Kildare V Mayo

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Im a hurlin man, this is probably the first time ive commented on a football issue. But I hope Kildare hold out. They have nothing to lose anyway as they will likely get bet in the game anyway. But they have the backing of 90% of the Gaa grassroots anyway.
As for Mayo, they should be ashamed of themselves saying nothing. They proved before and are proving again they are a heap of YesMen who bottle every all Ireland. If they had any bottle they would come out in support of playing in Newbridge."
your ignorance is dumb founding.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 26/06/2018 16:49:00    2115504

Kildare have made a show off the Gaa clowns up in Croker here. They have made the whole game look completely amatuer in the eyes of Sky who are pumping loads of money into them. Hopefully Kildare county board cant be bought off and they stick to their guns which i have no doubt will make the gaa refix game for Newbridge with the threat of Legal action.

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 26/06/2018 16:49:01    2115505

Genuine question, why is everyone saying Kildare could take legal action, what law have the GAA broken that would give Kildare grounds?

I genuinely dont know and am curious? People seem convinced that they can.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 26/06/2018 16:53:58    2115509

Replying To Vishred:  "your ignorance is dumb founding."
Completely backing kildare in all this

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1903 - 26/06/2018 16:58:44    2115511

Replying To TheUsername:  "Cant see it really, its in nobody's interests., i fully expect a solution to be reached on this with some kind of sweetheart deal in place.

Kildare wont go head to head with the GAA in a legal sense IMHO, essentially it would be Kildare suing themselves. I also fail to see what law has been broken really, my opinion of course."
see my previous posts.

GAA in contravention of their own rule book.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 26/06/2018 16:59:17    2115513

Replying To yelowbelly:  "What would be wrong with a packed St Conleths ? Look bad on TV ? Have you watched some of the rubbish games and grounds that Sky show when they are broadcasting some of the lower-league soccer and rugby matches in England ?"
I wasn't having a go at St Conleth's, which I'd be more than happy to go to or look at on tv if it came to it... that point had been made about Sky's priorities and I wouldn't be surprised if it didn't carry major weight.

I don't believe that the game won't be played.... everyone wants it played at the end of the day (or some other day if that's what it takes).

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 26/06/2018 17:01:39    2115514

Replying To valley84:  "Completely backing kildare in all this"
fair enough then, but in no way should Mayo be dragged into this mess.

Sparrow clare needs to keep his mouth shut if he doesn't understand whats going on.
We don't give a toss where we play and I don't think the Mayo players do either.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 26/06/2018 17:13:09    2115520

Replying To Manstein:  "see my previous posts.

GAA in contravention of their own rule book."
But a breach of rules (which hasn't been clarified) isn't necessarily the same thing as breaking the law.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4517 - 26/06/2018 17:15:33    2115521

Replying To Manstein:  "see my previous posts.

GAA in contravention of their own rule book."
There have often been situations where legal cases have been initiated on the back of gaa rules not being followed correctly - DRA was introduced in an effort to resolve issues before they got to court. Clearly GAA have broken a rule and would have a case to answer.
On the basis that Newbridge capacity covers all season ticket holders and Gardaí/H&S have given ok then I think Kildare need to push this all the way. Also heard that Cavan had nominated Brewster park as their preferred venue - Croke park/Sky thing stinks to high heaven.
Just proving once again that its a professional organisation run by amateurs...no doubt they're now fumbling in the till trying to work out how much they'll need to offer to Kildare to make this go away!!

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 26/06/2018 17:20:21    2115523

So far there has been a Roscommon man questioning Mayo's integrity and feels that Mayo had "a word" with HQ to get the game moved, despite having no evidence of this whatsoever, and two Galway men stating that Mayo should be ashamed of themselves despite being a totally innocent party in this whole sorry debacle and then throwing out the usual ridiculous character assassinations on people involved with Mayo GAA with things like "bottle", "losers", "backbone" and "no wonder they'll never win an All Ireland" like this issue has anything to do whatsoever with Mayo's ability or disability to win an All Ireland. Despite this I don't see them heaping shame upon Galway as a result of Galway not getting involved and stating they won't play their next game unless Kildare are allowed host Mayo in Newbridge, or calling on other counties to do the same. Why should the burden of solidarity be solely with Mayo, why shouldn't every other county have a similar burden? Once again, Mayo have done absolutely nothing wrong here! It seems to me that these individuals in our neighbouring counties have zero time for Mayo or Mayo GAA, see this as an opportunity to have go at Mayo while claiming the moral highground and simultaneously make out that Mayo is behaving immorally and shamefully. In my view, that is what is actually shameful and utterly pathetic, these individuals don't really care about justice for Kildare, it's just an easy stick to beat Mayo who, just to reiterate for a final time, have done nothing wrong! These individuals would want to have a seriously long look at themselves.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 497 - 26/06/2018 17:20:24    2115524

Kildare and the CCCC are at loggerheads and the solution needs to come from Kildare and Croke Park. Such nonsense on here being spouted, such as Mayo being bottlers or should be ashamed of themselves. It's also been said that Mayo should turn up in Newbridge. Haven't seen many of these key board warriors calling for their own County to boycott the competition and demanding their county boards to get involved. The same sort that stand around urging on the lads scrapping outside the chipper on Saturday night.

ponga (Mayo) - Posts: 658 - 26/06/2018 17:21:40    2115525

Replying To mayomanic:  "in what way have Kildare jumped the gun?? the match is on next Saturday evening! at what stage would you expect them to take their stand?

As a mayo man Kildare are 100% within their rights to demand that they retain home advantage and as other posters have pointed out if Real Madrid draw cork city in the champions league the game goes ahead in Turners cross unless cork decide to move to a bigger venue for commercial reasons.

Finally this is a issue between Kildare and the white collar people in croke park. it does not and should not involve mayo but it most certainly should be involving the GPA who I personally think needs to flex their muscles here and come out strong on the side of Kildare on this one, but will they? I doubt it"
as for your point about real madrid in turners cross that actually isn't true, spurs were forced to play their champions league matches in wembley 2 seasons ago as white hart Lane didn't meet the requirements. an example of the fa cup would work, sorry for being picky lol.

NaomhNaille (Donegal) - Posts: 124 - 26/06/2018 17:26:12    2115527

Replying To jimbodub:  "Well I wouldn't want to see Kildare thrown out over this.. that 100% hopefully won't happen

I honestly didn't realise the Garda gave this the all clear! If that's the case.. then really on what grounds do the GAA have to be worried about health and safety?

Surely the responsibility has to be shared? Can the GAA still be sued if someone gets hurt even though the gards gave it the all clear? I'd imagine so.. but I'm not privy to such information. I'm just not aware of all the moving parts.. are you?

It's quite a mess and both camps will have to proceed delicately on this one. I'd hope for Kildares sake that it works out positive.. as Kildare being removed will be a desperate thing to happen and really only go to damage the entire competition

Cheers for going to the effort of informing me of that rather than attack my opinion based on where I'm from in a jaw dropping ignorant manner."
Have a read of the Kildare County Board's initial statement. They got clearance from the gardaí to play it in Newbridge on the stipulation that it be played at 7pm rather than in the afternoon. There's racing at the Curragh on the same day and an earlier throw in may have caused traffic problems.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 537 - 26/06/2018 17:29:58    2115530

Replying To the_walls:  "So far there has been a Roscommon man questioning Mayo's integrity and feels that Mayo had "a word" with HQ to get the game moved, despite having no evidence of this whatsoever, and two Galway men stating that Mayo should be ashamed of themselves despite being a totally innocent party in this whole sorry debacle and then throwing out the usual ridiculous character assassinations on people involved with Mayo GAA with things like "bottle", "losers", "backbone" and "no wonder they'll never win an All Ireland" like this issue has anything to do whatsoever with Mayo's ability or disability to win an All Ireland. Despite this I don't see them heaping shame upon Galway as a result of Galway not getting involved and stating they won't play their next game unless Kildare are allowed host Mayo in Newbridge, or calling on other counties to do the same. Why should the burden of solidarity be solely with Mayo, why shouldn't every other county have a similar burden? Once again, Mayo have done absolutely nothing wrong here! It seems to me that these individuals in our neighbouring counties have zero time for Mayo or Mayo GAA, see this as an opportunity to have go at Mayo while claiming the moral highground and simultaneously make out that Mayo is behaving immorally and shamefully. In my view, that is what is actually shameful and utterly pathetic, these individuals don't really care about justice for Kildare, it's just an easy stick to beat Mayo who, just to reiterate for a final time, have done nothing wrong! These individuals would want to have a seriously long look at themselves."
Mods should introduce bans , because its getting silly now and as you say its the same culprits over and over again.

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 26/06/2018 17:32:25    2115531

Replying To Pericles:  "I wasn't having a go at St Conleth's, which I'd be more than happy to go to or look at on tv if it came to it... that point had been made about Sky's priorities and I wouldn't be surprised if it didn't carry major weight.

I don't believe that the game won't be played.... everyone wants it played at the end of the day (or some other day if that's what it takes)."
Surprised this hasn't been mentioned by some Kildare supporter already?, considering all the slagging they've been recieving on here over the state of St Conleths Park.
Back in 2006 Kildare County Board had an ambitious plan in place for a brand new stadium on the outskirts of Newbridge, see link below,

http://www.hoganstand.com/county/kildare/article/index/69668

Unfortunately for them the 2008 crash scuppered that, if they had done it a few year earlier the pitch in the middle of Newbridge would've sold for a small fortune for prime real estate development, the same happened to the Curragh racecourse, their plans were scuppered also and only last year have they started on the redevelopment, a scaled down one from the original, currently the Kildare CB are planning on a major refurbishment of ST. Conleths, planning permission been sought at the moment see link,

http://kildaregaa.ie/st-conleths-park-re-development-project-kildare-2020-vision/

CurraghBill (Kildare) - Posts: 6 - 26/06/2018 17:36:43    2115532

Replying To NaomhNaille:  "as for your point about real madrid in turners cross that actually isn't true, spurs were forced to play their champions league matches in wembley 2 seasons ago as white hart Lane didn't meet the requirements. an example of the fa cup would work, sorry for being picky lol."
Thats not true spurs were still allowed host games there butchose not too because of capacity was reduced by 8000 due to work on new stadium.there was nothing stopping them playing at home though. I just googled this too and confirmed it

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 26/06/2018 17:45:32    2115534

Replying To the_walls:  "So far there has been a Roscommon man questioning Mayo's integrity and feels that Mayo had "a word" with HQ to get the game moved, despite having no evidence of this whatsoever, and two Galway men stating that Mayo should be ashamed of themselves despite being a totally innocent party in this whole sorry debacle and then throwing out the usual ridiculous character assassinations on people involved with Mayo GAA with things like "bottle", "losers", "backbone" and "no wonder they'll never win an All Ireland" like this issue has anything to do whatsoever with Mayo's ability or disability to win an All Ireland. Despite this I don't see them heaping shame upon Galway as a result of Galway not getting involved and stating they won't play their next game unless Kildare are allowed host Mayo in Newbridge, or calling on other counties to do the same. Why should the burden of solidarity be solely with Mayo, why shouldn't every other county have a similar burden? Once again, Mayo have done absolutely nothing wrong here! It seems to me that these individuals in our neighbouring counties have zero time for Mayo or Mayo GAA, see this as an opportunity to have go at Mayo while claiming the moral highground and simultaneously make out that Mayo is behaving immorally and shamefully. In my view, that is what is actually shameful and utterly pathetic, these individuals don't really care about justice for Kildare, it's just an easy stick to beat Mayo who, just to reiterate for a final time, have done nothing wrong! These individuals would want to have a seriously long look at themselves."
Good Lord! Definitely winner of 'Most Paranoid' for June 2018.

More of the usual 'Poor Mayo' stuff.

Manstein (Roscommon) - Posts: 43 - 26/06/2018 17:46:31    2115535

Replying To Solo_Run:  "
Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Fair point so on what grounds do you think they re-fixed the game given the following statement from Kildare
GAA
"we had no issue with adhering to the criteria for St Clonleth's Park as previously agreed with the National Facilities /Health and Safety committee"

Given that the above was previously agreed and they came out of the hat first what is the reason? Any barrister worth his salt would tear the CCCC to pieces"
I'm making the point that as things stand its the CCC who decide, rightly or wrongly. Health and Safety approval is a minimum requirement whether a game can or can't be played. They, or the Gardai, are not the decision making body.
And, as it currently stands, the counties themselves do not decide where a game is or isn't played.

Very hypothetical (but topical) scenario since your good selves are down to play our good selves. So -

1. Leitrim vs Monaghan Carrick-on-Shannon (CCC say NO, pick an alternative)
2. Leitrim say - "its Hyde Park". Meets all standards, no issue there
3. CCC come back and say "sorry its - Semple Stadium, Thurles"

Ludicrous, but that's it, Nothing Leitrim (or Monaghan) can do about it. Ethically wrong perhaps. But that's how it works, at present.

As per previous posts - the right thing to do is get this more clearly defined through congress. It is currently flawed / contradictory. By the way, leaving it up to the counties as long as H&S / Gardai say its ok - might cause more problems.

My main point is - Kildare coming out all guns blazing quoting "the rules" (without reading it all) was very misjudged."
Don't think you read all the rules yourself my friend. No less a man than Jack Anderson, a Limerick man and a former DRA member and an Arbiter in CAS was on the radio and he explicitly said the GAA have ZERO authority under their own rules to move games until Round 4 of the qualifiers and the super 8s. Further, if Kildare wanted to go down a legal road they would have a very strong case. I think I'd be taking his opinion over most people's.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 26/06/2018 17:51:29    2115536

Replying To arock:  "Bottom line the ground is not fit to hold a match of this size, Kildare opted years ago to develop a centre of excellence rather than upgrade their county ground. No sympathy for them at all they are quite selective as to who they allow use their centre of excellence. It is not fair on Mayo fans sorry you can't all go to the match in the super 8 series because we are going to hold the game in a rubbish ground. Nothing to do with crowd trouble, H&S, fire regulations etc etc its to do with spectacle and generating interest and finances to enable the GAA to function. The GAA can't back down it will cost a fortune to host the game in that ground. On these pages we have had many posters complaining about GAA not doing enough to promote the games to enable it to compete as a spectacle with other sports and what to the bally-go-backwards crowd want - yeah I give you St Conlaiths....its a spectacle all right and unholy how of one, the latest i heard on radio yeah we upgraded the jacks - for god sake the toilets!!"
Who is this St Conleith that you keep banging on about? You should maybe learn to at least label it correctly before pontificating so strongly about the place.

The grounds capacity has and should have nothing to do with this. Dublin can decant from Parnell Park to Croker and still retain 'home' advantage. That's an enviable position. All counties are of vastly different size and population though. If its a smaller county you simply forfeit home advantage in a match of such importance?

Should every county have a 20,000 all seater stadium in case this eventuality arises? That would be a great way to burn money.

You don't seem to grasp the whole ethos of this at all. The rules were quite clear about home advantage and have been deviated from quite disgracefully in most peoples view. Whether it holds 8,500 or 18,500 is neither here nor there. As O Neill said, not everyone that wants to see the All Ireland this year will get a ticket either, but that's life.

Some are clearly more equal than others within this 'All Ireland' organisation, time and time again.

Newbridge is one of the more enjoyable places to watch a match in my view. The pitch is very much in the town and part of the town rather than some 2 and 1/2 miles outside it with a 'requisite' number of plastic seats. In addition to home advantage, the town and local Kildare economy is entitled to benefit from this fixture being played there.

Where to next? Where will it all end? A tier one championship of 4 teams with all 3 matches to be played in Croke Park. Be careful what you wish for lads.

Passer_By (Carlow) - Posts: 537 - 26/06/2018 17:53:36    2115537

Replying To riverboys:  "If the stalemate continues and Kildare are thrown out of the championship for not playing in Croke Park then it is up to us the GAA supporters to object to bullyboy decisions by the top brass in the GAA. How can we do this? Thousands of GAA people from all over the country turning up in Newbridge not to watch the game but to show solidarity with Kildare, a protest against the way the GAA are running their affairs, we are constantly complaining about things that are happening in our association now is the time to act, get to Newbridge on Saturday to protest against GAA actions"
But would we get in?

Shure the capacity is only 8,500!!!!!!

and can i use my season ticket????

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 26/06/2018 17:58:33    2115538