Donegal Vs Tyrone

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Niall Morgan hit a short kick out there which produced a bit of panic in the Tyrone ranks. All you could hear was a big gulder from the Tyrone sideline "Whit the **** are ye doin". LOL. Some of the stuff you hear without the crowds is hilarious."
Was just thinking that :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 01/11/2020 14:48:26    2303820

Donegal great going forward but light at the back, anyone's game this.

Staying power now and discipline key.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/11/2020 14:55:51    2303824

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Tyrone p**s about with the ball too much. Backwards, sideways, backwards, sideways repeat repeat repeat."
Jesus but you haven't a clue.

I have to say that the standard of play by both teams has been absolutely exceptional under the circumstances.

It has been a very entertaining game so far.

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 01/11/2020 14:57:44    2303826

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Think this is a BBC production, both games live on BBC. Wouldn't surprise me if Marty Morrissy wasn't there at all

Penalties??"
Well whoever it is, it's poor, surely the BBC has enough money to put on a good show, probably couldn't be arsed!!

Be some craic if it goes to penos, better chance of seeing them on the radio :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/11/2020 15:05:37    2303829

Dublin v Donegal All Ireland semi

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 01/11/2020 15:12:06    2303833

Replying To Htaem:  "Well whoever it is, it's poor, surely the BBC has enough money to put on a good show, probably couldn't be arsed!!

Be some craic if it goes to penos, better chance of seeing them on the radio :-)"
Oh the quality of the pictures were horrendous , well done to Donegal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 01/11/2020 15:12:55    2303834

2 "well won" frees by Donegal the difference.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 01/11/2020 15:13:15    2303835

Congratulations to Donegal. Better team on the day. Probably should have been a good bit more comfortable. Commiserations to Tyrone, tough for such a good team to be out after 1 game.

Forpucksake (UK) - Posts: 130 - 01/11/2020 15:14:25    2303837

Well done Donegal, would yous have room for a man, you can have Peter Harte. Over rated but never substituted.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 01/11/2020 15:14:55    2303839

Big credit to both teams to roduce a fill blooded, entertaining game on an atrocious surface & driving rain.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 01/11/2020 15:15:09    2303840

Fair play Donegal, Tyrone will be sick with all those wides.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 01/11/2020 15:15:24    2303841

Fair play to both teams serving up a very enjoyable game in really poor conditions.

Congratulations to Donegal. Lovely team on the eye and collectively one of the best in Ireland. Beautiful skills, lovely footballers, Murphy, EBG, Thompson, Gallen, Patton. Have the talent to go al, the way. Looks to me the Achilles heel is at the back, looked at 6s and 7s there at times, but you have to allow for rotten conditions. One thing I think they need to work in is there, how would you say it niceness, play the game the right way, but you need that edge, that playing just on the edge at times and to know when you need to take a yellow for the team or hold up play, both Dublin and Kerry have it, Donegal seem like a nice team - if that makes sense. Thought they did really well cracking Morgan's kick out and winning there own and won centre field.

Tyrone will be disappointed, they had the chances, maybe could have got a few more goals, hit about 11 wides so very wasteful. Thought Donegal cracked Morgan's kicking today and got the better of centre field. Discipline really let them down for me. To many easy frees given away when Donegal would have had to work for a score and Thompson gobbled them up. Huge credit that sheer will, fight and determination kept them in it. But weighing everything up probably the second best team today. Disappointed it's knock out, Tyrone with bags to offer a championship and would have liked to see more of Young Darragh this year, I'm sure we will for years to come.

I'll end as I started fair okay to both teams for seeing up real quality today in awful conditions, both counties a credit to themselves and code. Well done all.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 01/11/2020 15:24:02    2303847

Hats off to both teams for producing a very entertaining game in atrocious conditions. Donegal got some very, very soft frees during the match. Tyrone ar*e about with the ball too much, that crab like passing gets them nowhere. Direct quick ball into the forwards will get you scores, not sideways and backwards 50 yards up the pitch.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9697 - 01/11/2020 15:25:11    2303849

Well done great effort in conditions.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1217 - 01/11/2020 15:26:11    2303852

Great game when you consider the conditions; credit to both teams. I thought those conditions and a winter championship would suit Tyrone which may have ended with them competing for the big prize.

It's why this is a huge win for this Donegal team; they really dug in and got involved in the battle; the conditions would remind you of the 93 Ulster final for any older Donegal posters - this time they'll be happier with the result.

Very strange call taking McCurry off unless he was injured; he was always there to pop over vital scores; I'm convinced he would have been an asset in the last 5 minutes; Bradley did well but I'm not sure McCurry was the right one to take off. Bonner and the Donegal bench were very composed and made good calls. Well done Donegal; they'll see a path to an All Ireland semi final; big day for them; players and a smart management team.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 01/11/2020 15:30:12    2303857

The officiating of this match was a complete joke. Multiple Donegal frees moved forward. Tyrone found it much harder to win frees for the same things especially close to goals. At the very end Tyrone were called back from possession in the penalty area to be given a free further out the pitch. Surely a slap to the head seen by an official in the first half is a red card even if RTE don't want it to be.

tyroneed (Tyrone) - Posts: 753 - 01/11/2020 15:33:24    2303860

Delighted with that win. Our handling errors at the back and midfield could have cost us but after losing to Mayo last year in the rain this was a massive psychological win. Great performances from Thompson and Mc Fadden. Murphy controlled a lot of our play in the second half.
Tyrone will rue missed goal chances. They are an up and coming team with some massive potential. I hope Mickey Harte stays on as they will forever be shackled with him at the helm. They are still a top 6 team and with or without Harte they will be contenders for a good few years. Canavan will suit summer football.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 01/11/2020 15:33:39    2303861

Well done to Donegal and hard luck to Tyrone, good, hard fought contest in brutal conditions!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/11/2020 15:33:51    2303862

If anyone read my post last evening before it was for some reason deleted - Mickey Harte did exactly what I said. Lost it from the sideline and still hasn't got a 30m free taker.

I also complemented Donegal on their fine footballers and credit to them they were excellent and probably should've won by more.

Please Mickey Harte, just quit before you totally destroy this team!

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 796 - 01/11/2020 15:39:10    2303869

Had to laugh at Tyrone physio checking to see if McKernan was concussed after he threw himself to ground feigning injury. Shades of Tiernan McCann, but you'd expect nothing else from Tyrone.

HEREBENJI (Donegal) - Posts: 421 - 01/11/2020 15:39:20    2303870