Connolly Returns

Replying To Joxer:  "Well I guess that most would agree that this team and Connolly in particular have had a microscope on them for a number of years. Every movement on and off the field is monitored. For better or for worse the media are on top of them. Some lads can live with the attention others may view it as "hassle" and would rather forego the attention and pursue a normal life away from the spotlight. Connolly wouldn't have had the chance to pursue Summer adventures in the US if it wasn't for his absence from the panel. Fair play to him."
To be fair Joxer he hasn't behaved himself off or on the field.

If you're going to act like that you deserve all the attention you bring onto yourself.

He's big enough to deal with the "media" ie Twitter/Facebook. Very simple, delete your account, get the head down and play for Dublin or Leave to America and enjoy it over there.

Essentially what im saying is people should stop feeling as if he's the victim.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/06/2019 10:18:10    2201098

Replying To Jackeen:  "That's actually untrue but i cant prove it. It was left up to the chap to come back if he wanted but he had to let Gavin know before the league started. Jim wasn't lying when he said that but Connolly didnt want to. I said over on the Dublin board back at the start of the league that it was a no from me when asked if he would be back. He just had too much on personally."
So you have your sources and I have mine. Fact is if Gavin wanted him he would be back now regardless of your league scenario.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 10:22:11    2201101

Replying To TheFlaker:  "So you have your sources and I have mine. Fact is if Gavin wanted him he would be back now regardless of your league scenario."
My source is myself in this case but carry on. The fact actually is that Connolly didn't want to play. Nothing to do with Gavin not choosing him.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 10:32:40    2201109

Replying To Jackeen:  "My source is myself in this case but carry on. The fact actually is that Connolly didn't want to play. Nothing to do with Gavin not choosing him."
Now you know how full of it that poster is. A Mayo man knows more about it than Jackeen who has a partner involved in the Dublin set up, ok then.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2019 11:11:06    2201142

Replying To clondalkindub:  "100% not true.

Yiz are looking good this year Muck."
I bow to your superior knowledge clondalkin but as I say there are all sorts of rumours doing the rounds.

A superb player & he will be missed.

Aye, we are looking the part at the moment. Talent wise I'd say they are the best we have ever had but the big tests are still to come.

Kerry in Croke Park will tell us a lot.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/06/2019 14:27:56    2201267

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "In all honesty the Beatles never actually got back together bud, they tried but they found they couldn't jell."
who are the Beatles ?. Never heard of them.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/06/2019 14:50:00    2201278

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I bow to your superior knowledge clondalkin but as I say there are all sorts of rumours doing the rounds.

A superb player & he will be missed.

Aye, we are looking the part at the moment. Talent wise I'd say they are the best we have ever had but the big tests are still to come.

Kerry in Croke Park will tell us a lot."
The Kerry game is one I can't wait for , the winners more or less in the all Ireland final imo. And Muck Ordan is not involved I'm a huge fan of his class player imagine if they had him playing huge loss.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2019 15:11:53    2201287

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Now you know how full of it that poster is. A Mayo man knows more about it than Jackeen who has a partner involved in the Dublin set up, ok then."
The absolute gall.

I'm sure there are plenty of posters on here, from various counties, who know people involved in other counties' panels.

I work with 3 current intercounty players, from 2 different counties for example, a few former players and a coach currently involved with a county set-up who is a former county player.

I also know the man who was in the car with Connolly and Bonner back in the day. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 26/06/2019 15:14:40    2201289

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Now you know how full of it that poster is. A Mayo man knows more about it than Jackeen who has a partner involved in the Dublin set up, ok then."
A mayo man who moved to Dublin for college and didn't leave there for 15 years playing senior championship for a Dublin club and would know a few people.

Not really bothered about a poster claiming they know the ins and outs. The same posters deny there is an off field problem.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 15:20:25    2201296

Replying To TheFlaker:  "A mayo man who moved to Dublin for college and didn't leave there for 15 years playing senior championship for a Dublin club and would know a few people.

Not really bothered about a poster claiming they know the ins and outs. The same posters deny there is an off field problem."
Are you talking about me? You'll be hard pushed to find me having said that.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/06/2019 15:32:56    2201303

Replying To Jackeen:  "Are you talking about me? You'll be hard pushed to find me having said that."
Not you in particular, maybe you are genuine but it's lost on poor auld Clondalkin that the message within the camp would not be the same as the one sent out to the public. Hence the reason he thinks someone who knows someone is the only opinion that counts. He thought i was some die hard Mayo lad having a pop. Not the case.

The nonsense I read on here at times portraying Connolly as a lad who is hard done by makes me chuckle to be honest. Clondalkin is also the same poster who went on a childish rant when ROC stepped away and is now saying Connolly is wrong to go the Boston. He is the stereotypical lad who couldn't play football, became a die hard fan and then thinks players should only care about playing for Dublin. Plenty of them in my own county as well. Clueless.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 15:48:45    2201315

Replying To cavanman47:  "The absolute gall.

I'm sure there are plenty of posters on here, from various counties, who know people involved in other counties' panels.

I work with 3 current intercounty players, from 2 different counties for example, a few former players and a coach currently involved with a county set-up who is a former county player.

I also know the man who was in the car with Connolly and Bonner back in the day. ."
Not too often I agree with a Cavan man :-) but I agree.
A small country with broad connections through many facets of our lives. Would hate to feel the need to defend a perspective or contribution based on who you know in your personal life!

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 26/06/2019 16:00:39    2201322

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hey I'm just trying to join in on the excitement of ye winning the 5 in a row, I mean it's the least I can do after the GAA went to a lot of trouble financially and logistically to get ye there.

I wonder will the excitement be as big next year when ye are goin for the 6 in a row? Personally I don't think it will, watching Celtic winning the Scottish title for the 8th time in a row yesterday was pretty dull and I'm a big fan of Celtic."
Would you have preferred it if they had lost? Celtic, the Scottish team, f**k them, and Man U, and Liverpool, someone tried to compare us to Man City last, plz dont make those silly comparisons.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 26/06/2019 16:05:15    2201325

Replying To TheFlaker:  "A mayo man who moved to Dublin for college and didn't leave there for 15 years playing senior championship for a Dublin club and would know a few people.

Not really bothered about a poster claiming they know the ins and outs. The same posters deny there is an off field problem."
Sure what would I know The Flaker I only played club football with Jim for years and was managed by Frankie Roebuck (part of the Dublin backroom team) for years ,you as a mayo man know way more than Jackeen whose partner is involved with the Dublin set up and me a round towers club man so will just go on your word.

What club are you with The Flaker?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2019 16:08:32    2201328

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Not you in particular, maybe you are genuine but it's lost on poor auld Clondalkin that the message within the camp would not be the same as the one sent out to the public. Hence the reason he thinks someone who knows someone is the only opinion that counts. He thought i was some die hard Mayo lad having a pop. Not the case.

The nonsense I read on here at times portraying Connolly as a lad who is hard done by makes me chuckle to be honest. Clondalkin is also the same poster who went on a childish rant when ROC stepped away and is now saying Connolly is wrong to go the Boston. He is the stereotypical lad who couldn't play football, became a die hard fan and then thinks players should only care about playing for Dublin. Plenty of them in my own county as well. Clueless."
Stereotypical bit was funny doh in fairness.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2019 16:14:01    2201337

I didn't realize every poster on here was Maurice Fitz back in the day apart from Me, The Flaker must be Ciaran McDonald.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2019 16:19:28    2201340

Imo Connolly in years to come will regret what he's doing , to walk away from a team going for 5 in a row I think he's making a big mistake. That's just my opinion. Rory O Carroll is back so he obviously missed it and knew at 29 he hasn't many years left.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/06/2019 16:31:52    2201349

Replying To The_Fridge:  "To be fair Joxer he hasn't behaved himself off or on the field.

If you're going to act like that you deserve all the attention you bring onto yourself.

He's big enough to deal with the "media" ie Twitter/Facebook. Very simple, delete your account, get the head down and play for Dublin or Leave to America and enjoy it over there.

Essentially what im saying is people should stop feeling as if he's the victim."
No doubting he will spark when provoked. It was a major failing in him and some opponents knew what buttons to press. He has his medals, he has his club football, he has freedom from the IC scene and he leaves behind a fantastic legacy. That performance against Tyrone in 11 and that incredible performance against Castlebar in the 2014 club final when he scored 2-5 and setup 2 other goals. Pure magic.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/06/2019 18:35:27    2201393

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Imo Connolly in years to come will regret what he's doing , to walk away from a team going for 5 in a row I think he's making a big mistake. That's just my opinion. Rory O Carroll is back so he obviously missed it and knew at 29 he hasn't many years left."
Do they still have a team called The Hit Squad in Round Towers?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 26/06/2019 19:15:28    2201412

Replying To Joxer:  "No doubting he will spark when provoked. It was a major failing in him and some opponents knew what buttons to press. He has his medals, he has his club football, he has freedom from the IC scene and he leaves behind a fantastic legacy. That performance against Tyrone in 11 and that incredible performance against Castlebar in the 2014 club final when he scored 2-5 and setup 2 other goals. Pure magic."
And everyone knows how good he is and was. The other perception from a lot of Dubs is that he doesn't get that recognition either. Which is nonsense. Class player with some issues on and off the pitch at times.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 26/06/2019 19:18:35    2201413