The Sunday Game - Awful Coverage

Oh no, its Marty Morrissey match commentator .....

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 440 - 18/08/2019 15:11:52    2227011

Replying To conordee:  "Oh no, its Marty Morrissey match commentator ....."
We'll be informed of how much this game means to Ireland in as many big words as possible

Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 18/08/2019 15:14:05    2227012

Replying To conordee:  "Oh no, its Marty Morrissey match commentator ....."
Disaster, hopefully he tones down the hokey pre prepared monologues this year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13706 - 18/08/2019 15:14:39    2227013

Listening on the wireless and Jaysus, John Mullane is off to a woeful start. His voice has passed through three full octaves and we're only into the first 20 seconds. At this rate he'll only be heard by dogs.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/08/2019 15:35:24    2227023

There are no words to describe how bad John Mullane is on the radio. He's screeching into the mic; my ears are bleeding listening to him. And he struggles to describe what's going on. No questioning the man's hurling ability and status as a legend, but he has no business being on a mic. Painful stuff.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/08/2019 15:59:48    2227027

Replying To festinog:  "There are no words to describe how bad John Mullane is on the radio. He's screeching into the mic; my ears are bleeding listening to him. And he struggles to describe what's going on. No questioning the man's hurling ability and status as a legend, but he has no business being on a mic. Painful stuff."
Knock it off then?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 18/08/2019 16:12:00    2227034

What is Shefflin on about..
It was red all day long. Hogan Nearly took the head off Barrett.
Shefflin is embarrassing with his defence of Hogan, good enough for Cody too. Hope tipp stuff em.

Benjy1000 (Cavan) - Posts: 85 - 18/08/2019 16:21:30    2227043

Replying To waynoI:  "Knock it off then?"
Good man Wayno. We don't all live walking distance to Croker and some of us have no other options if we want to follow the game live.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 18/08/2019 16:28:01    2227053

Bahaha Mullane is awful alright :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 18/08/2019 16:30:52    2227055

Replying To Benjy1000:  "What is Shefflin on about..
Shefflin is embarrassing with his defence of Hogan, good enough for Cody too. Hope tipp stuff em."
I know nothing about hurling but I knew that was a straight red, the intent was there as well as the contact, Marty Morrisey my God he is hard to listen to, must stick on the radio now to hear how bad that is, cmon Tipp!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 18/08/2019 16:33:21    2227056

is Tipp the premier county? I'd never have known if I hadn't been reminded 100 times today already.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2745 - 18/08/2019 16:37:12    2227058

Replying To Benjy1000:  "What is Shefflin on about..
Shefflin is embarrassing with his defence of Hogan, good enough for Cody too. Hope tipp stuff em."
Absolute red. Dropped the shoulder, drove it at head. Red all day long. Conditions me a€se.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 18/08/2019 16:38:48    2227060

Someone Marty an enema

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 18/08/2019 16:51:18    2227069

Personally I'm looking forward to the number of times Liam Sheedy says the word ''look'' in his interviews after the game and at the team hotel. I'll set the over/under at 25

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 18/08/2019 16:51:36    2227070

Did Cantwell just say that Tipp are milking it!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 18/08/2019 17:21:05    2227097

Sheflin made a wholly show of himself trying to defend the indefensible. Fair play to cantwell, put him in his place rightly.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 18/08/2019 19:57:55    2227198

Will they bring up Hawkeye, that point given when Hogan caught it 'supposdly' over the crossbar was no where near being over the crossbar

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 601 - 18/08/2019 22:41:20    2227316

Replying To royaldunne:  "Sheflin made a wholly show of himself trying to defend the indefensible. Fair play to cantwell, put him in his place rightly."
I can accept Shefflin going with KK line but what is even more annoying is the other lads that agree it's a red "by the letter of the law".

Its a red all day long by the letter, the spirit and every other part of the law! Hogan knew exactly what he was doing. There was nothing "miss timed by a fraction of a second" about the elbow. He nailed it.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1828 - 19/08/2019 09:19:31    2227354

Wouldn't it be lovely of the match commentators and the lads in the studio had a basic idea of the rules. Second half yesterday a Tpp player was pushed into touch on the Cusack sideline. Poor Marty was surprised that the "lineball" was awarded to Tipp until he finally realised it was actually a free to Tipp. Perhaps Croke Park should introduce Marty etc to the Rules and RTE should tell him to watch the game in front of him.

BlueBeret (Dublin) - Posts: 54 - 19/08/2019 09:31:06    2227358

Replying To Mayonman:  "I can accept Shefflin going with KK line but what is even more annoying is the other lads that agree it's a red "by the letter of the law".

Its a red all day long by the letter, the spirit and every other part of the law! Hogan knew exactly what he was doing. There was nothing "miss timed by a fraction of a second" about the elbow. He nailed it."
Ah come on Hurling is a physical sport Barrett split Hogan earlier and his dander was up it was harmless enough Tipp player made a meal off it no doubt about it do we want to turn hurling into a no contact shootout, same referee send David Reidy of Clare off in Ennis last year in one off the worst decisions I ever saw.

The Helmet protects players mostly so if we want to go down this road it would take any cut out off game.

Brain Cody said you would want to be absolutely certain it was a red card and Referee clearly wasen't sure it RUINED game €90.00 + €7.00 for programme and then food & fuel massive outlay game was gone 10 minutes after half time.
I know you will say not Referees problem but no common sense

As Kilkenny play a traditional game they had no plan to work the lines it was route one to Liam Fennelly or TJ

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 884 - 19/08/2019 09:38:13    2227364