Would You Rather..

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Glad to see this poster achieved exactly what he set out to achieve with this thread....."
Stick to topic please

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 562 - 27/10/2020 18:33:43    2302194

Replying To Rolo2010:  "Who did the Healy Raes get help from to get that done?"
The Healy-Raes remind me of that saying from the film the usual suspects that the greatest trick the devil ever played was making people believe he doesn't exist.

Personally I don't vote for them but they do a lot of good work in their part of the County.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/10/2020 18:34:56    2302195

First team to win a 5 in a row on RTE

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 27/10/2020 18:44:05    2302204

As I've commented before I think it's an individual thing. I'm sure if you asked a Corkman which they D prefer they would say winning the double. Tipp would love a two in a row etc etc. All records are great but it's all in the past really and we all would like to win in the present.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 27/10/2020 19:06:48    2302215

Well I'd rather be from Pakistan than Roscommon. I think that's the real question being asked here

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 27/10/2020 19:37:58    2302232

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "As I've commented before I think it's an individual thing. I'm sure if you asked a Corkman which they D prefer they would say winning the double. Tipp would love a two in a row etc etc. All records are great but it's all in the past really and we all would like to win in the present."
Tipp are the first to win in 2 different centuries in football and the first to win the AI in Croke Park

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 27/10/2020 19:46:44    2302234

Replying To Breezy:  "Tipp are the first to win in 2 different centuries in football and the first to win the AI in Croke Park"
Tipp were not "the first to win in 2 different centuries in football". Dublin were.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 27/10/2020 20:59:33    2302269

Replying To Breezy:  "Tipp are the first to win in 2 different centuries in football and the first to win the AI in Croke Park"
Kilkenny were the first county to win an AI in Croke Park.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 27/10/2020 21:09:37    2302276

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Tipp were not "the first to win in 2 different centuries in football". Dublin were."
Wrong. Tipp were the first to win in 2 centuries.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 27/10/2020 21:31:20    2302284

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Wrong. Tipp were the first to win in 2 centuries."
Dublin won All-Irelands in the 19th century, and were the first to win an AI in the 20th century when they won the 1899 All-Ireland final which was played on the 19th February 1901.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 28/10/2020 07:50:21    2302324

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Dublin won All-Irelands in the 19th century, and were the first to win an AI in the 20th century when they won the 1899 All-Ireland final which was played on the 19th February 1901."
Well done to Dublin

If only Sky Sports was around back then to broadcast it

Would have made it very special

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/10/2020 10:11:19    2302353

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Wrong. Tipp were the first to win in 2 centuries."
Are you sure.?

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 28/10/2020 10:23:08    2302360

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Dublin won All-Irelands in the 19th century, and were the first to win an AI in the 20th century when they won the 1899 All-Ireland final which was played on the 19th February 1901."
If you're going to get that precise about it, then its worth mentioning that it was actually a wicklow team who won it ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 28/10/2020 10:23:45    2302361

Very good. A lot of all Irelands that time were not played on the same year. Now that's some record. Also a gaa programme on TV last year claimed some of the early all Irelands Dublin won were only Dublin in name as the team was full of counrymen(mainly teachers and Guards) That time Dublin were more into soccer and it was the influence of country folk that made gaa popular in Dublin. Also Tipperary are the only county to win an all ireland in every decade since gaa was founded. In the 80s they just made it in 89 v Antrim. Anyway fair play to you Cat. We learn and live everyday

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 28/10/2020 10:34:34    2302366

When they won the 1898 championship on April 8th 1900? All those delayed championships have good material for a quiz!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 28/10/2020 10:35:01    2302367

Replying To leitrim4sam:  "Well I'd rather be from Pakistan than Roscommon. I think that's the real question being asked here"
We wish you were too..ye might win a cricket game like..lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 28/10/2020 10:52:23    2302377

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny were the first county to win an AI in Croke Park."
Sorry ya I worded it ****ways. Should have said first to do both those things in football

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 28/10/2020 10:55:45    2302380

Replying To GreenandRed:  "When they won the 1898 championship on April 8th 1900? All those delayed championships have good material for a quiz!"
No. The first year of every century start with a 1. 1900 was the last year of the 19th century.

It often misunderstood. There was no 0AD.
The first year the first century was AD 1, the last AD 100.
The first year the second century was AD 101, the last AD 200. And so on...
The first year in the twentieth century was AD 1901, the last AD 2000.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 28/10/2020 11:11:45    2302391

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Very good. A lot of all Irelands that time were not played on the same year. Now that's some record. Also a gaa programme on TV last year claimed some of the early all Irelands Dublin won were only Dublin in name as the team was full of counrymen(mainly teachers and Guards) That time Dublin were more into soccer and it was the influence of country folk that made gaa popular in Dublin. Also Tipperary are the only county to win an all ireland in every decade since gaa was founded. In the 80s they just made it in 89 v Antrim. Anyway fair play to you Cat. We learn and live everyday"
Tipp were also the first team the win an All-Ireland in three different centuries - 19th, 20th and 21st (hurling 9th September 2001).

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 28/10/2020 11:26:00    2302401

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "No. The first year of every century start with a 1. 1900 was the last year of the 19th century.

It often misunderstood. There was no 0AD.
The first year the first century was AD 1, the last AD 100.
The first year the second century was AD 101, the last AD 200. And so on...
The first year in the twentieth century was AD 1901, the last AD 2000."
Maybe you ré right but in the gaa that's not how it's done. By your way 2010 is not the start of a new decade? 2000 was the start of the new decade/millennium not 2001

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 28/10/2020 11:27:43    2302402