Connolly Returns

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Imo Connolly in years to come will regret what he's doing , to walk away from a team going for 5 in a row I think he's making a big mistake. That's just my opinion. Rory O Carroll is back so he obviously missed it and knew at 29 he hasn't many years left."
ROC took a break because he knew he could return with time left. Which was explained to you at the time as well. And let me say again. He isn't walking away, he wasn't picked. If Gavin really wanted him he would be back, simple as.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 19:20:59    2201414

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Do they still have a team called The Hit Squad in Round Towers?"
Da fuq? Sounds dodgy!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 19:22:52    2201416

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Do they still have a team called The Hit Squad in Round Towers?"
Back in the day the Junior C team were known as the hit squad..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 26/06/2019 20:36:08    2201442

Replying To clondalkindub:  "The Kerry game is one I can't wait for , the winners more or less in the all Ireland final imo. And Muck Ordan is not involved I'm a huge fan of his class player imagine if they had him playing huge loss."
Odhran is a complicated character & his heart just isn't in it at the moment. As you say he is a class act & one of those players who seems to have all the time in the world to play the game.

No more than Jim Gavin, Declan has an abundance of forwards so that takes the focus off him, allows him to play club football for the summer & who knows what the new season will bring.

How do you see Dublin at the momen?. The league wasn't brilliant & that first half against Meath wasn't them at their best either. Is this a slow build up or are there chinks in what looked like an unstoppable drive for five?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/06/2019 20:39:17    2201447

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Back in the day the Junior C team were known as the hit squad.."
I knew a lad who played for them, I think in the 90s/noughties a mix of young and old lads, a kind of social team. By the sounds of it they had serious craic.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 26/06/2019 21:06:22    2201456

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Odhran is a complicated character & his heart just isn't in it at the moment. As you say he is a class act & one of those players who seems to have all the time in the world to play the game.

No more than Jim Gavin, Declan has an abundance of forwards so that takes the focus off him, allows him to play club football for the summer & who knows what the new season will bring.

How do you see Dublin at the momen?. The league wasn't brilliant & that first half against Meath wasn't them at their best either. Is this a slow build up or are there chinks in what looked like an unstoppable drive for five?"
Put it this way, if we were playing ye tomorrow, I'd be worried, I don't think we're quite as clinical as we were, but look at the players that are gone. I think we'll improve though, because we have Jim Gavin.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 26/06/2019 21:06:26    2201457

Replying To realdub:  "Put it this way, if we were playing ye tomorrow, I'd be worried, I don't think we're quite as clinical as we were, but look at the players that are gone. I think we'll improve though, because we have Jim Gavin."
Would that game be in crokepark realdub? Coz I'd say ye would beat anyone in crokepark.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 26/06/2019 23:25:48    2201533

The Hit squad are no longer ha, who did you know that played for them ? I'm sure every club has a Hit Squad no?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/06/2019 11:04:04    2201624

The Flaker can we not just be friends ? You seem to have a dislike for me? I'm quiet a loveable guy if you met me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/06/2019 11:08:30    2201630

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Odhran is a complicated character & his heart just isn't in it at the moment. As you say he is a class act & one of those players who seems to have all the time in the world to play the game.

How do you see Dublin at the momen?. The league wasn't brilliant & that first half against Meath wasn't them at their best either. Is this a slow build up or are there chinks in what looked like an unstoppable drive for five?"
Big time chinks Muck, we can be bet on any given day by imo Mayo Donegal or Kerry , 3 teams we can never hammer , we avoided two of them teams last year and a Donegal team without Paddy Mc and Jamie Brennan was the not confident player he is now. Our bench is nowhere near as strong as it was, kev Mac is not getting any younger and if we start Costello where does our pace or direct running at tired defenses come from? Meath were poor on Sunday cause their shooting was shocking but that game flattered Dublin in the end ,we gave up some amount of scoring chances to Meath , we're not miles ahead of everyone else like you'd be made believe. Donegal have everything in place now to match Dublin. Scully who does a great job for the team but he's nowhere near Connolly in terms of a replacement , Mannion who is our man up front is always a sprint away form doing his hammer so nothing guaranteed yet for anyone.

One last thing if anything happens to our keeper we're in big trouble ,huge.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/06/2019 11:20:55    2201633

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Would that game be in crokepark realdub? Coz I'd say ye would beat anyone in crokepark."
I dont know to be honest

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 27/06/2019 11:27:31    2201636

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Big time chinks Muck, we can be bet on any given day by imo Mayo Donegal or Kerry , 3 teams we can never hammer , we avoided two of them teams last year and a Donegal team without Paddy Mc and Jamie Brennan was the not confident player he is now. Our bench is nowhere near as strong as it was, kev Mac is not getting any younger and if we start Costello where does our pace or direct running at tired defenses come from? Meath were poor on Sunday cause their shooting was shocking but that game flattered Dublin in the end ,we gave up some amount of scoring chances to Meath , we're not miles ahead of everyone else like you'd be made believe. Donegal have everything in place now to match Dublin. Scully who does a great job for the team but he's nowhere near Connolly in terms of a replacement , Mannion who is our man up front is always a sprint away form doing his hammer so nothing guaranteed yet for anyone.

One last thing if anything happens to our keeper we're in big trouble ,huge."
What yourself & realdub point to is Dublins biggest asset, namely Jim Gavin & Stephen Cluxton, two men who will go down as giants in the game. As long as they are there Dublin will be the team to beat.

I agree with you that Dublin don't look as sharp as before there are a lot if miles on the legs as well as medals in the back pocket & that is bound to take the edge of anyone eventually.
One big advantage Dublin have though is their composure. They have been there, done that & won't lose themselves like I feel Meath did last Sunday.
Donegal have the players & a good management team, Rochford is a great addition, but they might need another year.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 27/06/2019 14:03:28    2201710

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Would that game be in crokepark realdub? Coz I'd say ye would beat anyone in crokepark."
What's our record like up in Donegal?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/06/2019 18:07:14    2201814

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "What yourself & realdub point to is Dublins biggest asset, namely Jim Gavin & Stephen Cluxton, two men who will go down as giants in the game. As long as they are there Dublin will be the team to beat.

I agree with you that Dublin don't look as sharp as before there are a lot if miles on the legs as well as medals in the back pocket & that is bound to take the edge of anyone eventually.
One big advantage Dublin have though is their composure. They have been there, done that & won't lose themselves like I feel Meath did last Sunday.
Donegal have the players & a good management team, Rochford is a great addition, but they might need another year."
Just let us get the 5 Muck. You can do what you want after that. We'll take your 12 month stay of execution in order to make history.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/06/2019 23:50:14    2201963

Replying To Joxer:  "Just let us get the 5 Muck. You can do what you want after that. We'll take your 12 month stay of execution in order to make history."
One side of me would like to oblige joxer, but the other side of me says I wouldn't be able to go near HS for months.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/06/2019 10:52:01    2202027

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "One side of me would like to oblige joxer, but the other side of me says I wouldn't be able to go near HS for months."

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 28/06/2019 19:18:22    2202173

Can't believe the U.S immigration officers are also part of the Irish anti Diarmuid Connolly agenda. Shame on them.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 03/07/2019 18:25:57    2205060

Jesus wept .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/07/2019 18:40:59    2205066

Replying To superbluedub:  "Jesus wept ."
Better clarify I was joking. Joking aside there was a huge deal on her about him going yet not a word when it falls through. Strange that.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 03/07/2019 20:02:33    2205103

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Better clarify I was joking. Joking aside there was a huge deal on her about him going yet not a word when it falls through. Strange that."
Try not to lose any sleep , its really not a big deal .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/07/2019 23:11:34    2205226