Galway V Mayo Connacht Final

Replying To ryan:  "How can this be justified as a championship? Galway had to win one game at there home stadium to be Connaught champions for 2020. Provincials are well outdated."
that was circumstantial, trip to Ny cancelled also, read the papers

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 16/11/2020 10:52:37    2309866

Replying To ryan:  "How can this be justified as a championship? Galway had to win one game at there home stadium to be Connaught champions for 2020. Provincials are well outdated."
Justified by whom? Are you suggesting that Galway were somehow responsible for Covid-19? Trip to New York cancelled, Sligo pulling out - what's your solution to that situation?

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1785 - 16/11/2020 11:09:37    2309885

Outdated? Hopefully we don't get rid of all the GAA traditions. The local provincial rivalries have been, are and hopefully will remain as the highlight of most Irish people's summer.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 16/11/2020 11:19:10    2309897

I have to say I was shocked at some of the decision making by Shane Walsh in the closing minutes. Now don't get me wrong - in general he had a fantastic game. He was quiet at times but when he got involved some of the scores were simply outstanding, as good as you'd see anywhere. I also concede that playing at home, a point down to your fiercest rivals in a knockout match will do strange things to your normal decision making process.

But the two free kicks from Hail Mary territory and the inexplicable low trickling sideline ball at the end must have had Galway fans scratching their heads.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 16/11/2020 11:19:33    2309898

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I have to say I was shocked at some of the decision making by Shane Walsh in the closing minutes. Now don't get me wrong - in general he had a fantastic game. He was quiet at times but when he got involved some of the scores were simply outstanding, as good as you'd see anywhere. I also concede that playing at home, a point down to your fiercest rivals in a knockout match will do strange things to your normal decision making process.

But the two free kicks from Hail Mary territory and the inexplicable low trickling sideline ball at the end must have had Galway fans scratching their heads."
I am sure the blatant biased decisions going against them from the man in the middle left the Galway fans scratching their heads a little bit more.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 16/11/2020 11:27:51    2309905

Replying To Lockjaw:  "I have to say I was shocked at some of the decision making by Shane Walsh in the closing minutes. Now don't get me wrong - in general he had a fantastic game. He was quiet at times but when he got involved some of the scores were simply outstanding, as good as you'd see anywhere. I also concede that playing at home, a point down to your fiercest rivals in a knockout match will do strange things to your normal decision making process.

But the two free kicks from Hail Mary territory and the inexplicable low trickling sideline ball at the end must have had Galway fans scratching their heads."
Both of those frees were very tough in fairness Lockjaw, and the sideline ball I still feel for him because just before that he'd played a lovely ball in to a free Galway man but the ref pulled it back. If he hadn't gone for the frees he'd be criticised, sure I heard one of the pundits or maybe it was Dessie Dolan say that you'd see players go for the point from that sideline ball, now that would truly have been a Hail Mary.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/11/2020 11:33:24    2309913

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Does he need to let the player stand up? If he does the ref should have blown for a foul straight away."
Its not WWE or MMA of course he cant stop a player getting up by basically sitting on his back. The foul on Sice was every bit as bad in the lead up to Mayos last score. Inexcusable how a ref can make such basic errors.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 16/11/2020 11:35:31    2309916

You have a point but he actually consulted with Joyce for the second one and he told him to go for it.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 16/11/2020 11:46:51    2309929

Just caught up on the game last night as was watching the cavan down game....

A weird one to analysis, Mayo were bad and Galway were atrocious, and yet Galway will be kicking themselves over the winter that they didnt win it. Plenty of opportunities for them to tap over scores in the last 10 minutes which should have made eoghan mclaughlins actions irrelevant.

Actually was the young uns who got mayo through it, the aforementioned eoghan mclaughlin was motm i taut. Ruane showed well and barrett calmed things.
The full forward line was weirdly subdued, after all the hype about AOS in full forward v galway in the league he has been very poor since.

However they are in a great place now, 3 weeks to recover and lots to work on, they will be red hot favourites to win the semi then its a 1 off game for the big one,with donegal and dublin having surely knocked lumps off each other

They have massive improvement to do but as long as they are in it they are contenders.

Such a shame we dont get to watch shane walsh again, an absolute joy to watch, pure skill. You would pay to watch him

HuddHastings (Longford) - Posts: 144 - 16/11/2020 12:00:01    2309950

Replying To JoeSoap:  "How that wasn't a free in I'll never know. Didn't even attempt to play the ball himself, just lay on top of the man, absolutely unbelievable call and then he gave a soft enough one in for Mayo when two Galway defenders had wrapped up a Mayo attacker.

I thought he was absolutely awful, gave bad decisions against Mayo too but the really key key moments in the end went against Galway. Even that last sideline ball Galway played a lovely ball in and had a chance but the ref pulled them back to take the sideline ball again.

But yes agree, Galway hardly deserved it in spite of all that, very very poor and Mayo will be happy to have a Connacht title and plenty to work on over the next 3 weeks."
Galway played that lovely ball ten yards up the pitch from where the ball went dead so the ref gave into the linesman on that call. He gave no advantage when Kevin McLoughlin was being fouled and had just hand passed to Bryan Walsh (I think) who had an open goal in front of him. A goal there would have put the game to bed. He was inconsistent with over the shoulder tackles and pullbacks, but to both sides, so swings and roundabouts really. Both sides could complain, but in the end things pretty much balanced out. The ref showed no discernible bias to be fair to him and, like the teams, will have better games.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 16/11/2020 12:01:38    2309953

But they didn't win? Mayo had to play 3 games away from home, one against the defending champions, to win it. So no excuses, Mayo the best team in the province this year and deserving winners.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 16/11/2020 12:05:18    2309958

Replying To Pericles:  "Galway played that lovely ball ten yards up the pitch from where the ball went dead so the ref gave into the linesman on that call. He gave no advantage when Kevin McLoughlin was being fouled and had just hand passed to Bryan Walsh (I think) who had an open goal in front of him. A goal there would have put the game to bed. He was inconsistent with over the shoulder tackles and pullbacks, but to both sides, so swings and roundabouts really. Both sides could complain, but in the end things pretty much balanced out. The ref showed no discernible bias to be fair to him and, like the teams, will have better games."
Agree on the McLaughlin advantage I had forgotten about that one completely. You're probably right overall but I suppose it's the most recent ridiculous decision that sticks in your mind!

As I said yous will be happy out to have plenty to improve upon going into the semi-final now, nice break as well after 5 weeks in a row.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/11/2020 12:13:58    2309964

It is certainly a shame that we'll only get to see Shane Walsh play one championship game this year. He does make mistakes, but he also tries and does things that other players wouldn't. He's one of those talents that could be affected by trying to coach certain things out of him. In an era where we complain about players being programmed to always do the safe thing like robots, he's a breath of fresh air.
I mentioned it already, but his balance on the run is as good as any player I've ever seen. His score when he took on Keegan and sold him both sides was almost impossible to defend. He's as two-footed as it gets and has great pace. Clifford is obviously extremely talented as an inside forward, but Shane is a different type of player and I can't think of any others who do what he does. We're very lucky to have him.
Declan O'Sullivan was brilliant at carrying the ball too and kicking scores. The closest I can think of in recent times.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2036 - 16/11/2020 12:16:37    2309969

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Its not WWE or MMA of course he cant stop a player getting up by basically sitting on his back. The foul on Sice was every bit as bad in the lead up to Mayos last score. Inexcusable how a ref can make such basic errors."
Cheers Sourmilk. It was a genuine question. He didn't sit on him until he was knocked over. He stayed on his feet. Not sure on the rule there but I think it should have been a free in because he straddled the Galway man preventing him from getting up. Thankfully for us it wasn't.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 16/11/2020 12:22:02    2309975

What would Brolly have thought of Mc Loughlins pull down? Thought Sean called it right last night even though Sean wasvillainized over his against Monaghan.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 16/11/2020 12:26:40    2309978

Replying To Saynothing:  "What would Brolly have thought of Mc Loughlins pull down? Thought Sean called it right last night even though Sean wasvillainized over his against Monaghan."
Thank God we dont have to listen to Brolly.
One minute he is saying forget about Cavanagh as a man for doing it, then hes saying the mayo lads dont have what it takes, lads youd love to see dating your sister, nice lads but no killer instinct.

If any of my sisters landed home with McLoughlin id be delighted...id nearly give him a spin myself.

He did what was needed like a seasoned pro. Easy to forget this was his 3rd Championship game.
He was top class and did the right thing.

To hell with Brolly, its sean today , Harte tomorrow and Mayo the day after, then its the opposite opinion if the wind changes the following week.

If I ever meet him again Ill say he was dropped on the Sunday game for Sean cavanagh. :)

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 16/11/2020 12:36:07    2309991

Replying To club51:  "Thank God we dont have to listen to Brolly.
One minute he is saying forget about Cavanagh as a man for doing it, then hes saying the mayo lads dont have what it takes, lads youd love to see dating your sister, nice lads but no killer instinct.

If any of my sisters landed home with McLoughlin id be delighted...id nearly give him a spin myself.

He did what was needed like a seasoned pro. Easy to forget this was his 3rd Championship game.
He was top class and did the right thing.

To hell with Brolly, its sean today , Harte tomorrow and Mayo the day after, then its the opposite opinion if the wind changes the following week.

If I ever meet him again Ill say he was dropped on the Sunday game for Sean cavanagh. :)"
Agree, was only making the point of how wrong Brolly was but Sean called it as any player should do.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 16/11/2020 12:46:41    2310000

Replying To heartbroken:  "I be thinking that Mayo had Galway bet after 15 minutes in Tuam and Galway were very flat but credit to Mayo they were on the up. The following week when it mattered they were not able to beat Tyrone. No disrespect to letrim but Mayo were always going to win here and last week roscomon were not the team we taught they would be. If Galway had played Sligo and won as would be expected then more people would be tipping Galway. I am hopeful of a Galway win but would not begrudge poor Mayo people some happiness."
Playing very poorly [Mayo were brutal to be fair] against a top Div 1 team might be enough to get a narrow win but it won't do against a Div 3 team in the semi so the Galway fans still have something to look forward to - Keep the faith!

timmyhogan (UK) - Posts: 290 - 16/11/2020 13:15:57    2310028

Haven"t seen anyone comment on what happened at 38:25 of the first half. Galway fullback seems to punch i believe it's Tommy Conroy in the face.

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 16/11/2020 13:16:23    2310029

Tough game to analyse, really, given that both teams missed more than their fair share of chances and were wasteful at times in possession. Mayo in particular went from taking on some crazy percentage shots in the first half to almost trying to walk the ball over the bar in the second!

Definitely a cynical challenge near the end from Eoghan McLaughlin which probably tarnished a fine performance from him. But ultimately we're never going to win with some people- allow the Galway man to shoot and you're naive, take him out and you're engaging in the dark arts. Hurson was poor for both sides I thought- he missed a blatant knee to AOS's head and a punch on Tommy Conroy.

Sensational shooting at times from Shane Walsh and young Kelly is a real find, not too dissimilar to our own Paddy Durcan in his bursting up the field to take the play to the opposition.

I was pleased with how our defence held up in general- Galway got quite a few of their points from long distance efforts and struggled to create goal chances. We missed two chances for majors, at least one of which Eoghan McL should have tapped over the bar.

I'm still struggling to see what we're trying to do with Aido at full-forward, as we seem to be playing in low fast ball to him rather than a high ball for him to break. At a time when we're short of ball winners in midfield it seems to be a waste tbh.

After five seasons without a Connacht title I would gladly have taken a Nestor Cup at the beginning of the season. We are in bonus territory with a young side and we'll get a better gauge of where they are nationally once they hit Croker.

Someone also please check on Belclare, I worry that being knocked out of the championship by Mayo two years in a row may all be too much for him.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/11/2020 13:29:29    2310039