

I wish yiz nothing but the very best and hope you enjoy the build up

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/11/2020 10:13:33    2313688

Replying To rhudson:  "Have to say the BBC coverage of the match was top class
Now thats the way to do it"
BBC's coverage throughout the Ulster Championship has been very good. Will usually choose BBC over RTÉ if there's a choice at the minute.

Pity they only cover the Ulster Championship.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 23/11/2020 10:16:13    2313693

Replying To DonegalAtlantic:  "Sincere apologies MesAmis, my mistake. Too many screens open."
Ha! I was confused there for awhile!

No harm done bud.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 23/11/2020 10:16:49    2313696