There were no tickets to be bought for Parnell park but it was not sold out. Loads of room behind the goals. Couldn't understand why that was.
Blackberry (Galway) - Posts: 23 - 17/06/2019 19:19:02 2196735 Link 0 |
There were no tickets to be bought for Parnell park but it was not sold out. Loads of room behind the goals. Couldn't understand why that was. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13796 - 17/06/2019 19:52:04 2196744 Link 8 |
Are ye Dubs really that worked up about journalists? I've been on this forum for years and go to 90% of meath matches so there's nothing to worry about. I'm not 007.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 17/06/2019 22:55:12 2196849 Link 9 |
47,000 at Meath v Dublin. A new low for the province. The biggest fixture the GAA has seen can only muster that. Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 17:04:09 2199067 Link 10 |
The way the game is going, I wonder how many will be in the stadium with 15 minutes to go? Possibly only the player's mothers.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 23/06/2019 17:10:14 2199073 Link 1 |
Posting during the the match?
lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 23/06/2019 17:22:16 2199092 Link 0 |
And a lot of them were gone well before the end of the game
jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 23/06/2019 17:25:28 2199095 Link 1 |
Good enough for the GAA, delighted for them. The tv rights money will make up for the shortfall I'm sure
Thelonesomegoose (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 23/06/2019 17:27:25 2199098 Link 1 |
In fairness, he had to do something to entertain himself given the options.
festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3143 - 23/06/2019 17:39:04 2199117 Link 0 |
Ah but look at how wonderfully entertaining it was! Just like Longford vs Tyrone qualifier was yesterday that I attended to help cure my insomnia. (Attendance there was 4,160 or something around that). Football is in such rude good health remember. PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 2011 - 23/06/2019 17:42:10 2199124 Link 0 |
The biggest GAA fixture in Leinster is next Sunday's hurling final. There will be much more than 47.000 and far better entertainment.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 602 - 23/06/2019 17:43:41 2199128 Link 1 |
I didn't go out of protest. I refuse to put €40 towards the GAA a Dublin fund. I can tell you now if Dublin play meath in the final next year far less will travel. It will be 95% dublin fans no matter who they play.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 17:52:27 2199135 Link 10 |
A new low?
Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/06/2019 17:59:57 2199147 Link 3 |
Yeah there was a time not so long ago when a Dublin v Meath final would have guaranteed a sell out. No its nowhere close. It will get worse too.
Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 18:51:46 2199217 Link 9 |
Nowhere near a sellout Jack. In fact you'd have to go back as far as 2008 to get close to a sellout and that was a Dublin v Kildare match. Leinster Final Attendances 2018 41,728 2017 66,734 2016 38,885 2015 47,840 2014 62,660 2013 54,485 2012 69,657 2011 43,983 2010 48,875 2008 80,112 Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/06/2019 19:29:04 2199260 Link 7 |
Exactly. And this Dublin dominance started in 2005. Was it 80k+ at all the finals from 2005-2009? That was the potential the province had. But eventually the winning took it's toll. Even meath v louth in 2010 attracted more then today. Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 23/06/2019 19:45:26 2199280 Link 8 |
People need to start realizing that 47000 is a very respectable attendance for a sporting event in 2019. You think just because it used to get 80000 that you can change a few things and start getting 80000 again. Think again. It's less to do with the quality on display and more about the simple fact that less people attend live sporting events these days. Very much not a problem exclusive to the GAA. Have a look at @EmptySeatsPics on twitter. Sure you'd get a few more thousand if the games were competitive in Leinster but the days of 80000 are long gone. Just like most other sports the sellouts are reserved for the grand finale and maybe the odd semi final if you're lucky. Pantani (Dublin) - Posts: 48 - 23/06/2019 20:22:58 2199331 Link 1 |
I cant find any info on 2009 but it looks like in and around the 70 -80k up until 2009. 2010 it plummeted. A year before Dublins first All Ireland in 16 years. A year after the startled earwig comments and performance by Dublin. You're telling me people thought Dublin were invincible then? Nah! My point is that Dublin v Meath was never a sellout in Leinster no matter how badly you'd like to romanticize the rivalry. 2016 was the lowest attendance for a Leinster Final in years. Today there was 10k more. It was a decent turnout for what most people knew would be a facile victory on a crappy rainy day. 18k for a Munster final last night though is a different story. Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 23/06/2019 20:39:47 2199351 Link 4 |
Fans of big teams like the Dubs who are almost sure of Super 8s are probably making the calculation as to how much a season will cost and save for later games. Old seasons were 6 games max less for some. Add increased cost of a day out to increased games and its understandable in what have been unremarkable seasons the last few years. Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 23/06/2019 20:53:40 2199368 Link 0 |
Yeah I said 40-50k before the game. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 23/06/2019 20:59:42 2199377 Link 4 |