David Gough To Referee The Final

Replying To TheUsername:  "In my opinion, if you have to make an argument for your greatness, you probably aren't great.

We are comfortable in our skin, we've evolved beyond that kind of argument.

We neither seek or look for the acknowledgement nor affirmation of those who need to make a case for themselves and their achievements."
I'd be comfortable too if everything was handed to me.
Thankfully none of Kerrys success was built on the assistance of others.
We did it ourselves.. worth more than having it given to you.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/08/2019 20:34:24    2227216

Replying To jimbodub:  "Why are Kerry's lads never talking about Wexford's greatness?

Always comparing their 4 to Dublin's

Sure Wexford's 4 was truly unique and every bit as substantial

Wexford are Kerry's equal

Although for some reason no one ever talked about Wexford in the same lyrical way

In fact no one even cared, it was almost like Wexford's 4 weren't as substantial given the time passed"
Or what about our first 4 in a row from 1929 to 1932?

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 18/08/2019 20:35:07    2227217

Replying To IamDonegal:  "No way.

I've family born and bred Dubs and I've many friends from Dublin.

It wouldn't matter in the slightest.

Like Dublin is so big compared to the rest of Ireland population wise therefore many barely know Dublin are playing.

I've never in my days heard such tripe and I feel for Gough.

Like you could easily switch the narrative and say a meath man will not want Dublin to win.

Really think its poor form questioning a ref before a game.

You could be in a fancy bar in the Southside and they will have rugger or soccer on. My point is Dublin is a big hub. You could be involved in the area but the vast majority of people might have no clue.

I think gough is on a hiding to nothing now."
So what you're saying is that you find it a little offensive that such an ignorant assertion would be stabled to your back? The pride you feel as a Donegal man and your sense of fairness would all count for nothing because you work in Dublin.. yes I can see why you'd feel aggrieved alright.

It's an ugly and unfair assertion

Imagine if you had such labeled at you in the national media..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 20:35:37    2227218

Replying To jimbodub:  "Why are Kerry's lads never talking about Wexford's greatness?

Although for some reason no one ever talked about Wexford in the same lyrical way

In fact no one even cared, it was almost like Wexford's 4 weren't as substantial given the time passed"
Kerry did it twice while Wexford did it once. Sure you know two is more time's than one don't you?

Here's another question for you. Why do you spend most of your time talking about Kerry?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 18/08/2019 20:39:39    2227222

You are right of course, Wexford have one for in a row like yourselves two great teams

ky_dub (Kerry) - Posts: 16 - 18/08/2019 20:42:55    2227227

Replying To BoynesideBlue:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
ya , so what's your point then.
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
Should they all be subjected to some sort of special scrutiny."
The fundamental point that justice must be seen to be done and that, as far as possible, referees must not only be neutral but be seen to be neutral seems to be beyond the grasp of many here.
You mention 'professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job' Quite often 'professional people' - judges (another word for referee), for example, do withdraw fron cases where a PERCEIVED - key word here - conflict of interest may arise.
Why did Dublin have the Kerry referee removed? Because they PERCEIVED a possible conflict of interest.
Do you really think a Limerick referee living and working in Tralee would be acceptable to Dublin? Of course he would not and Dublin would be perfectly correct to have reservations about him.

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game."]But he's no more embedded in Dublin than David Coldrick who refereed the last Dublin v Kerry final was, he lived and worked in Dublin too.
And is he is that embedded in Dublin how come he over ruled himself and cancelled the penalty against Cork."]Some guys on here have a problem with the English language.
Embedded (fix (an object) firmly and deeply in a surrounding mass: he had an operation to remove a nail embedded in his chest) does not mean that Gough or Coldrick are biased. It means that there may be a PERCEPTION (the way in which something is regarded, understood, or interpreted) of bias.

Aibrean (Kerry) - Posts: 263 - 18/08/2019 20:43:19    2227228

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "GAA need to appoint neutral refs, lads from neutral province, stop wasting time on this topic"
Not a peep out of Tipp today with the ref selection.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 18/08/2019 20:46:27    2227230

Well most of us wernt alive for the Wexford 4 so that might be a thing. Also in 1918 I doubt many knew how much a thing the 5 in a row would become

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 18/08/2019 21:04:16    2227240

Replying To gallarus14:  "Or what about our first 4 in a row from 1929 to 1932?"
Yes well said

How many games did that one take

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 21:11:50    2227243

Replying To jimbodub:  "Yes well said

How many games did that one take"
It's already been posted to you Dublin have won All Irelands by playing 3/4 games. Or do you not count them?

oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1380 - 18/08/2019 21:23:46    2227247

Replying To oneoff:  "Kerry did it twice while Wexford did it once. Sure you know two is more time's than one don't you?

Here's another question for you. Why do you spend most of your time talking about Kerry?"
Oh but that's not the point whatsoever so please try to keep up.. haha

Now as for me talking about Kerry

Well why not? Sure there's plenty of talk about Dublin. This is a thread mostly about Kerry.

Why have you never asked a Kerry person the same question using a similar logic?

Why don't you have your county attached to your new username

Ashamed? Trying to hide something?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 21:34:08    2227262

I heard they got to play every game in Killarney too.

Does that sound fair?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 18/08/2019 21:40:07    2227269

Replying To lilylanger:  "Not a peep out of Tipp today with the ref selection."
yes that is correct and Galway Minors said nothing about the Carlow ref but that it is still not right. If the minor game was close would the blatant penalty not given be a talking point. Also, a tackled Galway keeper "over carried" ball, free in. You need neutral refs.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 18/08/2019 21:52:45    2227274

On the two occasions Kerry have done "4" in a row in the 20/30s & 70/80s they've won a three game All Ireland.

Wexford least game championship in their run, was four games to win one championship, Dublin gave them a by.

Obviously to do it twice is a terrific achievement though, though individually Dublin and Wexford won more games consecutively to do theirs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/08/2019 21:53:56    2227275

Replying To oneoff:  "It's already been posted to you Dublin have won All Irelands by playing 3/4 games. Or do you not count them?"
What's that got to do with anything :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 22:00:42    2227277

What county you from chief

You seem to get awfully upset about Dubs talking about Kerry

But not upset about Kerry folk talking about Dublin

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 22:02:38    2227280

Replying To cavanman47:  "I heard they got to play every game in Killarney too.

Does that sound fair?"
Yes.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 22:10:23    2227284

Replying To ky_dub:  "You are right of course, Wexford have one for in a row like yourselves two great teams"
Congratulations

But that has absolutely nothing to do with the point I made.

As well you know

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 18/08/2019 22:24:14    2227299

Replying To Aibrean:  "
Replying To BoynesideBlue:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=Aibrean:  "HOLD THE FRONT PAGE!!!

I have just discovered the following post made by crystal-ball-owning Kerryman, Aibrean on 28th April 2019 under the topic 'Missing Referees'.

Yes, hopefully no Dublin based referees will be adjudicating on Dublin games in 2019.
Can you imagine the outcry if a Tralee based referee from Limerick was appointed to referee a Dublin/Kerry championship game.....

Note that the post makes no mention of Gough. This shows that Kerry concerns were a matter of principal and existed long before Gough was even being considered for the job. I rest my case."
ya , so what's your point then.
I'd imagine there's plenty of referees who have had reason to work or visit Dublin and who aren't biased.
Should they all be subjected to some sort of special scrutiny."
The fundamental point that justice must be seen to be done and that, as far as possible, referees must not only be neutral but be seen to be neutral seems to be beyond the grasp of many here.
You mention 'professional people who would come into contact with one another in day to day life but they go and do a professional job' Quite often 'professional people' - judges (another word for referee), for example, do withdraw fron cases where a PERCEIVED - key word here - conflict of interest may arise.
Why did Dublin have the Kerry referee removed? Because they PERCEIVED a possible conflict of interest.
Do you really think a Limerick referee living and working in Tralee would be acceptable to Dublin? Of course he would not and Dublin would be perfectly correct to have reservations about him.

It is not personal in Gough's case - as my April post shows. It is simple: no one embedded in Dublin should be reffing a Dublin game, just as no one embedded in Kerry should be reffing a Kerry game. If you can't grasp that I give up."]Id have zero problem with a limerick man living in Tralee reffing a Dublin match to be honest, sure if one exists give him this game."]But he's no more embedded in Dublin than David Coldrick who refereed the last Dublin v Kerry final was, he lived and worked in Dublin too.
And is he is that embedded in Dublin how come he over ruled himself and cancelled the penalty against Cork."]Some guys on here have a problem with the English language.
Embedded (fix (an object) firmly and deeply in a surrounding mass: he had an operation to remove a nail embedded in his chest) does not mean that Gough or Coldrick are biased. It means that there may be a PERCEPTION (the way in which something is regarded, understood, or interpreted) of bias."]Embedded in Dublin!!! You are some cookie

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 18/08/2019 22:27:54    2227303

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "yes that is correct and Galway Minors said nothing about the Carlow ref but that it is still not right. If the minor game was close would the blatant penalty not given be a talking point. Also, a tackled Galway keeper "over carried" ball, free in. You need neutral refs."
Can someone tell me when or where did "neutral" evolve to mean neutral province? Did I miss something?

Most of the Carlow (and Wexford) people I know (including friends and relatives) fecking hate Kilkenny, and haven't been too shy in sewing yesterday's defeat into me either.

Like, would you consider a Mayo or Roscommon ref doing a Galway match as an inherent "advantage"? I doubt you would.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/08/2019 02:28:15    2227325